Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    The best thing to happen to Marvel games since 2006's Marvel Ultimate Alliance. It's a warm and witty, multi-layered approach to the brand that ties in hundreds of Marvel's most iconic characters, settings, and stories.
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Ultimately, Lego Marvel marks the first time I’ve had as much fun in the hub world as in the story-based missions. Variety abounds, and the split-screen lets players explore the city on their own. I made it my mission to find bricks and solve the unexpectedly clever puzzles to unlock extras, while my son was happy to rampage through the streets as Venom.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    Like its predecessors, Lego Marvel has surface flaws - but it's so generous with its content, so clearly head-over-heels in love with the characters and world it's inherited from the comic page and cinema screen, and so reliably, reassuringly designed from the ground up to both enchant and inspire young minds, that it's impossible to allow the slight technical scruffiness to sour the experience.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    I've almost always enjoyed the LEGO games, but I found LEGO Marvel Super Heroes to be the best yet.
  5. Dec 25, 2013
    85
    A heroic addition to the series. [Jan 2014, p.82]
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    60
    Lego Marvel Super Heroes couldn’t slay all of its technical villains, but there’s plenty of fun to be had despite those shortcomings. How often do you get to control legendary Marvel superheroes in an urban sandbox, flying around and destroying things as you please?
  7. 75
    Though its missteps won’t have you eagerly trading Lego Marvel Super Heroes around with your friends when you’re done, leafing through its open-world NYC still succeeds as a goofy, absorbing time sink.
  8. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is aptly named and nothing revolutionary, but still a heck of a lot of fun.
  9. Dec 17, 2013
    70
    The game playfully prods at the ridiculousness that is superhero culture, but it does so in a respectful and knowing way. [Issue#142, p.106]
  10. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    The flight controls are clunky, and the character switching is nonsensical, leaving several buttons seemingly perfect for the job completely unused, but none of these tarnish what is the strongest Lego title yet, and the best Marvel game ever made.
  11. Nov 6, 2013
    85
    Sure, it's in LEGO form, but whether you're a casual super hero fan or take a trip to the local comic book store every Wednesday, there's no question there's something for everyone here.
  12. Dec 16, 2013
    90
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is easy to recommend to both casual and dedicated comics fans. It sticks pretty close to the time-tested formula for LEGO games, and I'm sure that most fans of the series wouldn't want it any other way.
  13. Dec 4, 2013
    85
    The first time you see a little LEGO Bruce Banner burst into the Hulk you are sold on this game. With the huge array of characters and little easter eggs, it's great for Marvel-fans and even greater for the kids.
  14. 80
    Not to mix comic book metaphors but Lego Marvel’s kryptonite is technical rather than conceptual, but this is still an enormously entertaining co-op adventure.
  15. Oct 22, 2013
    87
    There’s a lot to see, and a lot of it’s worth seeing. It may not be in the echelons of excelsior, but we feel it’s safe to say: make mine Marvel.
  16. Oct 25, 2013
    84
    Lego Marvel Super Heroes is the best Lego game Traveller's Tales has ever made. Great characters, good visuals and tons of content to play. Great choice for Marvel fans and casual audience.
  17. Nov 17, 2013
    50
    Taken on its own, though, Lego Marvel Super Heroes does not offer much that an adult player will find engaging, let alone competent.
  18. 70
    Adults and older kids will probably vibe with the GTA-like open world a bit more, though the basic physics and challenges make it very 'GTA-lite', too. What's urgently needed, though, is a patch for the flight controls that make it a game best enjoyed from the ground, ridiculous as that is for a superhero game.
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    All the superstars from Marvel are there, in a large open world filled with content. LEGO Marvel Heroes is probably the most complete game of the series, but it still doesn't innovate too much. The formula must change a little now.
  20. Nov 22, 2013
    90
    There are a few frustrations, but with so many characters, side-missions, collectables, puzzles, laughs, unlockables and cheeky nods to both casual fans and super-buffs, this is one LEGO title you won’t want to miss.
  21. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes may be rough around the edges with a shaky sandbox setting, screen tearing and generic music, but it does right by the Marvel universe and offers an experience that can be loved by both devoted fans and children alike.
  22. Nov 15, 2013
    79
    This is exactly what you expect: Loads of super heroes and villains, millions of Lego studs to collect and an all-around entertaining experience without surprises. If Traveller’s Tales knows one thing, it is their Lego formula, to which they stick like glue.
  23. Oct 28, 2013
    86
    Tt Games does a great job with taking the Marvel universe and applying it to fun gameplay and big, somewhat sandbox-like, environments. There’s plenty to do and discover with this LEGO entry. Fans of the series won’t be disappointed.
  24. Nov 26, 2013
    50
    While the addition of Marvel's super hero canon is great, there has been done very little to improve the bog standard formula of the LEGO series so far. You still smash and build your way through various colourful levels, and it's a game flow that's starting to show its age. Once you remove all the fan-service you're left with nothing but an average game that relies too much on gaming OCD to be worth it.
  25. Nov 17, 2013
    78
    A great Marvel game, with a stellar cast of characters and the solid and proven LEGO gameplay: unmissable by any true believer. Our main complaint is about the complete lack of localized dialogues in the Italian version of the game, something that highly diminishes its appeal towards the younger gamers.
  26. Nov 25, 2013
    70
    LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is proof that both franchises have their place and appeal in the video games industry, but it’s also horribly exposing of the repetitive, tired mechanics employed to actually create a workable gameplay experience.
  27. 85
    Limited only by story levels that grow tired towards the end, LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is nevertheless a wonderfully witty, fun romp with a huge cast of characters and an impressively large and varied open-world hub. TT Games has done it again.
  28. Oct 25, 2013
    80
    Lego Marvel Super Heroes is a light-hearted adventure that's got a few technical flaws, but is a nice, relaxing super hero game that's free of all the grimness we've come to see in recent years.
  29. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Some technical shortcomings aside, this is a tremendously fun experience that will appeal to LEGO and comic book fans young and old alike.
  30. Oct 22, 2013
    85
    Anyone could enjoy Lego Marvel Super Heroes' tightly-designed systems and colorful world, but for someone who grew up reading The Avengers — or is growing up watching them now — it offers something I never thought I'd see: a virtual recreation of a huge swath of the Marvel Universe in all its sensational, astonishing and uncanny glory.
  31. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    The game's on the easy side, but fans and non-fans will find a title with great deal of love for and a lot to say about Marvel Comics' roster of characters. For families or individuals that love Marvel comics, movies, or cartoons, Lego Marvel Superheroes is the perfect pick-up for this holiday.
  32. I’m also a bit disappointed in how the open world elements in these games remain something less than fully formed.
  33. Dec 2, 2013
    77
    Maybe LEGO Marvel Super Heroes is cartoonish, childish and offers few innovations, but it is certainly one of the best games based on the Marvel Universe in recent years due to fan service and the great mechanics that only the LEGO formula can offer.
  34. Nov 17, 2013
    80
    The series is in need of some lick and polish, but there's more than enough to put a smile of the faces of comic book fans.
  35. Nov 12, 2013
    70
    While it’s clear Traveller’s Tales has some kinks to work out as it ambitiously continues to tackle the open-world genre, there’s no doubt it knows how to craft a title that lovingly honours whatever the subject matter is.
  36. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    It’s Lego, it’s Marvel, it’s pretty awesome - a must for any kid who loves The Avengers, X-Men, Spiderman, hell there is too many to name! There are still some issues that have come across from previous Lego games preventing it from being a perfect experience but its audience won’t care one little bit. Hulk smash!
  37. Lego Marvel combines so much youthful goodness into one colourful, exciting and fun package that it’s impossible for any kid – or kid at heart – to miss out on.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    I havent played a lego game before and I am in awe.
    It feels like i'm watching/playing a playstation 4 title

