User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1322 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Anything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get moreAnything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get more content on it. Also L4D lacks in weapons, there's not many variety. Those minor flaws doesn't deteriorate the excitement , and you can get good use for it. So pick it , ( get L4D2 it has more stuff ) but, get in mind that less dont get everything right , even if it has zombies. Expand
  2. PatrickJ
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a chievo junkie) we continued to play it, initially to get the full 1000. However, once I got the 1000, we still continued to play it (something that I NEVER do). Only then did I realize that Valve really had something there. So what if the 4 maps seem short. With the Versus, Survival, and Campaign, plus the addition of a new Map, this game has still remained fresh, something that is very hard to do. So good job, Valve, my hat is off to you. And for anyone looking to get the game, do it. You will be thankfull Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting to play with other. The game is just amazing, i play it like everyday and i can't imagine not playing this gem.
    Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friendsLeft 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friends and difficulty on expert and watching the craziness unfold, all the game modes rely on teamwork, and there's one gameplay mode where you can play as either the Zombies or the survivors and have to effectively communicate in order too win, and it has extremely high replay value, this game comes so close to getting a 10, but it does have some flaws, there are long load times, there are only four short campaigns with five levels a piece, and if you don't have multiplayer, it wont last you forever, but this is still a fantastic game online or off, and is just shy of perfection, a must own. Expand
  5. CodyC.
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. They should make a level like Dead Rising were you are stuck in a mall. That would be a good idea for a level for Left 4 Dead 2 if they make one. So overall i like how the game is made and designed. Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = One of the best online Co-op/ Versus games to date. Extremely well designed and very fun overall.
  7. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    I don't think Valve can make a bad game...cause this surely isn't one. Everything about this game is fun, especially the different types of special infected. This is a great game to play multiplayer on xbox live with and not ever really get bored of this game, as long as you long killing very fast undead.
  8. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Just about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few ofJust about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few of my friends talk about it, and that's one of the most amazing things about the Left 4 Dead games, I think. The levels themselves stay the same, but the experience is different every time. As someone from Valve said, it promotes "organic storytelling." This happens over and over, for the same game. There are only several types of enemies, and yet every time you play, the experience is different. A look into the developer's comments (included with the Game of the Year version, at least) gave me a good idea of just how much thought was put into every aspect of this game. -- The graphics aren't breath-taking and miraculous, but the techniques put into the development of the graphics certainly are. Music and sound effects are used as audio cues to alert players to where enemies may be hiding. I mentioned in another review, actually, that it is these things that will be remembered several years from now, rather than a game having 'the best' graphics, or 'the best' shallow trait. -- I bought Left 4 Dead over a year ago, and have played it regularly since then. It never lost any of its fun value over that time. Expand
  9. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Left 4 Dead has everything i want in a survival game exciting and realistic i rate this game top marks and will recommend it to anyone who is in to survival games.
  10. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    It doesn't have a great story, but a least it has one. That's better than some other zombie games. It does get somewhat repetitive, but it's still fun. Multiplayer is pretty over rated though. The controls are pretty good but not the best. Gameplay is good. I'd give the campaign an 8 and multiplayer a 6.
  11. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    It's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times thereIt's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times there isn't much more to do with this game. The second one is much better and much more worth purchasing (not to mention it came out about a mere year after this one). If you force yourself to think about what you do and take the game more slowly and sneakily on a harder mode (like Expert) and turn off the cheesy loud over the top music, this game can be pretty intense and realistically frightening (depending on what kind of setting your put yourself in). The best aspect of the game is probably Versus Mode, because playing as the mutant-like 'special infected' is quite entertaining. I realize I seem pretty down about this game, and this is only because I've had it for years now, but when I first got it, I thought it was one of the greatest games ever made. However, now I see that in comparison to the sequel, this isn't so impressive. Plus the Steam PC version is at least 10x better, especially since you can download modded maps such as a few Silent Hill maps and many more. Expand
  12. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Before Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse poundingBefore Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse pounding first person shooter that has been brilliantly created with an A.I. director that constantly changes the item locations and enemy spawn locations, making each time you play a campaign different than the last time you played it. This game strongly relies on its multiplayer, which is no less than spectacular. Playing with three other "survivors" in a zombie apocalypse is something that even today still hasn't gotten old. The versus mode is another great multiplayer mode that allows you to play as the survivors, then the infected or vise-versa in a four on four match. Another thing that makes versus so good is the fact that its completely balanced. The graphics are a bit old, but within respected tolerances. The voice acting is great and the dialogue actually made me laugh out loud in a few times. The only reason this game doesn't achieve perfection is because of lack of content, but the only reason this is a complaint is because the game is so much fun, that I just keep wanting more and more. This game delivered exactly what any zombie media fan could want and is easily one of the funnest games I've ever played. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun when you play it with a friend. I think if you play it alone it is boring so I recommend only playing this with friends. This doesnt have any replay value though. Its better just to rent or something and then give it back.
  14. Komino
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off mid-game you just needed to switch to 'on a break' and the games A.I takes over which is more than competent, especially at saving and healing you. The only real downside I would say is the graphics which do look a little last-gen but it never retracts from the overall experience. Overall, if you connected to the net and want a intense experience that you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere else. Get this game. Expand
  15. HeathL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of blood and shrapnel will never get old. In the same vein, snagging the last standing survivor with the smoker's tongue just as he reaches a fallen comrade is diabolical in it's hilarity. Cons: The game was wasted on 360 owners, most of whom wouldn't know a good game if it pounced on them and clawed their faces off. Griefing idiots make the co-op experience a considerably less fun. Rare, but incredibly aggravating bugs such as jumping down from a ledge a short distance and having the game think you'll fall to your death, making you hang there until you either die or are rescued. Bottom line: This game is hands down the best multiplayer game of the year, the best co-op game in memory, and may well prove to be one of the best games of the last (or next) ten years. Do yourself a favor, if you have a pc that will run this game, buy a copy yesterday. If you have a 360, pawn your noob-box and get a pc so you can L2 play real games; ones you don't have to pay a fee to enjoy online. Failing that, the 360 version is still a beacon of gaming brilliance in a sea of utter mediocrity. Expand
  16. DarrenJ.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth saying that this is an acheivement driven game which will challenge you and frustrate you but all in all one of the best 1st person shooters I've ever played. Expand
  17. JohnP
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    This game is everything you ever dreamed about. George A. Romero on the 360. The controls are very static, which gives it the minus one, but everything else is great. Their is the most basic of storylines in this game. You are with three other people during a zombie apocolypse: survive. Fast paced, action packed, fun online and offline. I recommend this as top game for 2008.
  18. JoshuaG
    Jul 14, 2009
    9
    This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make.This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make. Overall, the only people who won't like this game are those who cannot, or will not, play online games. Expand
  19. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    There's nothing more satisfying than playing as a zombie in the 4v4 Co-op Campaign and waiting for just the right moment to pounce on that one player that's lagging behind, or call in a swarm of the undead on your unsuspecting enemies. All in all, Left 4 Dead is a zombie massacre masterpiece.
  20. FlareArmoru
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...
    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...

