LEGO Batman: The Videogame Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A stampede of notorious criminals have busted out of Arkham Asylum, where Gotham City houses only the shadiest of characters. It's up to the famed Caped Crusader to sweep Gotham clean of criminal activity using everything at his disposal, including crime-fighting vehicles as well as severalA stampede of notorious criminals have busted out of Arkham Asylum, where Gotham City houses only the shadiest of characters. It's up to the famed Caped Crusader to sweep Gotham clean of criminal activity using everything at his disposal, including crime-fighting vehicles as well as several baddie-bashing bat gadgets. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. If you’ve played those other titles, you’ll feel right at home in the Dark Knight’s plastic paved Gotham. And, if you’ve enjoyed those titles, and are looking for more of the same but with a Batman facelift, you may find this the best Lego entry yet.
  2. 85
    This is how all casual games should be.
  3. While the Dark Knight might not seem the ideal candidate for the happy and cheerful Lego world, the entire affair is handled with a good-natured wink, and we are all reminded that the purpose of these games is to take us to a world where the lines between good and evil are clearly defined and evil is more a thing of comic mischief than serious malice.
  4. If you are looking for a family-friendly action-platform game, Lego Batman is sure to please. There is a lot of good content here that will please both the casual Batman fan and the old-school Batman fanboy.
  5. LEGO Batman is new territory for the team at TT Games, with no memorable film scenes to recreate or iconic moments to build out of bricks. The results are surprisingly great, with detailed levels and three fun episodes of vexatious villainy for Batman to foil.
  6. It's the same Traveller's Tales Lego experience once again. Apart from the fact that Batman is now the subject matter, very little is new here and the gameplay is far from fresh.
  7. 50
    While not necessarily a bad game, Lego Batman scrapes through under the definition of 'fun'.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. GreatGame
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Just like the other Lego games, this is a perfect game for Co-op play and there are never enough of those. Especially a game that can be Just like the other Lego games, this is a perfect game for Co-op play and there are never enough of those. Especially a game that can be enjoyed by all ages. I play with my sons and we have a BLAST! Expand
  2. Chris
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    Not more of the same. There is new stuff here. Playing the story as villians is pretty darn cool.
  3. MikkoK
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    My 5 years old son simply loves this game, as he has loved all of those tt's LEGO titles. I really hope there's more to come. Great My 5 years old son simply loves this game, as he has loved all of those tt's LEGO titles. I really hope there's more to come. Great game to play even by myself. Very well worth of money. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    The game show nothing more than that Batman is only as good as his tools. The game feels empty. Without an established story to comicallyThe game show nothing more than that Batman is only as good as his tools. The game feels empty. Without an established story to comically retell, the game relies on slap stick to try and get a laugh but fails. The classic Lego elements are there, but the charm isn't. The villains can't do what the bat and bird can and vice versa which leads to a rather simple freeplay experience of role reversal.

    The pieces just didn't fit together this time.
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2015
    7
    LEGO Batman The Videogame
    Boring and Basic
    Much Like Sly 2, I just don’t understand the praise this game has. Lego batman takes you through
    LEGO Batman The Videogame
    Boring and Basic
    Much Like Sly 2, I just don’t understand the praise this game has.
    Lego batman takes you through 30 levels, half you play as batman and robin, the other half you play as villains .
    Every single level it lego batman feels like a repetitive grind.
    Not a single moment did I find myself having fun with this game, and im a mild batman fan.
    Even the license wasn’t enough to bring me joy.
    Every level stars a new villain, whether you are playing the batcave side or the arkham asylum side.
    Batman and robin have various suits that can be found throughout levels that are used to progress and each villain has a perk of their own for level progression, but neither side feels the least bit satisfying to progress through or complete levels.
    The game is far too basic to bring joy,
    You mash a button until you see lego pieces bouncing around and then you hold down another bother button to build whatever it is you need to go to the next section and do it all over again.
    That’s all there is to the game.
    There are tons of progression annoyances that you will find if you play by yourself instead of co op which is clearly the better option.
    Too often I would find my AI partner stuck or not following me when I needed them to, and by time I realized it I was too far to swap so I had to walk back and find them, and at points where im trying to position other characters and don’t want to be followed, I would annoyingly be followed.
    At the end of the batman levels there is a boss
    Boss battles are pretty basic and boring too, much like the rest of the game its mashing buttons until you can build what you have to or until the enemy is vulnerable.
    I was greatly disappointed in LEGO batman the videogame, especially after hearing people rave on about the humor and charm in these games.
    There is none, theres just mumbles in cutscenes and subtleties that may or may not give you a mild chuckle, but I just don’t see the praise.
    There are a few vehicle based levels thrown in there to attempt to mix things up, but they just dnt, they follow the same structure of just break stuff to continue.
    Lego batman the videogame feels lazy to me, I didn’t enjoy my time with it even a little bit.
    I cant find it in myself to recommend this game, not even to batman fans,
    for what it is
    Action Adventure: 6.5/10
    Overall: 6.5/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    7
    I don't fully remember this game because I played it when i was younger, but what a remember was fun. The game has a fun campaign which isI don't fully remember this game because I played it when i was younger, but what a remember was fun. The game has a fun campaign which is best co-op. A great feature this game has is being able to play as the villains in their own stages that lead up to the hero stages. Another great feature is the different batman suits you can wear, which add a fun twist to the game play. Though flawed and annoying at time LEGO Batman is overall fun experience. Expand
  7. DanG
    Sep 23, 2008
    2
    No Co-op over xbox live. Very glitchy so far. I am trying to fight clayface and it won't let me switch back to Batman who is stuck in a No Co-op over xbox live. Very glitchy so far. I am trying to fight clayface and it won't let me switch back to Batman who is stuck in a red car shellshocked like that horse in "The Big Red One". I put in all that work and now I have to do it all over. Thanks, but no thanks. The lego games are all basically the same thing with a new coat of paint. Cute I guess, but very flawed. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews