User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1278 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoelT
    Feb 15, 2009
    3
    Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles that are big today. No actual variety in weapons (GoW2) no moral dilemmas (Fallout 3) no deep storyline (bioshock) this game is only 1 thing. shoot shoot shoot shoot shoot, reload, shoot shoot shoot, get evacuated. Boring... oh, and do the characters need to say "reloading!" every 10 seconds? it really is annoying. Tell me I'm not the only one bothered by that. Expand
  2. PeteTelonen
    Nov 23, 2008
    1
    Definetely not worth the 40 odd dollars. Demo was utterly sucky. Repeated itself every round and easy gameplay. Co-op is not bad, but not good either. Can not match the co-op of e.g Rainbow Six- series. Was waiting it to be superb but it turned out a dissapointment. Gameplay is not that good. Repeats itself all the time. Wouldn't expect this sucky game from Valve. Worst dissapointmentDefinetely not worth the 40 odd dollars. Demo was utterly sucky. Repeated itself every round and easy gameplay. Co-op is not bad, but not good either. Can not match the co-op of e.g Rainbow Six- series. Was waiting it to be superb but it turned out a dissapointment. Gameplay is not that good. Repeats itself all the time. Wouldn't expect this sucky game from Valve. Worst dissapointment since PES 08. Expand
  3. SteveW.
    Dec 24, 2008
    3
    I'm joining the legions of people who wasted their money through hype; this game really is so overrated and not even as good as Valve's older stuff let alone anything currently on the market right now. It really does just feel like a slightly polished mod, there is no way this should be released for full price on the 360 and it should have been released as a budget Steam I'm joining the legions of people who wasted their money through hype; this game really is so overrated and not even as good as Valve's older stuff let alone anything currently on the market right now. It really does just feel like a slightly polished mod, there is no way this should be released for full price on the 360 and it should have been released as a budget Steam exclusive only. The graphics are the same as the original 2004 release of HL2 before the engine tweaks the Orange Box version got, the sound effects are all recycled from HL2 which in turn are recycled from HL1 and any music you hear sounds like a remix of some of the stuff from HL2:Ep2. This is just lazy and makes it feel even more like a mod rather than a full product worthy of £40. Replay value? None, this is the most repetitive game I have ever played. It takes no skill and is no fun, and even on four-player online co-op on Expert difficulty (which, by the way, is the way this turd is supposed to be played). There are only six weapons, your AI teammates run around in circles making dumb "witty" comments and the environments feel fake, they feel like they were just designed as somewhere suited for zombies rather than somewhere where zombies might end up. I paid full price for this game and was bored within three days, if I wanted to walk through a bunch of cliched, bland, predictable environments shooting at stuff for the sake of it I'd find it so much cheaper to just go to my local pub and play Time Crisis. Come to think of it, Time Crisis is more fun. Not to mention Valve's treatment of their console community is nothing short of dreadful, quite frankly. The 360 version of TF2 is only now even being offered the chance of updates which the PC version got LAST Christmas, Valve's console support is a joke and this game will die on the 360, no question - the PC version will last beyond the end of time because of custom gametypes, mods, maps, everything that the 360 will never ever get. Zombies are an annoying fad and Valve have just cashed in. This game really is rather poor and the community surrounding it is just filled with fanboys who defend it to death if you dare legitimately criticise any aspect of it. Expand
  4. IkeA.
    Dec 6, 2008
    3
    Okay, so I went out and bought this game based on the mass of positive reviews. Man, what a mistake. first off, contrary to the name, it's not a 4 player game, it's 2. unless you want to do system links... which means 2 Xboxes and two copies of L4D. that seems efficient. Maybe I'm old fashion, but there's something a lot more enjoyable about a game when you are playing Okay, so I went out and bought this game based on the mass of positive reviews. Man, what a mistake. first off, contrary to the name, it's not a 4 player game, it's 2. unless you want to do system links... which means 2 Xboxes and two copies of L4D. that seems efficient. Maybe I'm old fashion, but there's something a lot more enjoyable about a game when you are playing with people sitting next to you, not people you'd hate in real life, if you met, 1/2 way across the US. So it's a 2 person game, but there are 2 AIs that get in your way constantly and/or die horribly. Which really makes me confused because the game's AI and score keeper treats them like they aren't AI's... so why can't they be controlled by people. There is a horrible lacking in weaponry, and considering how horrible a shot you can be in this game and still succeed, you'd think they'd make it a lil more diverse... maybe more than one gun with a scope. The mobs are repetitive, not even counting the hordes of regular zombies that flood at you. The occasional special zombie, while interesting the first 2-3 levels, become tedious and old shortly after. The game is mindless and even though the scene's change, you find yourself with a strange feeling of deja vu in many new areas. I see where they wanted to go with this game, and it has a lot of great things to say about it. But it really falls short in some major categories. They should have stuck with a PC game, even on the Xbox it feels like a clunky PC game, and then at least I wouldn't feel ripped off having bought a 2 person game that does everything in it's power to call it 4 person. Expand
  5. AndyA
    Jan 18, 2009
    0
    Buyer Beware, LEFT 4 DEAD is the worst game out there..... It is a waste of money, time, and you will feel dumber just for playing it.... There is no real point to the game other than running around like an idot and shooting retarded zombies that seem to just keep coming, also the zombies all look the same.There is no real point to the game other than to run around shoot zombies, then you Buyer Beware, LEFT 4 DEAD is the worst game out there..... It is a waste of money, time, and you will feel dumber just for playing it.... There is no real point to the game other than running around like an idot and shooting retarded zombies that seem to just keep coming, also the zombies all look the same.There is no real point to the game other than to run around shoot zombies, then you will be waiting for a pickup. Ammo is extremely scarce, as well as med packs, and if you are playing online, the other players seem to get mad at you and not help you. If you are looking for a fun multiplayer game, I highly suggest Call of Duty: World at War... How original is this game? Not very... Can you say RESIDENT EVIL ripoff.... BUYER BEWARE!!! Expand
  6. SteveS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    1
    I'm sorry, but I was anxiously awaiting this game, but it turned out sadly very poor, and very last gen. The graphics are weak, the gameplay is brainless, and the game design is 8 years past acceptable. As a 360 owner, I'm shocked and appauled that this game is getting great reviews. It pains me to see junk like this (and it is junk, like it or not) when it's been seen what I'm sorry, but I was anxiously awaiting this game, but it turned out sadly very poor, and very last gen. The graphics are weak, the gameplay is brainless, and the game design is 8 years past acceptable. As a 360 owner, I'm shocked and appauled that this game is getting great reviews. It pains me to see junk like this (and it is junk, like it or not) when it's been seen what the system is capable of (GTA4, Fable 2, Gears 2) and what the PS3 can pump out (MGS4, Little Big Planet, Resistense 2). Expand
  7. FernandoLazo
    Nov 18, 2008
    3
    This game sucks the only thing that is good is the co op but if u dont have live this game blows by its self If u think about it the story is ALOT like resedent evil a virus that spreads n makes zombies wow how original YAWN!!!! retarded i dont like this n dont recommend buying this garbage game at $60 maybe 40 but not 60 ripoff n but if u dont have live do not get this game.
  8. VincentB
    Nov 27, 2008
    2
    Huge disapointment. After reading reviews and listening to all the hype built up about this game i was hoping for something great. Single player is totally shite but the main thing i bought it for was the multiplayer which for a couple of hours is fun but there is no lastability to it. There is some good new ideas in there but with poor graphics, crap controls, dodgy sound, this game Huge disapointment. After reading reviews and listening to all the hype built up about this game i was hoping for something great. Single player is totally shite but the main thing i bought it for was the multiplayer which for a couple of hours is fun but there is no lastability to it. There is some good new ideas in there but with poor graphics, crap controls, dodgy sound, this game feels like a demo game and how it is for sale at £40 is a joke. For you people who gave it 10/10, you have just wasted me my money, AVOID like the plague. Expand
  9. SK
    Dec 23, 2008
    3
    With all the hype you'd expect a really amazing new IP. The sad truth is that after finishing the single player story mode (all half hour of it) and spending hours online I am sorely dissapointed. I dont know where these amazing reviews are coming from but I can honestly say it is all just hype and a lot of careful marketing. The game feels like it belongs on the original Xbox, not a With all the hype you'd expect a really amazing new IP. The sad truth is that after finishing the single player story mode (all half hour of it) and spending hours online I am sorely dissapointed. I dont know where these amazing reviews are coming from but I can honestly say it is all just hype and a lot of careful marketing. The game feels like it belongs on the original Xbox, not a next gen machine. Graphics are appalling, (anybody play Gears of War 2 yet??) gameplay is mediocre and repetitive, with only the surroundings changing as you glide from area to area fighting the same cookie cutter horde and 4 'boss' bad guys over and over again. Oh and the difficulty spikes from dead easy to stupid hard in the blink of an eye!! I just spent near $70 on what I could probably play for free on the PC. Yeap, it's THAT crappy. Valve should go back to making Half Life sequels. Expand
  10. SamK
    Dec 23, 2008
    1
    A game that belonged on the PC 5 years ago, maybe then it would've been impressive. I have no friggoin idea what all the fuss is about, played the single player game, laughable, and then online for nearlly 8 hours and I hate this game. From it's cookie cutter 1 shot kill zombies to the repetitive 'boss' zombies that come at you and do the SAME thing over and over A game that belonged on the PC 5 years ago, maybe then it would've been impressive. I have no friggoin idea what all the fuss is about, played the single player game, laughable, and then online for nearlly 8 hours and I hate this game. From it's cookie cutter 1 shot kill zombies to the repetitive 'boss' zombies that come at you and do the SAME thing over and over again. Lackluster maps, crappy graphics that look more at home on the original Xbox than on a next gen platform and ZERO replay value. You have a total of FOUR weapons to choose from and really that's the game in a nutshell. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME..rent if you must, but it is a rip-off at $60. These reviews are rigged. Valve should stick with making PC games, this is really shitty and I feel like I was robbed. Expand
  11. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    This game is boring at first, but then awesome.

