User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1322 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friendsLeft 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friends and difficulty on expert and watching the craziness unfold, all the game modes rely on teamwork, and there's one gameplay mode where you can play as either the Zombies or the survivors and have to effectively communicate in order too win, and it has extremely high replay value, this game comes so close to getting a 10, but it does have some flaws, there are long load times, there are only four short campaigns with five levels a piece, and if you don't have multiplayer, it wont last you forever, but this is still a fantastic game online or off, and is just shy of perfection, a must own. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    It's simplicity may leave the player feeling bare at times, but "Left 4 Dead" is nevertheless an overwhelmingly entertaining zombie shooter with some brilliant co-op gameplay possibilities.
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Original concept and dynamic gameplay. But the actual controls and shooting mechanics are clearly suited for PC. This is a poor port for 360 because it just feels like Counter-Strike with zombies. If you can see through the un-immersive controls, the gameplay can bea blast- especially if played with the right people. However, the campaigns are a lot shorter than the ones for L4D2, andOriginal concept and dynamic gameplay. But the actual controls and shooting mechanics are clearly suited for PC. This is a poor port for 360 because it just feels like Counter-Strike with zombies. If you can see through the un-immersive controls, the gameplay can bea blast- especially if played with the right people. However, the campaigns are a lot shorter than the ones for L4D2, and there's only 4 (excluding map pack). It's worth playing but it's something that becomes boring and old VERY quickly. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    im suprised a company like valve a company who made games like half life 1 and 2 and Portal come out with such a half assed game , this is such a bare bones game basically there meeting musta went some thing like this "i got a idea lets make a game with zombies and make it 4 player co-op" any thing els "no thats it dont need bosses or a story , well make it beatable in alittle over 3 hoursim suprised a company like valve a company who made games like half life 1 and 2 and Portal come out with such a half assed game , this is such a bare bones game basically there meeting musta went some thing like this "i got a idea lets make a game with zombies and make it 4 player co-op" any thing els "no thats it dont need bosses or a story , well make it beatable in alittle over 3 hours and just toss in a few guns and call it a day." this game should have been released as a budget game for like $20 . cause thats about what it looks and plays like . this game the way it is probubly woulda been great 6 years ago on the originla xbox i mean the graphics already look like the belong there. its just way to short i mean to beat a game in 3 hours just shouldnt be . even on the hardest diffuculty me and my friends had this done in 4.5 hours . after i beat it on both normal and the hardest diffuculty which was 2 days i had no desire to want to play it again . its like ok why would i want to its the same thing through all 4 lvls run to a vehicle kill the same zombies over and over with a grand total of 5 higher type zombies like the tank and witch which arnt difuctlt to put down. this just feels so rushed and just slapped together. this game is at best a rental and thats if you REALY REALY REALY like killing zombies . this game was a waste of $60 and valve should be ashamed for charging that much for this half assed game. Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Anything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get moreAnything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get more content on it. Also L4D lacks in weapons, there's not many variety. Those minor flaws doesn't deteriorate the excitement , and you can get good use for it. So pick it , ( get L4D2 it has more stuff ) but, get in mind that less dont get everything right , even if it has zombies. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2017
    7
    Left 4 Dead is a decent enough game. The gun-play is competent, the graphics are solid, and the game is very fun to play. The problem here is the severe lack of content. But the game is still a blast to play with friends. L4D2 is much better though, and I would definitely recommend that over this. If you still want to get this for whatever reason, I think max price would be 12$. I knowLeft 4 Dead is a decent enough game. The gun-play is competent, the graphics are solid, and the game is very fun to play. The problem here is the severe lack of content. But the game is still a blast to play with friends. L4D2 is much better though, and I would definitely recommend that over this. If you still want to get this for whatever reason, I think max price would be 12$. I know that sounds like I despise the game, but the content you are getting here is sorely lacking, and 12$ is a fair price for a game with amazing core mechanics, but lacking in meaty play value. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    Left 4 Dead is still one of the best multiplayer videogames of all time. The gameplay is a ton of fun for friends, and is a must own for Xbox 360 owners.
  8. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    When first playing Left 4 Dead I was alone and playing by myself, it took my 30mins just to walk 30 meters. I was petrified. Left 4 Dead was purposely made to be played on multiplayer and this is where the game shins. Valve has successfully made an action packed *fast paced* zombie game, which will leave you on the edge of your sit the entire ride. Do not expect to play an emotion storyWhen first playing Left 4 Dead I was alone and playing by myself, it took my 30mins just to walk 30 meters. I was petrified. Left 4 Dead was purposely made to be played on multiplayer and this is where the game shins. Valve has successfully made an action packed *fast paced* zombie game, which will leave you on the edge of your sit the entire ride. Do not expect to play an emotion story driven game as this is nothing but. Expand
  9. Jul 22, 2016
    7
    Like always I'm reviewing the game for people that are asking themselves if it's worth a buy NOW, and therefore take into account that there's almost nobody left online and for Left 4 Dead it's obviously impacting the final mark.

    So technically the game is beautiful for its time, with very nice light effects that increase the creepy atmosphere, nice sound design for the enemies, no
    Like always I'm reviewing the game for people that are asking themselves if it's worth a buy NOW, and therefore take into account that there's almost nobody left online and for Left 4 Dead it's obviously impacting the final mark.

    So technically the game is beautiful for its time, with very nice light effects that increase the creepy atmosphere, nice sound design for the enemies, no framerate issue even when there's tons of zombies on the screen, Valve did, like always, a very professional job.

    Concerning the gameplay that's what has been the most "damaged" by time as like I said you won't find a lot of people online and this game is thought to be play in groups of 4 to have the most fun, the IA for the allies is not bad at all if you play in solo but there the game is a rather simple FPS with similar situations again and again, everything works fine but there's no variety.

    And it's not the nonexistent story that will appeal to solo players, every mission has the same one and it only takes one word, ESCAPE. It will take approximately 6 hours to do every mission and once again, if you play alone there's 0 incentive to do them again, so it's very short.

    In conclusion Left 4 Dead is a very fun game to play with friends thanks to a simple but good gameplay, but the lack of story, the repetitive level design and its short length makes it forgettable for solo player. I would advise it if you know for sure that you have at least one friend willing to play it with you, if not there are better FPS out there for you.
    Expand
  10. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    a really boring and repetitive game this game simply takes 10 minutes then it is the same even in any level you play in the co op was good but still gets boring after a while
  11. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Zombie games are well, out there. they could be awesome and they could be boring. THis is one of the better zombie games out there. It's fun and at the time, was pretty scary.
  12. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    This game is boring at first, but then awesome.

