User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1322 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2016
    8
    Left 4 Dead é um jogo muito bom de zumbis, sempre gostei da ideia do jogo, de voce poder jogar de 4 em coop, e no modo offline pode jogar com o irmao ou com o primo, o grafico para época é boa, sem falar que o jogo inspirou muitos games de zumbis que lançaram anos depois, por exemplo Dead Island e Dying Light, a quantidade de zumbi é impressionante, tem tambem os zumbis especiais, a WitchLeft 4 Dead é um jogo muito bom de zumbis, sempre gostei da ideia do jogo, de voce poder jogar de 4 em coop, e no modo offline pode jogar com o irmao ou com o primo, o grafico para época é boa, sem falar que o jogo inspirou muitos games de zumbis que lançaram anos depois, por exemplo Dead Island e Dying Light, a quantidade de zumbi é impressionante, tem tambem os zumbis especiais, a Witch é muito chata, e o Tanque é muito forte, tem uma boa quantidade de mapas, mesmo o roteiro nao ser o forte do jogo, o seus personagens sao bons, recomendo, é um jogo que mesmo sendo de 2008, continua atual. Nota 8.9 Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2016
    8
    Um jogo bacana, joguei muito na epoca, porem ele nao me agrada totalmente, mas eu acho muito melhor que o 2, porem...é divertido sim, e estaria na lista se voce quer começar a conhecer a plataforma
  3. Jun 21, 2015
    9
    The game is really fun, I was kind of skeptical before I bought it but when I played it I think it is a little bit better than Left 4 Dead 2 because it isn't as buggy as L4D2, Yes it a few bugs but I don't really care. The online play is incredible, I could care less for single player but in many ways this is a Masterpiece and I say its a must buy if you have an Xbox.
  4. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    Left 4 Dead is still one of the best multiplayer videogames of all time. The gameplay is a ton of fun for friends, and is a must own for Xbox 360 owners.
  5. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    I really love playing this game! The campaign is great for it keeps me compelled to play by myself or with friends. The online feature is great for it can get boring playing by yourself and the ai can be too dumb to save you or to be helpful. Survival is a great feature in which you just have to survive long enough.
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    When first playing Left 4 Dead I was alone and playing by myself, it took my 30mins just to walk 30 meters. I was petrified. Left 4 Dead was purposely made to be played on multiplayer and this is where the game shins. Valve has successfully made an action packed *fast paced* zombie game, which will leave you on the edge of your sit the entire ride. Do not expect to play an emotion storyWhen first playing Left 4 Dead I was alone and playing by myself, it took my 30mins just to walk 30 meters. I was petrified. Left 4 Dead was purposely made to be played on multiplayer and this is where the game shins. Valve has successfully made an action packed *fast paced* zombie game, which will leave you on the edge of your sit the entire ride. Do not expect to play an emotion story driven game as this is nothing but. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    This is one of a dwindling number of couch co-op titles that gives you solid multiplayer functionality on one screen. It's a great game to play with friends, the co-op feels like a full feature, rather than something added on later (which many two player games falter at).

    The controls are fairly intuitive, and actually implement a few features I wish more first-person games would offer.
  8. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    It's simplicity may leave the player feeling bare at times, but "Left 4 Dead" is nevertheless an overwhelmingly entertaining zombie shooter with some brilliant co-op gameplay possibilities.
  9. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Valve is now my favorite game company, all thanks to this game! I've never played an actual "good" zombie game, aside from RE, and 'Left 4 Dead' is just what I needed! 4 player co-op has never been so fun!
  10. May 30, 2013
    8
    A Valve FPS with zombies. This is a wonderful game that I enjoyed very much, but to get the full experience for this game, you need to have 3 other people, but when you do get 3 other friends, it makes for one helluva good time. And, because you need other people to enjoy it so much, that's why I also have to criticize for. That and its somewhat short gameplay time. It's nice to see gamesA Valve FPS with zombies. This is a wonderful game that I enjoyed very much, but to get the full experience for this game, you need to have 3 other people, but when you do get 3 other friends, it makes for one helluva good time. And, because you need other people to enjoy it so much, that's why I also have to criticize for. That and its somewhat short gameplay time. It's nice to see games encourage you to play with people, but I shouldn't have to be hindered from enjoying the full game experience because I don't have friends who wanna play this game with me, but that's a minor point. Overall, Valve a lovely FPS with zombies. Expand
  11. May 12, 2013
    10
    Tell me again, what survival horror fan doesn't like blasting a few hundred zombies in the head every now and again?
    With Left 4 Dead, you'll get to kill zombies. Morbidly obese zombies that vomit on you and attract the main horde, skittish zombies that attack you when you startle them, zombies with a cat-like prowess who try to hunt you down. It's fun, it's simple. It's what we want in a
    Tell me again, what survival horror fan doesn't like blasting a few hundred zombies in the head every now and again?
    With Left 4 Dead, you'll get to kill zombies. Morbidly obese zombies that vomit on you and attract the main horde, skittish zombies that attack you when you startle them, zombies with a cat-like prowess who try to hunt you down. It's fun, it's simple. It's what we want in a zombie game.
    Expand
  12. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This was the game that got me into gaming as a hobby. My friend raved about this game for the longest time and so finally I went out and bought a crappy Xbox 360 Arcade just so that I could play this game. It was the best thing I have ever bought in my life. The intense gameplay that kept me and my friends coming back, the endlessly replayable levels, and the charming characters made meThis was the game that got me into gaming as a hobby. My friend raved about this game for the longest time and so finally I went out and bought a crappy Xbox 360 Arcade just so that I could play this game. It was the best thing I have ever bought in my life. The intense gameplay that kept me and my friends coming back, the endlessly replayable levels, and the charming characters made me a L4D fan. I have spent hours and hours and hours of my life killing zombies with a friend on the couch next to me. I am a huge Resident Evil fan but this is without a doubt my favorite zombie game. Even though it has no real story this game holds up extremely well. Enjoy! Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Zombie games are well, out there. they could be awesome and they could be boring. THis is one of the better zombie games out there. It's fun and at the time, was pretty scary.
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    I'm usually not into zombie games but this is a truely fun zombie killing experience. It has lots of content and the AI director changes how each level plays making it a game which always offers new challenges. Single player is solid but this was a game meant to be played with friends. The game emphasizes teamwork, lone wolves don't last long. Pick this game up if you and your online posseI'm usually not into zombie games but this is a truely fun zombie killing experience. It has lots of content and the AI director changes how each level plays making it a game which always offers new challenges. Single player is solid but this was a game meant to be played with friends. The game emphasizes teamwork, lone wolves don't last long. Pick this game up if you and your online posse are looking for a new challenge or even just a change of pace from COD or other traditional shooters. Expand
  15. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    One of the best FPS games of all time. The characters are entertaining, the level design is great too. The games only flaw is the variety of weapons, of which there is around 5. The game has superb multilayer and really encourages teamwork. If you like FPS games, zombies and playing with friends, check this game out!
  16. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    If this game had a way to punish players that **** out and rage quit I'd have to give it a 10/10, The environment and atmosphere gives pure adrenaline, game play is engrossing and winning a match feels extremely rewarding.
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun when you play it with a friend. I think if you play it alone it is boring so I recommend only playing this with friends. This doesnt have any replay value though. Its better just to rent or something and then give it back.