    Pros
    -Nice graphics
    -scary
    -interesting story

    Cons
    -Horrible controls

    This game is worth checking out.
  12. JoeR
    Feb 26, 2009
    3
    I'm in agreement with Rod N on this one. I was hesitant to try it out but everyone kept saying it was incredible... it really just wasn't. For the initial experience, it is very fun... and being a fan of Valve I assumed there would be delivery on plot and mission objectives. My girlfriend, who loves zombie crap got bored with this... she prefers COD5 Nazi Zambies! This game is I'm in agreement with Rod N on this one. I was hesitant to try it out but everyone kept saying it was incredible... it really just wasn't. For the initial experience, it is very fun... and being a fan of Valve I assumed there would be delivery on plot and mission objectives. My girlfriend, who loves zombie crap got bored with this... she prefers COD5 Nazi Zambies! This game is not for the veteran FPS fans! I'm trading mine in for Fear 2. Expand
  13. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Anything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get moreAnything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get more content on it. Also L4D lacks in weapons, there's not many variety. Those minor flaws doesn't deteriorate the excitement , and you can get good use for it. So pick it , ( get L4D2 it has more stuff ) but, get in mind that less dont get everything right , even if it has zombies. Expand
  14. EricB
    Oct 31, 2009
    3
    Why is this game so highly regarded? This is a game that has far too much repetition, almost no storyline to make the game more interesting, and linear, predefined levels that force you to follow preset paths. The crying sound of the witch was the only seriously cool thing about this overhyped, overrated game. If this game came out at a $20 pricepoint, it would deserve an 8 or 9. The game Why is this game so highly regarded? This is a game that has far too much repetition, almost no storyline to make the game more interesting, and linear, predefined levels that force you to follow preset paths. The crying sound of the witch was the only seriously cool thing about this overhyped, overrated game. If this game came out at a $20 pricepoint, it would deserve an 8 or 9. The game seems likea solid effort a group of young developers would create, but as a full priced release, it is a joke. Maybe they'll try to create a full game when they do L4D2. But if they don't, all the Valve fanboys will give it a 10 anyway, I suppose. Expand
  15. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    6
    An amazing game - In theory. It has great graphics, great multiplayer, great gameplay ect, all of which make it a realy fun game to play, but it's completely flawed by one single factor: Its length. Four hours. That's how long it took me to complete it. Four freakin' hours. There are EXPANSION PACKS longer than that! Four hours! I mean, that might be ok if it was realy full An amazing game - In theory. It has great graphics, great multiplayer, great gameplay ect, all of which make it a realy fun game to play, but it's completely flawed by one single factor: Its length. Four hours. That's how long it took me to complete it. Four freakin' hours. There are EXPANSION PACKS longer than that! Four hours! I mean, that might be ok if it was realy full and thought out, but not only are half the objects seen in game literaly ripped straight from Half Life 2, it doesn't even have a story line! What were valve doing all of those years? Sitting there picking their noses? Valve's feeble excuse for this pitiful gameplay time was the games massive replayablity, due to the 'AI director' which would change the positioning and quantity of the zombies each playthrough depending on how well players were doing. But as I played it, the zombies would either come from dark alley to my right, or a dark alley to my left, regardless of whether I was limping along with two temamates down and a single shell in my shotgun, or if i was tearing through the horde like an almighty god with full health and an almost unlimited supply of ammo. At any rate, they were the still just the same zombies in the same place to be disposed of in the same way. In short, the games excuse for not being pitifuly short - replayability - is... well a complete fabrication. This game had the potential to be great, but Valves inability to make a game of any length pretty much ruined it. Expand
  16. PatrickJ
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a Excellent Game. When I first picked it up on it's release I was worried because it only had 4 maps. My Best Friend and I played through all 4 campaigns in the first 5 hours of the game and I was sitting there like "That's it". So then we upped the ante and started playing on Expert and got our butts handed to us. So with the achievements pounding at the back of our minds (I am a chievo junkie) we continued to play it, initially to get the full 1000. However, once I got the 1000, we still continued to play it (something that I NEVER do). Only then did I realize that Valve really had something there. So what if the 4 maps seem short. With the Versus, Survival, and Campaign, plus the addition of a new Map, this game has still remained fresh, something that is very hard to do. So good job, Valve, my hat is off to you. And for anyone looking to get the game, do it. You will be thankfull Expand
  17. AAron
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    this game actually sucks reallyyyyyyyyy badddddddd. the graphics suck , u cant aim you have to shoot from the hip. and theres more glitches in this game then any other game ive ever played . if u like meaningless games just to go around laying people out this games is for u but if u actually like a good storyline and a game u can play for long periods of time. then this game is not for u at all
  18. MickD
    Nov 28, 2008
    3
    Do not spend 60 dollars on this game. We borrowed a copy and other than the initial "this is cool" reaction the game gets old fast and by fast I mean really fast. No scare factor, no strategy, no nothing other than hold down the right trigger. Terrible.
  19. brettd
    Oct 16, 2008
    3
    This genre of game is getting very tired. The co-op is probably the best part of this game but it does not change the fact that its still just another zombie shooter. If you are considering this title I would recommend maybe dead space which takes the zombie shooter to outer space and has increadibly creative visuals. Or maybe the original zombie shooter RE5. Valve are not as great asThis genre of game is getting very tired. The co-op is probably the best part of this game but it does not change the fact that its still just another zombie shooter. If you are considering this title I would recommend maybe dead space which takes the zombie shooter to outer space and has increadibly creative visuals. Or maybe the original zombie shooter RE5. Valve are not as great as they used to be, ie they;ve fallen off. Expand
  20. SteveM
    Oct 15, 2009
    2
    How can any one like this game. The graphics are poor, the gameplay is repetitive and dull, awful story. The only + point to this game is co-op. This game is the mosted overated rubbish ive ever played. If you want a good zombie game buy Dead Rising but stay well clear of this game
  21. DanielM.
    Nov 17, 2008
    3
    This game was hyped to be great, and turned out to be a great disappointment. This is the first Valve release that actually sucks. In a nutshell, it's a game that looks more like a half-life 2 mod than anything else. The gameplay depth is so shallow that it feels home-brewed by some dudes in their basement. The voice acting is also quite weak for some of the main characters, This game was hyped to be great, and turned out to be a great disappointment. This is the first Valve release that actually sucks. In a nutshell, it's a game that looks more like a half-life 2 mod than anything else. The gameplay depth is so shallow that it feels home-brewed by some dudes in their basement. The voice acting is also quite weak for some of the main characters, especially Francis. Quite surprised this is a Valve release. Expand
  22. MichaelG.
    Nov 19, 2008
    3
    It's not worth sixty dollars, that's for sure. I look at all the professional reviews here and I'm helped to raise my eyebrow in disagreement. As a gamer I felt the game was weak, the attempt was mediocre, the experience was average. This is a 20 dollar game. Because let's face it. All this game is... is the zombies mod for CS:S that has been tweaked. The graphics It's not worth sixty dollars, that's for sure. I look at all the professional reviews here and I'm helped to raise my eyebrow in disagreement. As a gamer I felt the game was weak, the attempt was mediocre, the experience was average. This is a 20 dollar game. Because let's face it. All this game is... is the zombies mod for CS:S that has been tweaked. The graphics aren't up to standard, the mechanics could of been better and this proves to me that Valve should stay to the PC community. Because I have not enjoyed one of their games for the consoles. "But! But! It has fun and it's so innovative!" Yes, it is mindless fun. But I'd like a little more bang for my buck. But really? Innovative? Just because it refuses to hire proper writers to write a entertaining script? A regression is not a innovative element. It's moronic and pointless. Especially for story-driven gamers.... and please don't say I lack imagination. Because I played Fable 2 last month completely vivid in what was happening. The environment gave me the concept of story. This game... really didn't do that for me. Call me a cynic or narrow-minded, but, still I just can't see how this is worth my 60 dollars. At all. Even with the multiplayer component. This game lacked substance. It was a CS:S mod clone marketed well. Thats all it will ever be. People look for a story, especially in this day and age. So don't be lazy, Valve. Even with Half-Life you used your scripting skills with your writers fairly well... bah. This game is a 3.5, mediocre and worth a rent. But not a full sale price purchase. Expand
  23. DevanB.
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    I really, really hate this game. I've been waiting for this game for months, and Valve gives me this? I will admit that the graphics are nice, but that's where the good things end. Here is a list of my problems with this game: #1: There is no replay value. It's kind of funny how this game was built for replay value and it DOESN'T HAVE ANY! I played this game for about I really, really hate this game. I've been waiting for this game for months, and Valve gives me this? I will admit that the graphics are nice, but that's where the good things end. Here is a list of my problems with this game: #1: There is no replay value. It's kind of funny how this game was built for replay value and it DOESN'T HAVE ANY! I played this game for about two hours and I was bored to tears. The first level looked pretty promising, but by the time I finished the second level, the game began to lose its initial appeal. First of all, the game has six guns, that's it, and only five of them are worth using (the hunting rifle sucks). Second of all, the game follows a cookie-cutter formula for every level: blast your way through hordes of zombies (which isn't challenging or fun at all) and then push a button or open a door which calls more hordes of zombies which are not any more fun to kill. This will get you to another part of the level where you fight more hordes of zombies. Every once and a while, you will encounter a "boss zombie". Wow, that sounds exciting! It's not, you don't really have to change your tactics (gun it down) for any of the boss zombies except for the Boomer (which is shove and then gun him down). Eventually, you will get to the end of the level, but it doesn't really feel like an accomplishment because it wasn't challenging at all. #2: The game is not scary at all. There are a load of other FPS games available for just about every gaming system out today, a lot of these games are good, and I could have bought a number of them instead of this awful, awful game, but I thought this game would be scary, and boy, do I like a good scary video game. Unfortunately, I was mistaken. Zombies are incredibly easy to kill, even on the hardest difficulty mode, and you are able to carry way too much ammo. Also, the weapons you get are waaaaay too powerful, last time I checked automatic shotgun + assault rifle > zombie horde. Take Resident Evil, make the zombies god awful, give yourself the rocket launcher with infinite ammo, and allow four people to play it at the same time and you have an experience much life Left 4 Dead. This kinda ties in with reason #3 because, since your survival is pretty much ensured, you don't really have to wonder what's around that next corner or what's in the shadows in the corner because, whatever it is, you can kill it with hardly any effort. #3: The game is way to freaking easy. Even the hardest difficulty setting is easy in Left 4 Dead. If the game was Left 1 Dead then the current difficulty level would be appropriate, but with four players (of any skill level) the game is laughably easy. The health of the zombies hardly changes at all in between difficulty levels and, as long as you keep them away from you, they are just as easy to gun down. I really hope these three reasons are enough to stop you from getting this game, I really do (I could give you several more, such as how the story sucks, but I won't for the sake of readability). I would not wish this game on anybody. Remember how repetitive Assassin's creed was? Multiply that by sixteen and you have Left 4 Dead. Come on, six guns?! Some of you who already own the game may say things like "But there's an AI director that makes the game different every time you play it", and that may be true, but how different? All the AI director does is change the position of some enemies, I really could never tell any difference from one play to the next. I just want to tell everyone who reads this that this game is god awful and you should not get it. If you HAVE to get this game, rent it, you will be happy that I saved you forty bucks. To sum it up, I am very sorely disappointed in this game and I plan to return it or trade it in ASAP. Expand
