Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    68
    It's not that there isn't a lot to do. It's that there isn't a whole lot of reason to do most of it, and what is worth doing is locked behind hours of dull, introductory gameplay.
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    70
    Despite being the fact that it's pretty much the same game since the first chapter in the saga, LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7 keeps working, thanks to an immediate and solid gameplay and a variety of situations that explores every aspect of the Movies.
  3. 70
    Once again, the Lego version of Harry Potter is neither a revolution nor anything close to it, but an enjoyable adventure that's accessible for anyone, regardless of their gaming experience.
  4. Dec 20, 2011
    70
    A solid piece of work with small cubes and a very positive attitude to the piece that takes itself too seriously.
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    67
    It does a fabulous job of translating the Harry Potter universe into the LEGO vernacular, with all the frolicsome fun that implies; however, by implementing too many kinds of interactive prompt and by failing to provide enough player feedback, it sets the stage for an interactive experience that's equal parts fun and befuddlement.
  6. Dec 2, 2011
    67
    Despite how much I find myself enjoying the majority of the LEGO games, I find Harry Potter putting me pretty close to my breaking point. The series is incredibly formulaic at this point, and while I loved the magic and exploration aspects of the first Harry Potter adventure, this just feels like more of the same.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    The aging formula may be getting by purely on charm at this point, but this is still the best Harry Potter game ever made - Lego or not.
  8. Nov 19, 2011
    70
    Lego Harry Potter Years 5-7 manages to turn dark material into something lighthearted and fun, but it never quite achieves the magical goofiness that its predecessor does.
  9. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2012
    70
    A bit more imagination would have been preferable, but you're more than getting your money's worth. [Issue#80, p.85]
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    65
    A series, and a game, that seems to have lost a remarkable amount of lustre and just doesn't feel as interesting to play through as some of it's peers. The story is drab and drawn out, plus the tasks that litter the game are overly simplistic even for a kids title. LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 is still better than any number of kids titles and movie tie ins, but otherwise this is a major disappointment for fans of LEGO games and Potter alike, and just doesn't have that spark of magic that you would expect.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    I have been a fan of the TT Games LEGO game franchise since the first LEGO Star Wars dropped. Ever since then, I have been rabid about theI have been a fan of the TT Games LEGO game franchise since the first LEGO Star Wars dropped. Ever since then, I have been rabid about the games, ready to play the next one as soon as I hear about it. The same is true about LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7. While there are a few things that annoy me about it (I never knew when the new level ACTUALLY began or if it was still just a part of the gameplay to get TO the next mission), it took what LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean, and LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars got right and expanded on them. I'm very happy to be able to see some of the greatest movies of modern times, and quite possibly the best books of modern times, getting the LEGO treatment in such a fantastic way! Keep it up Warner Bros. Interactive and TT Games!! Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is an absolute triumph! It builds on Harry Potter Years 1 - 4 with more exciting adventures, this time taking you out of Hogwarts soThis game is an absolute triumph! It builds on Harry Potter Years 1 - 4 with more exciting adventures, this time taking you out of Hogwarts so that you can explore Hogsmeade, or get on the Hogwarts Express and go back to London. Its so much fun to play and the game has so many secrets that you can only get to once you have done the story. It definately has a huge lasting appeal on me. My favourite bits are visiting the Weasley's joke shop, fighting giants and playing as Bellatrix because she's so cool! Even Grawp is in the game and he's pretty funny :) Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This new LEGO Harry Potter game is fantastic. After heavy disappointment from the official film tie-in's, Traveller's Tales has really nailedThis new LEGO Harry Potter game is fantastic. After heavy disappointment from the official film tie-in's, Traveller's Tales has really nailed it!

    I'm a big fan of the original Years 1-4 and 5-7 builds upon the charm and freedom of the first one to give a really comprehensive Potter experience. I especially love being able to roam around London and get on a train to Hogsmeade and walk around the castle, meet new characters and experience all the extra bonus content that the dev's have managed to get in there. I have been following this game eagerly since it was announced and I read that it was one "by Potter fans, for Potter fans" and there is some lovely subtle references of the books (but left of out the films).
    This game did not disappoint and it's exactly as I imaged it would be.

    Anyone who claims to be a Potter fan needs this game in their lives.
    Full Review »