Left 4 Dead Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1320 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    im suprised a company like valve a company who made games like half life 1 and 2 and Portal come out with such a half assed game , this is such a bare bones game basically there meeting musta went some thing like this "i got a idea lets make a game with zombies and make it 4 player co-op" any thing els "no thats it dont need bosses or a story , well make it beatable in alittle over 3 hoursim suprised a company like valve a company who made games like half life 1 and 2 and Portal come out with such a half assed game , this is such a bare bones game basically there meeting musta went some thing like this "i got a idea lets make a game with zombies and make it 4 player co-op" any thing els "no thats it dont need bosses or a story , well make it beatable in alittle over 3 hours and just toss in a few guns and call it a day." this game should have been released as a budget game for like $20 . cause thats about what it looks and plays like . this game the way it is probubly woulda been great 6 years ago on the originla xbox i mean the graphics already look like the belong there. its just way to short i mean to beat a game in 3 hours just shouldnt be . even on the hardest diffuculty me and my friends had this done in 4.5 hours . after i beat it on both normal and the hardest diffuculty which was 2 days i had no desire to want to play it again . its like ok why would i want to its the same thing through all 4 lvls run to a vehicle kill the same zombies over and over with a grand total of 5 higher type zombies like the tank and witch which arnt difuctlt to put down. this just feels so rushed and just slapped together. this game is at best a rental and thats if you REALY REALY REALY like killing zombies . this game was a waste of $60 and valve should be ashamed for charging that much for this half assed game. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    This game really has nothing to offer someone who thinks zombies are boring and the idea has been milked so much in modern pop culture you can see the cows ribs. Half-Life 2 did not gain so many fans for it's shooting mechanics but it's depth and world creation, Left4Dead is just the source shooting engine and zombies that present no challenge, that's it. It looks bad, plays bad and evenThis game really has nothing to offer someone who thinks zombies are boring and the idea has been milked so much in modern pop culture you can see the cows ribs. Half-Life 2 did not gain so many fans for it's shooting mechanics but it's depth and world creation, Left4Dead is just the source shooting engine and zombies that present no challenge, that's it. It looks bad, plays bad and even the co-op is left for dead by Halo and Rainbow 6. I finished the first level then switched the game off unimpressed and totally void of any immersion. Overall the most boring ugly game I've played and not the standards I expect from a full release from Valve. Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2010
    3
    I hardly ever re-sale my X360 games but after a couple of weeks I immediately brought it back. It's interesting how valve tried to make a game that's made to be repeated but it doesn't work like that. The campaigns last around an hour each at most, versus is dull, and although the "Director" changes zombie and horde spawns, it doesn't do much else. Not so impressive when it's put likeI hardly ever re-sale my X360 games but after a couple of weeks I immediately brought it back. It's interesting how valve tried to make a game that's made to be repeated but it doesn't work like that. The campaigns last around an hour each at most, versus is dull, and although the "Director" changes zombie and horde spawns, it doesn't do much else. Not so impressive when it's put like that, is it? Gunplay is pretty bad, just hip-firing forever. Characters have some charm, but Francis? No. Hate him. This game isn't worth your time. Poor gameplay. Poor plot. Poor graphics. Get out while you still can. Expand
  4. May 13, 2012
    0
    This game is extremely not as good as the second one witch i gave a 6 to. It basically needs work on everything. I needs to drop in price 10.00 to even make the price good.
  5. JasonB.
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    I hate poop! That is why this game sucks, every single time a zombie dies i could swear it was just pooping on the floor. The similarities between poop and sounds in this game was dispicable. Zombies talked like poop, died like poop, killed...like POOP! it was utter poop of a game, me and my 360 want to go outside and just poop on this piece of poop game.
  6. JoelT
    Jan 29, 2009
    4
    Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles that are big today. No actual variety in weapons (GoW2) no moral dilemmas (Fallout 3) no deep storyline (bioshock) this game is only 1 thing. shoot shoot shoot shoot shoot, reload, shoot shoot shoot, get evacuated. Boring... oh, and do the characters need to say "reloading!" every 10 seconds? it really is annoying. Tell me I'm not the only one bothered by that. Expand
  7. JordanK
    Mar 7, 2009
    4
    It was a good game initially, but it kind of lacks replayability as it gets tedious and the gameplay seems to get repetitive. YES i like the idea of killing zombies, and YES i like the idea of cooperation for survival...but JUST zombies? and did you have to stack the word CO OP in 40 foot high concrete letters? one swift kick and it all comes crashing down? i don't know... the gameIt was a good game initially, but it kind of lacks replayability as it gets tedious and the gameplay seems to get repetitive. YES i like the idea of killing zombies, and YES i like the idea of cooperation for survival...but JUST zombies? and did you have to stack the word CO OP in 40 foot high concrete letters? one swift kick and it all comes crashing down? i don't know... the game seemed to be a little too post zombie apocalypse for me...and involves too much teamwork, as some people refuse to cooperate...fun, but just in spurts. Expand
  8. AAron
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    this game actually sucks reallyyyyyyyyy badddddddd. the graphics suck , u cant aim you have to shoot from the hip. and theres more glitches in this game then any other game ive ever played . if u like meaningless games just to go around laying people out this games is for u but if u actually like a good storyline and a game u can play for long periods of time. then this game is not for u at all
  9. BRENTJONES
    Nov 1, 2008
    4
    I waited 2 hours to play this game at pax this year and boy was it not worth the wait! For starters the graphics are a good 3 years pre-next gen and the animations for certain characters was stilted. The aiming using the xbox 360 controls were OK, but precision aiming is no where to be found, which makes killing at longer ranges difficult at best. I will say, however, the AI director techI waited 2 hours to play this game at pax this year and boy was it not worth the wait! For starters the graphics are a good 3 years pre-next gen and the animations for certain characters was stilted. The aiming using the xbox 360 controls were OK, but precision aiming is no where to be found, which makes killing at longer ranges difficult at best. I will say, however, the AI director tech is ingenious and will pave the way for future games: but not this one. Expand
  10. JackT.
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Too much violence, too much gore. I don't think the average household parent would want their child playing this terrible game. I know my son won't play it. I have seen this game in action. I suggest a boycott of this violent game.
  11. PeteTelonen
    Nov 23, 2008
    1
    Definetely not worth the 40 odd dollars. Demo was utterly sucky. Repeated itself every round and easy gameplay. Co-op is not bad, but not good either. Can not match the co-op of e.g Rainbow Six- series. Was waiting it to be superb but it turned out a dissapointment. Gameplay is not that good. Repeats itself all the time. Wouldn't expect this sucky game from Valve. Worst dissapointmentDefinetely not worth the 40 odd dollars. Demo was utterly sucky. Repeated itself every round and easy gameplay. Co-op is not bad, but not good either. Can not match the co-op of e.g Rainbow Six- series. Was waiting it to be superb but it turned out a dissapointment. Gameplay is not that good. Repeats itself all the time. Wouldn't expect this sucky game from Valve. Worst dissapointment since PES 08. Expand
  12. MickD
    Nov 28, 2008
    3
    Do not spend 60 dollars on this game. We borrowed a copy and other than the initial "this is cool" reaction the game gets old fast and by fast I mean really fast. No scare factor, no strategy, no nothing other than hold down the right trigger. Terrible.
  13. brettd
    Oct 16, 2008
    3
    This genre of game is getting very tired. The co-op is probably the best part of this game but it does not change the fact that its still just another zombie shooter. If you are considering this title I would recommend maybe dead space which takes the zombie shooter to outer space and has increadibly creative visuals. Or maybe the original zombie shooter RE5. Valve are not as great asThis genre of game is getting very tired. The co-op is probably the best part of this game but it does not change the fact that its still just another zombie shooter. If you are considering this title I would recommend maybe dead space which takes the zombie shooter to outer space and has increadibly creative visuals. Or maybe the original zombie shooter RE5. Valve are not as great as they used to be, ie they;ve fallen off. Expand
  14. SteveM
    Oct 15, 2009
    2
    How can any one like this game. The graphics are poor, the gameplay is repetitive and dull, awful story. The only + point to this game is co-op. This game is the mosted overated rubbish ive ever played. If you want a good zombie game buy Dead Rising but stay well clear of this game
  15. EricB
    Oct 31, 2009
    3
    Why is this game so highly regarded? This is a game that has far too much repetition, almost no storyline to make the game more interesting, and linear, predefined levels that force you to follow preset paths. The crying sound of the witch was the only seriously cool thing about this overhyped, overrated game. If this game came out at a $20 pricepoint, it would deserve an 8 or 9. The game Why is this game so highly regarded? This is a game that has far too much repetition, almost no storyline to make the game more interesting, and linear, predefined levels that force you to follow preset paths. The crying sound of the witch was the only seriously cool thing about this overhyped, overrated game. If this game came out at a $20 pricepoint, it would deserve an 8 or 9. The game seems likea solid effort a group of young developers would create, but as a full priced release, it is a joke. Maybe they'll try to create a full game when they do L4D2. But if they don't, all the Valve fanboys will give it a 10 anyway, I suppose. Expand
  16. JoeR
    Feb 26, 2009
    3
    I'm in agreement with Rod N on this one. I was hesitant to try it out but everyone kept saying it was incredible... it really just wasn't. For the initial experience, it is very fun... and being a fan of Valve I assumed there would be delivery on plot and mission objectives. My girlfriend, who loves zombie crap got bored with this... she prefers COD5 Nazi Zambies! This game is I'm in agreement with Rod N on this one. I was hesitant to try it out but everyone kept saying it was incredible... it really just wasn't. For the initial experience, it is very fun... and being a fan of Valve I assumed there would be delivery on plot and mission objectives. My girlfriend, who loves zombie crap got bored with this... she prefers COD5 Nazi Zambies! This game is not for the veteran FPS fans! I'm trading mine in for Fear 2. Expand
  17. AntonS
    Jun 29, 2009
    3
    A big letdown. -Graphics are decent but you have to take into consideration that they were ripped from Half Life 2. This game doesn't add much..Actually most of the objects are same. -REPETITIVE! Only 6 different weapons and few enemies. This game is completely brainless. There really is no plot, no acting, no depth like in good FPS games. I was bored after two levels. :/ Avoid A big letdown. -Graphics are decent but you have to take into consideration that they were ripped from Half Life 2. This game doesn't add much..Actually most of the objects are same. -REPETITIVE! Only 6 different weapons and few enemies. This game is completely brainless. There really is no plot, no acting, no depth like in good FPS games. I was bored after two levels. :/ Avoid unless you can buy it for 15 bucks. Expand
  18. DanielM.
    Nov 17, 2008
    3
    This game was hyped to be great, and turned out to be a great disappointment. This is the first Valve release that actually sucks. In a nutshell, it's a game that looks more like a half-life 2 mod than anything else. The gameplay depth is so shallow that it feels home-brewed by some dudes in their basement. The voice acting is also quite weak for some of the main characters, This game was hyped to be great, and turned out to be a great disappointment. This is the first Valve release that actually sucks. In a nutshell, it's a game that looks more like a half-life 2 mod than anything else. The gameplay depth is so shallow that it feels home-brewed by some dudes in their basement. The voice acting is also quite weak for some of the main characters, especially Francis. Quite surprised this is a Valve release. Expand
  19. MichaelG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    3
    It's not worth sixty dollars, that's for sure. I look at all the professional reviews here and I'm helped to raise my eyebrow in disagreement. As a gamer I felt the game was weak, the attempt was mediocre, the experience was average. This is a 20 dollar game. Because let's face it. All this game is... is the zombies mod for CS:S that has been tweaked. The graphics It's not worth sixty dollars, that's for sure. I look at all the professional reviews here and I'm helped to raise my eyebrow in disagreement. As a gamer I felt the game was weak, the attempt was mediocre, the experience was average. This is a 20 dollar game. Because let's face it. All this game is... is the zombies mod for CS:S that has been tweaked. The graphics aren't up to standard, the mechanics could of been better and this proves to me that Valve should stay to the PC community. Because I have not enjoyed one of their games for the consoles. "But! But! It has fun and it's so innovative!" Yes, it is mindless fun. But I'd like a little more bang for my buck. But really? Innovative? Just because it refuses to hire proper writers to write a entertaining script? A regression is not a innovative element. It's moronic and pointless. Especially for story-driven gamers.... and please don't say I lack imagination. Because I played Fable 2 last month completely vivid in what was happening. The environment gave me the concept of story. This game... really didn't do that for me. Call me a cynic or narrow-minded, but, still I just can't see how this is worth my 60 dollars. At all. Even with the multiplayer component. This game lacked substance. It was a CS:S mod clone marketed well. Thats all it will ever be. People look for a story, especially in this day and age. So don't be lazy, Valve. Even with Half-Life you used your scripting skills with your writers fairly well... bah. This game is a 3.5, mediocre and worth a rent. But not a full sale price purchase. Expand
  20. DevanB.
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    I really, really hate this game. I've been waiting for this game for months, and Valve gives me this? I will admit that the graphics are nice, but that's where the good things end. Here is a list of my problems with this game: #1: There is no replay value. It's kind of funny how this game was built for replay value and it DOESN'T HAVE ANY! I played this game for about I really, really hate this game. I've been waiting for this game for months, and Valve gives me this? I will admit that the graphics are nice, but that's where the good things end. Here is a list of my problems with this game: #1: There is no replay value. It's kind of funny how this game was built for replay value and it DOESN'T HAVE ANY! I played this game for about two hours and I was bored to tears. The first level looked pretty promising, but by the time I finished the second level, the game began to lose its initial appeal. First of all, the game has six guns, that's it, and only five of them are worth using (the hunting rifle sucks). Second of all, the game follows a cookie-cutter formula for every level: blast your way through hordes of zombies (which isn't challenging or fun at all) and then push a button or open a door which calls more hordes of zombies which are not any more fun to kill. This will get you to another part of the level where you fight more hordes of zombies. Every once and a while, you will encounter a "boss zombie". Wow, that sounds exciting! It's not, you don't really have to change your tactics (gun it down) for any of the boss zombies except for the Boomer (which is shove and then gun him down). Eventually, you will get to the end of the level, but it doesn't really feel like an accomplishment because it wasn't challenging at all. #2: The game is not scary at all. There are a load of other FPS games available for just about every gaming system out today, a lot of these games are good, and I could have bought a number of them instead of this awful, awful game, but I thought this game would be scary, and boy, do I like a good scary video game. Unfortunately, I was mistaken. Zombies are incredibly easy to kill, even on the hardest difficulty mode, and you are able to carry way too much ammo. Also, the weapons you get are waaaaay too powerful, last time I checked automatic shotgun + assault rifle > zombie horde. Take Resident Evil, make the zombies god awful, give yourself the rocket launcher with infinite ammo, and allow four people to play it at the same time and you have an experience much life Left 4 Dead. This kinda ties in with reason #3 because, since your survival is pretty much ensured, you don't really have to wonder what's around that next corner or what's in the shadows in the corner because, whatever it is, you can kill it with hardly any effort. #3: The game is way to freaking easy. Even the hardest difficulty setting is easy in Left 4 Dead. If the game was Left 1 Dead then the current difficulty level would be appropriate, but with four players (of any skill level) the game is laughably easy. The health of the zombies hardly changes at all in between difficulty levels and, as long as you keep them away from you, they are just as easy to gun down. I really hope these three reasons are enough to stop you from getting this game, I really do (I could give you several more, such as how the story sucks, but I won't for the sake of readability). I would not wish this game on anybody. Remember how repetitive Assassin's creed was? Multiply that by sixteen and you have Left 4 Dead. Come on, six guns?! Some of you who already own the game may say things like "But there's an AI director that makes the game different every time you play it", and that may be true, but how different? All the AI director does is change the position of some enemies, I really could never tell any difference from one play to the next. I just want to tell everyone who reads this that this game is god awful and you should not get it. If you HAVE to get this game, rent it, you will be happy that I saved you forty bucks. To sum it up, I am very sorely disappointed in this game and I plan to return it or trade it in ASAP. Expand
  21. MatteoG.
    Nov 28, 2008
    3
    You'r gonna play it 1 hour, then maybe you like it... you laugh about it, you have nothing better to do and so you play it on. But this title, also if "purifing" the zombie-game to its very substance, is really too poor. I mean, Valve made a zombie-game in which all you have to do is kill zombies, and this may be ok, but there is no plot or story there isn't a variety of You'r gonna play it 1 hour, then maybe you like it... you laugh about it, you have nothing better to do and so you play it on. But this title, also if "purifing" the zombie-game to its very substance, is really too poor. I mean, Valve made a zombie-game in which all you have to do is kill zombies, and this may be ok, but there is no plot or story there isn't a variety of weapons... there is nothing. I could have accepted something like this if, on the other side, there have bben the opportunity to wonder around, to find different places and locations like in GTA. In that case it could have been wonderful! Think of it: a GTA-style city full of zombies and you wonder around trying to get out of it. Still simple and "kill-averything-that-moves" but more realistic. This game had the opportunity to take gamers inside a real zombie situation and then let them choose how to get out of it, but they didn't, they just made only one very simple path that you have to follow keeping your fire botton pressed all the time. That's it. A good idea, but they wasted it totally. Expand