    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to it in a Dating Sim kind of way. It's a mature zombie game, rate it 0 if you don't think its a GOOD MATURE BLOODY ZOMBIE GAME, NOT CUS UR A FUCKING CHICKEN SHIT. Go online and play maplestory and stop hating on everything you dont like. Plus, where the fuck u find the time to do that anyway? Get a life.

    Steve S. Buy a good movie. They have the best graphics. You seem like you will love movies over games. Go to blockbuster and rent a scary movie. Dont need to get a life, get a brain.

    skipping Daniel M. cus I have nothing good to say to him.
    Anyway... Game's great. Playing it on Adv and getting killed so baddly w/ my freinds at night. 3 hrs to pass Dead Air. IT WAS AWESOME!!

    Loved the whole team concept. You always goto go and save someone or get saved other every 30 seconds to a min. Only time we had to drop the teamwork was the final run to safty and beating the round, Sacrifice someone since we were all hurt too bad so that the rest could snipe from a good distance. And when theres only like 1 or 2 people left and had to rescuse survivors for backup. It is Awesome~ >_<

    Happy shooting =D Don't get too trigger happy though.
    Expand
  21. NickL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is the number of scenarios, 4 with 5 chapters. Overall, this game should be either in the hands or stockings of any gamer who loves anything and everything about Valve. Expand
  22. MattA
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant homage to the greats of zombie lore. Great game... very fun...enough said. Expand
  23. Matt
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Look. For anyone looking for a very fun game no matter how long you play it, this is your game. Anyone who says it is short, they are clearly playing on lower difficulties! Once you try going through these hordes with your friend beside you on expert, it becomes a whole new and exciting game. Just buy, play, and have fun!
  24. JohnB
    Nov 20, 2008
    8
    Overall, worth the price of admission for any FPS/Zombie fan. But not without it's faults.

