User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1266 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    9
    Anything that Valve's touch becomes platinum, Left 4 Dead has a lot of similarities with Counter Strike in every aspect. Non stop action,over the top violence will be found in here, laugh out loud coop , and nice campaign. Tho, this is not a game for everyone,as i said this campaign is hell of a fun experience but is very short, and especially for offline users, they will not get more content on it. Also L4D lacks in weapons, there's not many variety. Those minor flaws doesn't deteriorate the excitement , and you can get good use for it. So pick it , ( get L4D2 it has more stuff ) but, get in mind that less dont get everything right , even if it has zombies. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    Online co-op gaming at its best. It's not a 'normal' game with its four levels that, on easy or normal, can be finished inside 40 minutes per level. Stick it on extreme and it's a different story, though. We're talking hours of pain per level... ouch.
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    If it wasn't for this game and Left 4 Dead 2, i won't have even bought an xbox, honestly.
    This game is just amazing, though it is pretty much that same 7 scenes you're playing over and over, the randomness setting of a.i.'s and such make it like a brand new match every time. Versus, Campaign, and other modes other than Single Player are a great way to keep my attention to the game getting
    to play with other. The game is just amazing, i play it like everyday and i can't imagine not playing this gem. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2010
    3
    I hardly ever re-sale my X360 games but after a couple of weeks I immediately brought it back. It's interesting how valve tried to make a game that's made to be repeated but it doesn't work like that. The campaigns last around an hour each at most, versus is dull, and although the "Director" changes zombie and horde spawns, it doesn't do much else. Not so impressive when it's put like that, is it? Gunplay is pretty bad, just hip-firing forever. Characters have some charm, but Francis? No. Hate him. This game isn't worth your time. Poor gameplay. Poor plot. Poor graphics. Get out while you still can. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    Left 4 Dead is a blast to play, it can easily consume hundreds of hours of your life, it has tons of awesome multiplayer modes, awesome co-op, and Zombies! this game is a pure adrenaline rush, at times hundreds of Zombies will swarm you at once, and it's awesome! while the game is built for co-op play, it's still fun to play by yourself, although you'll have the most fun with four friends and difficulty on expert and watching the craziness unfold, all the game modes rely on teamwork, and there's one gameplay mode where you can play as either the Zombies or the survivors and have to effectively communicate in order too win, and it has extremely high replay value, this game comes so close to getting a 10, but it does have some flaws, there are long load times, there are only four short campaigns with five levels a piece, and if you don't have multiplayer, it wont last you forever, but this is still a fantastic game online or off, and is just shy of perfection, a must own. Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2010
    4
    im suprised a company like valve a company who made games like half life 1 and 2 and Portal come out with such a half assed game , this is such a bare bones game basically there meeting musta went some thing like this "i got a idea lets make a game with zombies and make it 4 player co-op" any thing els "no thats it dont need bosses or a story , well make it beatable in alittle over 3 hours and just toss in a few guns and call it a day." this game should have been released as a budget game for like $20 . cause thats about what it looks and plays like . this game the way it is probubly woulda been great 6 years ago on the originla xbox i mean the graphics already look like the belong there. its just way to short i mean to beat a game in 3 hours just shouldnt be . even on the hardest diffuculty me and my friends had this done in 4.5 hours . after i beat it on both normal and the hardest diffuculty which was 2 days i had no desire to want to play it again . its like ok why would i want to its the same thing through all 4 lvls run to a vehicle kill the same zombies over and over with a grand total of 5 higher type zombies like the tank and witch which arnt difuctlt to put down. this just feels so rushed and just slapped together. this game is at best a rental and thats if you REALY REALY REALY like killing zombies . this game was a waste of $60 and valve should be ashamed for charging that much for this half assed game. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Zombie games are well, out there. they could be awesome and they could be boring. THis is one of the better zombie games out there. It's fun and at the time, was pretty scary.
  8. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = One of the best online Co-op/ Versus games to date. Extremely well designed and very fun overall.
  9. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    I don't think Valve can make a bad game...cause this surely isn't one. Everything about this game is fun, especially the different types of special infected. This is a great game to play multiplayer on xbox live with and not ever really get bored of this game, as long as you long killing very fast undead.