  18. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friendsLeft 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friends and difficulty on expert and watching the craziness unfold, all the game modes rely on teamwork, and there's one gameplay mode where you can play as either the Zombies or the survivors and have to effectively communicate in order too win, and it has extremely high replay value, this game comes so close to getting a 10, but it does have some flaws, there are long load times, there are only four short campaigns with five levels a piece, and if you don't have multiplayer, it wont last you forever, but this is still a fantastic game online or off, and is just shy of perfection, a must own. Expand
  19. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Before Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse poundingBefore Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse pounding first person shooter that has been brilliantly created with an A.I. director that constantly changes the item locations and enemy spawn locations, making each time you play a campaign different than the last time you played it. This game strongly relies on its multiplayer, which is no less than spectacular. Playing with three other "survivors" in a zombie apocalypse is something that even today still hasn't gotten old. The versus mode is another great multiplayer mode that allows you to play as the survivors, then the infected or vise-versa in a four on four match. Another thing that makes versus so good is the fact that its completely balanced. The graphics are a bit old, but within respected tolerances. The voice acting is great and the dialogue actually made me laugh out loud in a few times. The only reason this game doesn't achieve perfection is because of lack of content, but the only reason this is a complaint is because the game is so much fun, that I just keep wanting more and more. This game delivered exactly what any zombie media fan could want and is easily one of the funnest games I've ever played. Expand
  20. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    It's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times thereIt's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times there isn't much more to do with this game. The second one is much better and much more worth purchasing (not to mention it came out about a mere year after this one). If you force yourself to think about what you do and take the game more slowly and sneakily on a harder mode (like Expert) and turn off the cheesy loud over the top music, this game can be pretty intense and realistically frightening (depending on what kind of setting your put yourself in). The best aspect of the game is probably Versus Mode, because playing as the mutant-like 'special infected' is quite entertaining. I realize I seem pretty down about this game, and this is only because I've had it for years now, but when I first got it, I thought it was one of the greatest games ever made. However, now I see that in comparison to the sequel, this isn't so impressive. Plus the Steam PC version is at least 10x better, especially since you can download modded maps such as a few Silent Hill maps and many more. Expand
  21. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Anything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get moreAnything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get more content on it. Also L4D lacks in weapons, there's not many variety. Those minor flaws doesn't deteriorate the excitement , and you can get good use for it. So pick it , ( get L4D2 it has more stuff ) but, get in mind that less dont get everything right , even if it has zombies. Expand
  22. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = One of the best online Co-op/ Versus games to date. Extremely well designed and very fun overall.
  23. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    It doesn't have a great story, but a least it has one. That's better than some other zombie games. It does get somewhat repetitive, but it's still fun. Multiplayer is pretty over rated though. The controls are pretty good but not the best. Gameplay is good. I'd give the campaign an 8 and multiplayer a 6.
  24. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    At the time of posting, 26897 zombies had been harmed playing of this game by yours truly. Now assume I kill an average of four hundred or so each time I play a level. Do the math. I've played Left 4 Dead that many times. And I will continue to do so, it's that much fun. I don't think I can give any better praise than that...

    Want to read the full review? Go to
    At the time of posting, 26897 zombies had been harmed playing of this game by yours truly. Now assume I kill an average of four hundred or so each time I play a level. Do the math. I've played Left 4 Dead that many times. And I will continue to do so, it's that much fun. I don't think I can give any better praise than that...

    Want to read the full review? Go to http://thereplayreview.blogspot.com!
    Expand
  25. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Left 4 Dead has everything i want in a survival game exciting and realistic i rate this game top marks and will recommend it to anyone who is in to survival games.
  26. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Just about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few ofJust about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few of my friends talk about it, and that's one of the most amazing things about the Left 4 Dead games, I think. The levels themselves stay the same, but the experience is different every time. As someone from Valve said, it promotes "organic storytelling." This happens over and over, for the same game. There are only several types of enemies, and yet every time you play, the experience is different. A look into the developer's comments (included with the Game of the Year version, at least) gave me a good idea of just how much thought was put into every aspect of this game. -- The graphics aren't breath-taking and miraculous, but the techniques put into the development of the graphics certainly are. Music and sound effects are used as audio cues to alert players to where enemies may be hiding. I mentioned in another review, actually, that it is these things that will be remembered several years from now, rather than a game having 'the best' graphics, or 'the best' shallow trait. -- I bought Left 4 Dead over a year ago, and have played it regularly since then. It never lost any of its fun value over that time. Expand
  27. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    I don't think Valve can make a bad game...cause this surely isn't one. Everything about this game is fun, especially the different types of special infected. This is a great game to play multiplayer on xbox live with and not ever really get bored of this game, as long as you long killing very fast undead.
  28. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting to play with other. The game is just amazing, i play it like everyday and i can't imagine not playing this gem.
    Expand
  29. EricM
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    One of the best First Person Shooters I've ever played. Not since Halo 3 have I played a game so much!
  30. PatrickJ
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a chievo junkie) we continued to play it, initially to get the full 1000. However, once I got the 1000, we still continued to play it (something that I NEVER do). Only then did I realize that Valve really had something there. So what if the 4 maps seem short. With the Versus, Survival, and Campaign, plus the addition of a new Map, this game has still remained fresh, something that is very hard to do. So good job, Valve, my hat is off to you. And for anyone looking to get the game, do it. You will be thankfull Expand
  31. robb
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the flavour of the best co op mulitiplayer game ever created.even though l4d only has four missions you could play each one four hundred times over and still find new experiences each time you strap your headset on.if you are on live buy this now and if you are not get on live and buy it anyway. Expand
  32. RobertBreen
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Great multiplayer action.
    Just when you start to get bored of only having 4 levels, you get sucked in to playing Versus.
    Valve has done good job wiht DLC.
    Cant wait until the sequel hits.
    This is one game that I am still playing and will probably still be playing when the sequel hits.
    It is that Good.
  33. MatthewM.
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Question: What do you get ewhen you combine a FP shooter, plentiful ammo and hordes of the undead? Answer: Complete awesomeness!!!! After reading other users reviews I can't believe some of the drivel I'm hearing. Yes it's not that long, but THAT is the problem with the tween generation. They loose interest VERY fast. If they can't beat a game in one sitting or if they Question: What do you get ewhen you combine a FP shooter, plentiful ammo and hordes of the undead? Answer: Complete awesomeness!!!! After reading other users reviews I can't believe some of the drivel I'm hearing. Yes it's not that long, but THAT is the problem with the tween generation. They loose interest VERY fast. If they can't beat a game in one sitting or if they conquer it in 4 hours they get peeved. Why not put down the Red Bull and energy bars and appreceate a game for something other than instant self-gratification! am of the old school gaming community. You know, the ones who look for more than just blood splatter and fantasy weaponry. The kind of gamer who enjoys playing a game and then challenging themself by re playing it over and over to acheve mastery. This is one of them. Yes it's short, but that's the beauty of it! You have a chance to relive the experience over and over. Plus NO ONE in the gaming community can dispute that picking up a shotgun and blasting the undead isn't quality prime time entertainment!!!! Aside from Nazis, zombies are the greatest Washington Generals of the gaming universe!!!! P.S. if you don't get that last reference then dude, you seriously need to put down the cell phone and controller and get outside once in awhile! Expand
  34. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through carelessly blasting zombies Normal or Easy campaigns are perfect. When I want a challenge I play Expert Campaign or Versus. Playing against other people in Versus makes the game so much more difficult but its a challenge you and your team can overcome. Expert campaigns can be extremely hard but I appreciate this challenge. In Expert mode one or two friendly fire shots can cripple your ally and a handful of zombie smacks does the same. This makes the game play much more careful and thoughtful but also gives it some realism. If you shot a friend it would knock the hell out of him. This is a game stripped of anything not needed and it plays beautifully for it. I LOVE this game and highly recommend it. Expand
  35. AlecM
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Anton S, how are the graphics ripped from Half LIfe 2? THEIR COMPLETELY DIFFERENT DUMBASS
    This game isn't repetitive, every game is different due to the AI director dumb shit.And there is no need for plot or acting, just look at css!

    Rowan F this game was meant for REPLAYABILITY for fuck sakes, dont say shit if you dont know shit.
