Legendary Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 82
  2. Negative: 17 out of 82
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Feb 20, 2009
    8
    I tried this game out, and I must say that it's underrated. It's a solid, if flawed, title that proves humanity can be more insane than I am. The shooting mechanics are solid, the methods of healing, telekinesis, etc., are well-implemented, and it is original. Where else will you see people putting shotguns to the heads of werewolves AND minotaurs? The downsides includeI tried this game out, and I must say that it's underrated. It's a solid, if flawed, title that proves humanity can be more insane than I am. The shooting mechanics are solid, the methods of healing, telekinesis, etc., are well-implemented, and it is original. Where else will you see people putting shotguns to the heads of werewolves AND minotaurs? The downsides include collision issues and balance problems, but it's still a very solid title. Expand
  2. JasonL
    Apr 15, 2009
    8
    I really had a ton of fun with this game - sure it doesn't bring anything new to the genre, but what is here is an action-packed adventure with addictive gameplay, decent graphics, well thought-out sound design. I avoided this game due to the critic review scores, but now I have first hand experience, and can honestly say that it's well worth a play-through.
  3. peterIngram
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    I enjoyed the game thoroughly. It may not be as polished as some of the heavy hitters out now, but it is fun. I am soooo sick and tired of space marines and aliens, and the cover system. Run, cover, shoot, and run, cover, shoot etc... That is sooo repetitive and boring. This game actually is refreshing, because you have to move around the world consistently or else the creatures findI enjoyed the game thoroughly. It may not be as polished as some of the heavy hitters out now, but it is fun. I am soooo sick and tired of space marines and aliens, and the cover system. Run, cover, shoot, and run, cover, shoot etc... That is sooo repetitive and boring. This game actually is refreshing, because you have to move around the world consistently or else the creatures find and destroy you. How it scored a 2 out of 10 on IGN blows my mind! Its fun, it runs, and was a good experience. Its def worth playing;) Expand
  4. JackS
    Dec 2, 2008
    7
    This game is not the best game ever witnessed by Pc or todays consoles. But it by far isnt the worst. The fact that it came out amidst the likes of Farcry 2, Fallout 3, Left 4 Dead and the countless other great games that were released over the last couple of months, and the fact tht it was labeled the same price tag left it as an obvious thing for critics to jump at and give a bad This game is not the best game ever witnessed by Pc or todays consoles. But it by far isnt the worst. The fact that it came out amidst the likes of Farcry 2, Fallout 3, Left 4 Dead and the countless other great games that were released over the last couple of months, and the fact tht it was labeled the same price tag left it as an obvious thing for critics to jump at and give a bad review, but the problem is people are to busy comparing to all these great games that they can;'t step bacvk and relise what a great game this actually is. Legendary tries hard to create a game that at times leaves you in awe and wondering why it got such a bad score, whether you stopped dead in your tracks by a ginourmous Kraken clawing at the big ben, or chased through New York City by a giant golem ripping apart the realisitic city sceneary, your never left unsatisfied after a play on this game. Yes, it has its flaws, and plenty of them, but Sparks Unlimited really did put everythin they could put into this game with thier budget, and they did a bloddy good job of it too. The ytried there best, tried something new and were slated unfairly for it. I'll be surpries if Sparks unlimited ever takes off after pulling off thid game and seing the pathetically negetive revbiews its got. A good buy if your looking for an action packed, massivle cinematic game, but are not hoping for anything truly ' Legendary ' I give this game a justified 7 out of 10 Expand
  5. Dylan
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    Legendary is definitely a case where the developer's reach exceeded their grasp. Sure, not every technical element of the game is spot-on. Sure, the pace might be a little jumpy sometimes, and it's probably too hard alltogether. Still, Legendary is worth playing, on the strength of its spectacle alone. The developers have mastered the art of the scripted Legendary is definitely a case where the developer's reach exceeded their grasp. Sure, not every technical element of the game is spot-on. Sure, the pace might be a little jumpy sometimes, and it's probably too hard alltogether. Still, Legendary is worth playing, on the strength of its spectacle alone. The developers have mastered the art of the scripted sequence--Half-Life's have nothing on what happens here. The first twenty minutes alone make Legendary required playing for anyone who can appreciate a game that makes you feel like you're living through an epic summer blockbuster. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    Its a fun FPS with some really intense moments and lots of action. Overall a really good first person shooter. Dont see why most of the critics hate it so much. Only things i didnt like was that you had to be very close and precise to any "action" (break the security panel to open a door, turn a lever) and it didnt give me the achievement for beating the game. On top of that, you have toIts a fun FPS with some really intense moments and lots of action. Overall a really good first person shooter. Dont see why most of the critics hate it so much. Only things i didnt like was that you had to be very close and precise to any "action" (break the security panel to open a door, turn a lever) and it didnt give me the achievement for beating the game. On top of that, you have to beat it three times to get all three difficulty level achievements because they dont stack. I was planning on playing it on easy and hard to get all those achievements but since it didnt unlock for normal mode I wont bother. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Always avoided this game due to critics or storeowners. Recently I've been buying all these supposable horrible games that are cheaper as the years have gone by. By no means is this a top tier game in terms of production value but its fun, has decent enough gameplay, original and cool monsters that need to be killed uniquely, and some respectable epic scenes. The critics main complaint is storyline ... Give me a break. There are so many hi rated games w/ crape stories. Worth your five bucks at gamestop. Expand
  8. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    I really like this game of true action fps with a world very detailed
    Fun is sure
    I must say this game is underrated and I don't understand why eweryone have to play this awesome game
    The only thing I don't appreciate was the abscence of the multiplayer players (not working or don't know why)
    But surely they are playing the campaign of this very interesting game (Y)
  9. MatisonMoon
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Finally something different.... The creatures don't just sit and hide behind cover and wait for you to snipe them. You have to run and gun. Very old school. It also ramps nicely, the controls are responsive, and the scenes were spectacular. I was surprised by how much I liked the story too.