    Pros
    -Nice graphics
    -scary
    -interesting story

    Cons
    -Horrible controls

    This game is worth checking out.
  13. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    It doesn't have a great story, but a least it has one. That's better than some other zombie games. It does get somewhat repetitive, but it's still fun. Multiplayer is pretty over rated though. The controls are pretty good but not the best. Gameplay is good. I'd give the campaign an 8 and multiplayer a 6.
  14. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Valve is now my favorite game company, all thanks to this game! I've never played an actual "good" zombie game, aside from RE, and 'Left 4 Dead' is just what I needed! 4 player co-op has never been so fun!
  15. May 30, 2013
    8
    A Valve FPS with zombies. This is a wonderful game that I enjoyed very much, but to get the full experience for this game, you need to have 3 other people, but when you do get 3 other friends, it makes for one helluva good time. And, because you need other people to enjoy it so much, that's why I also have to criticize for. That and its somewhat short gameplay time. It's nice to see gamesA Valve FPS with zombies. This is a wonderful game that I enjoyed very much, but to get the full experience for this game, you need to have 3 other people, but when you do get 3 other friends, it makes for one helluva good time. And, because you need other people to enjoy it so much, that's why I also have to criticize for. That and its somewhat short gameplay time. It's nice to see games encourage you to play with people, but I shouldn't have to be hindered from enjoying the full game experience because I don't have friends who wanna play this game with me, but that's a minor point. Overall, Valve a lovely FPS with zombies. Expand
  16. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    It's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times thereIt's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times there isn't much more to do with this game. The second one is much better and much more worth purchasing (not to mention it came out about a mere year after this one). If you force yourself to think about what you do and take the game more slowly and sneakily on a harder mode (like Expert) and turn off the cheesy loud over the top music, this game can be pretty intense and realistically frightening (depending on what kind of setting your put yourself in). The best aspect of the game is probably Versus Mode, because playing as the mutant-like 'special infected' is quite entertaining. I realize I seem pretty down about this game, and this is only because I've had it for years now, but when I first got it, I thought it was one of the greatest games ever made. However, now I see that in comparison to the sequel, this isn't so impressive. Plus the Steam PC version is at least 10x better, especially since you can download modded maps such as a few Silent Hill maps and many more. Expand
  17. Dec 29, 2016
    8
    Left 4 Dead é um jogo muito bom de zumbis, sempre gostei da ideia do jogo, de voce poder jogar de 4 em coop, e no modo offline pode jogar com o irmao ou com o primo, o grafico para época é boa, sem falar que o jogo inspirou muitos games de zumbis que lançaram anos depois, por exemplo Dead Island e Dying Light, a quantidade de zumbi é impressionante, tem tambem os zumbis especiais, a WitchLeft 4 Dead é um jogo muito bom de zumbis, sempre gostei da ideia do jogo, de voce poder jogar de 4 em coop, e no modo offline pode jogar com o irmao ou com o primo, o grafico para época é boa, sem falar que o jogo inspirou muitos games de zumbis que lançaram anos depois, por exemplo Dead Island e Dying Light, a quantidade de zumbi é impressionante, tem tambem os zumbis especiais, a Witch é muito chata, e o Tanque é muito forte, tem uma boa quantidade de mapas, mesmo o roteiro nao ser o forte do jogo, o seus personagens sao bons, recomendo, é um jogo que mesmo sendo de 2008, continua atual. Nota 8.9 Expand
  18. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    This game really has nothing to offer someone who thinks zombies are boring and the idea has been milked so much in modern pop culture you can see the cows ribs. Half-Life 2 did not gain so many fans for it's shooting mechanics but it's depth and world creation, Left4Dead is just the source shooting engine and zombies that present no challenge, that's it. It looks bad, plays bad and evenThis game really has nothing to offer someone who thinks zombies are boring and the idea has been milked so much in modern pop culture you can see the cows ribs. Half-Life 2 did not gain so many fans for it's shooting mechanics but it's depth and world creation, Left4Dead is just the source shooting engine and zombies that present no challenge, that's it. It looks bad, plays bad and even the co-op is left for dead by Halo and Rainbow 6. I finished the first level then switched the game off unimpressed and totally void of any immersion. Overall the most boring ugly game I've played and not the standards I expect from a full release from Valve. Expand
  19. Aug 20, 2016
    8
    Um jogo bacana, joguei muito na epoca, porem ele nao me agrada totalmente, mas eu acho muito melhor que o 2, porem...é divertido sim, e estaria na lista se voce quer começar a conhecer a plataforma
  20. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = One of the best online Co-op/ Versus games to date. Extremely well designed and very fun overall.
  21. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    I'm usually not into zombie games but this is a truely fun zombie killing experience. It has lots of content and the AI director changes how each level plays making it a game which always offers new challenges. Single player is solid but this was a game meant to be played with friends. The game emphasizes teamwork, lone wolves don't last long. Pick this game up if you and your online posseI'm usually not into zombie games but this is a truely fun zombie killing experience. It has lots of content and the AI director changes how each level plays making it a game which always offers new challenges. Single player is solid but this was a game meant to be played with friends. The game emphasizes teamwork, lone wolves don't last long. Pick this game up if you and your online posse are looking for a new challenge or even just a change of pace from COD or other traditional shooters. Expand
  22. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    If this game had a way to punish players that **** out and rage quit I'd have to give it a 10/10, The environment and atmosphere gives pure adrenaline, game play is engrossing and winning a match feels extremely rewarding.
  23. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    It was worth waiting a few years to get this in the bargain bin... Left 4 Dead (outdated to it's sequel which came out the following year), is a definate not buy if your looking to get it (by the time your reading this it'll be sometime after 2011, so don't get this). A decent game, just incomplete.
  24. Dec 14, 2010
    3
    I hardly ever re-sale my X360 games but after a couple of weeks I immediately brought it back. It's interesting how valve tried to make a game that's made to be repeated but it doesn't work like that. The campaigns last around an hour each at most, versus is dull, and although the "Director" changes zombie and horde spawns, it doesn't do much else. Not so impressive when it's put likeI hardly ever re-sale my X360 games but after a couple of weeks I immediately brought it back. It's interesting how valve tried to make a game that's made to be repeated but it doesn't work like that. The campaigns last around an hour each at most, versus is dull, and although the "Director" changes zombie and horde spawns, it doesn't do much else. Not so impressive when it's put like that, is it? Gunplay is pretty bad, just hip-firing forever. Characters have some charm, but Francis? No. Hate him. This game isn't worth your time. Poor gameplay. Poor plot. Poor graphics. Get out while you still can. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun when you play it with a friend. I think if you play it alone it is boring so I recommend only playing this with friends. This doesnt have any replay value though. Its better just to rent or something and then give it back.
  26. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting to play with other. The game is just amazing, i play it like everyday and i can't imagine not playing this gem.
    Expand
  27. May 13, 2012
    0
    This game is extremely not as good as the second one witch i gave a 6 to. It basically needs work on everything. I needs to drop in price 10.00 to even make the price good.
  28. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    I don't think Valve can make a bad game...cause this surely isn't one. Everything about this game is fun, especially the different types of special infected. This is a great game to play multiplayer on xbox live with and not ever really get bored of this game, as long as you long killing very fast undead.
  29. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    This is one of those games that you can pop in and play with a friend for maybe like an hour or two and then you'll probably want to quit and play something else. The game has almost no storyline and becomes repetitive just hours after playing it. The content is weak and the game lacks depth. I'm a huge zombie fan and I love co-op games but I found Left 4 Dead hard to enjoy. I would onlyThis is one of those games that you can pop in and play with a friend for maybe like an hour or two and then you'll probably want to quit and play something else. The game has almost no storyline and becomes repetitive just hours after playing it. The content is weak and the game lacks depth. I'm a huge zombie fan and I love co-op games but I found Left 4 Dead hard to enjoy. I would only recommend this game if you have a friend to play with. It's a good time waster if you need to burn an hour or two with a friend. Expand
  30. May 12, 2013
    10
    Tell me again, what survival horror fan doesn't like blasting a few hundred zombies in the head every now and again?
    With Left 4 Dead, you'll get to kill zombies. Morbidly obese zombies that vomit on you and attract the main horde, skittish zombies that attack you when you startle them, zombies with a cat-like prowess who try to hunt you down. It's fun, it's simple. It's what we want in a
    Tell me again, what survival horror fan doesn't like blasting a few hundred zombies in the head every now and again?
    With Left 4 Dead, you'll get to kill zombies. Morbidly obese zombies that vomit on you and attract the main horde, skittish zombies that attack you when you startle them, zombies with a cat-like prowess who try to hunt you down. It's fun, it's simple. It's what we want in a zombie game.
    Expand
  31. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    Online co-op gaming at its best. It's not a 'normal' game with its four levels that, on easy or normal, can be finished inside 40 minutes per level. Stick it on extreme and it's a different story, though. We're talking hours of pain per level... ouch.
  32. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    I really love playing this game! The campaign is great for it keeps me compelled to play by myself or with friends. The online feature is great for it can get boring playing by yourself and the ai can be too dumb to save you or to be helpful. Survival is a great feature in which you just have to survive long enough.
  33. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    This is one of a dwindling number of couch co-op titles that gives you solid multiplayer functionality on one screen. It's a great game to play with friends, the co-op feels like a full feature, rather than something added on later (which many two player games falter at).