  36. JoshuaG
    Jul 14, 2009
    9
    This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make.This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make. Overall, the only people who won't like this game are those who cannot, or will not, play online games. Expand
  37. mattk
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This game represents what can be done well with Xbox Live. With its intense multiplayer experience and endless replay value via AI Director. I recommend it to anyone looking for zombie co-op fun.
  38. SamS
    May 16, 2009
    9
    Another outstanding online game from Valve. You join a group of four survivors in a mortal struggle against the zombie horde. One interesting twist is that no two games are ever the same. Positions of special enemies vary from game to game, making these appearances from the larger 'Tank' and lurking 'Witch' nearly always a surprise. It's a real treat to play on Another outstanding online game from Valve. You join a group of four survivors in a mortal struggle against the zombie horde. One interesting twist is that no two games are ever the same. Positions of special enemies vary from game to game, making these appearances from the larger 'Tank' and lurking 'Witch' nearly always a surprise. It's a real treat to play on Xbox Live, especially with friends. It's a game that knows exactly what makes it fun, and succeeds at being so. Expand
  39. AwesomeZombie
    Apr 26, 2009
    10
    Haha Andy A You're pathetic you just saw what? ONE video of the game and buyers should be aware of the game cause its bat-shit scary and gory I suggest it expecially with the new survival pack and that all the maps can be used in Versus and ALL of the glitches hav been fixed cept the Jesus room.... though the plane is fixed and I am 99% sure that the rock is fixed too plus the Haha Andy A You're pathetic you just saw what? ONE video of the game and buyers should be aware of the game cause its bat-shit scary and gory I suggest it expecially with the new survival pack and that all the maps can be used in Versus and ALL of the glitches hav been fixed cept the Jesus room.... though the plane is fixed and I am 99% sure that the rock is fixed too plus the co-operative gameplay is beautiful the bots ARE really good the zombies actually know what to do whether it's a player or a bot and of course the...WITCH! and I am pretty sure that VALVe said they Were not releasing a storyline just to keep the game fun and the replay value is extremely high so no matter how many times you play the game it will NEVER be the same it is great though I still hate the garage door glitch like Alex D says but yeah you can no longer block rooms (I already tried that) and I've got to say it's mostly bug free I recommend this game to ALL zombie lovers whether its nazi zombie players or dead space it is GREAT expeciall with the SDK engine for the PC its ten times better with custom maps. Expand
  40. AdamB.
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    Don't play L4D expecting an in-depth FPS heavily focused on strategy; it's purely about survival in moment-to-moment situations, in a fast-paced, cooperative, arcade-type experience. The game essentially delivers for what it is, but there are some downsides. For one, Versus Mode is incredibly unbalanced; the AI Director makes no attempt to correct lopsided games, players are not Don't play L4D expecting an in-depth FPS heavily focused on strategy; it's purely about survival in moment-to-moment situations, in a fast-paced, cooperative, arcade-type experience. The game essentially delivers for what it is, but there are some downsides. For one, Versus Mode is incredibly unbalanced; the AI Director makes no attempt to correct lopsided games, players are not matched according to skill, and it's incredibly difficult to make a comeback when the other team makes it to the safe room once. Frequently I find myself on either a terrible team or a team that's too good, resulting in an experience that isn't very fun. Another downside is the current lack of downloadable content and small number of maps, which along with the game's lack of customization makes L4D very repetitive. Also, for no good reason, the game lacks 4-player local co-op (you need two consoles or to use Live). Finally, most maps are near pitch black with a small cone of visible area from your flashlight, which adds to the suspense but irritates the eyes and wastes the space on your widescreen TV. Still, with all of these downsides, the game can be very entertaining in small groups or over Live (especially in the middle of the night). Expand
  41. ChristopherT
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    Exceptional Fun. Rod N, you have obviously completely missed the point of the game. It's not trying to be GOW2 or anything else. You should be comparing this game to other zombie shooters. Take something for your minstral cramps and chillout.
  42. AlexD
    Feb 23, 2009
    8
    Everything about this game is perfect! Gameplay, Graphics, Smoothness of game animation, but Left 4 Dead needs to have a storyline. You just start out by a car, in a greenhouse, ontop of a roof, but they don't tell you what happened before that. All it wants you to do is get from a starting point to an ending point and thats it. Some people, like myself, want to get a full Everything about this game is perfect! Gameplay, Graphics, Smoothness of game animation, but Left 4 Dead needs to have a storyline. You just start out by a car, in a greenhouse, ontop of a roof, but they don't tell you what happened before that. All it wants you to do is get from a starting point to an ending point and thats it. Some people, like myself, want to get a full understanding of what happened, how the infection started, how the characters meet, that like Half Life 2 and episodes 1 & 2. Also, Left 4 Dead is a Glich Trap. In versus, Eveything that is on wheels, only the infected can move and not the survivors. Survivors that are currently play may have to resort to throwing a pipe bomb or direct a boomer into the object to move it passed. Such gliches are, "The Piano Glich" Blocks the safe room door at end of level 2."The resturaunt dumpster Glich" where the infected can move a dumpster infront of the back of the resturaunt the survivors have to run though in chapter 3 of no mercy. "The Garage Door Glich" where survivors can avoid the horde sinply by beating down the garage door near the beginning of chapter 3 of no mercy. "The Greenhouse Bobcat Glich" where the infected can move the bobcat near the greenhouse exit in chapter 3 in no mercy. "The manhole Glich" where the infected move a dumpster over a manhole which leads to the overun mercy hospital at the end of chapter 3, and tons more including Jesus room, Jesus plane, Jesus rock and...is there a way to get passed blood harvest? And when the heck is Valve going to come out with the pack that lets players play on all maps in versus. Other wise, this and a couple other games are the only games i have played in over a year. Expand
  43. JohnP
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    This game is everything you ever dreamed about. George A. Romero on the 360. The controls are very static, which gives it the minus one, but everything else is great. Their is the most basic of storylines in this game. You are with three other people during a zombie apocolypse: survive. Fast paced, action packed, fun online and offline. I recommend this as top game for 2008.
  44. NajamU
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    EXTREME! gameplay and shooting.I know dudes that there is no range of weapons like other FPS but why do you need a range of weapons in a shooting game for cryin' out loud.there is no fixed storyline which is a problem.But lets face it despite having no good storyline it's still fun.all of you people who are giving negative reviews are either joking,gone crazy or probably just EXTREME! gameplay and shooting.I know dudes that there is no range of weapons like other FPS but why do you need a range of weapons in a shooting game for cryin' out loud.there is no fixed storyline which is a problem.But lets face it despite having no good storyline it's still fun.all of you people who are giving negative reviews are either joking,gone crazy or probably just don't like shooting.what else do you expect from a shooter without shooting shooting and shooting. Expand
  45. Kyle
    Feb 14, 2009
    9
    This is a good game, if you leave aside all previous civilization games, but otherwise, civilization did not live up to sandards. The top 5 mistake i found were: 5. Cpu agressiveness - If you aren't recieving a death threat every two turns in this game, you either have a ridiculuosly vast army or you're the guy with the nuke. Its impossible to stay out of war, because even when This is a good game, if you leave aside all previous civilization games, but otherwise, civilization did not live up to sandards. The top 5 mistake i found were: 5. Cpu agressiveness - If you aren't recieving a death threat every two turns in this game, you either have a ridiculuosly vast army or you're the guy with the nuke. Its impossible to stay out of war, because even when you give your hard earned technology, great people, or gold, in 4 turns they demand more. Gets very aggravatiing. 4. No "workers" - You're probably familiar with the worker concept - find the resource, build a road to it, and construct the appropriate contraption for extracting the resource. In CivRev, there are no workers, and resources just float themselves to you i suppose, once you discover them. Which means in PC versions, if you liked being "the guy with all the oil" In CivRev, there is no such title. 3. One way highway on death threats - Not only do they come at you every 2 turns demading everything, but if you're the guy who should be throwing the threats, too bad. From playing the game, i have not been able to find how to threaten other people out of their goods. The closest I've come is kicking some nads so hard they'll pay me 25 gold to stop. When the ball's in your court, this really takes a powerful arsenal out of your repitoire. 2. Diplomacy - Someone enlighten me. How could they have messed up the diplomacy this bad? You start a diplomacy, an your only options are - tech for money, or money for tech - I dont think i need to go into how elaboorate trading was in PC civ games. 1. Game Customization - This is by far the only mistake i have have not been able to overcome. You pick a scenario, or single player, pick a civilization, and you've begun. There's no option on how long you want to game to be, world climate, water level, land layout, barbarian aggressiveness, its ideally the same game every time. You do the math. Expand
