Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
Buy On
  1. May 17, 2011
    The game looks fantastic, plays great and gives the player a ton of stuff to collect and unlock. I might hate the source material, but this is the 3DS gem everyone has been waiting for. If nothing else, it will keep you occupied until Nintendo's wave of June releases.
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    Another great game in the LEGO series, capable of entertaining both kids and grown-ups and sporting enhanced graphics. We're just a little disappointed in its small longevity, about 7 hours to complete, and the developers stubbornness in not providing an online co-op option.
  3. May 30, 2011
    It's surprising how much you are driven to obtain 100% of the secrets or achievements - no more so than the younger players, who will happily explore areas again and again just to get that elusive gold brick.
  4. May 25, 2011
    Overall, Lego: Pirates was a game experience I'd be willing to play over and over again in order to complete all of the side objectives in the game. Initially getting through the puzzles is engaging and being able to go back later and unlock all the things I couldn't access before is made less tedious by just how nice the game looks to play and the de-emphasis on the combat. And the fact that I'm playing with pirates, which as we all know are far more awesome than ninjas.
  5. May 21, 2011
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is clearly the best Lego game to date.
  6. May 11, 2011
    With loads of unlockables, downright adorable presentation, and solid co-op gameplay, it's extremely difficult to think of a person that wouldn't enjoy LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean. Maybe if you hate the movies, hate LEGO games, or just plain hate happiness, you shouldn't give this game a chance.
  7. May 17, 2011
    Fans of the LEGO series are in for another treat with LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean, as they have a new and enriched world to explore with all four movies included on the disc. I loved playing this latest LEGO game and really enjoyed the straightforward approach and the simpler puzzles that kept me venturing through. The comedic tone to the game is exactly what I expected from this title and it keeps the game family friendly and available to all ages with puzzles to solve, great gags to watch, and some addictive gameplay including two player co-op.
  8. May 12, 2011
    Each of the four playable movies is expansive and features plenty of collection quests and hidden content. Re-plays are a must with unlockable characters.
  9. May 15, 2011
    Without a doubt, the prettiest and most graphically interesting of the Lego games yet.
  10. Jul 8, 2011
    Pretty convincing with a cool mix between riddles, action and dexterity passages.
  11. May 16, 2011
    Pirates and LEGO fans alike would be doing themselves a disservice by not jumping on board.
  12. Jul 8, 2011
    With strong production values, great visuals and an excellent audio score to back it all up, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is easily one of the best efforts in the franchise to date. No, it's not perfect, but the game has strong appeal across the board. It's also one of the few cases where a licensed game is better than the movie on which it is based.
  13. Jun 1, 2011
    A fun game for all the family, especially for the younger ones, with good graphics and great platform mechanics.
  14. Jun 1, 2011
    The latest LEGO game just might be the best one in the series. One of the only things that we're missing in this comical game is an online co-op. Apart from that, there are a lot of puzzles that will keep you entertained for days to come.
  15. May 26, 2011
    If there's anything to take away from Lego Pirates of the Caribbean, it's that it represents a culmination of style of design that Traveller's Tales has been tweaking for years now, and does so in the most positive way possible. Every working part of the Lego series has been nigh-on perfected here, but if the formula has never won you over before, then not only will it fail to do so now, but it probably never will.
  16. May 24, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is another incredibly addicting LEGO game, with better visuals, better (and harder) puzzles and a lot of charismatic characters. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to have learned lessons from the previous chapters, so... sorry, no online play here!
  17. May 20, 2011
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is another excellent spin on a fantastic movie world, that does justice to both its source material and the standard of Lego games preceding it. With great visuals and scenery bringing such life to a rich, crazy world of ships, pirates, damsels in distress and turbulent seafaring life, it's hard not to fall in love once more with the cute charm, unique character and addictive gameplay that Lego Pirates has in strides.
  18. May 20, 2011
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is a rollicking good time. You have to play through a few times in order to track down all of the secrets, jokes, and prizes, but even if you just play once, you're bound to enjoy yourself.
  19. May 18, 2011
    With LEGO Pirates, Traveler's Tales didn't really intend to create a pitch-perfect reproduction of the tone and feel of the movies, but even in their crazy cartoon style, you might be surprised at just how much they got right. Adventure gaming fans now have plenty of stuff to choose from, especially with TellTale and Double Fine making pure gold on a regular basis, but I think that the LEGO games are a great choice too, and Pirates might possibly be their best one yet.
  20. May 16, 2011
    This is easily the best Lego game to date, and although lacking any huge leaps forward in the gameplay department, still offers a lot of fun for anyone who picks it up.
  21. May 11, 2011
    It's nice to see this series mature and evolve over time, and while Traveller's Tales will need to continue upping the ante if it intends to keep putting out new Lego games at such a rapid clip, for the moment Lego Pirates offers plenty of reasons to jump back in and mash a few plastic bricks together again.
  22. May 10, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean may be the same old formula yet again, but as long as I have fun while playing it, I can't deny that the game has some really good quality in it.
  23. May 10, 2011
    If Pirates seems less ambitious than the last two Lego titles, lacking the cohesiveness of Potter's Hogwarts hub or the epic scale of Clone Wars', um, wars, then it makes up for it with an overall confidence borne from TT Games' experience with the licence.
  24. May 10, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is a refreshing reboot, at least in my mind, to an ailing, overused franchise. Packed with adventure, excitement and just about everything you would expect from a Pirates' film, Disney Interactive Studios and their developers hit a home run with this release.
  25. May 9, 2011
    It's not their best film-themed moment, but Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is still a hugely enjoyable, family-pleasing diversion.
  26. May 30, 2011
    Questionable design decisions and technical issues aside, I love the LEGO games and LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is no different. These are still some of the best family friendly titles available. Having said that, I can't escape the feeling that this tried and true formula is beginning to get a little stale. But if, like me, you're okay with that, then LEGO Pirates is another swashbuckling romp along a familiar theme.
  27. May 11, 2011
    Though the market has more than enough Lego games to go around, we're happy to make room for Lego Pirates of the Caribbean: The Video Game. Its heart is in the right place when it comes to gameplay and presentation, and it's good swashbuckler fun for all ages.
  28. 75
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is a great kids game, with a well realised story and fun characters, but it's also more of the same. In terms of the LEGO series to date then this is probably one of the better incarnations, but you just can't help but wonder where things could go from here.
  29. May 16, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean brings on an old formula that still works good. We have pirates, puzzles, swashbuckling fights and tons of LEGO elements that fit perfectly in this new setting. A good game either for Jack Sparrow fans or LEGO ones.
  30. 75
    Jack might be the star, but you'll have more fun with the supporting cast once his spotlight dims.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 11, 2011
    If you like the Lego video game series and you like the Pirates series, then you're going to love this game. I am somewhat shocked by theIf you like the Lego video game series and you like the Pirates series, then you're going to love this game. I am somewhat shocked by the lackluster media review scores this is getting, as I can't really imagine what more one could expect from this title. Some of the reviews reveal less familiarity with past Lego titles, so perhaps the reviewers don't well represent the target audience. But as someone with a family who has played all of the previous Lego titles, I can say without reservation that this is exactly what we hoped it would be. The visuals and sounds are excellent, and the game play is solid. Players of previous Lego games, especially the younger ones, will feel right at home with all the familiar mechanics, and also energized with all the rope swinging, sword play and other swashbuckling antics brought out for this new theme. All of this is rendered with the same impressive new graphics engine used in the recent Lego Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    I got this game expecting quite a bit. The levels for this game are fun but sometimes the environments really don't change much. Don't get meI got this game expecting quite a bit. The levels for this game are fun but sometimes the environments really don't change much. Don't get me wrong it's a beautiful game but it needs a little more varied environments. The gameplay is sometimes very glitchy like any lego game but walking on planks could be worse since you can't walk straight at all. Another thing that bugs me is how some puzzles you have to figure out to advance through a level are actually really hard to find which happened way to many times. I even had to quit my game when I got stuck in the front of a boat. I also wish they could've had music from all 4 films instead of just the first 2. I am a big fan of POTC music and that kinda disappointed me. and now that I am done with negative comments, I will say this game looked very good and the gameplay got pretty fun at parts. The extras in the port royal hub were fun finding and the characters for the most part are unique and creative. The achievements were fun to get but easy, and the game overall was just really great though it had many issues. I would highly recommend this to any pirates or lego game fan but otherwise you might not like it. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    Another great game, the levels are mostly exciting and there is a lot to do, the only complaint I have is some of the stories are wrong, but its Lego.