    Pros: Simple and polished game mechanics. Good Graphics Great "movie" like theme. Interesting levels. Some freedoms to do stuff Your favorite Zombie guns Excellent co-op play Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (yeah for action fans!) Cons: Not much gun variety or
    Overall, worth the price of admission for any FPS/Zombie fan. But not without it's faults.

    Pros:
    Simple and polished game mechanics.
    Good Graphics
    Great "movie" like theme.
    Interesting levels.
    Some freedoms to do stuff
    Your favorite Zombie guns
    Excellent co-op play
    Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (yeah for action fans!)

    Cons:
    Not much gun variety or options
    Not enough campaigns
    Not enough freedom to get from point A to point B
    Little to no zombie variety. You got "normal" zombies, your three main 'sub-boss' zombies (Hunter, Boomer, Smoker) and then the Witch (easily avoidable) and Tank.
    Bad AI, even for zombies (how can I stand in the middle of a room during a zombie rush, mowing down zombies and they don't even bother to attack me?).
    Not enough environment interaction.
    Movement slowed on being hit by a zombie? Really?
    Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (boo for strategy and thriller fans)

    At the end of the day, it's a gun game, at least for a while. I don't see much replay value but even then, it's still worth playing a few times, at least for the PC with a $45 price tag. XBox 360 players might want to pass on this game or pick it up on the PC instead.

    Lots of potential, an average showing. Can really shine with user created maps/campaigns and some more variety of options, weapons, environment interaction (how about building a barricade?).

    A little more thrill and a little less constant action would be nice too. I'd like to see sneaking through empty streets to stock-up on ammo and finding a "safe spot" to build a barricade and prepare for a zombie rush. Also a mix between slow moving zombies and fast moving ones would be cool. Make some slow moving zombies hard to maneuver around (like a mine field) while the fast zombies part of the zombie rush.

    As you can see, it could have been a lot more, but it's still something.
    Expand
  25. AdamD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This is about as tense as it gets. It recreates the dread we experienced in Doom 3, but throws it in by the gallon instead of a trickle. Single player is tolerable, but L4D really shines with friends. Campaign mode and the fantastic Versus mode are excellent. Well worth a look!
  26. BoilingOil
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways back to Valve's stab at Game Of The Year. Ok i'll cut it short - This is the most fun and most challenging game i've played this year. Expand
  27. TietsuCohren
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This game is an epic display of everything that can and in this case does go write when making a video game. Whether your a fan of FPSs or not you owe it to yourself to experience this game for what it is. A rewarding (if not short) game with more to offer than most of the games out this holiday season.
  28. MarkK
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and maul in quite the terrifying way. Meleeing them results in a completely different fall every time, and the AI is nothing short of brilliant. (2) You clearly have not played this game online at all. Finding a good coop team is unlike any other multiplayer experiences out there. and the versus mode is where you have to put the teamwork into the second gear. (3) "this game is terrible; my kids will certainly not play it, thus i rate it bad". Sir, i would encourage you to examine the logic of your statements. If that is truly the reason for your bad review, then i would give it a 5. Considering you could not possibly own this game, i wouldnt rate it at all. people may need to stop rating games wither 1 or 10, there are numbers in between. i know! its shocking! well i guess your entitled to do what you wish, as long as your not the guys on the big page behind this one. Expand
  29. BenK.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game is dynamic. You feel a different situation even when you replay the same campaigns because of the AI Director, who controls your script. AI Director will wait for the perfect moment to throw a Tank at you right when you're feeling like you're doing a good job. Expand
  30. JoshK
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus run through on Blood Harvest and it remains in my memory still 30 minutes later as it was a total back and forth point lead switchin guns a blazin ZOMBIE FEST! Please also remember this is a ZOMBIE game and you will... get this... face many many many a zombie. GO CHICAGO TED!!!! Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.