  46. CodyC.
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. They should make a level like Dead Rising were you are stuck in a mall. That would be a good idea for a level for Left 4 Dead 2 if they make one. So overall i like how the game is made and designed. Expand
  47. StephenR.
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    Ok, L4D is the premier FPS that has hit the Xbox in a while, and has an online addiction that rivals Halo 3 or even COD4. L4D is beautifully simplistic. Most people bag on the mechanic of the simple run, shoot, reload, shoot, walk, shoot, kill witch, run again, shoot, get saved that is seen in all 4 campaigns, but that's all the players need. If the devs decided to try and mix in a Ok, L4D is the premier FPS that has hit the Xbox in a while, and has an online addiction that rivals Halo 3 or even COD4. L4D is beautifully simplistic. Most people bag on the mechanic of the simple run, shoot, reload, shoot, walk, shoot, kill witch, run again, shoot, get saved that is seen in all 4 campaigns, but that's all the players need. If the devs decided to try and mix in a story and whatnot, the point of L4D would be missed. The whole point of L4D is mindless fun, and it delivers. The game constantly changes the spots where you'll encounter minibosses, bosses, and mobs of zombies in the levels, which is a godsend, if you ask me. Even though there are only 20 levels in the whole game, the fact that the game spawns zombies in different places almost EVERY time you play through them greatly changes the experience every time. If you don't have XBL, i hope you have friends who still play System Link play, because the true soul found in L4D is when you're bashin zombies with 3 human buddies. Oh and as for the graphics? Next time you're mowing down zombies in a dark corridor, after you survive the wave, try and count all of the new details in your environment. Zombie limbs, blood and trash litter the world in L4D, and it's oddly satisfying. Everything about this game enhances the experience of a survival game, and it's not even close to being as scary as Bioshock [for the kids out there]. If i could, i would give this game a 9.99, for one reason only, and thats because [for me, anyways] the weapons seem a little unbalanced. I always stick with the shotgun anyways. With that notion aside, this game is the shiz, and should be enjoyed by all fans of any FPS. Expand
  48. Austinm
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    I actually disagree with some of the other reviews, it is just as fun playing split-screeen with a buddy as online. No that's out of the way, this game is great, although there is a lack of levels or story. Me and my friends play for hours ever week. Only lonely gamers shouldnt ppick this up. overall good game PROS: great multiplayer, great sound effects, great balance of weapons I actually disagree with some of the other reviews, it is just as fun playing split-screeen with a buddy as online. No that's out of the way, this game is great, although there is a lack of levels or story. Me and my friends play for hours ever week. Only lonely gamers shouldnt ppick this up. overall good game PROS: great multiplayer, great sound effects, great balance of weapons CONS: gets repetitive, okay graphics, and not good for lonely gamers. Expand
  49. DylanI
    Jan 26, 2009
    9
    Love this game! Massive hoards of zombies, an excellent assortment of weapons, flawless map design and the best cooperative gameplay I have ever seen (yes, even better that Halo's). The only downside is the limited number of Campaigns but this could be easily fixed by some DLC (Please Valve!) As for Andy
  50. JeffM
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    A team game that focuses on precision, communication, and good squad skills that is also scary! It can be a little disorienting at first but most get the hang of it. Find a sociable group of friends to try it out and don't get too hung up on dying - it will happen. A lot.
  51. eeganrac
    Jan 25, 2009
    8
    before i start this, this game was created for co-op gameplay. if you do no have a GOLD XBOX LIVE membership, DO NO BUY THIS GAME! ok, i really really like this game. the game forces you (if you want to win) to work together. without breaking down the game (other reviews do that) i will try and make this as quick as possible. if you like shooting zombies, have friends, and are just in the before i start this, this game was created for co-op gameplay. if you do no have a GOLD XBOX LIVE membership, DO NO BUY THIS GAME! ok, i really really like this game. the game forces you (if you want to win) to work together. without breaking down the game (other reviews do that) i will try and make this as quick as possible. if you like shooting zombies, have friends, and are just in the mood to have a lot of fun. well this game is amazing. here is the bad. there are only 4 maps (they are large, and new ones are on the way). i wish each character had a unique attribute, like one of the characters could carry 3x weapons, one faster, etc. here is my biggest complaint.........ALL OF THE 14 YEAR OLDS!!!!! this is not HALO! where are these kids parents when they are shouting about someones sexual preference, or race! if you play public matches, be prepared to play with kids, and morons. hopefully they will get bored of the game and move on, soon! the main reason for the 8 is the shortness of the game. there is suppossed to be more maps, but i am sure you will have to pay for them. at $60 and only 4 maps, well the price is steep. again i do like the game, and if you are interested i would buy it used. Expand
  52. MikeH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others over Xbox LIVE. The lack of depth, normally a downfall, actually works in L4D's advantage this time around. The simple but still intense gameplay allows gamers to jump in at any time and have fun. Run, shoot, survive (or die), rinse and repeat. If you're looking for a lot of story and depth, you might want to skip this one. But if you look at it as a fun a way to pass the time, slaughtering zombies by the hundreds and just have fun, you're bound to find this worth your time and money...repeatedly! Expand
  53. DianaS
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Okay, first off, i'll say i love this game. What with the bad rates and comments? The game is great. I may not by 17+ (preteen) but when my sister showed me this game, i love it. We play like everyday now and its awesome. Since im still a bit young, i'll say i was a little scared. I would always shake like crazy, cause i would be scared of the zombies attacking, but i Okay, first off, i'll say i love this game. What with the bad rates and comments? The game is great. I may not by 17+ (preteen) but when my sister showed me this game, i love it. We play like everyday now and its awesome. Since im still a bit young, i'll say i was a little scared. I would always shake like crazy, cause i would be scared of the zombies attacking, but i didn't quit. They could use a little more chapters, but other than that, i loved it. Expand
  54. StevenE
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best coop multi-player games out there. You have to actually work with your team and rely on them, which most games lack. This is one aspect of the game that makes it so much greater then "the run around do what you want shoot-em up games" that lack true teamwork. The only downside with this game could be that you absolutely need Xbox Live to enjoy everything it has to offer, One of the best coop multi-player games out there. You have to actually work with your team and rely on them, which most games lack. This is one aspect of the game that makes it so much greater then "the run around do what you want shoot-em up games" that lack true teamwork. The only downside with this game could be that you absolutely need Xbox Live to enjoy everything it has to offer, which is still a minor disappointment if you enjoy just playing on lower difficulties. Expand
  55. JayG
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the campeigns on harder difficulties brings the replay value up.The multiplayer is definetly groundbreaking and unique. Now if you don't have xbox live then its probably worth a rental. Due to no multiplayer and 4 player co-op. Expand