  10. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Just about anything wrong with this game on the 360 is corrected in the PC version (and improved upon in the sequel). It has to do with Microsoft, I'm almost sure. There aren't any custom maps, or free additional content or regular updates on the 360 version, however, there are on the PC. That's pretty much the only reason I'm giving this game a nine. -- I bought it after hearing a few of my friends talk about it, and that's one of the most amazing things about the Left 4 Dead games, I think. The levels themselves stay the same, but the experience is different every time. As someone from Valve said, it promotes "organic storytelling." This happens over and over, for the same game. There are only several types of enemies, and yet every time you play, the experience is different. A look into the developer's comments (included with the Game of the Year version, at least) gave me a good idea of just how much thought was put into every aspect of this game. -- The graphics aren't breath-taking and miraculous, but the techniques put into the development of the graphics certainly are. Music and sound effects are used as audio cues to alert players to where enemies may be hiding. I mentioned in another review, actually, that it is these things that will be remembered several years from now, rather than a game having 'the best' graphics, or 'the best' shallow trait. -- I bought Left 4 Dead over a year ago, and have played it regularly since then. It never lost any of its fun value over that time. Expand
  11. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Left 4 Dead has everything i want in a survival game exciting and realistic i rate this game top marks and will recommend it to anyone who is in to survival games.
  12. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    At the time of posting, 26897 zombies had been harmed playing of this game by yours truly. Now assume I kill an average of four hundred or so each time I play a level. Do the math. I've played Left 4 Dead that many times. And I will continue to do so, it's that much fun. I don't think I can give any better praise than that...

    Want to read the full review? Go to
    http://thereplayreview.blogspot.com! Expand
  13. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    It doesn't have a great story, but a least it has one. That's better than some other zombie games. It does get somewhat repetitive, but it's still fun. Multiplayer is pretty over rated though. The controls are pretty good but not the best. Gameplay is good. I'd give the campaign an 8 and multiplayer a 6.
  14. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    It was worth waiting a few years to get this in the bargain bin... Left 4 Dead (outdated to it's sequel which came out the following year), is a definate not buy if your looking to get it (by the time your reading this it'll be sometime after 2011, so don't get this). A decent game, just incomplete.
  15. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    It's pretty straight forward and easy at first glance, and if you're good at first person shooters you should have no problem. The game isn't really scary at all and there isn't much of an apocalyptic atmosphere. It feels more like a shoot em up action game, but that is indeed the point. As a first-person shooter, it can be really fun, however once you've beaten each map a few times there isn't much more to do with this game. The second one is much better and much more worth purchasing (not to mention it came out about a mere year after this one). If you force yourself to think about what you do and take the game more slowly and sneakily on a harder mode (like Expert) and turn off the cheesy loud over the top music, this game can be pretty intense and realistically frightening (depending on what kind of setting your put yourself in). The best aspect of the game is probably Versus Mode, because playing as the mutant-like 'special infected' is quite entertaining. I realize I seem pretty down about this game, and this is only because I've had it for years now, but when I first got it, I thought it was one of the greatest games ever made. However, now I see that in comparison to the sequel, this isn't so impressive. Plus the Steam PC version is at least 10x better, especially since you can download modded maps such as a few Silent Hill maps and many more. Expand
  16. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Before Left 4 Dead's release, I had always wanted an intense shooter that pits you against a city full of flesh hungry zombies. So needless to say when I heard about Left 4 Dead, I was all over it, and I'm happy to say that Valve did not disappoint. This game is pretty much the game I had been wishing for since I first saw Dawn of the Dead (2004). Left 4 Dead is an intense, pulse pounding first person shooter that has been brilliantly created with an A.I. director that constantly changes the item locations and enemy spawn locations, making each time you play a campaign different than the last time you played it. This game strongly relies on its multiplayer, which is no less than spectacular. Playing with three other "survivors" in a zombie apocalypse is something that even today still hasn't gotten old. The versus mode is another great multiplayer mode that allows you to play as the survivors, then the infected or vise-versa in a four on four match. Another thing that makes versus so good is the fact that its completely balanced. The graphics are a bit old, but within respected tolerances. The voice acting is great and the dialogue actually made me laugh out loud in a few times. The only reason this game doesn't achieve perfection is because of lack of content, but the only reason this is a complaint is because the game is so much fun, that I just keep wanting more and more. This game delivered exactly what any zombie media fan could want and is easily one of the funnest games I've ever played. Expand
  17. Oct 11, 2011
    8
    A really enjoyable game to play, simple and effective and sometimes genuinely nerve-shredding. Some nice DLC adds an emotional touch to the furthered story and the online is quite interesting too. The only downsides, the levels can be quite linear and the game is too short and has no re-play potential after a few goes; the run and shoot format becomes tiresome, However, for the first couple of times its great and a really good game to play in co-op. Very good, but trade it in after a while. Expand
  18. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    Original concept and dynamic gameplay. But the actual controls and shooting mechanics are clearly suited for PC. This is a poor port for 360 because it just feels like Counter-Strike with zombies. If you can see through the un-immersive controls, the gameplay can bea blast- especially if played with the right people. However, the campaigns are a lot shorter than the ones for L4D2, and there's only 4 (excluding map pack). It's worth playing but it's something that becomes boring and old VERY quickly. Expand
  19. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    If this game had a way to punish players that **** out and rage quit I'd have to give it a 10/10, The environment and atmosphere gives pure adrenaline, game play is engrossing and winning a match feels extremely rewarding.
  20. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Left 4 Dead serves as gory, brutal and mindless First Person Shooter fun that often provides same startling jolts and really fun gameplay. Fans of first person shooters and zombies will surely love this.
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun when you play it with a friend. I think if you play it alone it is boring so I recommend only playing this with friends. This doesnt have any replay value though. Its better just to rent or something and then give it back.
  22. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    This is one of those games that you can pop in and play with a friend for maybe like an hour or two and then you'll probably want to quit and play something else. The game has almost no storyline and becomes repetitive just hours after playing it. The content is weak and the game lacks depth. I'm a huge zombie fan and I love co-op games but I found Left 4 Dead hard to enjoy. I would only recommend this game if you have a friend to play with. It's a good time waster if you need to burn an hour or two with a friend. Expand
  23. May 13, 2012
    0
    This game is extremely not as good as the second one witch i gave a 6 to. It basically needs work on everything. I needs to drop in price 10.00 to even make the price good.
  24. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    One of the best FPS games of all time. The characters are entertaining, the level design is great too. The games only flaw is the variety of weapons, of which there is around 5. The game has superb multilayer and really encourages teamwork. If you like FPS games, zombies and playing with friends, check this game out!
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    I'm usually not into zombie games but this is a truely fun zombie killing experience. It has lots of content and the AI director changes how each level plays making it a game which always offers new challenges. Single player is solid but this was a game meant to be played with friends. The game emphasizes teamwork, lone wolves don't last long. Pick this game up if you and your online posse are looking for a new challenge or even just a change of pace from COD or other traditional shooters. Expand
  26. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    It's simplicity may leave the player feeling bare at times, but "Left 4 Dead" is nevertheless an overwhelmingly entertaining zombie shooter with some brilliant co-op gameplay possibilities.
  27. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    This was the game that got me into gaming as a hobby. My friend raved about this game for the longest time and so finally I went out and bought a crappy Xbox 360 Arcade just so that I could play this game. It was the best thing I have ever bought in my life. The intense gameplay that kept me and my friends coming back, the endlessly replayable levels, and the charming characters made me a L4D fan. I have spent hours and hours and hours of my life killing zombies with a friend on the couch next to me. I am a huge Resident Evil fan but this is without a doubt my favorite zombie game. Even though it has no real story this game holds up extremely well. Enjoy! Expand
  28. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    a really boring and repetitive game this game simply takes 10 minutes then it is the same even in any level you play in the co op was good but still gets boring after a while
  29. May 12, 2013
    10
    Tell me again, what survival horror fan doesn't like blasting a few hundred zombies in the head every now and again?
    With Left 4 Dead, you'll get to kill zombies. Morbidly obese zombies that vomit on you and attract the main horde, skittish zombies that attack you when you startle them, zombies with a cat-like prowess who try to hunt you down. It's fun, it's simple. It's what we want in a
    zombie game. Expand
  30. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Valve is now my favorite game company, all thanks to this game! I've never played an actual "good" zombie game, aside from RE, and 'Left 4 Dead' is just what I needed! 4 player co-op has never been so fun!
  31. May 28, 2013
    7
    I really enjoyed this game, despite the linear paths and lack of weapon variety. For what it is, an episodic zombie shooter, it does it well. Given, there's not much of a plot, it's a simple escape scenario. But for a zombie apocalypse shooter, I'm not sure how much of a plot people expect. Gave it a seven because it does get a bit boring for long stretches, but in short sittings when you just want to blow away crap for 30-40 minutes, it's a lot of fun. Expand
  32. May 30, 2013
    8
    A Valve FPS with zombies. This is a wonderful game that I enjoyed very much, but to get the full experience for this game, you need to have 3 other people, but when you do get 3 other friends, it makes for one helluva good time. And, because you need other people to enjoy it so much, that's why I also have to criticize for. That and its somewhat short gameplay time. It's nice to see games encourage you to play with people, but I shouldn't have to be hindered from enjoying the full game experience because I don't have friends who wanna play this game with me, but that's a minor point. Overall, Valve a lovely FPS with zombies. Expand
  33. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    When first playing Left 4 Dead I was alone and playing by myself, it took my 30mins just to walk 30 meters. I was petrified. Left 4 Dead was purposely made to be played on multiplayer and this is where the game shins. Valve has successfully made an action packed *fast paced* zombie game, which will leave you on the edge of your sit the entire ride. Do not expect to play an emotion story driven game as this is nothing but. Expand
  34. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    The original Left 4 Dead is a fast pace cooperative game.
    Why play in co-op, because the game has some infected(special zombies each containing there very own abilities) that requires a teammates help to get off of you, so it's better to have some friends cover your back then going in like John Rambo because that could cost you your life and you're team would start to break apart.
    Why
    not play the campaign by yourself, because it's starts to lose some of its charm and beings to become boring also it's A.I isn't the most impressive to protect you.
    If your not interested in that then the multiplayer could interest you because it's fun and you get to play as the special infected against the survivors being controlled by other players to see who can get the farthest in a campaign before your team gets wiped out and who ever has the most points at the end of the game wins.
    If you want to survive waves of zombies with 3 friends then you could always play survival.
    It's still not perfect but it's not bad of getting a copy, 7/10
    Expand
  35. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    This is one of a dwindling number of couch co-op titles that gives you solid multiplayer functionality on one screen. It's a great game to play with friends, the co-op feels like a full feature, rather than something added on later (which many two player games falter at).

    The controls are fairly intuitive, and actually implement a few features I wish more first-person games would offer.
  36. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    Left 4 Dead is still one of the best multiplayer videogames of all time. The gameplay is a ton of fun for friends, and is a must own for Xbox 360 owners.
  37. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    This game really has nothing to offer someone who thinks zombies are boring and the idea has been milked so much in modern pop culture you can see the cows ribs. Half-Life 2 did not gain so many fans for it's shooting mechanics but it's depth and world creation, Left4Dead is just the source shooting engine and zombies that present no challenge, that's it. It looks bad, plays bad and even the co-op is left for dead by Halo and Rainbow 6. I finished the first level then switched the game off unimpressed and totally void of any immersion. Overall the most boring ugly game I've played and not the standards I expect from a full release from Valve. Expand
  38. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    I really love playing this game! The campaign is great for it keeps me compelled to play by myself or with friends. The online feature is great for it can get boring playing by yourself and the ai can be too dumb to save you or to be helpful. Survival is a great feature in which you just have to survive long enough.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Left 4 Dead's simplicity offers purity of gameplay - the same reason that gamers keep returning to classic arcade games. Come to think of it, with a handful of levels and unpredictable events happening within them, Left 4 Dead has more in common with "Ms. Pac-Man" than just the eating. It's the same thing over and over - but when simple ingredients are perfectly prepared, what could be a mere snack becomes a feast. This one just happens to be on human flesh. [Holiday 2008, p.32]
  2. 90
    There's absolutely no doubt that Left 4 Dead is one of the most social and exciting multiplayer games that we've ever played. It's almost pitch perfect in how it captures the tension and the action of a Hollywood zombie movie.
  3. 90
    The inventive and highly entertaining competitive multiplayer mode just adds to the experience, and we're looking forward to seeing what Valve's got planned for the game's future. Out of all the titles that have shaped the Year of Living Cooperatively, this may be the best experience of them all.