    The controls are fairly intuitive, and actually implement a few features I wish more first-person games would offer.
  34. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Just about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few ofJust about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few of my friends talk about it, and that's one of the most amazing things about the Left 4 Dead games, I think. The levels themselves stay the same, but the experience is different every time. As someone from Valve said, it promotes "organic storytelling." This happens over and over, for the same game. There are only several types of enemies, and yet every time you play, the experience is different. A look into the developer's comments (included with the Game of the Year version, at least) gave me a good idea of just how much thought was put into every aspect of this game. -- The graphics aren't breath-taking and miraculous, but the techniques put into the development of the graphics certainly are. Music and sound effects are used as audio cues to alert players to where enemies may be hiding. I mentioned in another review, actually, that it is these things that will be remembered several years from now, rather than a game having 'the best' graphics, or 'the best' shallow trait. -- I bought Left 4 Dead over a year ago, and have played it regularly since then. It never lost any of its fun value over that time. Expand
  35. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    At the time of posting, 26897 zombies had been harmed playing of this game by yours truly. Now assume I kill an average of four hundred or so each time I play a level. Do the math. I've played Left 4 Dead that many times. And I will continue to do so, it's that much fun. I don't think I can give any better praise than that...

    Want to read the full review? Go to
    At the time of posting, 26897 zombies had been harmed playing of this game by yours truly. Now assume I kill an average of four hundred or so each time I play a level. Do the math. I've played Left 4 Dead that many times. And I will continue to do so, it's that much fun. I don't think I can give any better praise than that...

    Want to read the full review? Go to http://thereplayreview.blogspot.com!
    Expand
  36. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    The original Left 4 Dead is a fast pace cooperative game.
    Why play in co-op, because the game has some infected(special zombies each containing there very own abilities) that requires a teammates help to get off of you, so it's better to have some friends cover your back then going in like John Rambo because that could cost you your life and you're team would start to break apart.
    Why
    The original Left 4 Dead is a fast pace cooperative game.
    Why play in co-op, because the game has some infected(special zombies each containing there very own abilities) that requires a teammates help to get off of you, so it's better to have some friends cover your back then going in like John Rambo because that could cost you your life and you're team would start to break apart.
    Why not play the campaign by yourself, because it's starts to lose some of its charm and beings to become boring also it's A.I isn't the most impressive to protect you.
    If your not interested in that then the multiplayer could interest you because it's fun and you get to play as the special infected against the survivors being controlled by other players to see who can get the farthest in a campaign before your team gets wiped out and who ever has the most points at the end of the game wins.
    If you want to survive waves of zombies with 3 friends then you could always play survival.
    It's still not perfect but it's not bad of getting a copy, 7/10
    Expand
  37. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This was the game that got me into gaming as a hobby. My friend raved about this game for the longest time and so finally I went out and bought a crappy Xbox 360 Arcade just so that I could play this game. It was the best thing I have ever bought in my life. The intense gameplay that kept me and my friends coming back, the endlessly replayable levels, and the charming characters made meThis was the game that got me into gaming as a hobby. My friend raved about this game for the longest time and so finally I went out and bought a crappy Xbox 360 Arcade just so that I could play this game. It was the best thing I have ever bought in my life. The intense gameplay that kept me and my friends coming back, the endlessly replayable levels, and the charming characters made me a L4D fan. I have spent hours and hours and hours of my life killing zombies with a friend on the couch next to me. I am a huge Resident Evil fan but this is without a doubt my favorite zombie game. Even though it has no real story this game holds up extremely well. Enjoy! Expand
  38. May 28, 2013
    7
    I really enjoyed this game, despite the linear paths and lack of weapon variety. For what it is, an episodic zombie shooter, it does it well. Given, there's not much of a plot, it's a simple escape scenario. But for a zombie apocalypse shooter, I'm not sure how much of a plot people expect. Gave it a seven because it does get a bit boring for long stretches, but in short sittings whenI really enjoyed this game, despite the linear paths and lack of weapon variety. For what it is, an episodic zombie shooter, it does it well. Given, there's not much of a plot, it's a simple escape scenario. But for a zombie apocalypse shooter, I'm not sure how much of a plot people expect. Gave it a seven because it does get a bit boring for long stretches, but in short sittings when you just want to blow away crap for 30-40 minutes, it's a lot of fun. Expand
  39. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Before Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse poundingBefore Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse pounding first person shooter that has been brilliantly created with an A.I. director that constantly changes the item locations and enemy spawn locations, making each time you play a campaign different than the last time you played it. This game strongly relies on its multiplayer, which is no less than spectacular. Playing with three other "survivors" in a zombie apocalypse is something that even today still hasn't gotten old. The versus mode is another great multiplayer mode that allows you to play as the survivors, then the infected or vise-versa in a four on four match. Another thing that makes versus so good is the fact that its completely balanced. The graphics are a bit old, but within respected tolerances. The voice acting is great and the dialogue actually made me laugh out loud in a few times. The only reason this game doesn't achieve perfection is because of lack of content, but the only reason this is a complaint is because the game is so much fun, that I just keep wanting more and more. This game delivered exactly what any zombie media fan could want and is easily one of the funnest games I've ever played. Expand
  40. Dec 14, 2014
    6
    This game isn't awful, but it is beyond overrated. I have an understanding that the fans of the franchise are very fond of Valve, because of men like Gaben Newell, but this game whether or not you play it on console or PC really isn't really all that impressive. All the guns are practically the same, the gameplay is beyond repetitive (shoot painfully dull uninteresting zombies/specialThis game isn't awful, but it is beyond overrated. I have an understanding that the fans of the franchise are very fond of Valve, because of men like Gaben Newell, but this game whether or not you play it on console or PC really isn't really all that impressive. All the guns are practically the same, the gameplay is beyond repetitive (shoot painfully dull uninteresting zombies/special infected), the ai are only very good when they want to be, and it gets quite boring very quickly. Don't get me wrong, I had plenty of fun playing this game with friends, as the multiplayer is blast, but I'd honestly rather play CoD online, and yes I said that. The Left 4 Dead vs mode online multiplayer is what saved this game for me. That is all. Expand
  41. Jun 21, 2015
    9
    The game is really fun, I was kind of skeptical before I bought it but when I played it I think it is a little bit better than Left 4 Dead 2 because it isn't as buggy as L4D2, Yes it a few bugs but I don't really care. The online play is incredible, I could care less for single player but in many ways this is a Masterpiece and I say its a must buy if you have an Xbox.
  42. Komino
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off mid-game you just needed to switch to 'on a break' and the games A.I takes over which is more than competent, especially at saving and healing you. The only real downside I would say is the graphics which do look a little last-gen but it never retracts from the overall experience. Overall, if you connected to the net and want a intense experience that you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere else. Get this game. Expand
  43. HeathL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of blood and shrapnel will never get old. In the same vein, snagging the last standing survivor with the smoker's tongue just as he reaches a fallen comrade is diabolical in it's hilarity. Cons: The game was wasted on 360 owners, most of whom wouldn't know a good game if it pounced on them and clawed their faces off. Griefing idiots make the co-op experience a considerably less fun. Rare, but incredibly aggravating bugs such as jumping down from a ledge a short distance and having the game think you'll fall to your death, making you hang there until you either die or are rescued. Bottom line: This game is hands down the best multiplayer game of the year, the best co-op game in memory, and may well prove to be one of the best games of the last (or next) ten years. Do yourself a favor, if you have a pc that will run this game, buy a copy yesterday. If you have a 360, pawn your noob-box and get a pc so you can L2 play real games; ones you don't have to pay a fee to enjoy online. Failing that, the 360 version is still a beacon of gaming brilliance in a sea of utter mediocrity. Expand
  44. DarrenJ.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth saying that this is an acheivement driven game which will challenge you and frustrate you but all in all one of the best 1st person shooters I've ever played. Expand
  45. JohnP
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    This game is everything you ever dreamed about. George A. Romero on the 360. The controls are very static, which gives it the minus one, but everything else is great. Their is the most basic of storylines in this game. You are with three other people during a zombie apocolypse: survive. Fast paced, action packed, fun online and offline. I recommend this as top game for 2008.
  46. BrianS
    Feb 3, 2009
    7
    This game should be packaged with the warning that you can play it only with 2 people on one 360. We bought the game thinking we all (me and my kids) could play together. WRONG. Now, if you are a single player and don't have online access, skip this one. As far as a multiplayer goes this game is one of the best out there. 4 maps makes you scratch your head why they could not put a This game should be packaged with the warning that you can play it only with 2 people on one 360. We bought the game thinking we all (me and my kids) could play together. WRONG. Now, if you are a single player and don't have online access, skip this one. As far as a multiplayer goes this game is one of the best out there. 4 maps makes you scratch your head why they could not put a few more in it, but I am sure we will see downloads online for maps at a fee of course. Graphics and gameplay are excellant and the AI is very good. I can play this game all day and that says a lot. I do though have to have someone playing with me or I go bonkers over the AI. They look for you to be the leader and force you to take on the horde, hunter, boomer, smoker, & witch at the head of the pack. Expand
  47. ChrisLanger
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    I thought this game was going to be a real "wower", but it turned out to be nothing of the sort. You basically trudge along with no story line, blasting zombies and escaping from the map. There is no real variety in the game and nothing is explained well. The weapons are all homogeneous and you never get a good feel for them. Thankfully I waited until it was 40 bucks before I boughtI thought this game was going to be a real "wower", but it turned out to be nothing of the sort. You basically trudge along with no story line, blasting zombies and escaping from the map. There is no real variety in the game and nothing is explained well. The weapons are all homogeneous and you never get a good feel for them. Thankfully I waited until it was 40 bucks before I bought the game. I would have kicked myself for paying 60 dollars for this four-hour shooer. Expand
  48. JoshuaG
    Jul 14, 2009
    9
    This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make.This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make. Overall, the only people who won't like this game are those who cannot, or will not, play online games. Expand
  49. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    There's nothing more satisfying than playing as a zombie in the 4v4 Co-op Campaign and waiting for just the right moment to pounce on that one player that's lagging behind, or call in a swarm of the undead on your unsuspecting enemies. All in all, Left 4 Dead is a zombie massacre masterpiece.
  50. FlareArmoru
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...
    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...

    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to it in a Dating Sim kind of way. It's a mature zombie game, rate it 0 if you don't think its a GOOD MATURE BLOODY ZOMBIE GAME, NOT CUS UR A FUCKING CHICKEN SHIT. Go online and play maplestory and stop hating on everything you dont like. Plus, where the fuck u find the time to do that anyway? Get a life.

    Steve S. Buy a good movie. They have the best graphics. You seem like you will love movies over games. Go to blockbuster and rent a scary movie. Dont need to get a life, get a brain.

    skipping Daniel M. cus I have nothing good to say to him.
    Anyway... Game's great. Playing it on Adv and getting killed so baddly w/ my freinds at night. 3 hrs to pass Dead Air. IT WAS AWESOME!!

    Loved the whole team concept. You always goto go and save someone or get saved other every 30 seconds to a min. Only time we had to drop the teamwork was the final run to safty and beating the round, Sacrifice someone since we were all hurt too bad so that the rest could snipe from a good distance. And when theres only like 1 or 2 people left and had to rescuse survivors for backup. It is Awesome~ >_<

    Happy shooting =D Don't get too trigger happy though.
    Expand
  51. NickL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is the number of scenarios, 4 with 5 chapters. Overall, this game should be either in the hands or stockings of any gamer who loves anything and everything about Valve. Expand
  52. MattA
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant homage to the greats of zombie lore. Great game... very fun...enough said. Expand
  53. Matt
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Look. For anyone looking for a very fun game no matter how long you play it, this is your game. Anyone who says it is short, they are clearly playing on lower difficulties! Once you try going through these hordes with your friend beside you on expert, it becomes a whole new and exciting game. Just buy, play, and have fun!
  54. JohnB
    Nov 20, 2008
    8
    Overall, worth the price of admission for any FPS/Zombie fan. But not without it's faults.

    Pros: Simple and polished game mechanics. Good Graphics Great "movie" like theme. Interesting levels. Some freedoms to do stuff Your favorite Zombie guns Excellent co-op play Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (yeah for action fans!) Cons: Not much gun variety or
    Overall, worth the price of admission for any FPS/Zombie fan. But not without it's faults.

    Pros:
    Simple and polished game mechanics.
    Good Graphics
    Great "movie" like theme.
    Interesting levels.
    Some freedoms to do stuff
    Your favorite Zombie guns
    Excellent co-op play
    Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (yeah for action fans!)

    Cons:
    Not much gun variety or options
    Not enough campaigns
    Not enough freedom to get from point A to point B
    Little to no zombie variety. You got "normal" zombies, your three main 'sub-boss' zombies (Hunter, Boomer, Smoker) and then the Witch (easily avoidable) and Tank.
    Bad AI, even for zombies (how can I stand in the middle of a room during a zombie rush, mowing down zombies and they don't even bother to attack me?).
    Not enough environment interaction.
    Movement slowed on being hit by a zombie? Really?
    Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (boo for strategy and thriller fans)

    At the end of the day, it's a gun game, at least for a while. I don't see much replay value but even then, it's still worth playing a few times, at least for the PC with a $45 price tag. XBox 360 players might want to pass on this game or pick it up on the PC instead.

    Lots of potential, an average showing. Can really shine with user created maps/campaigns and some more variety of options, weapons, environment interaction (how about building a barricade?).

    A little more thrill and a little less constant action would be nice too. I'd like to see sneaking through empty streets to stock-up on ammo and finding a "safe spot" to build a barricade and prepare for a zombie rush. Also a mix between slow moving zombies and fast moving ones would be cool. Make some slow moving zombies hard to maneuver around (like a mine field) while the fast zombies part of the zombie rush.