  56. EricC.
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can do everything by himself, buy Halo. If you want to be challenged to the point where even the best player in existence can lose to an organized team of middling players, where the playing field is level and your success depends on others, this is your game. It's sort of ironic; a game in which four people annihilate thousands of other human beings has helped to restore my faith in humanity. P.S. When you play versus, Blood Harvest is far superior. It's harder to win, and you can't glitch nearly as much as people on No Mercy do. Expand
  57. RielC.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Left For Dead is the most fun game on the 360 I have ever played. It is so addicting, and on Xbox Live you cannot stop playing. It is so dang fun, i don't know how to describe it. Andy A is dumb. They limit your health and ammo supply to give the game a challenge. Its not about beating each level, its just doing better than the other team. (First you play as the humans, with the Left For Dead is the most fun game on the 360 I have ever played. It is so addicting, and on Xbox Live you cannot stop playing. It is so dang fun, i don't know how to describe it. Andy A is dumb. They limit your health and ammo supply to give the game a challenge. Its not about beating each level, its just doing better than the other team. (First you play as the humans, with the second team as the zombies, then vice versa the next round) I was having fun even when I wasn't beating the other team. Me and my friend got so addicted, we played until 6:00 AM but then we got the RROD lol. Ohh well. This is a must-have for any Xbox 360 owner. Expand
  58. DomS.
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    Left 4 dead is one of the most thrilling fun and tense experiencs ive had on a game to date. This game is almost perfect weather your slaughtering thousands of zombies with your freinds in desperatrion to survive, or rampaging around as a mighty tank. The only problem is the campaign story line, or lack of it. At first it is fun playing through the first storyless campaign and seeing the Left 4 dead is one of the most thrilling fun and tense experiencs ive had on a game to date. This game is almost perfect weather your slaughtering thousands of zombies with your freinds in desperatrion to survive, or rampaging around as a mighty tank. The only problem is the campaign story line, or lack of it. At first it is fun playing through the first storyless campaign and seeing the credits at the end like a real movie which its ment to be. Unfortunately this novelty wears of after a while and you start wondering, were the hell is the story on this thing. Hopefully valve will pick up on these flawes and I cant wait for any DLC they will be bringing out for this game Expand
  59. SamH
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    Don't let Andy A put you off, he's dumb. The zombies don't look the same, there are thousands of different models for them. Of course people will get mad at you for not helping them, it's a bloody co-op game. Call of Duty: World at War is not very original itself. Plus, Resident Evil is NOTHING like this. Buyer beware, you may be choosing a game that will stun you with Don't let Andy A put you off, he's dumb. The zombies don't look the same, there are thousands of different models for them. Of course people will get mad at you for not helping them, it's a bloody co-op game. Call of Duty: World at War is not very original itself. Plus, Resident Evil is NOTHING like this. Buyer beware, you may be choosing a game that will stun you with it's brilliance. Expand
  60. GrantR
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    ummm....well, I have no problem with somebody expressing their opinion, but I want to point out some misconceptions. There is plenty of ammo, seeing how the A.I. director throws some at your team when you are low, also it is unlimited when found so you can keep running back to an ammo pile until you've killed all of the zombies in an area. Next, if there were any more med packs, then ummm....well, I have no problem with somebody expressing their opinion, but I want to point out some misconceptions. There is plenty of ammo, seeing how the A.I. director throws some at your team when you are low, also it is unlimited when found so you can keep running back to an ammo pile until you've killed all of the zombies in an area. Next, if there were any more med packs, then the game wold get way too easy. When I played online my partners were great. You know why? I healed them a couple times and saved them another few. Everybody will get mad at you if you either don't help, or if you--for instance--have a medpack and over half health and decide not to heal your teammate who' s at about 10% health or less. As far as resident evil goes...this game doesn't rip it off. In RE the zombies are slow-moving diseased townspeople who use weapons and retain some human characteristics. In L4D the zombies are more like animals, moving extremely fast and attacking with their bare hands. Lastly there are 6 different types of infected in L4D with unique attacks and traits...so all the zombies aren't the same. I wouldn't get this for single player alone, it's worth it for the co-op and online. Expand
  61. nathanskipper
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played, great to link up with friends and play and even fun with strangers, as long as they co-operate. keeps you interested and have been playing it for weeks at least 3 hours a day.... love it!! i dont know how people cant like this
  62. MikkoKurkinen
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Every1 who says this game sucks are probably idiots who doesent understand masterpiece games like this! Games simple idea of rushing and shooting zombies works very well! It isnt so fun on single player but whit 3 friends, its probably best multiplayer game ever made. BUY THIS GAME if you like zombies and network shooters.
  63. jasong
    Jan 13, 2009
    8
    ok i havent got a x box 360 ive got a ps3 but my sons got it so ive played it so im going tell truth unlike some of you fan boys on ps3 site yeah know who you are?good single player good fun multiplayer not perfect x box fan boys grow up.
  64. ColinH
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would definitely get tedious, but as someone with Live I can't fault the game for that. Online it's an absolute blast. And don't be put off the by the thought of only 4 campaigns or the idea of constant co-op gameplay because there's also the fantastic Versus mode. It's possibly even more fun than the standard co-op. The ability to play as the zombies, and the threat of a human zombie team when playing as the survivors adds a whole new dimension to the game that ramps up the fun factor ten fold. Not to mention the fact that Valve plans to keep the game supported for a long time with new DLC content. They've already announced that the first package of downloadable content will be available soon. If you're looking for a shooter with plenty of action, tight gameplay, and absolutely fantastic multiplayer gaming, then look no further than Left 4 Dead. Expand
  65. DanoL
    Jan 10, 2009
    9
    I absolutely love this game. It's addictive, fun, and intense. The expert difficulty setting is extremely difficult and the random spawn of zombie hordes and bosses makes it a new situation every time. The multiplayer is great as well. Finally a game where people actually have to cooperate online in order to win. If you don't cooperate with your team, you will most assuredly I absolutely love this game. It's addictive, fun, and intense. The expert difficulty setting is extremely difficult and the random spawn of zombie hordes and bosses makes it a new situation every time. The multiplayer is great as well. Finally a game where people actually have to cooperate online in order to win. If you don't cooperate with your team, you will most assuredly die. The versus is the most fun I've had online in a while. I will say this about the lack of story, this is a zombie SURVIVAL game, not a STORY zombie game like Resident Evil. Your only goal is to survive, not to figure out why the world is infected or who could have done such an awful thing. It is purely about cooperating with your team and surviving the hordes of zombies that rush at you. For those who love fast paced shooters and multiplayer, this game is definitely for you. For those who crave a plot and story in their shooter, this game is probably not for you. Expand
  66. Komino
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off mid-game you just needed to switch to 'on a break' and the games A.I takes over which is more than competent, especially at saving and healing you. The only real downside I would say is the graphics which do look a little last-gen but it never retracts from the overall experience. Overall, if you connected to the net and want a intense experience that you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere else. Get this game. Expand
  67. HagenM.
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    Valve has done it yet again. Arguably the world's best game developer has put out yet another great title. This game takes a completely original look into the survival horror genre. More of a shooter, this game is the best co-op game ever in my opinion. You actaully need to communicate with your team, protect them from harm, and if they die, you die. The AI director is a break Valve has done it yet again. Arguably the world's best game developer has put out yet another great title. This game takes a completely original look into the survival horror genre. More of a shooter, this game is the best co-op game ever in my opinion. You actaully need to communicate with your team, protect them from harm, and if they die, you die. The AI director is a break through in gaming all together. It will change how items spawn, and how the enemies spawn depending on how well you are doing or how well you did in the previous chapter. The online is addictive as it is a challenge for both sides, and you must work as a team even as the infected. Expand
  68. DarrenJ.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth saying that this is an acheivement driven game which will challenge you and frustrate you but all in all one of the best 1st person shooters I've ever played. Expand
  69. AlphaKennyOneUp
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Best co-op game of all-time. No denying that. If you gave this game any less than a six, than you're an idiot who never played online. IT IS A GAME OBVIOUSLY CENTERED AROUND ONLINE PLAY. IF YOU DID NOT HAVE XBOX LIVE YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE BOUGHT THE GAME. All that aside, there will be DLC really soon, so no more of playing No Mercy all the time on Versus.
