Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    95
    Easily the best Lego game yet, Lego Batman 2: DC Superheroes' expansive world, original story, and bevy of unlockables should please fans of all ages.
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    91
    So while I do tend to be pretty positive about the LEGO series as a whole, it's also easy to see that this is the best effort Traveler's Tales has put into the franchise as of yet.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    90
    A few niggles, but otherwise this is a pure pleasure to play. [Sept 2012, p.93]
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    While some may be horrified to discover that the gurning Lego figures now come fully voiced, in context it makes perfect sense.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    90
    TT Games offered what is, probably, the best LEGO game to date. Tons of stuff to do, great humor and a superb co-op mode will keep you company all through the summer.
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    It's not perfect, with slightly clumsy partner AI and awkward flying mechanics for Superman featuring prominently, but any game that makes you continue to smile long after you've finished it, is a special game indeed.
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    90
    It's simply a phenomenally assured game, a pleasure to explore, and bursting with barely contained enthusiasm for its comic-book universe.
  8. 90
    Trimming off dead-weight as often as it adds something new, this is the strongest LEGO game yet. We've had seven years' worth of iterations, but these cheeky blocks of plastic are still fantastic.
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    88
    LEGO Batman 2 certainly delivers plenty of gameplay for your money.
  10. Jun 26, 2012
    88
    While TT did a fantastic job with this game, there are a few problems that need to be worked out but in all, they set the bar a little bit higher for their next adventure that I can only hope will be a LEGO Marvel game.
  11. Jun 25, 2012
    88
    Just what the doctor ordered. It's fun, clever, charming, action-packed, replayable, and, above all, loyal to DC Comics and the LEGO videogame universe. I totally dig games intended for both young hands and old minds alike and once again, Traveller's Tales have delivered.
  12. Jul 11, 2012
    87
    LEGO Batman 2 is the best LEGO title to date and one that uses all of the source material on offer to wonderful effect. Tightly constructed levels interplay brilliantly with the freedom of roaming the Gotham streets and that usual attitude of snagging all the studs, bricks and characters has never been so alluring.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes joins Lego HP 5-7 and Lego Star Wars II of my favourite games to play. It has introduced many new mechanics andLEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes joins Lego HP 5-7 and Lego Star Wars II of my favourite games to play. It has introduced many new mechanics and first-timers to the LEGO Franchise (Most Notable the talking Minifigs and the Open World - Gotham City) While still maintaining the all age friendly gameplay. This game is great for anyone to play on their own, or even better with a friend. A nice distraction and/or alternative from the overwhelming violence that is seen in the majority of games nowadays. The talking Minifigs, to which I was initially unsure about, turns out to be a stand out for LEGO Batman 2. Each character is funny and memorable (And Clancy Browns reprisal as Lex Luthor is top-notch). The Open World Hub is easily the most satisfying gameplay of the game. With the highest amount of Gold Bricks ever: 250 (Surpassing HP 5-7 at 200), Citizens in Peril and 50 Classic DC characters to find and unlock (Not as many as 5-7, respectively, because of a smaller original cast), I will continue to play this game for many more weeks. Also, each main character has his/er own special atributes to give to the gameplay. I can't tell you how awesome it felt like to take off as Superman, head vertically upwards, and slowly hear the Superman Theme (John Williams) creep in through the speakers. I found very few flaws, and none of them took away from the overall effect of the game. Co-op makes a return and is better than ever before, the sleek dynamic split-screen system is back in the Story Missions, and allows for players to explore Gotham City to their hearts content. Parents, if you or your children like DC Comics, and love to have a good laugh, this game must be at he top of your list. A Simply Magnificent Game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    "Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes" a game produced by Tell Tale (The Walking Dead, Monkey Island, Fable) of the famous LEGO games franchise. The"Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes" a game produced by Tell Tale (The Walking Dead, Monkey Island, Fable) of the famous LEGO games franchise. The story of the game begins with the Man of the Year award, in Gotham City, where the 2 runner ups are Bruce Wayne and Lex Luthor, and where Bruce will
    receive the award - they are attacked by the Joker and other villains: from there, Bruce appears as Batman and begins the game - and there is already a hint of Lex Luthor will join Joker.

    The Graphics are improved: the structures and Legos have their classic appearance, but with details of texture and reflections of things around them are very good, with the sensation are made of plastic. The game scenarios graphics are good, but are always more detailed in close up, and not so much in the distance, which become more blurred. Gotham City has the aspect of a dark city, always in night, with constant light effects.

    Audio: the talking Legos are a nice change introduced, and I think that this gave the story and joke lines more interest. Almost everything in the CG are dubbed with original voices of actors from movies and cartoons, then obviously there is no complaints in that department, which is
    impeccable. The voices appear in all segments that tell the story, ie, the CG, and some characters speak in stages.

    The general feeling os the game is in a kind of funny tone (of course), and resemble a mixture of personalities from the Batman and Justice League animated series with the Batman movies of the 90s. The jokes are greatly improved with the use of dialogue. The songs used are the classic ones from the series and movies, with orchestral music as the theme of Batman and Superman.

    The gameplay is what we see in recent Lego games (especially Harry Potter and Pirates of the Caribbean) merged with what we saw the first Lego Batman: stages in closed scenarios where you can destroy structures for credits, and destroy other objects that help to beat the stage and bonus items, while other bonuses are only accessible afterwards, with other powers given by different characters or other clothing.

    Of course as always we find the various collectibles that are part of all games (eg, gold bricks, vehicles, rescue). Moreover, we can play as in all other Lego games, in Coop, on the same console, which always is fun and convenient, since many stages require coordination of the 2 characters. Compared with other Lego games, the scenarios are more complex and full of things.

    Among the story stages, that sometimes are very large (and high), we see stages of vehicles gameplay, where you drive one of them (or Superman) and must reach and knock down the targets, in action sequences. The narrative and stages are linear, but after beating the stage, you can use Free Roam in the Menus, to get the missing collectibles.

    Although I do not tested the open world mode, with Superman, I've read that in this mode the Coop becomes Slit-screen due to the fact that the two characters you can not keep the same display because of the size of the map.

    In general, I found this one of the best Legos games: sum the theme and variety of scenarios in the DC universe and a open and wide world, with good graphics (thought at distance they could be better), and with a nice humor, with best jokes and funny lines thanks to the use of voice in the game. For those who like Batman and DC Universe, the Lego game series or more casual games, this game is a very nice choice - I would recommend this game and the Pirates of the Caribbean as the best games of the LEGO franchise.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    All LEGO games are awesome, and this one is too. This is a Must Buy.