    As you can see, it could have been a lot more, but it's still something.
    Expand
  55. AdamD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This is about as tense as it gets. It recreates the dread we experienced in Doom 3, but throws it in by the gallon instead of a trickle. Single player is tolerable, but L4D really shines with friends. Campaign mode and the fantastic Versus mode are excellent. Well worth a look!
  56. BoilingOil
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways back to Valve's stab at Game Of The Year. Ok i'll cut it short - This is the most fun and most challenging game i've played this year. Expand
  57. TietsuCohren
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This game is an epic display of everything that can and in this case does go write when making a video game. Whether your a fan of FPSs or not you owe it to yourself to experience this game for what it is. A rewarding (if not short) game with more to offer than most of the games out this holiday season.
  58. MarkK
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and maul in quite the terrifying way. Meleeing them results in a completely different fall every time, and the AI is nothing short of brilliant. (2) You clearly have not played this game online at all. Finding a good coop team is unlike any other multiplayer experiences out there. and the versus mode is where you have to put the teamwork into the second gear. (3) "this game is terrible; my kids will certainly not play it, thus i rate it bad". Sir, i would encourage you to examine the logic of your statements. If that is truly the reason for your bad review, then i would give it a 5. Considering you could not possibly own this game, i wouldnt rate it at all. people may need to stop rating games wither 1 or 10, there are numbers in between. i know! its shocking! well i guess your entitled to do what you wish, as long as your not the guys on the big page behind this one. Expand
  59. BenK.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game is dynamic. You feel a different situation even when you replay the same campaigns because of the AI Director, who controls your script. AI Director will wait for the perfect moment to throw a Tank at you right when you're feeling like you're doing a good job. Expand
  60. JasonB.
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    I hate poop! That is why this game sucks, every single time a zombie dies i could swear it was just pooping on the floor. The similarities between poop and sounds in this game was dispicable. Zombies talked like poop, died like poop, killed...like POOP! it was utter poop of a game, me and my 360 want to go outside and just poop on this piece of poop game.
  61. JoshK
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus run through on Blood Harvest and it remains in my memory still 30 minutes later as it was a total back and forth point lead switchin guns a blazin ZOMBIE FEST! Please also remember this is a ZOMBIE game and you will... get this... face many many many a zombie. GO CHICAGO TED!!!! Expand
  62. SamF.
    Dec 24, 2008
    8
    A Very cool FPS Which puts you in those Zombie movies of the past. Ever wonder if you could survive? this is your chance to see. The COOP Play in this game online is great if you find people who work together, otherwise the game kinda falls apart being you must help each other out.
  63. DougB
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    I'm almost finished with left 4 dead. I was really expecting more and was let down. There are about 4 guns,4 characters, and 4 levels. The stories are good, but I wish they had one cohesive story. With that said you can beat the single player campaign very quick. Now for the good. The graphics are great with only minor glitches. The sound is awesome. Hearing groans and crying will I'm almost finished with left 4 dead. I was really expecting more and was let down. There are about 4 guns,4 characters, and 4 levels. The stories are good, but I wish they had one cohesive story. With that said you can beat the single player campaign very quick. Now for the good. The graphics are great with only minor glitches. The sound is awesome. Hearing groans and crying will make your hair stand. Online and multiplayer is where this game was meant to be played. It has a long lasting appeal on that front. To be more precise I would give the game an 8.4/5. It's is fun and enjoyable but leaves more to be desired. Expand
  64. ColinH
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would definitely get tedious, but as someone with Live I can't fault the game for that. Online it's an absolute blast. And don't be put off the by the thought of only 4 campaigns or the idea of constant co-op gameplay because there's also the fantastic Versus mode. It's possibly even more fun than the standard co-op. The ability to play as the zombies, and the threat of a human zombie team when playing as the survivors adds a whole new dimension to the game that ramps up the fun factor ten fold. Not to mention the fact that Valve plans to keep the game supported for a long time with new DLC content. They've already announced that the first package of downloadable content will be available soon. If you're looking for a shooter with plenty of action, tight gameplay, and absolutely fantastic multiplayer gaming, then look no further than Left 4 Dead. Expand
  65. nathanskipper
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played, great to link up with friends and play and even fun with strangers, as long as they co-operate. keeps you interested and have been playing it for weeks at least 3 hours a day.... love it!! i dont know how people cant like this
  66. AlphaKennyOneUp
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Best co-op game of all-time. No denying that. If you gave this game any less than a six, than you're an idiot who never played online. IT IS A GAME OBVIOUSLY CENTERED AROUND ONLINE PLAY. IF YOU DID NOT HAVE XBOX LIVE YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE BOUGHT THE GAME. All that aside, there will be DLC really soon, so no more of playing No Mercy all the time on Versus.
  67. EricC.
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can do everything by himself, buy Halo. If you want to be challenged to the point where even the best player in existence can lose to an organized team of middling players, where the playing field is level and your success depends on others, this is your game. It's sort of ironic; a game in which four people annihilate thousands of other human beings has helped to restore my faith in humanity. P.S. When you play versus, Blood Harvest is far superior. It's harder to win, and you can't glitch nearly as much as people on No Mercy do. Expand
  68. JayG
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the campeigns on harder difficulties brings the replay value up.The multiplayer is definetly groundbreaking and unique. Now if you don't have xbox live then its probably worth a rental. Due to no multiplayer and 4 player co-op. Expand
  69. MikeH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others over Xbox LIVE. The lack of depth, normally a downfall, actually works in L4D's advantage this time around. The simple but still intense gameplay allows gamers to jump in at any time and have fun. Run, shoot, survive (or die), rinse and repeat. If you're looking for a lot of story and depth, you might want to skip this one. But if you look at it as a fun a way to pass the time, slaughtering zombies by the hundreds and just have fun, you're bound to find this worth your time and money...repeatedly! Expand
  70. PatrickJ
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a chievo junkie) we continued to play it, initially to get the full 1000. However, once I got the 1000, we still continued to play it (something that I NEVER do). Only then did I realize that Valve really had something there. So what if the 4 maps seem short. With the Versus, Survival, and Campaign, plus the addition of a new Map, this game has still remained fresh, something that is very hard to do. So good job, Valve, my hat is off to you. And for anyone looking to get the game, do it. You will be thankfull Expand
  71. JoelT
    Jan 29, 2009
    4
    Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles that are big today. No actual variety in weapons (GoW2) no moral dilemmas (Fallout 3) no deep storyline (bioshock) this game is only 1 thing. shoot shoot shoot shoot shoot, reload, shoot shoot shoot, get evacuated. Boring... oh, and do the characters need to say "reloading!" every 10 seconds? it really is annoying. Tell me I'm not the only one bothered by that. Expand
  72. CodyC.
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. They should make a level like Dead Rising were you are stuck in a mall. That would be a good idea for a level for Left 4 Dead 2 if they make one. So overall i like how the game is made and designed. Expand
  73. JordanK
    Mar 7, 2009
    4
    It was a good game initially, but it kind of lacks replayability as it gets tedious and the gameplay seems to get repetitive. YES i like the idea of killing zombies, and YES i like the idea of cooperation for survival...but JUST zombies? and did you have to stack the word CO OP in 40 foot high concrete letters? one swift kick and it all comes crashing down? i don't know... the gameIt was a good game initially, but it kind of lacks replayability as it gets tedious and the gameplay seems to get repetitive. YES i like the idea of killing zombies, and YES i like the idea of cooperation for survival...but JUST zombies? and did you have to stack the word CO OP in 40 foot high concrete letters? one swift kick and it all comes crashing down? i don't know... the game seemed to be a little too post zombie apocalypse for me...and involves too much teamwork, as some people refuse to cooperate...fun, but just in spurts. Expand
  74. AAron
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    this game actually sucks reallyyyyyyyyy badddddddd. the graphics suck , u cant aim you have to shoot from the hip. and theres more glitches in this game then any other game ive ever played . if u like meaningless games just to go around laying people out this games is for u but if u actually like a good storyline and a game u can play for long periods of time. then this game is not for u at all
  75. AdamB.
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    Don't play L4D expecting an in-depth FPS heavily focused on strategy; it's purely about survival in moment-to-moment situations, in a fast-paced, cooperative, arcade-type experience. The game essentially delivers for what it is, but there are some downsides. For one, Versus Mode is incredibly unbalanced; the AI Director makes no attempt to correct lopsided games, players are not Don't play L4D expecting an in-depth FPS heavily focused on strategy; it's purely about survival in moment-to-moment situations, in a fast-paced, cooperative, arcade-type experience. The game essentially delivers for what it is, but there are some downsides. For one, Versus Mode is incredibly unbalanced; the AI Director makes no attempt to correct lopsided games, players are not matched according to skill, and it's incredibly difficult to make a comeback when the other team makes it to the safe room once. Frequently I find myself on either a terrible team or a team that's too good, resulting in an experience that isn't very fun. Another downside is the current lack of downloadable content and small number of maps, which along with the game's lack of customization makes L4D very repetitive. Also, for no good reason, the game lacks 4-player local co-op (you need two consoles or to use Live). Finally, most maps are near pitch black with a small cone of visible area from your flashlight, which adds to the suspense but irritates the eyes and wastes the space on your widescreen TV. Still, with all of these downsides, the game can be very entertaining in small groups or over Live (especially in the middle of the night). Expand
  76. mattk
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This game represents what can be done well with Xbox Live. With its intense multiplayer experience and endless replay value via AI Director. I recommend it to anyone looking for zombie co-op fun.
  77. AlecM
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Anton S, how are the graphics ripped from Half LIfe 2? THEIR COMPLETELY DIFFERENT DUMBASS
    This game isn't repetitive, every game is different due to the AI director dumb shit.And there is no need for plot or acting, just look at css!