  22. SteveW.
    Dec 24, 2008
    3
    I'm joining the legions of people who wasted their money through hype; this game really is so overrated and not even as good as Valve's older stuff let alone anything currently on the market right now. It really does just feel like a slightly polished mod, there is no way this should be released for full price on the 360 and it should have been released as a budget Steam I'm joining the legions of people who wasted their money through hype; this game really is so overrated and not even as good as Valve's older stuff let alone anything currently on the market right now. It really does just feel like a slightly polished mod, there is no way this should be released for full price on the 360 and it should have been released as a budget Steam exclusive only. The graphics are the same as the original 2004 release of HL2 before the engine tweaks the Orange Box version got, the sound effects are all recycled from HL2 which in turn are recycled from HL1 and any music you hear sounds like a remix of some of the stuff from HL2:Ep2. This is just lazy and makes it feel even more like a mod rather than a full product worthy of £40. Replay value? None, this is the most repetitive game I have ever played. It takes no skill and is no fun, and even on four-player online co-op on Expert difficulty (which, by the way, is the way this turd is supposed to be played). There are only six weapons, your AI teammates run around in circles making dumb "witty" comments and the environments feel fake, they feel like they were just designed as somewhere suited for zombies rather than somewhere where zombies might end up. I paid full price for this game and was bored within three days, if I wanted to walk through a bunch of cliched, bland, predictable environments shooting at stuff for the sake of it I'd find it so much cheaper to just go to my local pub and play Time Crisis. Come to think of it, Time Crisis is more fun. Not to mention Valve's treatment of their console community is nothing short of dreadful, quite frankly. The 360 version of TF2 is only now even being offered the chance of updates which the PC version got LAST Christmas, Valve's console support is a joke and this game will die on the 360, no question - the PC version will last beyond the end of time because of custom gametypes, mods, maps, everything that the 360 will never ever get. Zombies are an annoying fad and Valve have just cashed in. This game really is rather poor and the community surrounding it is just filled with fanboys who defend it to death if you dare legitimately criticise any aspect of it. Expand
  23. IkeA.
    Dec 6, 2008
    3
    Okay, so I went out and bought this game based on the mass of positive reviews. Man, what a mistake. first off, contrary to the name, it's not a 4 player game, it's 2. unless you want to do system links... which means 2 Xboxes and two copies of L4D. that seems efficient. Maybe I'm old fashion, but there's something a lot more enjoyable about a game when you are playing Okay, so I went out and bought this game based on the mass of positive reviews. Man, what a mistake. first off, contrary to the name, it's not a 4 player game, it's 2. unless you want to do system links... which means 2 Xboxes and two copies of L4D. that seems efficient. Maybe I'm old fashion, but there's something a lot more enjoyable about a game when you are playing with people sitting next to you, not people you'd hate in real life, if you met, 1/2 way across the US. So it's a 2 person game, but there are 2 AIs that get in your way constantly and/or die horribly. Which really makes me confused because the game's AI and score keeper treats them like they aren't AI's... so why can't they be controlled by people. There is a horrible lacking in weaponry, and considering how horrible a shot you can be in this game and still succeed, you'd think they'd make it a lil more diverse... maybe more than one gun with a scope. The mobs are repetitive, not even counting the hordes of regular zombies that flood at you. The occasional special zombie, while interesting the first 2-3 levels, become tedious and old shortly after. The game is mindless and even though the scene's change, you find yourself with a strange feeling of deja vu in many new areas. I see where they wanted to go with this game, and it has a lot of great things to say about it. But it really falls short in some major categories. They should have stuck with a PC game, even on the Xbox it feels like a clunky PC game, and then at least I wouldn't feel ripped off having bought a 2 person game that does everything in it's power to call it 4 person. Expand
  24. AndyA
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    Buyer Beware, LEFT 4 DEAD is the worst game out there..... It is a waste of money, time, and you will feel dumber just for playing it.... There is no real point to the game other than running around like an idot and shooting retarded zombies that seem to just keep coming, also the zombies all look the same.There is no real point to the game other than to run around shoot zombies, then you Buyer Beware, LEFT 4 DEAD is the worst game out there..... It is a waste of money, time, and you will feel dumber just for playing it.... There is no real point to the game other than running around like an idot and shooting retarded zombies that seem to just keep coming, also the zombies all look the same.There is no real point to the game other than to run around shoot zombies, then you will be waiting for a pickup. Ammo is extremely scarce, as well as med packs, and if you are playing online, the other players seem to get mad at you and not help you. If you are looking for a fun multiplayer game, I highly suggest Call of Duty: World at War... How original is this game? Not very... Can you say RESIDENT EVIL ripoff.... BUYER BEWARE!!! Expand