  24. MatteoG.
    Nov 28, 2008
    3
    You'r gonna play it 1 hour, then maybe you like it... you laugh about it, you have nothing better to do and so you play it on. But this title, also if "purifing" the zombie-game to its very substance, is really too poor. I mean, Valve made a zombie-game in which all you have to do is kill zombies, and this may be ok, but there is no plot or story there isn't a variety of You'r gonna play it 1 hour, then maybe you like it... you laugh about it, you have nothing better to do and so you play it on. But this title, also if "purifing" the zombie-game to its very substance, is really too poor. I mean, Valve made a zombie-game in which all you have to do is kill zombies, and this may be ok, but there is no plot or story there isn't a variety of weapons... there is nothing. I could have accepted something like this if, on the other side, there have bben the opportunity to wonder around, to find different places and locations like in GTA. In that case it could have been wonderful! Think of it: a GTA-style city full of zombies and you wonder around trying to get out of it. Still simple and "kill-averything-that-moves" but more realistic. This game had the opportunity to take gamers inside a real zombie situation and then let them choose how to get out of it, but they didn't, they just made only one very simple path that you have to follow keeping your fire botton pressed all the time. That's it. A good idea, but they wasted it totally. Expand
  25. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    Online co-op gaming at its best. It's not a 'normal' game with its four levels that, on easy or normal, can be finished inside 40 minutes per level. Stick it on extreme and it's a different story, though. We're talking hours of pain per level... ouch.
  26. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting to play with other. The game is just amazing, i play it like everyday and i can't imagine not playing this gem.
    Expand
  27. Dec 14, 2010
    3
    I hardly ever re-sale my X360 games but after a couple of weeks I immediately brought it back. It's interesting how valve tried to make a game that's made to be repeated but it doesn't work like that. The campaigns last around an hour each at most, versus is dull, and although the "Director" changes zombie and horde spawns, it doesn't do much else. Not so impressive when it's put likeI hardly ever re-sale my X360 games but after a couple of weeks I immediately brought it back. It's interesting how valve tried to make a game that's made to be repeated but it doesn't work like that. The campaigns last around an hour each at most, versus is dull, and although the "Director" changes zombie and horde spawns, it doesn't do much else. Not so impressive when it's put like that, is it? Gunplay is pretty bad, just hip-firing forever. Characters have some charm, but Francis? No. Hate him. This game isn't worth your time. Poor gameplay. Poor plot. Poor graphics. Get out while you still can. Expand
  28. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friendsLeft 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friends and difficulty on expert and watching the craziness unfold, all the game modes rely on teamwork, and there's one gameplay mode where you can play as either the Zombies or the survivors and have to effectively communicate in order too win, and it has extremely high replay value, this game comes so close to getting a 10, but it does have some flaws, there are long load times, there are only four short campaigns with five levels a piece, and if you don't have multiplayer, it wont last you forever, but this is still a fantastic game online or off, and is just shy of perfection, a must own. Expand
  29. JoelT
    Jan 29, 2009
    4
    Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles Are you people serious? It is a fun game, don't get me wrong. Online, offline, it's still fun... For about 15 minutes. Then it just gets tedious and repetitive and stops being fun. It quickly becomes going through the motions and it isn't exactly that rewarding. There's no real point to the missions besides escape. There's nothing that makes it like the titles that are big today. No actual variety in weapons (GoW2) no moral dilemmas (Fallout 3) no deep storyline (bioshock) this game is only 1 thing. shoot shoot shoot shoot shoot, reload, shoot shoot shoot, get evacuated. Boring... oh, and do the characters need to say "reloading!" every 10 seconds? it really is annoying. Tell me I'm not the only one bothered by that. Expand
  30. BRENTJONES
    Nov 1, 2008
    4
    I waited 2 hours to play this game at pax this year and boy was it not worth the wait! For starters the graphics are a good 3 years pre-next gen and the animations for certain characters was stilted. The aiming using the xbox 360 controls were OK, but precision aiming is no where to be found, which makes killing at longer ranges difficult at best. I will say, however, the AI director techI waited 2 hours to play this game at pax this year and boy was it not worth the wait! For starters the graphics are a good 3 years pre-next gen and the animations for certain characters was stilted. The aiming using the xbox 360 controls were OK, but precision aiming is no where to be found, which makes killing at longer ranges difficult at best. I will say, however, the AI director tech is ingenious and will pave the way for future games: but not this one. Expand
  31. AntonS
    Jun 29, 2009
    3
    A big letdown. -Graphics are decent but you have to take into consideration that they were ripped from Half Life 2. This game doesn't add much..Actually most of the objects are same. -REPETITIVE! Only 6 different weapons and few enemies. This game is completely brainless. There really is no plot, no acting, no depth like in good FPS games. I was bored after two levels. :/ Avoid A big letdown. -Graphics are decent but you have to take into consideration that they were ripped from Half Life 2. This game doesn't add much..Actually most of the objects are same. -REPETITIVE! Only 6 different weapons and few enemies. This game is completely brainless. There really is no plot, no acting, no depth like in good FPS games. I was bored after two levels. :/ Avoid unless you can buy it for 15 bucks. Expand
  32. JasonB.
    Nov 28, 2008
    0
    I hate poop! That is why this game sucks, every single time a zombie dies i could swear it was just pooping on the floor. The similarities between poop and sounds in this game was dispicable. Zombies talked like poop, died like poop, killed...like POOP! it was utter poop of a game, me and my 360 want to go outside and just poop on this piece of poop game.
  33. CodyC.
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. This game is the best I have Played in a while. If isn't just reload shoot shoot shoot reload. It is more then that. You get the fun of being just about killed by a horde of zombies, whats not fun with that. I can say they should just have one big game not four but they are really awesome by them selfs. They game is way better though if you have more then one live player at a time. They should make a level like Dead Rising were you are stuck in a mall. That would be a good idea for a level for Left 4 Dead 2 if they make one. So overall i like how the game is made and designed. Expand
  34. JackT.
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Too much violence, too much gore. I don't think the average household parent would want their child playing this terrible game. I know my son won't play it. I have seen this game in action. I suggest a boycott of this violent game.
  35. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    im suprised a company like valve a company who made games like half life 1 and 2 and Portal come out with such a half assed game , this is such a bare bones game basically there meeting musta went some thing like this "i got a idea lets make a game with zombies and make it 4 player co-op" any thing els "no thats it dont need bosses or a story , well make it beatable in alittle over 3 hoursim suprised a company like valve a company who made games like half life 1 and 2 and Portal come out with such a half assed game , this is such a bare bones game basically there meeting musta went some thing like this "i got a idea lets make a game with zombies and make it 4 player co-op" any thing els "no thats it dont need bosses or a story , well make it beatable in alittle over 3 hours and just toss in a few guns and call it a day." this game should have been released as a budget game for like $20 . cause thats about what it looks and plays like . this game the way it is probubly woulda been great 6 years ago on the originla xbox i mean the graphics already look like the belong there. its just way to short i mean to beat a game in 3 hours just shouldnt be . even on the hardest diffuculty me and my friends had this done in 4.5 hours . after i beat it on both normal and the hardest diffuculty which was 2 days i had no desire to want to play it again . its like ok why would i want to its the same thing through all 4 lvls run to a vehicle kill the same zombies over and over with a grand total of 5 higher type zombies like the tank and witch which arnt difuctlt to put down. this just feels so rushed and just slapped together. this game is at best a rental and thats if you REALY REALY REALY like killing zombies . this game was a waste of $60 and valve should be ashamed for charging that much for this half assed game. Expand
  36. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = One of the best online Co-op/ Versus games to date. Extremely well designed and very fun overall.
  37. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    I don't think Valve can make a bad game...cause this surely isn't one. Everything about this game is fun, especially the different types of special infected. This is a great game to play multiplayer on xbox live with and not ever really get bored of this game, as long as you long killing very fast undead.