    Rowan F this game was meant for REPLAYABILITY for fuck sakes, dont say shit if you dont know shit.
  78. RobertBreen
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Great multiplayer action.
    Just when you start to get bored of only having 4 levels, you get sucked in to playing Versus.
    Valve has done good job wiht DLC.
    Cant wait until the sequel hits.
    This is one game that I am still playing and will probably still be playing when the sequel hits.
    It is that Good.
  79. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through carelessly blasting zombies Normal or Easy campaigns are perfect. When I want a challenge I play Expert Campaign or Versus. Playing against other people in Versus makes the game so much more difficult but its a challenge you and your team can overcome. Expert campaigns can be extremely hard but I appreciate this challenge. In Expert mode one or two friendly fire shots can cripple your ally and a handful of zombie smacks does the same. This makes the game play much more careful and thoughtful but also gives it some realism. If you shot a friend it would knock the hell out of him. This is a game stripped of anything not needed and it plays beautifully for it. I LOVE this game and highly recommend it. Expand
  80. robb
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the flavour of the best co op mulitiplayer game ever created.even though l4d only has four missions you could play each one four hundred times over and still find new experiences each time you strap your headset on.if you are on live buy this now and if you are not get on live and buy it anyway. Expand
  81. charlie
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    this game really is good. The reason it got such a low user rating as ps3 fanboys have slated valve off as valve dont write games for ps3. Look at the critic score not user score. Pretty pathetic that people do this to prove their console is the better... Sad little lamers... Who cares...
  82. BRENTJONES
    Nov 1, 2008
    4
    I waited 2 hours to play this game at pax this year and boy was it not worth the wait! For starters the graphics are a good 3 years pre-next gen and the animations for certain characters was stilted. The aiming using the xbox 360 controls were OK, but precision aiming is no where to be found, which makes killing at longer ranges difficult at best. I will say, however, the AI director techI waited 2 hours to play this game at pax this year and boy was it not worth the wait! For starters the graphics are a good 3 years pre-next gen and the animations for certain characters was stilted. The aiming using the xbox 360 controls were OK, but precision aiming is no where to be found, which makes killing at longer ranges difficult at best. I will say, however, the AI director tech is ingenious and will pave the way for future games: but not this one. Expand
  83. ThomasL.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Best zombie game yet. Every turn reveals a new futile situation where you think "there's no way we can get out of this!" But, working together, there is always a way out. People who like to run-and-gun or those who go off on their own for points grabbing will not do well in this game. Fight together or die alone.
  84. ArtV.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Finally a co-op FPS that has re-playability. Left 4 Dead is quite fun to play with skilled players. The multiplayer interface is very well done with the ability to jump in and out of games. Some of the level design seems a bit dark, cluttered and claustrophobic. Overall this game provides some new substance that is has been lacking in this genre.
  85. DanA.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Giant Bomb should be ashamed for giving this an 80, and Mortal Kombat vs. DC a 100. Left 4 Dead is simple, but it certainly doesn't deserve anything that's just in the 8 range and below for ratings. It has it's flaws and a little lack of depth, but it's an amazing experience, with one of the best and most interesting online modes and team-based gameplay I've seen.
  86. WillH.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    BASED ON THE DEMO: This game was one of the most enjoyable games I've ever played. And that was just the demo. The spawn points for enemies, weapons, even the music effects and the like change every playthrough and when you get a good group of guys to play with, this game is amazing. GOTY-quality.
  87. JackT.
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Too much violence, too much gore. I don't think the average household parent would want their child playing this terrible game. I know my son won't play it. I have seen this game in action. I suggest a boycott of this violent game.
  88. TomislavN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Left 4 Dead is truly one of the most fascinating games I've played in years. It brings out most of the qualities i have been looking for: cooperation, lots of guns and a lot of teamwork. Although it lacks many things that would make it perfect, it is still a game to play, and every penny you spent on it, will pay off immediately as you start. In other words: Epic.
  89. JonW
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best instance of Co-operative game play that i've ever experienced. The game is entirely beautifully paced, dramatically dynamic and insanely fun. There have been complaints regarding the length of the individual campaigns but to be totally honest, with the random and variable enemy spawning there is hundreds of hours of gameplay here. It should be noted though that this This is the best instance of Co-operative game play that i've ever experienced. The game is entirely beautifully paced, dramatically dynamic and insanely fun. There have been complaints regarding the length of the individual campaigns but to be totally honest, with the random and variable enemy spawning there is hundreds of hours of gameplay here. It should be noted though that this game is completely dependent on who you play it with. If you have friends in the online community that you trust you will have an excellent experience battling through slogs and slogs of the undead horde. LIkewise if you strictly play through as a pubber you'll feel the frustration of constantly having to rescue and heal incompetent players and greifers. Expand
  90. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    left 4 dead is freaking awsome! anyone who voted bad on this game doesn't deserve to rate anything ever again. If you have played the "demo" (the full games not even out yet) you would get a "small" taste of what the real game is like. Super fast and super uber zombies keep this game fast paced and always asking where did Bill go?
  91. SMcD
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Great game indeed. The reviewers here that are giving the game low scores because of poor graphics and sound etc don't have a clue!! this game is based on some old sterotypical cheesie zombie movie and the sound acting and graphics are meant to add to this (which it does).
  92. MontgomeryMax
    Nov 21, 2008
    8