    The attention to detail, the
    insane amount of playable characters (all with their own unique abilities). The Hollywood level animation and visuals.

    And its actually challenging

    Theres a moment in this game where the linearity (awesome though it is) stops and your brain learns of the scope of this game.

    Its just plain fun in cinematic form

    Will be checking out Lego Batman 2. I hear its just as much a labor of love
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    3
    My family have pre-ordered every Lego Xbox game and have played to 100% (in-game and achievements) on every one. We love this series, but this game has ruined it for us. The game is broken. For example, on the Stark Tower freeplay you can get 11 Minikits. Since 11 is not equal to 10, we can't get the comics page nor the gold brick. The game freezes every gameplay session (we have a year old 360 Slim and the game installed on the hard drive). The flight mechanic is unwieldy, much worse than the reticule in Lego DC, and since there are a dozen flight-oriented races, after hours of trying and controllers thrown, we are giving up. On many of the remote driving (where you aren't inside the car), the thumbsticks stop working after one or two gates in a race, the car just goes straight. The characters are regularly offscreen in co-op play (the main reason my family gets these games, so we can play together) we have a 42" HDTV, so it's not a matter of screen real-estate, it is the lousy camera. If Player One clicks the save in a mission, Player Two has to actually maneuver the menu and vice-versa. When the game flashes a blue "X" to press, they mean "B" much of the time (though not all of the time). On a philosophical level, most of the city roaming (which is indeed fun), doesn't encourage co-op play, just two different people roaming around, and this is against the spirit that drew us to the game. As I mentioned above, we pre-ordered every game so every dime possible could go to the developers. If we pick up whatever the next iteration is, we will buy it used. This is a ROTTEN game and has soured us on the franchise. Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    I can't say I enjoyed this game that much. The adding of voice over killed a lot of the charm of past Lego games to me. I understood that it would have been hard to tell the story without them because it was not linked directly to a movie, but for some reason it through me off. The core game play just felt a bit stale as I was playing through it also. It was not bad, but it really was not anything special either. I have to give it a 5 out of 5. Full Review »