  38. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Just about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few ofJust about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few of my friends talk about it, and that's one of the most amazing things about the Left 4 Dead games, I think. The levels themselves stay the same, but the experience is different every time. As someone from Valve said, it promotes "organic storytelling." This happens over and over, for the same game. There are only several types of enemies, and yet every time you play, the experience is different. A look into the developer's comments (included with the Game of the Year version, at least) gave me a good idea of just how much thought was put into every aspect of this game. -- The graphics aren't breath-taking and miraculous, but the techniques put into the development of the graphics certainly are. Music and sound effects are used as audio cues to alert players to where enemies may be hiding. I mentioned in another review, actually, that it is these things that will be remembered several years from now, rather than a game having 'the best' graphics, or 'the best' shallow trait. -- I bought Left 4 Dead over a year ago, and have played it regularly since then. It never lost any of its fun value over that time. Expand
  39. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Left 4 Dead has everything i want in a survival game exciting and realistic i rate this game top marks and will recommend it to anyone who is in to survival games.
  40. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    It doesn't have a great story, but a least it has one. That's better than some other zombie games. It does get somewhat repetitive, but it's still fun. Multiplayer is pretty over rated though. The controls are pretty good but not the best. Gameplay is good. I'd give the campaign an 8 and multiplayer a 6.
  41. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    It's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times thereIt's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times there isn't much more to do with this game. The second one is much better and much more worth purchasing (not to mention it came out about a mere year after this one). If you force yourself to think about what you do and take the game more slowly and sneakily on a harder mode (like Expert) and turn off the cheesy loud over the top music, this game can be pretty intense and realistically frightening (depending on what kind of setting your put yourself in). The best aspect of the game is probably Versus Mode, because playing as the mutant-like 'special infected' is quite entertaining. I realize I seem pretty down about this game, and this is only because I've had it for years now, but when I first got it, I thought it was one of the greatest games ever made. However, now I see that in comparison to the sequel, this isn't so impressive. Plus the Steam PC version is at least 10x better, especially since you can download modded maps such as a few Silent Hill maps and many more. Expand
  42. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Before Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse poundingBefore Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse pounding first person shooter that has been brilliantly created with an A.I. director that constantly changes the item locations and enemy spawn locations, making each time you play a campaign different than the last time you played it. This game strongly relies on its multiplayer, which is no less than spectacular. Playing with three other "survivors" in a zombie apocalypse is something that even today still hasn't gotten old. The versus mode is another great multiplayer mode that allows you to play as the survivors, then the infected or vise-versa in a four on four match. Another thing that makes versus so good is the fact that its completely balanced. The graphics are a bit old, but within respected tolerances. The voice acting is great and the dialogue actually made me laugh out loud in a few times. The only reason this game doesn't achieve perfection is because of lack of content, but the only reason this is a complaint is because the game is so much fun, that I just keep wanting more and more. This game delivered exactly what any zombie media fan could want and is easily one of the funnest games I've ever played. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun when you play it with a friend. I think if you play it alone it is boring so I recommend only playing this with friends. This doesnt have any replay value though. Its better just to rent or something and then give it back.
  44. May 13, 2012
    0
    This game is extremely not as good as the second one witch i gave a 6 to. It basically needs work on everything. I needs to drop in price 10.00 to even make the price good.
  45. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    a really boring and repetitive game this game simply takes 10 minutes then it is the same even in any level you play in the co op was good but still gets boring after a while
  46. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    This game really has nothing to offer someone who thinks zombies are boring and the idea has been milked so much in modern pop culture you can see the cows ribs. Half-Life 2 did not gain so many fans for it's shooting mechanics but it's depth and world creation, Left4Dead is just the source shooting engine and zombies that present no challenge, that's it. It looks bad, plays bad and evenThis game really has nothing to offer someone who thinks zombies are boring and the idea has been milked so much in modern pop culture you can see the cows ribs. Half-Life 2 did not gain so many fans for it's shooting mechanics but it's depth and world creation, Left4Dead is just the source shooting engine and zombies that present no challenge, that's it. It looks bad, plays bad and even the co-op is left for dead by Halo and Rainbow 6. I finished the first level then switched the game off unimpressed and totally void of any immersion. Overall the most boring ugly game I've played and not the standards I expect from a full release from Valve. Expand
  47. Komino
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off Turn off the lights and whack up the volume and get sucked into the intense adrenaline rush that is Left 4 Dead. Unlike most multiplayer games, this game really forces you to work as a team. Run ahead on your own and you run the risk off getting pounced, puked or punched without anyone to save you. One element that I really like was the that if you were playing online and needed to go off mid-game you just needed to switch to 'on a break' and the games A.I takes over which is more than competent, especially at saving and healing you. The only real downside I would say is the graphics which do look a little last-gen but it never retracts from the overall experience. Overall, if you connected to the net and want a intense experience that you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere else. Get this game. Expand
  48. HeathL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of Pros: Amazing blend of action, horror, co-op, vs, and single player. This game generates an amazing amount of replayability and immersion with the AI director shaking things up with every play through. Each campaign has a different feel and covers a vast amount of ground without letting players get lost along the way. Watching zombies swarm around a pipe bomb and disappear in a mist of blood and shrapnel will never get old. In the same vein, snagging the last standing survivor with the smoker's tongue just as he reaches a fallen comrade is diabolical in it's hilarity. Cons: The game was wasted on 360 owners, most of whom wouldn't know a good game if it pounced on them and clawed their faces off. Griefing idiots make the co-op experience a considerably less fun. Rare, but incredibly aggravating bugs such as jumping down from a ledge a short distance and having the game think you'll fall to your death, making you hang there until you either die or are rescued. Bottom line: This game is hands down the best multiplayer game of the year, the best co-op game in memory, and may well prove to be one of the best games of the last (or next) ten years. Do yourself a favor, if you have a pc that will run this game, buy a copy yesterday. If you have a 360, pawn your noob-box and get a pc so you can L2 play real games; ones you don't have to pay a fee to enjoy online. Failing that, the 360 version is still a beacon of gaming brilliance in a sea of utter mediocrity. Expand
  49. DarrenJ.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth I think the reason for Ike's rating of 3 is that he didn't read the box properly and was disappointed to find that straight out of the box it is only a 2 player. However, it's one of the best 2 player games I have ever played. The split screen is done really well allowing you a good view of everything and the interaction between characters is good. I think it's worth saying that this is an acheivement driven game which will challenge you and frustrate you but all in all one of the best 1st person shooters I've ever played. Expand
  50. JohnP
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    This game is everything you ever dreamed about. George A. Romero on the 360. The controls are very static, which gives it the minus one, but everything else is great. Their is the most basic of storylines in this game. You are with three other people during a zombie apocolypse: survive. Fast paced, action packed, fun online and offline. I recommend this as top game for 2008.
  51. BrianS
    Feb 3, 2009
    7
    This game should be packaged with the warning that you can play it only with 2 people on one 360. We bought the game thinking we all (me and my kids) could play together. WRONG. Now, if you are a single player and don't have online access, skip this one. As far as a multiplayer goes this game is one of the best out there. 4 maps makes you scratch your head why they could not put a This game should be packaged with the warning that you can play it only with 2 people on one 360. We bought the game thinking we all (me and my kids) could play together. WRONG. Now, if you are a single player and don't have online access, skip this one. As far as a multiplayer goes this game is one of the best out there. 4 maps makes you scratch your head why they could not put a few more in it, but I am sure we will see downloads online for maps at a fee of course. Graphics and gameplay are excellant and the AI is very good. I can play this game all day and that says a lot. I do though have to have someone playing with me or I go bonkers over the AI. They look for you to be the leader and force you to take on the horde, hunter, boomer, smoker, & witch at the head of the pack. Expand
  52. ChrisLanger
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    I thought this game was going to be a real "wower", but it turned out to be nothing of the sort. You basically trudge along with no story line, blasting zombies and escaping from the map. There is no real variety in the game and nothing is explained well. The weapons are all homogeneous and you never get a good feel for them. Thankfully I waited until it was 40 bucks before I boughtI thought this game was going to be a real "wower", but it turned out to be nothing of the sort. You basically trudge along with no story line, blasting zombies and escaping from the map. There is no real variety in the game and nothing is explained well. The weapons are all homogeneous and you never get a good feel for them. Thankfully I waited until it was 40 bucks before I bought the game. I would have kicked myself for paying 60 dollars for this four-hour shooer. Expand
  53. JoshuaG
    Jul 14, 2009
    9
    This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make.This is perfect for people who love multi player games. Despite the fact that there are only about 20 different levels, each lasting about 15, the game doesn't get boring. The placement of the zombies, weapons, and assorted items are all random so that you can't just memorize where everything is. Even the dialog changes each time you play depending on the mistakes you make. Overall, the only people who won't like this game are those who cannot, or will not, play online games. Expand
  54. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    There's nothing more satisfying than playing as a zombie in the 4v4 Co-op Campaign and waiting for just the right moment to pounce on that one player that's lagging behind, or call in a swarm of the undead on your unsuspecting enemies. All in all, Left 4 Dead is a zombie massacre masterpiece.
  55. FlareArmoru
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...
    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to
    Game is great.
    Michael G. , if you dont like Valve's games maybe you shouldn't spend your time reviewing the game and find something else to do... writing a long ass review on how much you dislike everything really seems like you need a life...

    Jack T. It's a zombie game. Iuno, maybe the proper way to play such a game is to go up to it and kiss and start talking to it in a Dating Sim kind of way. It's a mature zombie game, rate it 0 if you don't think its a GOOD MATURE BLOODY ZOMBIE GAME, NOT CUS UR A FUCKING CHICKEN SHIT. Go online and play maplestory and stop hating on everything you dont like. Plus, where the fuck u find the time to do that anyway? Get a life.

    Steve S. Buy a good movie. They have the best graphics. You seem like you will love movies over games. Go to blockbuster and rent a scary movie. Dont need to get a life, get a brain.

    skipping Daniel M. cus I have nothing good to say to him.
    Anyway... Game's great. Playing it on Adv and getting killed so baddly w/ my freinds at night. 3 hrs to pass Dead Air. IT WAS AWESOME!!

    Loved the whole team concept. You always goto go and save someone or get saved other every 30 seconds to a min. Only time we had to drop the teamwork was the final run to safty and beating the round, Sacrifice someone since we were all hurt too bad so that the rest could snipe from a good distance. And when theres only like 1 or 2 people left and had to rescuse survivors for backup. It is Awesome~ >_<

    Happy shooting =D Don't get too trigger happy though.
    Expand
  56. NickL.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is I love this game. The game would be great enough as single player, but co-op lets it take the prize. Most would take off points for its shallow story, but that makes it better. There is an air of mystery surrounding the infection, and the story is mostly told by graffiti on the walls of the safe houses. There are even references to valves previous game Portal. The only thing lacking is the number of scenarios, 4 with 5 chapters. Overall, this game should be either in the hands or stockings of any gamer who loves anything and everything about Valve. Expand
  57. MattA
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant Ridiculously fun when played with friends. Almost unmatched. Each campaign is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours long, and changes each time you play. It doesn't get old! It's great to pick up and play one campaign a night in between other games. Versus mode is also a joy to play, as both human or zombie. The true cinematic feel of the game is apparent throughout, and it pays constant homage to the greats of zombie lore. Great game... very fun...enough said. Expand
  58. Matt
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Look. For anyone looking for a very fun game no matter how long you play it, this is your game. Anyone who says it is short, they are clearly playing on lower difficulties! Once you try going through these hordes with your friend beside you on expert, it becomes a whole new and exciting game. Just buy, play, and have fun!
  59. JohnB
    Nov 20, 2008
    8
    Overall, worth the price of admission for any FPS/Zombie fan. But not without it's faults.

    Pros: Simple and polished game mechanics. Good Graphics Great "movie" like theme. Interesting levels. Some freedoms to do stuff Your favorite Zombie guns Excellent co-op play Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (yeah for action fans!) Cons: Not much gun variety or
    Overall, worth the price of admission for any FPS/Zombie fan. But not without it's faults.

    Pros:
    Simple and polished game mechanics.
    Good Graphics
    Great "movie" like theme.
    Interesting levels.
    Some freedoms to do stuff
    Your favorite Zombie guns
    Excellent co-op play
    Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (yeah for action fans!)

    Cons:
    Not much gun variety or options
    Not enough campaigns
    Not enough freedom to get from point A to point B
    Little to no zombie variety. You got "normal" zombies, your three main 'sub-boss' zombies (Hunter, Boomer, Smoker) and then the Witch (easily avoidable) and Tank.
    Bad AI, even for zombies (how can I stand in the middle of a room during a zombie rush, mowing down zombies and they don't even bother to attack me?).
    Not enough environment interaction.
    Movement slowed on being hit by a zombie? Really?
    Endless pistol ammo and plenty of "big weapon" ammo (boo for strategy and thriller fans)

    At the end of the day, it's a gun game, at least for a while. I don't see much replay value but even then, it's still worth playing a few times, at least for the PC with a $45 price tag. XBox 360 players might want to pass on this game or pick it up on the PC instead.

    Lots of potential, an average showing. Can really shine with user created maps/campaigns and some more variety of options, weapons, environment interaction (how about building a barricade?).

    A little more thrill and a little less constant action would be nice too. I'd like to see sneaking through empty streets to stock-up on ammo and finding a "safe spot" to build a barricade and prepare for a zombie rush. Also a mix between slow moving zombies and fast moving ones would be cool. Make some slow moving zombies hard to maneuver around (like a mine field) while the fast zombies part of the zombie rush.

    As you can see, it could have been a lot more, but it's still something.
    Expand
  60. AdamD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This is about as tense as it gets. It recreates the dread we experienced in Doom 3, but throws it in by the gallon instead of a trickle. Single player is tolerable, but L4D really shines with friends. Campaign mode and the fantastic Versus mode are excellent. Well worth a look!
  61. BoilingOil
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways I've been playing this game non stop since the hour it was released. I can't get enough of shooting zombies through the heart, to watch the full out run come to a staggering halt. The source engine is by far superior to any other on the market - well, maybe rivaled only by the current rendition of the Unreal Engine. In my opinion id has a whole lot to make up for. But anyways back to Valve's stab at Game Of The Year. Ok i'll cut it short - This is the most fun and most challenging game i've played this year. Expand
  62. TietsuCohren
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This game is an epic display of everything that can and in this case does go write when making a video game. Whether your a fan of FPSs or not you owe it to yourself to experience this game for what it is. A rewarding (if not short) game with more to offer than most of the games out this holiday season.
  63. MarkK
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and I'm shocked that anyone in this column would rate this game terrible. So far what i have seen is 1) bad graphics (2) mindless shooting (3) too gory. In rebuttal to 1, the game has stunning graphics. However, i will not deny that it is not up to par with games like gears of war 2. But what you will not find in gears of war 2 is the exceptional animation. Zombies in l4d will gather and maul in quite the terrifying way. Meleeing them results in a completely different fall every time, and the AI is nothing short of brilliant. (2) You clearly have not played this game online at all. Finding a good coop team is unlike any other multiplayer experiences out there. and the versus mode is where you have to put the teamwork into the second gear. (3) "this game is terrible; my kids will certainly not play it, thus i rate it bad". Sir, i would encourage you to examine the logic of your statements. If that is truly the reason for your bad review, then i would give it a 5. Considering you could not possibly own this game, i wouldnt rate it at all. people may need to stop rating games wither 1 or 10, there are numbers in between. i know! its shocking! well i guess your entitled to do what you wish, as long as your not the guys on the big page behind this one. Expand
  64. BenK.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game This game is just what a game should be: Fun. Get 3 of your friends together and play through a advanced/expert campaign and I pretty much guarantee you will have an hour and a half of pure video game exhiliration. Then you can do it all over again because shooting zombies never gets old! They're zombies! Technically, the game is brilliant. The pacing is very well done and the game is dynamic. You feel a different situation even when you replay the same campaigns because of the AI Director, who controls your script. AI Director will wait for the perfect moment to throw a Tank at you right when you're feeling like you're doing a good job. Expand
  65. JoshK
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus This game is amazing and fun for replay ability. Those who voted low obviously don't have close knit friends and groups to play with where the lobby and game matchmaking come in for pure joy! Honestly anyone who complains about the graphics on this needs to realize games don't have to have the "best" graphics ever to be one of the most fun games! I just finished another Versus run through on Blood Harvest and it remains in my memory still 30 minutes later as it was a total back and forth point lead switchin guns a blazin ZOMBIE FEST! Please also remember this is a ZOMBIE game and you will... get this... face many many many a zombie. GO CHICAGO TED!!!! Expand
  66. SamF.
    Dec 24, 2008
    8
    A Very cool FPS Which puts you in those Zombie movies of the past. Ever wonder if you could survive? this is your chance to see. The COOP Play in this game online is great if you find people who work together, otherwise the game kinda falls apart being you must help each other out.
  67. DougB
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    I'm almost finished with left 4 dead. I was really expecting more and was let down. There are about 4 guns,4 characters, and 4 levels. The stories are good, but I wish they had one cohesive story. With that said you can beat the single player campaign very quick. Now for the good. The graphics are great with only minor glitches. The sound is awesome. Hearing groans and crying will I'm almost finished with left 4 dead. I was really expecting more and was let down. There are about 4 guns,4 characters, and 4 levels. The stories are good, but I wish they had one cohesive story. With that said you can beat the single player campaign very quick. Now for the good. The graphics are great with only minor glitches. The sound is awesome. Hearing groans and crying will make your hair stand. Online and multiplayer is where this game was meant to be played. It has a long lasting appeal on that front. To be more precise I would give the game an 8.4/5. It's is fun and enjoyable but leaves more to be desired. Expand
  68. ColinH
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would Describing how to best enjoy this game is simple. If you have Xbox Live and can enjoy multiplayer gaming, purchase this ASAP. It's one of the better multiplayer games I've played in the last few years, and one of the best co-op games I've ever played. Most people I see faulting this game are gamers without an Xbox Live account. Playing single player with only bots would definitely get tedious, but as someone with Live I can't fault the game for that. Online it's an absolute blast. And don't be put off the by the thought of only 4 campaigns or the idea of constant co-op gameplay because there's also the fantastic Versus mode. It's possibly even more fun than the standard co-op. The ability to play as the zombies, and the threat of a human zombie team when playing as the survivors adds a whole new dimension to the game that ramps up the fun factor ten fold. Not to mention the fact that Valve plans to keep the game supported for a long time with new DLC content. They've already announced that the first package of downloadable content will be available soon. If you're looking for a shooter with plenty of action, tight gameplay, and absolutely fantastic multiplayer gaming, then look no further than Left 4 Dead. Expand
  69. nathanskipper
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played, great to link up with friends and play and even fun with strangers, as long as they co-operate. keeps you interested and have been playing it for weeks at least 3 hours a day.... love it!! i dont know how people cant like this
  70. AlphaKennyOneUp
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Best co-op game of all-time. No denying that. If you gave this game any less than a six, than you're an idiot who never played online. IT IS A GAME OBVIOUSLY CENTERED AROUND ONLINE PLAY. IF YOU DID NOT HAVE XBOX LIVE YOU SHOULDN'T HAVE BOUGHT THE GAME. All that aside, there will be DLC really soon, so no more of playing No Mercy all the time on Versus.
  71. EricC.
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can Not quite the perfect game, but certainly the perfect co-op game. No one player can possibly win; it forces you to play together and to co-operate. The versus option is a stroke of genius, letting you play as first the survivors and then the infected in a 4 on 4 match-up that gives a demonstrative demonstration of the need to play as a team. If you want to play a game where one person can do everything by himself, buy Halo. If you want to be challenged to the point where even the best player in existence can lose to an organized team of middling players, where the playing field is level and your success depends on others, this is your game. It's sort of ironic; a game in which four people annihilate thousands of other human beings has helped to restore my faith in humanity. P.S. When you play versus, Blood Harvest is far superior. It's harder to win, and you can't glitch nearly as much as people on No Mercy do. Expand
  72. JayG
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the For all those that are having a tough time deciding whether to buy L4D here is the honest answer - If you have xbox live and a group friends that you play other multiplayer games with then this game is a must have. Sometimes you get bad teamates if you search, so its better to play with friends. The game is short ,but playing the game with 4 people is a lot of fun and beating the campeigns on harder difficulties brings the replay value up.The multiplayer is definetly groundbreaking and unique. Now if you don't have xbox live then its probably worth a rental. Due to no multiplayer and 4 player co-op. Expand
  73. MikeH.
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others Let me start off by saying that Left 4 Dead is lacking in the depth--and length--department. Still, it is worthy of many, MANY play-throughs. Fairly, straight-forward, the premise consists of four immune survivors fighting their way through hordes of zombies and towards salvation. Relying heavily on the teamwork mechanic, the game really shines when you're playing it with a others over Xbox LIVE. The lack of depth, normally a downfall, actually works in L4D's advantage this time around. The simple but still intense gameplay allows gamers to jump in at any time and have fun. Run, shoot, survive (or die), rinse and repeat. If you're looking for a lot of story and depth, you might want to skip this one. But if you look at it as a fun a way to pass the time, slaughtering zombies by the hundreds and just have fun, you're bound to find this worth your time and money...repeatedly! Expand
  74. JordanK
    Mar 7, 2009
    4
    It was a good game initially, but it kind of lacks replayability as it gets tedious and the gameplay seems to get repetitive. YES i like the idea of killing zombies, and YES i like the idea of cooperation for survival...but JUST zombies? and did you have to stack the word CO OP in 40 foot high concrete letters? one swift kick and it all comes crashing down? i don't know... the gameIt was a good game initially, but it kind of lacks replayability as it gets tedious and the gameplay seems to get repetitive. YES i like the idea of killing zombies, and YES i like the idea of cooperation for survival...but JUST zombies? and did you have to stack the word CO OP in 40 foot high concrete letters? one swift kick and it all comes crashing down? i don't know... the game seemed to be a little too post zombie apocalypse for me...and involves too much teamwork, as some people refuse to cooperate...fun, but just in spurts. Expand
  75. AdamB.
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    Don't play L4D expecting an in-depth FPS heavily focused on strategy; it's purely about survival in moment-to-moment situations, in a fast-paced, cooperative, arcade-type experience. The game essentially delivers for what it is, but there are some downsides. For one, Versus Mode is incredibly unbalanced; the AI Director makes no attempt to correct lopsided games, players are not Don't play L4D expecting an in-depth FPS heavily focused on strategy; it's purely about survival in moment-to-moment situations, in a fast-paced, cooperative, arcade-type experience. The game essentially delivers for what it is, but there are some downsides. For one, Versus Mode is incredibly unbalanced; the AI Director makes no attempt to correct lopsided games, players are not matched according to skill, and it's incredibly difficult to make a comeback when the other team makes it to the safe room once. Frequently I find myself on either a terrible team or a team that's too good, resulting in an experience that isn't very fun. Another downside is the current lack of downloadable content and small number of maps, which along with the game's lack of customization makes L4D very repetitive. Also, for no good reason, the game lacks 4-player local co-op (you need two consoles or to use Live). Finally, most maps are near pitch black with a small cone of visible area from your flashlight, which adds to the suspense but irritates the eyes and wastes the space on your widescreen TV. Still, with all of these downsides, the game can be very entertaining in small groups or over Live (especially in the middle of the night). Expand
  76. mattk
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This game represents what can be done well with Xbox Live. With its intense multiplayer experience and endless replay value via AI Director. I recommend it to anyone looking for zombie co-op fun.
  77. AlecM
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Anton S, how are the graphics ripped from Half LIfe 2? THEIR COMPLETELY DIFFERENT DUMBASS
    This game isn't repetitive, every game is different due to the AI director dumb shit.And there is no need for plot or acting, just look at css!

    Rowan F this game was meant for REPLAYABILITY for fuck sakes, dont say shit if you dont know shit.
  78. RobertBreen
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    Great multiplayer action.
    Just when you start to get bored of only having 4 levels, you get sucked in to playing Versus.
    Valve has done good job wiht DLC.
    Cant wait until the sequel hits.
    This is one game that I am still playing and will probably still be playing when the sequel hits.
    It is that Good.
  79. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through I have done the same missions 500 times and I want to do them 5,000 more! This game is garbage on your own but on Xbox live this is the best game I have yet to play. The satisfaction of blasting away hundreds of zombies with friends and strangers is relentless. The options of customization are few but with such a near-perfect product it is all I could need. If I want to run through carelessly blasting zombies Normal or Easy campaigns are perfect. When I want a challenge I play Expert Campaign or Versus. Playing against other people in Versus makes the game so much more difficult but its a challenge you and your team can overcome. Expert campaigns can be extremely hard but I appreciate this challenge. In Expert mode one or two friendly fire shots can cripple your ally and a handful of zombie smacks does the same. This makes the game play much more careful and thoughtful but also gives it some realism. If you shot a friend it would knock the hell out of him. This is a game stripped of anything not needed and it plays beautifully for it. I LOVE this game and highly recommend it. Expand
  80. robb
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the Quite simply one of the top three games of 2008 and one of the best of all time the graphics even though using an engine that is starting to show its age are billiant and the gameplay is as addictive as crack but alot more fun ok it does not have a story but it does not need one which by todays standards is quite refreshing it is just pure gameplay with a twist and that twist comes in the flavour of the best co op mulitiplayer game ever created.even though l4d only has four missions you could play each one four hundred times over and still find new experiences each time you strap your headset on.if you are on live buy this now and if you are not get on live and buy it anyway. Expand
  81. charlie
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    this game really is good. The reason it got such a low user rating as ps3 fanboys have slated valve off as valve dont write games for ps3. Look at the critic score not user score. Pretty pathetic that people do this to prove their console is the better... Sad little lamers... Who cares...
  82. ThomasL.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Best zombie game yet. Every turn reveals a new futile situation where you think "there's no way we can get out of this!" But, working together, there is always a way out. People who like to run-and-gun or those who go off on their own for points grabbing will not do well in this game. Fight together or die alone.
  83. ArtV.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Finally a co-op FPS that has re-playability. Left 4 Dead is quite fun to play with skilled players. The multiplayer interface is very well done with the ability to jump in and out of games. Some of the level design seems a bit dark, cluttered and claustrophobic. Overall this game provides some new substance that is has been lacking in this genre.
  84. DanA.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Giant Bomb should be ashamed for giving this an 80, and Mortal Kombat vs. DC a 100. Left 4 Dead is simple, but it certainly doesn't deserve anything that's just in the 8 range and below for ratings. It has it's flaws and a little lack of depth, but it's an amazing experience, with one of the best and most interesting online modes and team-based gameplay I've seen.
  85. WillH.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    BASED ON THE DEMO: This game was one of the most enjoyable games I've ever played. And that was just the demo. The spawn points for enemies, weapons, even the music effects and the like change every playthrough and when you get a good group of guys to play with, this game is amazing. GOTY-quality.
  86. TomislavN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    9
    Left 4 Dead is truly one of the most fascinating games I've played in years. It brings out most of the qualities i have been looking for: cooperation, lots of guns and a lot of teamwork. Although it lacks many things that would make it perfect, it is still a game to play, and every penny you spent on it, will pay off immediately as you start. In other words: Epic.
  87. JonW
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best instance of Co-operative game play that i've ever experienced. The game is entirely beautifully paced, dramatically dynamic and insanely fun. There have been complaints regarding the length of the individual campaigns but to be totally honest, with the random and variable enemy spawning there is hundreds of hours of gameplay here. It should be noted though that this This is the best instance of Co-operative game play that i've ever experienced. The game is entirely beautifully paced, dramatically dynamic and insanely fun. There have been complaints regarding the length of the individual campaigns but to be totally honest, with the random and variable enemy spawning there is hundreds of hours of gameplay here. It should be noted though that this game is completely dependent on who you play it with. If you have friends in the online community that you trust you will have an excellent experience battling through slogs and slogs of the undead horde. LIkewise if you strictly play through as a pubber you'll feel the frustration of constantly having to rescue and heal incompetent players and greifers. Expand
  88. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    left 4 dead is freaking awsome! anyone who voted bad on this game doesn't deserve to rate anything ever again. If you have played the "demo" (the full games not even out yet) you would get a "small" taste of what the real game is like. Super fast and super uber zombies keep this game fast paced and always asking where did Bill go?
  89. SMcD
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Great game indeed. The reviewers here that are giving the game low scores because of poor graphics and sound etc don't have a clue!! this game is based on some old sterotypical cheesie zombie movie and the sound acting and graphics are meant to add to this (which it does).
  90. MontgomeryMax
    Nov 21, 2008
    8
    Ok...... I'm getting tired of reading all these pathetic user scores. Every one of them I read, "OH NOOOOO! THE GRAPHICS ARE TERRIBLE!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAH WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!" Guy please..... If you play a game for the graphics, that makes you a PUSSY. A big, giant PUSSY. Some of the most fun games I've played don't have the best graphics and STILL manage to get me hookedOk...... I'm getting tired of reading all these pathetic user scores. Every one of them I read, "OH NOOOOO! THE GRAPHICS ARE TERRIBLE!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAH WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!" Guy please..... If you play a game for the graphics, that makes you a PUSSY. A big, giant PUSSY. Some of the most fun games I've played don't have the best graphics and STILL manage to get me hooked for months. Look at GTA! Look at Rainbow Six Vegas!! Graphics?!?! Please. If your eyes are that desperate, find something else to do besides play video games. Go to an art museum or something... damn... Expand
  91. lordolunch
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    One of the most frantic and exciting games I've played on PC in a long time. If you like games that are constantly pounding you with action, then this is your game. The online is some of the best co-op you can play at this point in time. BUY IT
  92. D.J.P.
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing for those who have waited for a good zombie game to come out! I already love FPS's and this just adds to it! I would say the only downfall to this game is that there are very few checkpoints (average of 4 in each campaign). Although it is meant to be like that, so keep your team together; it also makes it extremely tiresome to get from one safehouse to This game is absolutely amazing for those who have waited for a good zombie game to come out! I already love FPS's and this just adds to it! I would say the only downfall to this game is that there are very few checkpoints (average of 4 in each campaign). Although it is meant to be like that, so keep your team together; it also makes it extremely tiresome to get from one safehouse to the next on expert mode >:/. Overall I believe this game is excellent and will flourish on Live and PC until another game comes out that takes FPS lovers attention away...kinda like what happened to CoD4 and Halo 3 :D Expand
  93. HenryI
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    There is some validity in what has proved to be an entertaining game. However, it is let down in some instances. More innovative zombie AI could have been used, and the lack of weaponary was.... disappointing. Essentially, it is based on the Source engine has said. This engine is good, and works well for the game. There are unforgettable moments of teamwork and cohesion which will stick There is some validity in what has proved to be an entertaining game. However, it is let down in some instances. More innovative zombie AI could have been used, and the lack of weaponary was.... disappointing. Essentially, it is based on the Source engine has said. This engine is good, and works well for the game. There are unforgettable moments of teamwork and cohesion which will stick in your mind. There are unbelievable moments when you will think "wow, this is AWESOME!". But considering all the other zombie mods out there, I believe Valve did a good job, but not a great one. They needed things such as barricadable areas, some environment destruction, that kind of thing. Because this was lacking, I give this a good rating, and recommend the game highly, but don't believe it is high enough to be regarded as a truly brilliant gem like games such as Fable, COD4, TF2 ect. Expand
  94. RandyM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This game has single handedly re-energized my enthusiasm for the FPS genre. Perfectly playable on a wide range of systems, and the gameplay and balance is very well thought out. Right now, this is the most fun you can have online with friends IMHO. And by the way, if you're not playing online with others, you're missing the whole point of the game. The only reason it misses a 10 This game has single handedly re-energized my enthusiasm for the FPS genre. Perfectly playable on a wide range of systems, and the gameplay and balance is very well thought out. Right now, this is the most fun you can have online with friends IMHO. And by the way, if you're not playing online with others, you're missing the whole point of the game. The only reason it misses a 10 is due to the limited number of maps and weapons. But I'm sure Valve will address that soon enough. And to Jack T who gave it a 0 because it's not good for kids... WTF dude? You know it IS rated "M" for mature. You should have to take an IQ test to produce offspring. *sigh* Expand
  95. mikechabot
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    While this game does lack in length it is still one of the best games out there to play with your friends. I requires more then the meaningless but sometime fun single player ownage as seen in games like Call of Duty 4/5. It requires you and your friends to work together to survive. This is a great game to have for when you have the guys over and is one that really gets you screamingWhile this game does lack in length it is still one of the best games out there to play with your friends. I requires more then the meaningless but sometime fun single player ownage as seen in games like Call of Duty 4/5. It requires you and your friends to work together to survive. This is a great game to have for when you have the guys over and is one that really gets you screaming at the t.v. Expand
  96. Idoru
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Fun, simple gameplay designed for fun with your friends. Not much content but assuming it recieces as much post launch attention as the orange box has then I think we should be OK. Not played enough yet to know wether or not thew AI make huge differance replayability wise. Even if it were the same though I'm sure I'd enjoy it just as much with the difficulty ramped right up.Fun, simple gameplay designed for fun with your friends. Not much content but assuming it recieces as much post launch attention as the orange box has then I think we should be OK. Not played enough yet to know wether or not thew AI make huge differance replayability wise. Even if it were the same though I'm sure I'd enjoy it just as much with the difficulty ramped right up. Simple the most fun I've had in ages over Live. Expand
  97. BradL
    Dec 23, 2008
    8
    this game is definitely worth buying, yet not worth 50 dollars. there are only 4 campaigns. although it definitely replayable, as it was meant to be. The AI director keeps it different, although it is overrated, as there will be instances in which the game seems repetitive. In short, this game is great and very fun, but not so much is it worth 50 buckaroos.
  98. RodneyH
    Dec 24, 2008
    9
    I'm glad I waited a while to pass final judgement on this game. I was sucked into the hype and the idea of mowing down zombies was all I needed to pick this up on release day. I fired it up and played through each single player campaign the first day as I have never seen the use of having a live membership. I sat there a bit replaying a level saying to myself "That's it?!" Short I'm glad I waited a while to pass final judgement on this game. I was sucked into the hype and the idea of mowing down zombies was all I needed to pick this up on release day. I fired it up and played through each single player campaign the first day as I have never seen the use of having a live membership. I sat there a bit replaying a level saying to myself "That's it?!" Short campaigns, minimal story, and a small selection of weapons. I had a month card laying around, popped in the code and jumped into a quick match. Entirely different game! The FPS mentality that is so ingrained was immediately tossed. Some moments are down right hilarious. Newer players looking for to run and gun taken down before anyone can get near them. Covering your team mates while they heal and reload. Yes the game can be simple and sometimes easy if played right, but one wrong move or a team mate lost at a desperate time can spell disaster for everyone. I love the director aspect that encourages searching every nook while penalizing you for taking the time to do so. Desperately searching for a health kit? Take too much time and the horde will be unleashed on you. Burn through the level and you will deal with less horde but more chances of running out of supplies at a critical moment. It is extremely well balanced. Yes the lack of weapons is frustrating at first but the deeper you look at them they are all different ways to play the game. I challenge everyone to get with a group of friends on "Dead Air" stick three friends on tail of the downed plane and one with the hunting rifle in the small storage area in the wall of the building. They attract the majority of the attention and leave you free to snipe any specials that may get the jump on them. They may drop a hundred infected, but you easily pop and protect them from 15 specials that could wreck everything. For all the hate the hunting rifle gets, it is hands down my favorite weapon in the game and deserving of way more love than its getting. Expand
  99. ArjunSingh
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a good concept that relies heavily on playing with other people. If one does not have a bunch of friends or xbox live, they're in for a bad experience. While single player isn't bad it's not the most fun thing in the world. The fun is playing with others through the zombie infested campaigns. The only issue with the game is that there are 4 different scenarios.
  100. Left4DeadKing
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    I just bought the game last night. It was worth every cent. I am not big on fighting games, i stick to the sports games, but wow take my advice and get this game. To give you a background of the game here you go. There is 5 different stages and each one has about 5 chapters if i remember correctly. There is 4 different difficulties. I choose the 2nd hardest just to start. I did single I just bought the game last night. It was worth every cent. I am not big on fighting games, i stick to the sports games, but wow take my advice and get this game. To give you a background of the game here you go. There is 5 different stages and each one has about 5 chapters if i remember correctly. There is 4 different difficulties. I choose the 2nd hardest just to start. I did single player and had a blast. The computer plays well with you. Your team mates heal you and protect you like you would expect. The fact that literally 50-100 zombies will come flying out at once unexpected it awesome. Tons of narrow places with zombies waiting. Some of them dont really bother you. In fact i went into a bedroom with a zombie just slamming her head against a wall???? Either way i just went up and owner her soul but still made me laugh. And the witch was a nice touch. (Just dont shine the light on her or its pretty much game over for you). I then played co op with a buddy. We put the difficutly one more up to the third hardest. And that was def hard. Not impossible but def a challenge. Just when you think you have a place under control think again. This game rarely lets you rest. And this is not a game that once you beat it your like "time to trade in". This game will forever be fun. Mark my words. I dont play video games a lot but man this is something im trying to make more time for. I was seriously thinking about calling out of work to play more. haha. anyways hope this gives you a little boost to go out and buy it. Hit me up when online with x box live. USA CHAMPS. later. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.