Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    60
    Lego Marvel Super Heroes couldn’t slay all of its technical villains, but there’s plenty of fun to be had despite those shortcomings. How often do you get to control legendary Marvel superheroes in an urban sandbox, flying around and destroying things as you please?
  2. games(TM)
    Dec 17, 2013
    70
    The game playfully prods at the ridiculousness that is superhero culture, but it does so in a respectful and knowing way. [Issue#142, p.106]
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    50
    Taken on its own, though, Lego Marvel Super Heroes does not offer much that an adult player will find engaging, let alone competent.
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    All the superstars from Marvel are there, in a large open world filled with content. LEGO Marvel Heroes is probably the most complete game of the series, but it still doesn't innovate too much. The formula must change a little now.
  5. 70
    Adults and older kids will probably vibe with the GTA-like open world a bit more, though the basic physics and challenges make it very 'GTA-lite', too. What's urgently needed, though, is a patch for the flight controls that make it a game best enjoyed from the ground, ridiculous as that is for a superhero game.
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    70
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is proof that both franchises have their place and appeal in the video games industry, but it’s also horribly exposing of the repetitive, tired mechanics employed to actually create a workable gameplay experience.
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    50
    While the addition of Marvel's super hero canon is great, there has been done very little to improve the bog standard formula of the LEGO series so far. You still smash and build your way through various colourful levels, and it's a game flow that's starting to show its age. Once you remove all the fan-service you're left with nothing but an average game that relies too much on gaming OCD to be worth it.
  8. Nov 12, 2013
    70
    While it’s clear Traveller’s Tales has some kinks to work out as it ambitiously continues to tackle the open-world genre, there’s no doubt it knows how to craft a title that lovingly honours whatever the subject matter is.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    I havent played a lego game before and I am in awe.
    It feels like i'm watching/playing a playstation 4 title
    The attention to detail, the
    I havent played a lego game before and I am in awe.
    It feels like i'm watching/playing a playstation 4 title

    The attention to detail, the insane amount of playable characters (all with their own unique abilities). The Hollywood level animation and visuals.

    And its actually challenging

    Theres a moment in this game where the linearity (awesome though it is) stops and your brain learns of the scope of this game.

    Its just plain fun in cinematic form

    Will be checking out Lego Batman 2. I hear its just as much a labor of love
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    3
    My family have pre-ordered every Lego Xbox game and have played to 100% (in-game and achievements) on every one. We love this series, but thisMy family have pre-ordered every Lego Xbox game and have played to 100% (in-game and achievements) on every one. We love this series, but this game has ruined it for us. The game is broken. For example, on the Stark Tower freeplay you can get 11 Minikits. Since 11 is not equal to 10, we can't get the comics page nor the gold brick. The game freezes every gameplay session (we have a year old 360 Slim and the game installed on the hard drive). The flight mechanic is unwieldy, much worse than the reticule in Lego DC, and since there are a dozen flight-oriented races, after hours of trying and controllers thrown, we are giving up. On many of the remote driving (where you aren't inside the car), the thumbsticks stop working after one or two gates in a race, the car just goes straight. The characters are regularly offscreen in co-op play (the main reason my family gets these games, so we can play together) we have a 42" HDTV, so it's not a matter of screen real-estate, it is the lousy camera. If Player One clicks the save in a mission, Player Two has to actually maneuver the menu and vice-versa. When the game flashes a blue "X" to press, they mean "B" much of the time (though not all of the time). On a philosophical level, most of the city roaming (which is indeed fun), doesn't encourage co-op play, just two different people roaming around, and this is against the spirit that drew us to the game. As I mentioned above, we pre-ordered every game so every dime possible could go to the developers. If we pick up whatever the next iteration is, we will buy it used. This is a ROTTEN game and has soured us on the franchise. Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    I can't say I enjoyed this game that much. The adding of voice over killed a lot of the charm of past Lego games to me. I understood that itI can't say I enjoyed this game that much. The adding of voice over killed a lot of the charm of past Lego games to me. I understood that it would have been hard to tell the story without them because it was not linked directly to a movie, but for some reason it through me off. The core game play just felt a bit stale as I was playing through it also. It was not bad, but it really was not anything special either. I have to give it a 5 out of 5. Full Review »