  70. EmilyH
    Dec 31, 2008
    10
    If the fast moving zombies coming from all directions doesn't scare you, then maybe the special infected that leave you helpless will. The hunters that pounce on you and force your [surprisingly helpful AI] allies to save you. The Boomers who vomit on you causing a hoard of angry zombies to maul you should have your other teammates circle you as you're blinded by the smile. If the fast moving zombies coming from all directions doesn't scare you, then maybe the special infected that leave you helpless will. The hunters that pounce on you and force your [surprisingly helpful AI] allies to save you. The Boomers who vomit on you causing a hoard of angry zombies to maul you should have your other teammates circle you as you're blinded by the smile. Smokers will latch onto you and pull you away from the group and don't even get me started on the witches or tanks. Even on EASY this game can give you a thrill - and will all the different achievements you'd be sure to play the same level trying different tactics. I love this game and it makes me want to get xbox live just to play on expert with a few mates. Expand
  71. ArjunSingh
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a good concept that relies heavily on playing with other people. If one does not have a bunch of friends or xbox live, they're in for a bad experience. While single player isn't bad it's not the most fun thing in the world. The fun is playing with others through the zombie infested campaigns. The only issue with the game is that there are 4 different scenarios.
  72. ShermanAtor
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    10/10 Anybody who doesn't give this at least an 8 should get off these forums...Intensity (most intensity in any game I have ever played), scary, horror movie feel, multiplayer (Versus mode is extremely Addicting, don't play without people you know), awesomeness, one of the top 3 games on 360 (in no order, Gears 1, Oblivion, Left 4 Dead) If you got $65 not game better to spend it on...
  73. SamF.
    Dec 24, 2008
    8
    A Very cool FPS Which puts you in those Zombie movies of the past. Ever wonder if you could survive? this is your chance to see. The COOP Play in this game online is great if you find people who work together, otherwise the game kinda falls apart being you must help each other out.
  74. luken
    Dec 24, 2008
    10
    The game is great! I personally didnt think of it when it came out but my friends showed it to me! I got so addicted. I cant stop playing. The best part is if you have it for your PC you can turn on sv_cheats 1. You can do all kinds of stuff to it. like spawn pipebombs/propanetanks/all the weoapons/gastank/ZOMBIES!!! I had spawned 8 witches on my friend and 3 tanks. So fun. But personally The game is great! I personally didnt think of it when it came out but my friends showed it to me! I got so addicted. I cant stop playing. The best part is if you have it for your PC you can turn on sv_cheats 1. You can do all kinds of stuff to it. like spawn pipebombs/propanetanks/all the weoapons/gastank/ZOMBIES!!! I had spawned 8 witches on my friend and 3 tanks. So fun. But personally i love this game! Probally one of the best games ive played. buy it. try it. HAVE FUN!!!! Expand
  75. RodneyH
    Dec 24, 2008
    9
    I'm glad I waited a while to pass final judgement on this game. I was sucked into the hype and the idea of mowing down zombies was all I needed to pick this up on release day. I fired it up and played through each single player campaign the first day as I have never seen the use of having a live membership. I sat there a bit replaying a level saying to myself "That's it?!" Short I'm glad I waited a while to pass final judgement on this game. I was sucked into the hype and the idea of mowing down zombies was all I needed to pick this up on release day. I fired it up and played through each single player campaign the first day as I have never seen the use of having a live membership. I sat there a bit replaying a level saying to myself "That's it?!" Short campaigns, minimal story, and a small selection of weapons. I had a month card laying around, popped in the code and jumped into a quick match. Entirely different game! The FPS mentality that is so ingrained was immediately tossed. Some moments are down right hilarious. Newer players looking for to run and gun taken down before anyone can get near them. Covering your team mates while they heal and reload. Yes the game can be simple and sometimes easy if played right, but one wrong move or a team mate lost at a desperate time can spell disaster for everyone. I love the director aspect that encourages searching every nook while penalizing you for taking the time to do so. Desperately searching for a health kit? Take too much time and the horde will be unleashed on you. Burn through the level and you will deal with less horde but more chances of running out of supplies at a critical moment. It is extremely well balanced. Yes the lack of weapons is frustrating at first but the deeper you look at them they are all different ways to play the game. I challenge everyone to get with a group of friends on "Dead Air" stick three friends on tail of the downed plane and one with the hunting rifle in the small storage area in the wall of the building. They attract the majority of the attention and leave you free to snipe any specials that may get the jump on them. They may drop a hundred infected, but you easily pop and protect them from 15 specials that could wreck everything. For all the hate the hunting rifle gets, it is hands down my favorite weapon in the game and deserving of way more love than its getting. Expand
  76. MattR
    Dec 24, 2008
    9
    A Fantastic game. Yes it is short and there are other valid criticisms but like Crackdown, this is a game that puts the fun first and none of it's faults really matter. Not worth playing as a single player but on Live or even better with mates, this game is Godly Good. For Zombie fans, it is as though Source have harvested all our best zombie film memories and packaged them into one A Fantastic game. Yes it is short and there are other valid criticisms but like Crackdown, this is a game that puts the fun first and none of it's faults really matter. Not worth playing as a single player but on Live or even better with mates, this game is Godly Good. For Zombie fans, it is as though Source have harvested all our best zombie film memories and packaged them into one very polished video game. Recommended, would gib again A+++++ Expand
  77. BradL
    Dec 23, 2008
    8
    this game is definitely worth buying, yet not worth 50 dollars. there are only 4 campaigns. although it definitely replayable, as it was meant to be. The AI director keeps it different, although it is overrated, as there will be instances in which the game seems repetitive. In short, this game is great and very fun, but not so much is it worth 50 buckaroos.
  78. bobsmith
    Dec 22, 2008
    9
    great game. There could be more levels and weapons, but valve/steam should add those with time (and the users once the SDK is released). Also, more zombie types would make the game better too. The "AI director" really keeps this game from being stale. The COOP aspect of this game is phenominal. I'm a huge coop fan, and there are not enough coop games in my view. This one reallygreat game. There could be more levels and weapons, but valve/steam should add those with time (and the users once the SDK is released). Also, more zombie types would make the game better too. The "AI director" really keeps this game from being stale. The COOP aspect of this game is phenominal. I'm a huge coop fan, and there are not enough coop games in my view. This one really fills that niche. Expand
  79. RandallS
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    Overall, a very good game, though it does get old kind of easily because of the lack of missions and weapons and all-around diversity. However there's probably no funner game to play in a dark room with a friend.
  80. DavidB.
    Dec 19, 2008
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a "must have" for zombie movie enthusiasts that also love first person shooters. The music, the lighting, sound effects, and graphics all add to the psychological tension as you play. The game is unpredictable in terms of knowing when or where the hoarde will strike next. The two biggest issues I have with it are: 1) the small number of weapons to choose from, and 2) that Left 4 Dead is a "must have" for zombie movie enthusiasts that also love first person shooters. The music, the lighting, sound effects, and graphics all add to the psychological tension as you play. The game is unpredictable in terms of knowing when or where the hoarde will strike next. The two biggest issues I have with it are: 1) the small number of weapons to choose from, and 2) that you can ocassionally see some enemies "clipping" through the walls. It is also worth mentioning that the game is much more fun to play in coop. mode than it is in single player. This game is worth getting, especially if you love to be scared by zombies. Expand
  81. AnonymousMC
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    A damned fine game.
    Most people who are used to rushing in and being the hero, trying to save everyone , shooting their own team mates because they disagree with them....can expect a quick death in the beginning of the first board. Cooperation is essential in this game, you need to listen to your team mates or you die alone.It takes a while to learn the controls but they are fairly
    A damned fine game.
    Most people who are used to rushing in and being the hero, trying to save everyone , shooting their own team mates because they disagree with them....can expect a quick death in the beginning of the first board. Cooperation is essential in this game, you need to listen to your team mates or you die alone.It takes a while to learn the controls but they are fairly simple, an once you start picking it up you won't want to put it down.
    However being the cooperative game it is you'll need full communication and as much visibility as possible, so no a microphone is no option.It also gives you the option to take a break in game in case you need to do something in the middle of online co-op, this feature is not available in versus.
    Expand
  82. elmob.
    Dec 16, 2008
    8
    This is an amazing game. Ive played it now for 40+ hours online and i'm still not tired of it. The best way to play this game is with four friends online on advanced or expert difficulty. If your buying this game to play by yourself or dont like to play games on easy or normal this is definetly not the game for you. The campaign is very short for my taste but this game was created by This is an amazing game. Ive played it now for 40+ hours online and i'm still not tired of it. The best way to play this game is with four friends online on advanced or expert difficulty. If your buying this game to play by yourself or dont like to play games on easy or normal this is definetly not the game for you. The campaign is very short for my taste but this game was created by the company that brought us counter strike people. Its meant to be played on versus mode online. plain and simple. for those of you who dont know what counter strike is then you really shouldnt be buying this game. this game is not like zombie panic and i dont see why people make an argument about this game being a mod. ive never played a game that forces you to play as a team. weather you live or die all depends how you play as a team. and when your a special infected, killing the survivors isnt that easy if your trying to do it alone. great game im having a blast with it. i only gave this game an 8 because it only has 2 campaings which equals 10 maps for versus. it should really get a 7 just based on that but after playing it for so many hours and still looking forward to getting of work and playing it with some friends it definetly deseerves a 8 at least. Expand
  83. AnonYmous
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    First off, at Jack T, who I assume has the last name Thompson, this has a BLOOD MARK ON THE COVER. Not only that, but a severed finger and a 17+ on the front. Any idiot should be able to tell that it's not a game for small children. Also, there was a reason for your disbarment. You tried to boycott something that fell under the first amendment a few too many times, and I would assume First off, at Jack T, who I assume has the last name Thompson, this has a BLOOD MARK ON THE COVER. Not only that, but a severed finger and a 17+ on the front. Any idiot should be able to tell that it's not a game for small children. Also, there was a reason for your disbarment. You tried to boycott something that fell under the first amendment a few too many times, and I would assume that you forgot that you are an IDIOT. Anyway, I love this game. It's excellent and has plenty of fun, and would be great without the morons trying to make this into every versus shooter known to man. In short, Heath is ALMOST right, but you should find some friends who can behave themselves, and play with them in a closed group. Expand
  84. HervéG.
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    This game is really a masterpiece. It turns out that I have plenty of hilarious or scary stories to tell about my experiences in this game, and I think this is the same with everyone, because this game is not only very good, but also each time you play it it is different. Also the buddies A.I. is really good, and as they are talking all the time, and thanks with their amazing This game is really a masterpiece. It turns out that I have plenty of hilarious or scary stories to tell about my experiences in this game, and I think this is the same with everyone, because this game is not only very good, but also each time you play it it is different. Also the buddies A.I. is really good, and as they are talking all the time, and thanks with their amazing characterization, you almost think that they are alive at moments, even when you are playing alone. Expand
  85. JonS
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    All of the naysayers on this board probably played it for an hour or so without trying it on either the higher difficulties, didn't play it with a friend or online, or didn't play the versus mode. It's a BLAST. Anyone who has played it with friends or a good team online will tell you that it is an amazing play experience.
  86. Left4DeadKing
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    I just bought the game last night. It was worth every cent. I am not big on fighting games, i stick to the sports games, but wow take my advice and get this game. To give you a background of the game here you go. There is 5 different stages and each one has about 5 chapters if i remember correctly. There is 4 different difficulties. I choose the 2nd hardest just to start. I did single I just bought the game last night. It was worth every cent. I am not big on fighting games, i stick to the sports games, but wow take my advice and get this game. To give you a background of the game here you go. There is 5 different stages and each one has about 5 chapters if i remember correctly. There is 4 different difficulties. I choose the 2nd hardest just to start. I did single player and had a blast. The computer plays well with you. Your team mates heal you and protect you like you would expect. The fact that literally 50-100 zombies will come flying out at once unexpected it awesome. Tons of narrow places with zombies waiting. Some of them dont really bother you. In fact i went into a bedroom with a zombie just slamming her head against a wall???? Either way i just went up and owner her soul but still made me laugh. And the witch was a nice touch. (Just dont shine the light on her or its pretty much game over for you). I then played co op with a buddy. We put the difficutly one more up to the third hardest. And that was def hard. Not impossible but def a challenge. Just when you think you have a place under control think again. This game rarely lets you rest. And this is not a game that once you beat it your like "time to trade in". This game will forever be fun. Mark my words. I dont play video games a lot but man this is something im trying to make more time for. I was seriously thinking about calling out of work to play more. haha. anyways hope this gives you a little boost to go out and buy it. Hit me up when online with x box live. USA CHAMPS. later. Expand
  87. JakobN.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Effing Spectacular! I dont even know where to start. The atmosphere is perfect. The gameplay is INTENSE. After my first game I had to take a break to get my heartrate back down to reasonable levels. Honestly, I couldnt ask for anything more in a game. The controls are smooth and easy to get the hang of. Gameplay is fantastic. The graphics are great. The sounds and music are terrifying. Effing Spectacular! I dont even know where to start. The atmosphere is perfect. The gameplay is INTENSE. After my first game I had to take a break to get my heartrate back down to reasonable levels. Honestly, I couldnt ask for anything more in a game. The controls are smooth and easy to get the hang of. Gameplay is fantastic. The graphics are great. The sounds and music are terrifying. BUT BUT The most outstanding thing about this game is the "AI director" Now this is, to my knowledge, and ENTIRELY new concept in the world of gaming. Basically, the game watches you, and the group of players you are with, and judges your skill level, pacing and stress levels and deciedes where and when to place monsters and events. In other words, even though this game has only 20 maps, none of the will EVER play the same way twice. You will never know ahead of time where the enemies will be, when the mob of 20 zombies will race around and over everything in their path to claw yer guts out. and BTW the director even plays music according to what is happening in the game. Which, despite it changing at the whim of the AI director, has never seemed out of place of poorly mixed. All in all. this is an amazing game. I give it 98% simply becase I think that there could be more levels, and more boss monsters.. however, valve has already promised to give us these things so I may as well give it 100%. Expand
  88. DougB
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    I'm almost finished with left 4 dead. I was really expecting more and was let down. There are about 4 guns,4 characters, and 4 levels. The stories are good, but I wish they had one cohesive story. With that said you can beat the single player campaign very quick. Now for the good. The graphics are great with only minor glitches. The sound is awesome. Hearing groans and crying will I'm almost finished with left 4 dead. I was really expecting more and was let down. There are about 4 guns,4 characters, and 4 levels. The stories are good, but I wish they had one cohesive story. With that said you can beat the single player campaign very quick. Now for the good. The graphics are great with only minor glitches. The sound is awesome. Hearing groans and crying will make your hair stand. Online and multiplayer is where this game was meant to be played. It has a long lasting appeal on that front. To be more precise I would give the game an 8.4/5. It's is fun and enjoyable but leaves more to be desired. Expand
  89. JoshK
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus run through on Blood Harvest and it remains in my memory still 30 minutes later as it was a total back and forth point lead switchin guns a blazin ZOMBIE FEST! Please also remember this is a ZOMBIE game and you will... get this... face many many many a zombie. GO CHICAGO TED!!!! Expand
  90. JoshD
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Although the graphics are not up to par with such games as mirror's edge and gears of war 2, the gameplay is truely innovative. The team must work together to fight insurmountable odds and overcome the hordes of zombies. Never playing a game like this, I have been playing it ever sice i downloaded the demo, and the next day, bought the game. Amazing.
  91. JustinL
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    Repetitive fun, you will be able to play these (few) levels over and over, without getting bored of it. I can understand that people don't quite like it because it's not the most varied game, but you will never grow bored of killing hordes of zombies while waiting for someone to save you. I mean, who doesn't love killing zombies!? Best played on Live, or it will not be the Repetitive fun, you will be able to play these (few) levels over and over, without getting bored of it. I can understand that people don't quite like it because it's not the most varied game, but you will never grow bored of killing hordes of zombies while waiting for someone to save you. I mean, who doesn't love killing zombies!? Best played on Live, or it will not be the same experience. Expand
  92. ForrestM.
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    Yea, this is a great game overall, good gameplay, great multiplayer action, good AI, the voice-overs really aren't too great, and the lack of story would bring it lower, but the gameplay and multiplayer are enough to give it a pretty good review. But I have a question to Jack T. Did you notice that there is an M for MATURE on the bottom left corner of the game cartridge... that is a Yea, this is a great game overall, good gameplay, great multiplayer action, good AI, the voice-overs really aren't too great, and the lack of story would bring it lower, but the gameplay and multiplayer are enough to give it a pretty good review. But I have a question to Jack T. Did you notice that there is an M for MATURE on the bottom left corner of the game cartridge... that is a massage to parents that it might be a little bad for kids and you shouldn't buy it if you have children in the house... so yea, don't try to boycott the game because it is "to bad for young children" because it is meant for older people, like people who actually have to mental power to establish the difference between a videogame and real life. And your statement that an "average household parent" wont want their kids to play this... well, almost everybody I know plays this, and their parents bought it for them, and I'm 14, and some of my friends are younger. Maybe you are just don't know what your child likes as most "average" parents can figure out, or you brainwashed your child to do only what you want him/her to, maybe only let him/her play educational games, not let him play outside, and only let him/her wear a certain clothing. Or your kid just doesn't like blood and gore, but that doesn't mean you have to go all boycotty on this game because you don't want your child to play it or your child does not want to play it... Expand
  93. SimonB
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    Firstly Devan B is an idiot (what game where you playing? ). Jack T is an idiot. (Stick to Little Big Planet - not a FPS (the S stands for shooter which imply weapons, which imply violence) or something with dead in the title - maybe the survivors should give flowers and hugs to the infected instead of bullets) My only fault on L4D is that there isn't a set director that changes the Firstly Devan B is an idiot (what game where you playing? ). Jack T is an idiot. (Stick to Little Big Planet - not a FPS (the S stands for shooter which imply weapons, which imply violence) or something with dead in the title - maybe the survivors should give flowers and hugs to the infected instead of bullets) My only fault on L4D is that there isn't a set director that changes the linear route on each replay to some degree. Other than that it's just plain fun playing this game with friends. Did you guys HAVE friends to play with? The story is subtle and you make your own narrative (that requires some sort of a brain/imagination on your end) I also like the fact that sometimes the AI Director can be in a really bad mood and properly through everything its got at you. Expand
  94. KeithB.
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    Left 4 Dead will be the third game behind Aliens Online and Counter-Strike (before they added radar) that I will play intensely for years straight. I would give it a ten except that two campaigns are missing from the versus mode and because the menu and lobby options are a bit clunky, such as not having a Gears 2-copied "What's Up" feature that I can use from almost any menu. It Left 4 Dead will be the third game behind Aliens Online and Counter-Strike (before they added radar) that I will play intensely for years straight. I would give it a ten except that two campaigns are missing from the versus mode and because the menu and lobby options are a bit clunky, such as not having a Gears 2-copied "What's Up" feature that I can use from almost any menu. It would be very difficult to improve the gameplay, though. Expand
  95. JD
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    I dont understand how people can not like this game. it has everything you want from a valve game. the versus is the most fun you will ever have and dont talk about the damn single player, yes you can run through it quickly, but thats so you get the feel of the game well enough to destroy all in versus and campaign. Also, dont bitch about the game if you have the xbox 360 version. its I dont understand how people can not like this game. it has everything you want from a valve game. the versus is the most fun you will ever have and dont talk about the damn single player, yes you can run through it quickly, but thats so you get the feel of the game well enough to destroy all in versus and campaign. Also, dont bitch about the game if you have the xbox 360 version. its made for pc, like all valve stuff, you think this was going to change from the orange box? pc games are made for pc, not 360, so if you have this game for 360, im sorry you wasted 60 dollars on a game that is better on pc for 45. Expand
  96. JorgeO.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This game is possibly the best first person shooter i have ever played on the xbox360. It combines fast action gameplay, non-stop tension and beautiful graphics to make a game that you just cannot put down. I do agree with anyone who says that the single player is a little bit of a let down, but that is not the point of the game hence the multiplayer which is efficent and deadly with This game is possibly the best first person shooter i have ever played on the xbox360. It combines fast action gameplay, non-stop tension and beautiful graphics to make a game that you just cannot put down. I do agree with anyone who says that the single player is a little bit of a let down, but that is not the point of the game hence the multiplayer which is efficent and deadly with absoloutely no lag which is hardly ever seen on a xbox live multiplayer game. I would reccomend this game to anyone with more than one friend who has an xbox (or even a pc) because this game is simply - an all time legend. Expand
  97. CrayshM.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    All the low comments here obviously have not played co-op or versus for this game. This is NOT a game to play by yourself. Live is damn near required for this game and it's well worth it when you do play it on Live. Constantly switching between survivor and zombie is VERY fun and causes strategy to be taken into account, trying to prevent the other team from getting as far as you All the low comments here obviously have not played co-op or versus for this game. This is NOT a game to play by yourself. Live is damn near required for this game and it's well worth it when you do play it on Live. Constantly switching between survivor and zombie is VERY fun and causes strategy to be taken into account, trying to prevent the other team from getting as far as you did, or trying to push through past where the last team was. Yes, the Director comes into play in Versus too. Randomizing what zombie you become, randomizing where you can get ammo, and just how powerful a boomers bile can be (How many zombies come flying at you) So ignore all the low scores. The campaign was designed to get you used to the maps and the zombie types. But the GAME was designed for multi-player versus fun! Expand
  98. IanC
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    New old school shooting, with stunning production qualities. We'd played split-screen only over the last few days and found the game to be hilarious fun (chaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge!), then last night I tried single player for the first time, totally different experience, tense and really scary. The way a level changes from one go to another through the Director is fantastic. I kept dying New old school shooting, with stunning production qualities. We'd played split-screen only over the last few days and found the game to be hilarious fun (chaaaaaaaaaaaaaarge!), then last night I tried single player for the first time, totally different experience, tense and really scary. The way a level changes from one go to another through the Director is fantastic. I kept dying over and over on the same level, but in a different place and in a different way each time as every time I restarted the level was almost totally... different. For all the shooters that come and go, this is a bona fide stayer, don't miss it if you love video games. Expand
  99. HeathisaWhiner
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Heath, I'm praying to 4 different gods that you're 8 years old. That's the only way your comments won't come off as any one of the following adjectives: arrogant, dumb, annoying, idiotic, super-idiotic, or mega-idiotic. "360 owners" and other console owners are not a singular breed of human being. Don't be one of those weird, stereotypical PC nerd/douche bag Heath, I'm praying to 4 different gods that you're 8 years old. That's the only way your comments won't come off as any one of the following adjectives: arrogant, dumb, annoying, idiotic, super-idiotic, or mega-idiotic. "360 owners" and other console owners are not a singular breed of human being. Don't be one of those weird, stereotypical PC nerd/douche bag hybrids who thinks they shit gold because they use all their fingers simultaneously to play Fallout. Ugh, what a twat. Oh yeah! Left 4 Dead is good! Expand
  100. BenK.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game is dynamic. You feel a different situation even when you replay the same campaigns because of the AI Director, who controls your script. AI Director will wait for the perfect moment to throw a Tank at you right when you're feeling like you're doing a good job. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.