    Ok...... I'm getting tired of reading all these pathetic user scores. Every one of them I read, "OH NOOOOO! THE GRAPHICS ARE TERRIBLE!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAH WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!" Guy please..... If you play a game for the graphics, that makes you a PUSSY. A big, giant PUSSY. Some of the most fun games I've played don't have the best graphics and STILL manage to get me hookedOk...... I'm getting tired of reading all these pathetic user scores. Every one of them I read, "OH NOOOOO! THE GRAPHICS ARE TERRIBLE!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAH WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!" Guy please..... If you play a game for the graphics, that makes you a PUSSY. A big, giant PUSSY. Some of the most fun games I've played don't have the best graphics and STILL manage to get me hooked for months. Look at GTA! Look at Rainbow Six Vegas!! Graphics?!?! Please. If your eyes are that desperate, find something else to do besides play video games. Go to an art museum or something... damn... Expand
  93. lordolunch
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    One of the most frantic and exciting games I've played on PC in a long time. If you like games that are constantly pounding you with action, then this is your game. The online is some of the best co-op you can play at this point in time. BUY IT
  94. D.J.P.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing for those who have waited for a good zombie game to come out! I already love FPS's and this just adds to it! I would say the only downfall to this game is that there are very few checkpoints (average of 4 in each campaign). Although it is meant to be like that, so keep your team together; it also makes it extremely tiresome to get from one safehouse to This game is absolutely amazing for those who have waited for a good zombie game to come out! I already love FPS's and this just adds to it! I would say the only downfall to this game is that there are very few checkpoints (average of 4 in each campaign). Although it is meant to be like that, so keep your team together; it also makes it extremely tiresome to get from one safehouse to the next on expert mode >:/. Overall I believe this game is excellent and will flourish on Live and PC until another game comes out that takes FPS lovers attention away...kinda like what happened to CoD4 and Halo 3 :D Expand
  95. HenryI
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    There is some validity in what has proved to be an entertaining game. However, it is let down in some instances. More innovative zombie AI could have been used, and the lack of weaponary was.... disappointing. Essentially, it is based on the Source engine has said. This engine is good, and works well for the game. There are unforgettable moments of teamwork and cohesion which will stick There is some validity in what has proved to be an entertaining game. However, it is let down in some instances. More innovative zombie AI could have been used, and the lack of weaponary was.... disappointing. Essentially, it is based on the Source engine has said. This engine is good, and works well for the game. There are unforgettable moments of teamwork and cohesion which will stick in your mind. There are unbelievable moments when you will think "wow, this is AWESOME!". But considering all the other zombie mods out there, I believe Valve did a good job, but not a great one. They needed things such as barricadable areas, some environment destruction, that kind of thing. Because this was lacking, I give this a good rating, and recommend the game highly, but don't believe it is high enough to be regarded as a truly brilliant gem like games such as Fable, COD4, TF2 ect. Expand
  96. RandyM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This game has single handedly re-energized my enthusiasm for the FPS genre. Perfectly playable on a wide range of systems, and the gameplay and balance is very well thought out. Right now, this is the most fun you can have online with friends IMHO. And by the way, if you're not playing online with others, you're missing the whole point of the game. The only reason it misses a 10 This game has single handedly re-energized my enthusiasm for the FPS genre. Perfectly playable on a wide range of systems, and the gameplay and balance is very well thought out. Right now, this is the most fun you can have online with friends IMHO. And by the way, if you're not playing online with others, you're missing the whole point of the game. The only reason it misses a 10 is due to the limited number of maps and weapons. But I'm sure Valve will address that soon enough. And to Jack T who gave it a 0 because it's not good for kids... WTF dude? You know it IS rated "M" for mature. You should have to take an IQ test to produce offspring. *sigh* Expand
  97. mikechabot
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    While this game does lack in length it is still one of the best games out there to play with your friends. I requires more then the meaningless but sometime fun single player ownage as seen in games like Call of Duty 4/5. It requires you and your friends to work together to survive. This is a great game to have for when you have the guys over and is one that really gets you screamingWhile this game does lack in length it is still one of the best games out there to play with your friends. I requires more then the meaningless but sometime fun single player ownage as seen in games like Call of Duty 4/5. It requires you and your friends to work together to survive. This is a great game to have for when you have the guys over and is one that really gets you screaming at the t.v. Expand
  98. PeteTelonen
    Nov 23, 2008
    1
    Definetely not worth the 40 odd dollars. Demo was utterly sucky. Repeated itself every round and easy gameplay. Co-op is not bad, but not good either. Can not match the co-op of e.g Rainbow Six- series. Was waiting it to be superb but it turned out a dissapointment. Gameplay is not that good. Repeats itself all the time. Wouldn't expect this sucky game from Valve. Worst dissapointmentDefinetely not worth the 40 odd dollars. Demo was utterly sucky. Repeated itself every round and easy gameplay. Co-op is not bad, but not good either. Can not match the co-op of e.g Rainbow Six- series. Was waiting it to be superb but it turned out a dissapointment. Gameplay is not that good. Repeats itself all the time. Wouldn't expect this sucky game from Valve. Worst dissapointment since PES 08. Expand
  99. Idoru
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Fun, simple gameplay designed for fun with your friends. Not much content but assuming it recieces as much post launch attention as the orange box has then I think we should be OK. Not played enough yet to know wether or not thew AI make huge differance replayability wise. Even if it were the same though I'm sure I'd enjoy it just as much with the difficulty ramped right up.Fun, simple gameplay designed for fun with your friends. Not much content but assuming it recieces as much post launch attention as the orange box has then I think we should be OK. Not played enough yet to know wether or not thew AI make huge differance replayability wise. Even if it were the same though I'm sure I'd enjoy it just as much with the difficulty ramped right up. Simple the most fun I've had in ages over Live. Expand
  100. MickD
    Nov 28, 2008
    3
    Do not spend 60 dollars on this game. We borrowed a copy and other than the initial "this is cool" reaction the game gets old fast and by fast I mean really fast. No scare factor, no strategy, no nothing other than hold down the right trigger. Terrible.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.