  25. JoelT
    Feb 15, 2009
    3
    Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles that are big today. No actual variety in weapons (GoW2) no moral dilemmas (Fallout 3) no deep storyline (bioshock) this game is only 1 thing. shoot shoot shoot shoot shoot, reload, shoot shoot shoot, get evacuated. Boring... oh, and do the characters need to say "reloading!" every 10 seconds? it really is annoying. Tell me I'm not the only one bothered by that. Expand
  26. SteveS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    1
    I'm sorry, but I was anxiously awaiting this game, but it turned out sadly very poor, and very last gen. The graphics are weak, the gameplay is brainless, and the game design is 8 years past acceptable. As a 360 owner, I'm shocked and appauled that this game is getting great reviews. It pains me to see junk like this (and it is junk, like it or not) when it's been seen what I'm sorry, but I was anxiously awaiting this game, but it turned out sadly very poor, and very last gen. The graphics are weak, the gameplay is brainless, and the game design is 8 years past acceptable. As a 360 owner, I'm shocked and appauled that this game is getting great reviews. It pains me to see junk like this (and it is junk, like it or not) when it's been seen what the system is capable of (GTA4, Fable 2, Gears 2) and what the PS3 can pump out (MGS4, Little Big Planet, Resistense 2). Expand
  27. FernandoLazo
    Nov 18, 2008
    3
    This game sucks the only thing that is good is the co op but if u dont have live this game blows by its self If u think about it the story is ALOT like resedent evil a virus that spreads n makes zombies wow how original YAWN!!!! retarded i dont like this n dont recommend buying this garbage game at $60 maybe 40 but not 60 ripoff n but if u dont have live do not get this game.
  28. VincentB
    Nov 27, 2008
    2
    Huge disapointment. After reading reviews and listening to all the hype built up about this game i was hoping for something great. Single player is totally shite but the main thing i bought it for was the multiplayer which for a couple of hours is fun but there is no lastability to it. There is some good new ideas in there but with poor graphics, crap controls, dodgy sound, this game Huge disapointment. After reading reviews and listening to all the hype built up about this game i was hoping for something great. Single player is totally shite but the main thing i bought it for was the multiplayer which for a couple of hours is fun but there is no lastability to it. There is some good new ideas in there but with poor graphics, crap controls, dodgy sound, this game feels like a demo game and how it is for sale at £40 is a joke. For you people who gave it 10/10, you have just wasted me my money, AVOID like the plague. Expand
  29. SK
    Dec 23, 2008
    3
    With all the hype you'd expect a really amazing new IP. The sad truth is that after finishing the single player story mode (all half hour of it) and spending hours online I am sorely dissapointed. I dont know where these amazing reviews are coming from but I can honestly say it is all just hype and a lot of careful marketing. The game feels like it belongs on the original Xbox, not a With all the hype you'd expect a really amazing new IP. The sad truth is that after finishing the single player story mode (all half hour of it) and spending hours online I am sorely dissapointed. I dont know where these amazing reviews are coming from but I can honestly say it is all just hype and a lot of careful marketing. The game feels like it belongs on the original Xbox, not a next gen machine. Graphics are appalling, (anybody play Gears of War 2 yet??) gameplay is mediocre and repetitive, with only the surroundings changing as you glide from area to area fighting the same cookie cutter horde and 4 'boss' bad guys over and over again. Oh and the difficulty spikes from dead easy to stupid hard in the blink of an eye!! I just spent near $70 on what I could probably play for free on the PC. Yeap, it's THAT crappy. Valve should go back to making Half Life sequels. Expand
  30. SamK
    Dec 23, 2008
    1
    A game that belonged on the PC 5 years ago, maybe then it would've been impressive. I have no friggoin idea what all the fuss is about, played the single player game, laughable, and then online for nearlly 8 hours and I hate this game. From it's cookie cutter 1 shot kill zombies to the repetitive 'boss' zombies that come at you and do the SAME thing over and over A game that belonged on the PC 5 years ago, maybe then it would've been impressive. I have no friggoin idea what all the fuss is about, played the single player game, laughable, and then online for nearlly 8 hours and I hate this game. From it's cookie cutter 1 shot kill zombies to the repetitive 'boss' zombies that come at you and do the SAME thing over and over again. Lackluster maps, crappy graphics that look more at home on the original Xbox than on a next gen platform and ZERO replay value. You have a total of FOUR weapons to choose from and really that's the game in a nutshell. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME..rent if you must, but it is a rip-off at $60. These reviews are rigged. Valve should stick with making PC games, this is really shitty and I feel like I was robbed. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.