Legendary Xbox 360

Legendary Image
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Legendary: The Box") Legendary tells the story of Charles Deckard, an art thief who is duped into stealing Pandora’s Box. When he inadvertently opens it, he releases hordes of beasts thought to be fictional – such as werewolves and gryphons – into an unprepared modern world.(Also known as "Legendary: The Box") Legendary tells the story of Charles Deckard, an art thief who is duped into stealing Pandora’s Box. When he inadvertently opens it, he releases hordes of beasts thought to be fictional – such as werewolves and gryphons – into an unprepared modern world. A full scale war between man and myth begins, and it is quickly complicated by the actions of powerful secret societies. As the person responsible for releasing this terror, Deckard’s unwittingly become the only person capable of containing it once more and saving civilization from being destroyed by the terrifying creatures. [Gamecock Media] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 17 out of 39
  1. Legendary is a fantastic thrill ride that you won’t soon forget.
  2. The game tells a compelling story, is loaded with exciting combat, and is chock full of memorable moments. It could have used a bit more polish in certain areas, true, but as an interactive summer blockbuster, Legendary delivers.
  3. 68
    Everything about Legendary from the story to the set pieces screams epic proportions and honestly I really wanted to like the game a lot more. However, the small setbacks really take away from the experience and cause the game to go from legendary (pun highly intended) to just plain decent.
  4. Even though this game is built on top of a great mythology, the one about Pandora's Box unleashing chaos onto the world when opened, developer Spark never manage to make the actual game interesting in any way. The game structure is linear, the presentation is bleak at best and the gameplay is rather poor. This sums up to one mediocre experience.
  5. Edge Magazine
    40
    The dev team has an eye for spectacle – a towering golem comprised of cars and other metallic detritus is a visual highlight – but these moments mostly serve to illustrate how dull your actual actions are by contrast. [Dec 2008, p.98]
  6. The overall experience left us with a bad taste in our mouths and an almighty “WTF?” resonating from our lips. Sigh.
  7. Legendary is in the same league as Battlefield: Earth and Turok of how not to do something. How bad is this game you ask? It's Superman 64 bad. Well, maybe not quite that bad, but Legendary sucks more that a Hoover on overdrive. It's bad like ET for the 2600 bad. You might even say it's Legendarily bad.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    I really like this game of true action fps with a world very detailed
    Fun is sure
    I must say this game is underrated and I don't understand
    I really like this game of true action fps with a world very detailed
    Fun is sure
    I must say this game is underrated and I don't understand why eweryone have to play this awesome game
    The only thing I don't appreciate was the abscence of the multiplayer players (not working or don't know why)
    But surely they are playing the campaign of this very interesting game (Y)
    Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Feb 20, 2009
    8
    I tried this game out, and I must say that it's underrated. It's a solid, if flawed, title that proves humanity can be more insaneI tried this game out, and I must say that it's underrated. It's a solid, if flawed, title that proves humanity can be more insane than I am. The shooting mechanics are solid, the methods of healing, telekinesis, etc., are well-implemented, and it is original. Where else will you see people putting shotguns to the heads of werewolves AND minotaurs? The downsides include collision issues and balance problems, but it's still a very solid title. Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Always avoided this game due to critics or storeowners. Recently I've been buying all these supposable horrible games that are cheaper as the years have gone by. By no means is this a top tier game in terms of production value but its fun, has decent enough gameplay, original and cool monsters that need to be killed uniquely, and some respectable epic scenes. The critics main complaint is storyline ... Give me a break. There are so many hi rated games w/ crape stories. Worth your five bucks at gamestop. Expand
  4. Dylan
    Nov 22, 2008
    7
    Legendary is definitely a case where the developer's reach exceeded their grasp. Sure, not every technical element of the game is Legendary is definitely a case where the developer's reach exceeded their grasp. Sure, not every technical element of the game is spot-on. Sure, the pace might be a little jumpy sometimes, and it's probably too hard alltogether. Still, Legendary is worth playing, on the strength of its spectacle alone. The developers have mastered the art of the scripted sequence--Half-Life's have nothing on what happens here. The first twenty minutes alone make Legendary required playing for anyone who can appreciate a game that makes you feel like you're living through an epic summer blockbuster. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2011
    5
    Legendary isn't necessarily bad, but while it had an interesting idea for a game, fighting mythological creatures instead of humans andLegendary isn't necessarily bad, but while it had an interesting idea for a game, fighting mythological creatures instead of humans and aliens, it didn't do much with the idea. Also while the very first part of the game is very impressive visually, it just feels like a walk in the park cause you're not really in danger. While some of the enemies, especially the werewolves seem interesting, they quickly become annoying by the way you have to kill, and the game don't always let you do it. And while the game has some very amazing visual effects, most of the graphics are below average. And I get that this game had an unfortunate release time, being released alongside other expected-to-be-great games but that is not an excuse for poor work. This game could have been better, and I for one hoped it had been. But the story isn't all that bad and the shooting works fine most of the time. If you're a fan of first person shooters and the idea of fighting mythological creatures are interesting to you, then you should buy it. I wouldn't recommend spending a lot of money on it, but if you find it for cheap, then go ahead and give it a try. Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2016
    4
    Legendary is a good example of when a good concept is done poorly.

    The story of Legendary has some real potential.I won't spoil it in case
    Legendary is a good example of when a good concept is done poorly.

    The story of Legendary has some real potential.I won't spoil it in case you decide to play the game.

    The gameplay is generic,but has some cool innovations,like the Animus,which allows you to regain health as it does not regenerate,very old school.It also allows you to release a sonic wave that affects the creatures.There are also a few fun enviromental puzzles.You can't just take cover either,as the creatures will find you and decimate you.Though they can kill you in 3-4 hits,which makes the game infuriatingly hard.

    The graphics are poor,but I've seen much worse.The framerate is solid.But my biggest problem with the game is the atrocious loading times.After dying,It took 2 minutes for me to load back to the nearest checkpoint.

    Sound design is good,particularly for the creatures.The soundtrack is poor however.

    Overall,Legendary is an interesting premise done poorly,which is a shame.
    Expand
  7. RoosterIllusion
    Jan 16, 2009
    1
    Behold God's mistake. I rated this game a one because I'd like to thank the designers for making good games look even better. The Behold God's mistake. I rated this game a one because I'd like to thank the designers for making good games look even better. The lighting in the game was fair and that's the only positive. The story line has been done how many hundreds of times before and there is no originality or thought to any concept. Can designers actually be hit with plagiarism? Might wana look into that with this game. With a bland plot one would think this game would have graphics. Uhmm, no, I have regular Xbox games with better texture and shading. The models were horrible. The game play is anything but smooth. It is choppy at best and being hung up on small benches and bushes is very frustrating. I can't believe you guys rated this game higher than Too Human. Are there any real gamers out there or will we just play any first person shooter these guys will stick in front of us? Expand

See all 16 User Reviews