  10. Aug 6, 2011
    5
    Legendary isn't necessarily bad, but while it had an interesting idea for a game, fighting mythological creatures instead of humans and aliens, it didn't do much with the idea. Also while the very first part of the game is very impressive visually, it just feels like a walk in the park cause you're not really in danger. While some of the enemies, especially the werewolves seem interesting,Legendary isn't necessarily bad, but while it had an interesting idea for a game, fighting mythological creatures instead of humans and aliens, it didn't do much with the idea. Also while the very first part of the game is very impressive visually, it just feels like a walk in the park cause you're not really in danger. While some of the enemies, especially the werewolves seem interesting, they quickly become annoying by the way you have to kill, and the game don't always let you do it. And while the game has some very amazing visual effects, most of the graphics are below average. And I get that this game had an unfortunate release time, being released alongside other expected-to-be-great games but that is not an excuse for poor work. This game could have been better, and I for one hoped it had been. But the story isn't all that bad and the shooting works fine most of the time. If you're a fan of first person shooters and the idea of fighting mythological creatures are interesting to you, then you should buy it. I wouldn't recommend spending a lot of money on it, but if you find it for cheap, then go ahead and give it a try. Expand
  11. JustinG
    Nov 30, 2008
    4
    The story line to this game is awesome and really unique, but it could have been way better in a lot of things. For example graphics and controls. I mean the graphics weren't terrible, but they were not as good as i was hoping. And the controls are not that bad either, but the aiming seems a little off and the difference in the weapons strength is a bit ridiculous. Im not so fond of The story line to this game is awesome and really unique, but it could have been way better in a lot of things. For example graphics and controls. I mean the graphics weren't terrible, but they were not as good as i was hoping. And the controls are not that bad either, but the aiming seems a little off and the difference in the weapons strength is a bit ridiculous. Im not so fond of the jumping either. Its a good game still, but a lot of it is just plan annoying. All in all the whole thing about pandora's box is awesome, now only if they could have fixed a lot of other things. It was a good try at a game though. Expand
  12. RoosterIllusion
    Jan 16, 2009
    1
    Behold God's mistake. I rated this game a one because I'd like to thank the designers for making good games look even better. The lighting in the game was fair and that's the only positive. The story line has been done how many hundreds of times before and there is no originality or thought to any concept. Can designers actually be hit with plagiarism? Might wana look into Behold God's mistake. I rated this game a one because I'd like to thank the designers for making good games look even better. The lighting in the game was fair and that's the only positive. The story line has been done how many hundreds of times before and there is no originality or thought to any concept. Can designers actually be hit with plagiarism? Might wana look into that with this game. With a bland plot one would think this game would have graphics. Uhmm, no, I have regular Xbox games with better texture and shading. The models were horrible. The game play is anything but smooth. It is choppy at best and being hung up on small benches and bushes is very frustrating. I can't believe you guys rated this game higher than Too Human. Are there any real gamers out there or will we just play any first person shooter these guys will stick in front of us? Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2014
    3
    Very forgettable on all accounts. Mechanics are sloppy. Story is a joke. Graphics and Design are below average. It's playable, but nothing memorable and you'll probably wish you spent your time on something else.
  14. Sep 10, 2013
    4
    Overly linear and poorly designed, Legendary is a classic example of a good premise being terribly executed. A shame really, because the story behind this game has some real potential.
  15. Dec 1, 2014
    6
    Quite fun game. If You like fps and would like to shoot something else than soldiers in cod/battlefields/killzones or aliens in Halo/resistance etc. than this game is for You. Its unpolished but put that aside and its really enjoyable.
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 17 out of 39
  1. While the formula feels a bit dated now, the result is a shooter that is still incredibly fun. [Dec 2008, p.90]
  2. Edge Magazine
    40
    The dev team has an eye for spectacle – a towering golem comprised of cars and other metallic detritus is a visual highlight – but these moments mostly serve to illustrate how dull your actual actions are by contrast. [Dec 2008, p.98]
  3. The problem with this is that Spark is relentless at throwing a huge number of beasties your way, crowding you into a corner and ripping you to shreds. There's not enough breathing space for you to heal yourself and absorb energy to use it effectively as a defensive measure. To say this had us throwing the controller at the telly and cursing is an understatement.