Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lego Batman 2: DC Super Heroes is a sequel to Lego Batman: The Videogame and includes appearances from the likes of Wonder Woman, Superman, and The Green Lantern.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    95
    Easily the best Lego game yet, Lego Batman 2: DC Superheroes' expansive world, original story, and bevy of unlockables should please fans of all ages.
  2. 90
    Trimming off dead-weight as often as it adds something new, this is the strongest LEGO game yet. We've had seven years' worth of iterations, but these cheeky blocks of plastic are still fantastic.
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    85
    It's encouraging that Traveller's Tales has finally made some big, worthwhile changes to its formula.
  4. Jun 21, 2012
    80
    Despite feeling instantly familiar, LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes isn't just more of the same. It improves the core gameplay of the series, adds new features and characters, offers a long, engaging and well-presented story and swaps the hub area for a visually rich and fun-packed Gotham City to explore. There are issues that need addressing in the open world, but this is still the best LEGO game in the franchise so far.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    Still, DC Heroes is as enjoyable for everyone as all of the previous games, and is definitely worth a look.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    75
    If you're a fan of the LEGO titles, there's a lot to enjoy in LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes, and the new bits Traveller's Tales added -- when they work -- work wonderfully. When they don't, though, be prepared to buy a new controller as you hurl the one in your hands through the wall.
  7. 60
    Despite a few fresh ideas, Lego Batman 2 is, creatively, the weakest game in the Lego franchise.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    LEGO Batman 2: DC Super Heroes joins Lego HP 5-7 and Lego Star Wars II of my favourite games to play. It has introduced many new mechanics and first-timers to the LEGO Franchise (Most Notable the talking Minifigs and the Open World - Gotham City) While still maintaining the all age friendly gameplay. This game is great for anyone to play on their own, or even better with a friend. A nice distraction and/or alternative from the overwhelming violence that is seen in the majority of games nowadays. The talking Minifigs, to which I was initially unsure about, turns out to be a stand out for LEGO Batman 2. Each character is funny and memorable (And Clancy Browns reprisal as Lex Luthor is top-notch). The Open World Hub is easily the most satisfying gameplay of the game. With the highest amount of Gold Bricks ever: 250 (Surpassing HP 5-7 at 200), Citizens in Peril and 50 Classic DC characters to find and unlock (Not as many as 5-7, respectively, because of a smaller original cast), I will continue to play this game for many more weeks. Also, each main character has his/er own special atributes to give to the gameplay. I can't tell you how awesome it felt like to take off as Superman, head vertically upwards, and slowly hear the Superman Theme (John Williams) creep in through the speakers. I found very few flaws, and none of them took away from the overall effect of the game. Co-op makes a return and is better than ever before, the sleek dynamic split-screen system is back in the Story Missions, and allows for players to explore Gotham City to their hearts content. Parents, if you or your children like DC Comics, and love to have a good laugh, this game must be at he top of your list. A Simply Magnificent Game. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    The most clever game I played. Similar with Grand Theft Auto due to its open playability, Lego Batman 2 is a brilliant sequel to Lego Batman: The Videogame. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    I was a little worried when they added voices to a Lego game as the lack of dialogue is part of the charm but they did an excellent job. This game is super fun and one of the best of the franchise. I love flying around as Superman with the theme music playing and the rivalry between Batman and Superman was very funny. Lots of things to smash and rebuild. Lego games rarely disappoint. Charming fun game. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    This is a great game but I can't help thinking they could have used a few more month to work out some of the bugs. The one thing to know is that these lego games may be made for kids but they are the number one game for couples and the difficulty here really shows that. Collapse
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    I am giving this game an honest review, but with the understanding that the Fun Factor here is extremely high and the game is highly addictive. This is by far the best Lego Game to-date. These games have been sorely lacking for voice acting, this adds much value to the game. The visuals are bright and colorful, good graphics but do not expect Arkham City. I do not like the split screen, I will deal with it playing with my kids but it will give you vertigo, better off playing single player. The gameplay is fun, light combat, lots of puzzles, nice variety. Lots and lots of characters to unlock which will take some time, you are very limited to characters for use in Story mode in part due to needing certain characters for the puzzles. I cannot wait to unlock more of the characters, but you are definitely going to favor the ones that can fly. Some are also going to disapoint, Gorilla Grod has no abilities whatsoever, is standard size and nothing special to look at. There are several vehicle chase combat scenes that although colorful, are a chore. They are On Rail shooter sections that would have greatly benefited from allowing you to drive. Also, another knock is the map, it does not show which direction you are facing, takes a few seconds to access the map completely pausing gameplay and is quite confusing. I also believe that more effort needs to go into the Boss/Character battles, they are too simplistic. All of this is from an adults perspective, this is a fantastic game for all kids and definitely fun for parents, I just can't help comparing to Arkham City which is one of the best games I have ever played. In closing, I am pointing out details that everyone is going to experience, but it does not hold this back from being every bit a Fun and Addictive experience. Lego Batman 2 rocks! Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    LEGO BATMAN 2 was really one of the best Lego games I've ever played except the open world of Gotham city it was confusing and frustrating when my older brother (who works at Traveller's Tales) gave me this game as a gift I really loved it in almost every way. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    1
    Gimicky, Boring, and downright STUPID sums up this 'game', if you could call it that. The game was designed to sell toys and nothing more, so if your kids enjoy this gimmicky stuff, buy them actual legos. Don't waste money on this, or any other lego games. Just buy actual legos, because they're cheaper and provide more hours of fun. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews