Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes is a sequel to Lego Batman: The Videogame and includes appearances from the likes of Wonder Woman, Superman, and The Green Lantern.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    95
    Easily the best Lego game yet, Lego Batman 2: DC Superheroes' expansive world, original story, and bevy of unlockables should please fans of all ages.
  2. 90
    Trimming off dead-weight as often as it adds something new, this is the strongest LEGO game yet. We've had seven years' worth of iterations, but these cheeky blocks of plastic are still fantastic.
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    85
    It's encouraging that Traveller's Tales has finally made some big, worthwhile changes to its formula.
  4. Jun 21, 2012
    80
    Despite feeling instantly familiar, LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes isn't just more of the same. It improves the core gameplay of the series, adds new features and characters, offers a long, engaging and well-presented story and swaps the hub area for a visually rich and fun-packed Gotham City to explore. There are issues that need addressing in the open world, but this is still the best LEGO game in the franchise so far.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    Still, DC Heroes is as enjoyable for everyone as all of the previous games, and is definitely worth a look.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    75
    If you're a fan of the LEGO titles, there's a lot to enjoy in LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes, and the new bits Traveller's Tales added -- when they work -- work wonderfully. When they don't, though, be prepared to buy a new controller as you hurl the one in your hands through the wall.
  7. 60
    Despite a few fresh ideas, Lego Batman 2 is, creatively, the weakest game in the Lego franchise.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes joins Lego HP 5-7 and Lego Star Wars II of my favourite games to play. It has introduced many new mechanics andLEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes joins Lego HP 5-7 and Lego Star Wars II of my favourite games to play. It has introduced many new mechanics and first-timers to the LEGO Franchise (Most Notable the talking Minifigs and the Open World - Gotham City) While still maintaining the all age friendly gameplay. This game is great for anyone to play on their own, or even better with a friend. A nice distraction and/or alternative from the overwhelming violence that is seen in the majority of games nowadays. The talking Minifigs, to which I was initially unsure about, turns out to be a stand out for LEGO Batman 2. Each character is funny and memorable (And Clancy Browns reprisal as Lex Luthor is top-notch). The Open World Hub is easily the most satisfying gameplay of the game. With the highest amount of Gold Bricks ever: 250 (Surpassing HP 5-7 at 200), Citizens in Peril and 50 Classic DC characters to find and unlock (Not as many as 5-7, respectively, because of a smaller original cast), I will continue to play this game for many more weeks. Also, each main character has his/er own special atributes to give to the gameplay. I can't tell you how awesome it felt like to take off as Superman, head vertically upwards, and slowly hear the Superman Theme (John Williams) creep in through the speakers. I found very few flaws, and none of them took away from the overall effect of the game. Co-op makes a return and is better than ever before, the sleek dynamic split-screen system is back in the Story Missions, and allows for players to explore Gotham City to their hearts content. Parents, if you or your children like DC Comics, and love to have a good laugh, this game must be at he top of your list. A Simply Magnificent Game. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    The most clever game I played. Similar with Grand Theft Auto due to its open playability, Lego Batman 2 is a brilliant sequel to Lego Batman:The most clever game I played. Similar with Grand Theft Auto due to its open playability, Lego Batman 2 is a brilliant sequel to Lego Batman: The Videogame. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    I was a little worried when they added voices to a Lego game as the lack of dialogue is part of the charm but they did an excellent job. ThisI was a little worried when they added voices to a Lego game as the lack of dialogue is part of the charm but they did an excellent job. This game is super fun and one of the best of the franchise. I love flying around as Superman with the theme music playing and the rivalry between Batman and Superman was very funny. Lots of things to smash and rebuild. Lego games rarely disappoint. Charming fun game. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    Continues to be fun like all the other lego games. The open world is better than in previous games. They also finally figured out how to getContinues to be fun like all the other lego games. The open world is better than in previous games. They also finally figured out how to get the vehicles to be bearable. Except the flying vehicles which still suck. The flying characters aren't that bad but for some reason the controls vary whether you're indoors or out.

    The game itself is shorter than the other games being only 15 levels. It is also really just about chasing Joker/Luthor. There is no variety to the missions and the final multi-level boss battle is way too long. With some much possibility using all the DC heroes the overall story was perhaps the worst of the series. Basically you'll play Batman or Superman through the entire game making the rest of the cast useless. The JL didn't even get involved until the final mission or 2 making them completely pointless. So much potential lost... To add insult to injury you also are forced to use the Boy Blunder more often then you'd like because he has a skill or too (which makes no sense at all) that is required for certain areas. Nobody likes playing BB so why make us do so?

    Some of the game's puzzles seem harder than they were in past games. It is like the devs went out of their way to find bizarre solutions to puzzles just to add "challenge". Since the Lego games are designed for younger audiences I fail to see how the devs figure kids will solve the puzzles.

    Finally the whole voice thing is something I don't like at all. One of the key features of the Lego series has always been reading the actions of the characters and figuring out your own captions. Now the characters talk (some of them horribly) and a lot of that Lego humor is lost. I don't mind if the devs wanted to add the voice but please give us the option of turning off voice and just letting the chars act out like they use to do. I understand the next Lego game will have talking chars so hopefully the devs will add this option in. I want my Lego chars silent and funny.
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    "Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes" a game produced by Tell Tale (The Walking Dead, Monkey Island, Fable) of the famous LEGO games franchise. The"Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes" a game produced by Tell Tale (The Walking Dead, Monkey Island, Fable) of the famous LEGO games franchise. The story of the game begins with the Man of the Year award, in Gotham City, where the 2 runner ups are Bruce Wayne and Lex Luthor, and where Bruce will
    receive the award - they are attacked by the Joker and other villains: from there, Bruce appears as Batman and begins the game - and there is already a hint of Lex Luthor will join Joker.

    The Graphics are improved: the structures and Legos have their classic appearance, but with details of texture and reflections of things around them are very good, with the sensation are made of plastic. The game scenarios graphics are good, but are always more detailed in close up, and not so much in the distance, which become more blurred. Gotham City has the aspect of a dark city, always in night, with constant light effects.

    Audio: the talking Legos are a nice change introduced, and I think that this gave the story and joke lines more interest. Almost everything in the CG are dubbed with original voices of actors from movies and cartoons, then obviously there is no complaints in that department, which is
    impeccable. The voices appear in all segments that tell the story, ie, the CG, and some characters speak in stages.

    The general feeling os the game is in a kind of funny tone (of course), and resemble a mixture of personalities from the Batman and Justice League animated series with the Batman movies of the 90s. The jokes are greatly improved with the use of dialogue. The songs used are the classic ones from the series and movies, with orchestral music as the theme of Batman and Superman.

    The gameplay is what we see in recent Lego games (especially Harry Potter and Pirates of the Caribbean) merged with what we saw the first Lego Batman: stages in closed scenarios where you can destroy structures for credits, and destroy other objects that help to beat the stage and bonus items, while other bonuses are only accessible afterwards, with other powers given by different characters or other clothing.

    Of course as always we find the various collectibles that are part of all games (eg, gold bricks, vehicles, rescue). Moreover, we can play as in all other Lego games, in Coop, on the same console, which always is fun and convenient, since many stages require coordination of the 2 characters. Compared with other Lego games, the scenarios are more complex and full of things.

    Among the story stages, that sometimes are very large (and high), we see stages of vehicles gameplay, where you drive one of them (or Superman) and must reach and knock down the targets, in action sequences. The narrative and stages are linear, but after beating the stage, you can use Free Roam in the Menus, to get the missing collectibles.

    Although I do not tested the open world mode, with Superman, I've read that in this mode the Coop becomes Slit-screen due to the fact that the two characters you can not keep the same display because of the size of the map.

    In general, I found this one of the best Legos games: sum the theme and variety of scenarios in the DC universe and a open and wide world, with good graphics (thought at distance they could be better), and with a nice humor, with best jokes and funny lines thanks to the use of voice in the game. For those who like Batman and DC Universe, the Lego game series or more casual games, this game is a very nice choice - I would recommend this game and the Pirates of the Caribbean as the best games of the LEGO franchise.
    Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    I hated lego Batman, yes HATED. I had to force myself to finish it and it sits firmly at the bottom of the my pile of Lego titles!

    So as
    I hated lego Batman, yes HATED. I had to force myself to finish it and it sits firmly at the bottom of the my pile of Lego titles!

    So as you can imagine it was with some trepidation that I approached Lego batman 2. To say I'd set my expectations low was an understatement. However, Mr and Mrs Tell Tale games, all is forgiven. Lego Batman 2 can now rub shoulders (well elbows anyway) alongside the Star Wars and Indiana Jones titles in my collection.

    I loved every bit of this game. the free play Gotham sections were SO much fun, especially once Supeman made an appearance. The ability to fly around a dark Gothic Gotham, visiting Wayne towers and the ace chemical plant was a hoot.

    The Lego games have changed very little over the years and the addition of voice actors for this title didn't really make much difference to my enjoyment of it. The formula the developers have stumbled upon really is a winning one and unlocks in everyone the primal NEED to collect every last little thing available, every stud, brick and minikit didn't stand a chance once I entered a level. Two player split screen also adds a great co-op side to the game.

    All in all it took just over 7 hours to get the rather less than elusive 100% butt the sense of achievement you get once it's done makes up for the lack of difficulty.

    Now travellers tales take on the mighty Lord of The Rings trilogy. After this last little jaunt my hopes are high. Please, please TT don't let me down for this one.
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    1
    Gimicky, Boring, and downright STUPID sums up this 'game', if you could call it that. The game was designed to sell toys and nothing more, soGimicky, Boring, and downright STUPID sums up this 'game', if you could call it that. The game was designed to sell toys and nothing more, so if your kids enjoy this gimmicky stuff, buy them actual legos. Don't waste money on this, or any other lego games. Just buy actual legos, because they're cheaper and provide more hours of fun. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews