Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
Buy On
  1. May 17, 2011
    73
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is not as good as the previous LEGO games. It's a good game, funny and entertaining as usual, but it's shorter, less varied and simpler than, for example, Clone Wars.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    70
    I will continue to sound like a broken record, but it's true. At a day and age where you can hold 60 bucks in your hand and have dozens of suitable unique gaming options in-hand, the Lego franchise is very quickly falling behind in my mind's eye for where my gaming money should go.
  3. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    May 22, 2011
    70
    Satisfyingly vacuous. [July 2011, p.102]
  4. May 20, 2011
    70
    New Traveller's Tales' game is a job well done that provides an absorbing entertainment for many hours. But that doesn't mean we have the best installment of the series in our hands - only a Pirates of the Caribbean maniac will think so. The developers have given us a simple, next-in-line game without any spectacular surprises. Does it mean sad routine and no heart? Fortunatelly no - belt-system production never provides stunning results but the LEGO series is still defending itself from losing its identity.
  5. May 20, 2011
    70
    Pirates has its moments, but we're ready to set sail in a new direction.
  6. May 17, 2011
    70
    The formula might be a little overdone, but its charm goes a long way.
  7. May 17, 2011
    70
    A bit more confusing storytelling than the other Lego games and still a lot of bugs. Fun co-op and better graphics though. TT Games delivers just what is requested and nothing more, just as usual.
  8. May 16, 2011
    70
    The Pirates of the Caribbean license is just perfect for TT Games Lego adventures. But while Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is very entertaining, it is also unpolished and too hard for younger gamers.
  9. May 12, 2011
    70
    It's not quite as whiz-bang as LEGO Star Wars III and feels quite formulaic at times, but there's no denying it has charm and widespread appeal.
  10. May 11, 2011
    70
    If you've played past Lego movie tie-ins, you can expect more of the same from Pirates of the Caribbean. It follows a predictable formula, but it's still suitable for Pirates fans looking for lightweight family fun.
  11. May 10, 2011
    70
    A few months ago, I reviewed LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. That game introduced some light RTS elements to the series, along with loads of vehicle-based missions, and a huge cast of playable characters. LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean falls short of that high mark, delivering a more traditional LEGO experience. That's not to say that Pirates is a bad game – quite the contrary. It's just puzzling to see a series that has struggled to evolve take a step back. Where are the epic ship-to-ship vehicle battles? Why is the pirate-infested port hub so boring?
  12. 70
    Traveller's Tales could use a magic compass, we suspect - there's a definite sense of diminishing returns here, a worry that for all the franchise's simple amusements and dumbshow gags, LEGO is sailing close to the rocks.
  13. May 19, 2011
    67
    Like previous Lego games, two player co-op is available in this version but splitscreen only. While the game maintains the easy drop-in, drop-out multiplayer the series is known for, the long-desired cooperative online multiplayer remains absent.
  14. May 10, 2011
    65
    Too many basic flaws hinder the block-bashing fun of Lego Pirates of the Caribbean.
  15. Jun 15, 2011
    60
    LEGO: Pirates of the Caribbean is full of beautiful environments and funny situations. But every time you try to enjoy them, your fun is spoiled by hindering mistakes made while polishing the game. Especially the unclear puzzles and the lacking platforming-sections make the game unnecessarily frustrating.
  16. May 24, 2011
    60
    If you're a Pirates of the Caribbean fan, have a friend, sibling or girlfriend to play it with and aren't yet burnt out on the LEGO series this might be one for you. Everyone else should probably think twice.
  17. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 20, 2011
    60
    Another faithful, funny play on a popular movie license, marred by persistent problems that, for some years now, Traveller's Tales hasn't remedied. And it probably won't happen at this point. [Issue#72, p.84]
  18. May 12, 2011
    60
    Good atmosphere, decent production values, a lot of content and humor, funny puzzles, well implemented platform sequences, light combat : that's a lot of pros to make Traveller's Tales' developers proud. Yes, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is a rather fun title. But when will this saga revise its basics and innovate? With more than 5 games in the franchise, it may be time to consider that fans may very well like some new blood.
  19. May 11, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  20. May 10, 2011
    60
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean can be fun, so long as you don't get bored of doing the same things over and over again. The humor of the LEGO series remains, however, so there will be laughs along the way.
  21. May 27, 2011
    50
    This is not my favorite of the series so far, and after the excellent releases we had with Harry Potter and Clone Wars, I'm a little let down by this one.
  22. May 10, 2011
    50
    All in all, a disappointing effort given that Pirates of the Caribbean should have been a natural fit for the franchise. Maybe I was a mistaken on that front, or maybe it was just poor execution on the part of the developers, but this is certainly one of the weaker entries in the series. And yet, for all my complaints, the formula still works. It's still fun to unlock new characters and hunt for secret collectibles.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 11, 2011
    10
    If you like the Lego video game series and you like the Pirates series, then you're going to love this game. I am somewhat shocked by theIf you like the Lego video game series and you like the Pirates series, then you're going to love this game. I am somewhat shocked by the lackluster media review scores this is getting, as I can't really imagine what more one could expect from this title. Some of the reviews reveal less familiarity with past Lego titles, so perhaps the reviewers don't well represent the target audience. But as someone with a family who has played all of the previous Lego titles, I can say without reservation that this is exactly what we hoped it would be. The visuals and sounds are excellent, and the game play is solid. Players of previous Lego games, especially the younger ones, will feel right at home with all the familiar mechanics, and also energized with all the rope swinging, sword play and other swashbuckling antics brought out for this new theme. All of this is rendered with the same impressive new graphics engine used in the recent Lego Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    I got this game expecting quite a bit. The levels for this game are fun but sometimes the environments really don't change much. Don't get meI got this game expecting quite a bit. The levels for this game are fun but sometimes the environments really don't change much. Don't get me wrong it's a beautiful game but it needs a little more varied environments. The gameplay is sometimes very glitchy like any lego game but walking on planks could be worse since you can't walk straight at all. Another thing that bugs me is how some puzzles you have to figure out to advance through a level are actually really hard to find which happened way to many times. I even had to quit my game when I got stuck in the front of a boat. I also wish they could've had music from all 4 films instead of just the first 2. I am a big fan of POTC music and that kinda disappointed me. and now that I am done with negative comments, I will say this game looked very good and the gameplay got pretty fun at parts. The extras in the port royal hub were fun finding and the characters for the most part are unique and creative. The achievements were fun to get but easy, and the game overall was just really great though it had many issues. I would highly recommend this to any pirates or lego game fan but otherwise you might not like it. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Another great game, the levels are mostly exciting and there is a lot to do, the only complaint I have is some of the stories are wrong, but its Lego.