Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
Buy On
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    65
    Although it's still as fun as ever to collect Lego bricks and watch the cutscenes, the lack of real change leads to the feeling that you've seen all this before. Batman is a meticulous self-improver; it would be nice if his Lego games had the same mentality.
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    70
    With a little more polish, LEGO Batman 2 could have been a high point of the franchise. Instead, it's merely another enjoyable entry in the lineup of LEGO games.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    Side missions and hidden blocks are suitably distracting, although the use of a difficult-to-read radar over a mini-map displays a certain level of open world naivety that should probably be expected from a developer that has just been going through the motions for so long.
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes does not betray the standards of the Lego franchise, adding a few targeted new features and presenting himself as a must buy for fans.
  5. 60
    Despite a few fresh ideas, Lego Batman 2 is, creatively, the weakest game in the Lego franchise.
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    It's still not a full reinvention of the Lego template but it is one of the most enjoyable uses of it so far, with an open world Gotham and a cast of characters to rival Arkham City.
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    70
    The second Lego Batman game has a lot to offer for almost every one. Some of the puzzles are a little big to hard for the younger audience that enjoyed the previous games, which is a shame.
  8. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    You know what you'll get with Lego games. It's a great family game with lots of humor and content, but at the same time it's more or less the same as its predecessor, complete with the same (minor) flaws. It's about time for TT Games to at least fix those flaws.
  9. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    Lego Batman 2 is packed with fun DC Universe content, tricky puzzles and compulsive collecting, but it's let down by the repetitive and often tedious combat mechanics. It's virtually impossible to fail, making the real challenge one of player interest. Combined with clunky controls, there's enough wrong to prevent this game from becoming a Lego classic.
  10. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    If the fundamentals were a little more refined or the new ideas a little more fully implemented, I'd feel better about recommending it wholeheartedly, but given the new elements in play here, you can at least take heart that Traveller's Tales isn't resting on its laurels.
  11. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    As a DC Comics crossover game, LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes is quiet fun to play like the previous title of the IP developed by TT Games. Even if the usual weaknesses remain, the title brings interesting features like full dialogues that offer a pleasant experience in the series, sometimes to the detriment of humor. Finally, the open-world universe lets players discover Gotham City, LEGO-style, despite some problems with camera positions and characters that happen to be stuck into walls.
  12. Sep 4, 2012
    60
    Like all the Lego games, the build/collect/smash em up nature is still just as addictive and the design is both brilliant and awful in equal measures. It's heart-warming and fun, two things which most comic games (and indeed comics) lose out on when they ham-fistedly attempt to be 'mature'. It's a grind though, so I think I'll sit the next few Lego games out while I regain the stamina to go through it all again. And I will go through it again.
  13. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2012
    70
    It's hard to fault Lego Batman 2, but it's hard to get very excited about it either. [Sept 2012, p.79]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes joins Lego HP 5-7 and Lego Star Wars II of my favourite games to play. It has introduced many new mechanics andLEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes joins Lego HP 5-7 and Lego Star Wars II of my favourite games to play. It has introduced many new mechanics and first-timers to the LEGO Franchise (Most Notable the talking Minifigs and the Open World - Gotham City) While still maintaining the all age friendly gameplay. This game is great for anyone to play on their own, or even better with a friend. A nice distraction and/or alternative from the overwhelming violence that is seen in the majority of games nowadays. The talking Minifigs, to which I was initially unsure about, turns out to be a stand out for LEGO Batman 2. Each character is funny and memorable (And Clancy Browns reprisal as Lex Luthor is top-notch). The Open World Hub is easily the most satisfying gameplay of the game. With the highest amount of Gold Bricks ever: 250 (Surpassing HP 5-7 at 200), Citizens in Peril and 50 Classic DC characters to find and unlock (Not as many as 5-7, respectively, because of a smaller original cast), I will continue to play this game for many more weeks. Also, each main character has his/er own special atributes to give to the gameplay. I can't tell you how awesome it felt like to take off as Superman, head vertically upwards, and slowly hear the Superman Theme (John Williams) creep in through the speakers. I found very few flaws, and none of them took away from the overall effect of the game. Co-op makes a return and is better than ever before, the sleek dynamic split-screen system is back in the Story Missions, and allows for players to explore Gotham City to their hearts content. Parents, if you or your children like DC Comics, and love to have a good laugh, this game must be at he top of your list. A Simply Magnificent Game. Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    "Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes" a game produced by Tell Tale (The Walking Dead, Monkey Island, Fable) of the famous LEGO games franchise. The"Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes" a game produced by Tell Tale (The Walking Dead, Monkey Island, Fable) of the famous LEGO games franchise. The story of the game begins with the Man of the Year award, in Gotham City, where the 2 runner ups are Bruce Wayne and Lex Luthor, and where Bruce will
    receive the award - they are attacked by the Joker and other villains: from there, Bruce appears as Batman and begins the game - and there is already a hint of Lex Luthor will join Joker.

    The Graphics are improved: the structures and Legos have their classic appearance, but with details of texture and reflections of things around them are very good, with the sensation are made of plastic. The game scenarios graphics are good, but are always more detailed in close up, and not so much in the distance, which become more blurred. Gotham City has the aspect of a dark city, always in night, with constant light effects.

    Audio: the talking Legos are a nice change introduced, and I think that this gave the story and joke lines more interest. Almost everything in the CG are dubbed with original voices of actors from movies and cartoons, then obviously there is no complaints in that department, which is
    impeccable. The voices appear in all segments that tell the story, ie, the CG, and some characters speak in stages.

    The general feeling os the game is in a kind of funny tone (of course), and resemble a mixture of personalities from the Batman and Justice League animated series with the Batman movies of the 90s. The jokes are greatly improved with the use of dialogue. The songs used are the classic ones from the series and movies, with orchestral music as the theme of Batman and Superman.

    The gameplay is what we see in recent Lego games (especially Harry Potter and Pirates of the Caribbean) merged with what we saw the first Lego Batman: stages in closed scenarios where you can destroy structures for credits, and destroy other objects that help to beat the stage and bonus items, while other bonuses are only accessible afterwards, with other powers given by different characters or other clothing.

    Of course as always we find the various collectibles that are part of all games (eg, gold bricks, vehicles, rescue). Moreover, we can play as in all other Lego games, in Coop, on the same console, which always is fun and convenient, since many stages require coordination of the 2 characters. Compared with other Lego games, the scenarios are more complex and full of things.

    Among the story stages, that sometimes are very large (and high), we see stages of vehicles gameplay, where you drive one of them (or Superman) and must reach and knock down the targets, in action sequences. The narrative and stages are linear, but after beating the stage, you can use Free Roam in the Menus, to get the missing collectibles.

    Although I do not tested the open world mode, with Superman, I've read that in this mode the Coop becomes Slit-screen due to the fact that the two characters you can not keep the same display because of the size of the map.

    In general, I found this one of the best Legos games: sum the theme and variety of scenarios in the DC universe and a open and wide world, with good graphics (thought at distance they could be better), and with a nice humor, with best jokes and funny lines thanks to the use of voice in the game. For those who like Batman and DC Universe, the Lego game series or more casual games, this game is a very nice choice - I would recommend this game and the Pirates of the Caribbean as the best games of the LEGO franchise.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    All LEGO games are awesome, and this one is too. This is a Must Buy.