Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
Buy On
  1. May 10, 2011
    An absolute blast for fans of either franchise. Its gameplay is simple to learn and incredibly addicting.
  2. May 10, 2011
    Too many basic flaws hinder the block-bashing fun of Lego Pirates of the Caribbean.
  3. May 10, 2011
    A few months ago, I reviewed LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. That game introduced some light RTS elements to the series, along with loads of vehicle-based missions, and a huge cast of playable characters. LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean falls short of that high mark, delivering a more traditional LEGO experience. That's not to say that Pirates is a bad game – quite the contrary. It's just puzzling to see a series that has struggled to evolve take a step back. Where are the epic ship-to-ship vehicle battles? Why is the pirate-infested port hub so boring?
  4. May 12, 2011
    Each of the four playable movies is expansive and features plenty of collection quests and hidden content. Re-plays are a must with unlockable characters.
  5. May 27, 2011
    This is not my favorite of the series so far, and after the excellent releases we had with Harry Potter and Clone Wars, I'm a little let down by this one.
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    With strong production values, great visuals and an excellent audio score to back it all up, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is easily one of the best efforts in the franchise to date. No, it's not perfect, but the game has strong appeal across the board. It's also one of the few cases where a licensed game is better than the movie on which it is based.
  7. May 10, 2011
    If Pirates seems less ambitious than the last two Lego titles, lacking the cohesiveness of Potter's Hogwarts hub or the epic scale of Clone Wars', um, wars, then it makes up for it with an overall confidence borne from TT Games' experience with the licence.
  8. May 10, 2011
    All in all, a disappointing effort given that Pirates of the Caribbean should have been a natural fit for the franchise. Maybe I was a mistaken on that front, or maybe it was just poor execution on the part of the developers, but this is certainly one of the weaker entries in the series. And yet, for all my complaints, the formula still works. It's still fun to unlock new characters and hunt for secret collectibles.
  9. May 19, 2011
    Like previous Lego games, two player co-op is available in this version but splitscreen only. While the game maintains the easy drop-in, drop-out multiplayer the series is known for, the long-desired cooperative online multiplayer remains absent.
  10. May 17, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is not as good as the previous LEGO games. It's a good game, funny and entertaining as usual, but it's shorter, less varied and simpler than, for example, Clone Wars.
  11. Jun 1, 2011
    A fun game for all the family, especially for the younger ones, with good graphics and great platform mechanics.
  12. May 15, 2011
    Without a doubt, the prettiest and most graphically interesting of the Lego games yet.
  13. May 20, 2011
    Pirates has its moments, but we're ready to set sail in a new direction.
  14. May 12, 2011
    The lack of online and the feeling of taking a few steps back from the last effort are the only real deterrents to this overall solid experience.
  15. May 30, 2011
    Questionable design decisions and technical issues aside, I love the LEGO games and LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is no different. These are still some of the best family friendly titles available. Having said that, I can't escape the feeling that this tried and true formula is beginning to get a little stale. But if, like me, you're okay with that, then LEGO Pirates is another swashbuckling romp along a familiar theme.
  16. May 16, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean brings on an old formula that still works good. We have pirates, puzzles, swashbuckling fights and tons of LEGO elements that fit perfectly in this new setting. A good game either for Jack Sparrow fans or LEGO ones.
  17. May 12, 2011
    It's not quite as whiz-bang as LEGO Star Wars III and feels quite formulaic at times, but there's no denying it has charm and widespread appeal.
  18. 75
    Jack might be the star, but you'll have more fun with the supporting cast once his spotlight dims.
  19. May 24, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is another incredibly addicting LEGO game, with better visuals, better (and harder) puzzles and a lot of charismatic characters. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to have learned lessons from the previous chapters, so... sorry, no online play here!
  20. Jun 1, 2011
    The latest LEGO game just might be the best one in the series. One of the only things that we're missing in this comical game is an online co-op. Apart from that, there are a lot of puzzles that will keep you entertained for days to come.
  21. May 17, 2011
    The game looks fantastic, plays great and gives the player a ton of stuff to collect and unlock. I might hate the source material, but this is the 3DS gem everyone has been waiting for. If nothing else, it will keep you occupied until Nintendo's wave of June releases.
  22. Jun 15, 2011
    LEGO: Pirates of the Caribbean is full of beautiful environments and funny situations. But every time you try to enjoy them, your fun is spoiled by hindering mistakes made while polishing the game. Especially the unclear puzzles and the lacking platforming-sections make the game unnecessarily frustrating.
  23. Jul 8, 2011
    Pretty convincing with a cool mix between riddles, action and dexterity passages.
  24. May 30, 2011
    It's surprising how much you are driven to obtain 100% of the secrets or achievements - no more so than the younger players, who will happily explore areas again and again just to get that elusive gold brick.
  25. 70
    Traveller's Tales could use a magic compass, we suspect - there's a definite sense of diminishing returns here, a worry that for all the franchise's simple amusements and dumbshow gags, LEGO is sailing close to the rocks.
  26. May 11, 2011
    If you've played past Lego movie tie-ins, you can expect more of the same from Pirates of the Caribbean. It follows a predictable formula, but it's still suitable for Pirates fans looking for lightweight family fun.
  27. May 12, 2011
    Good atmosphere, decent production values, a lot of content and humor, funny puzzles, well implemented platform sequences, light combat : that's a lot of pros to make Traveller's Tales' developers proud. Yes, LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is a rather fun title. But when will this saga revise its basics and innovate? With more than 5 games in the franchise, it may be time to consider that fans may very well like some new blood.
  28. May 24, 2011
    If you're a Pirates of the Caribbean fan, have a friend, sibling or girlfriend to play it with and aren't yet burnt out on the LEGO series this might be one for you. Everyone else should probably think twice.
  29. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 20, 2011
    Another faithful, funny play on a popular movie license, marred by persistent problems that, for some years now, Traveller's Tales hasn't remedied. And it probably won't happen at this point. [Issue#72, p.84]
  30. May 10, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is a refreshing reboot, at least in my mind, to an ailing, overused franchise. Packed with adventure, excitement and just about everything you would expect from a Pirates' film, Disney Interactive Studios and their developers hit a home run with this release.
  31. May 16, 2011
    Pirates and LEGO fans alike would be doing themselves a disservice by not jumping on board.
  32. May 16, 2011
    This is easily the best Lego game to date, and although lacking any huge leaps forward in the gameplay department, still offers a lot of fun for anyone who picks it up.
  33. May 16, 2011
    The Pirates of the Caribbean license is just perfect for TT Games Lego adventures. But while Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is very entertaining, it is also unpolished and too hard for younger gamers.
  34. May 17, 2011
    Fans of the LEGO series are in for another treat with LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean, as they have a new and enriched world to explore with all four movies included on the disc. I loved playing this latest LEGO game and really enjoyed the straightforward approach and the simpler puzzles that kept me venturing through. The comedic tone to the game is exactly what I expected from this title and it keeps the game family friendly and available to all ages with puzzles to solve, great gags to watch, and some addictive gameplay including two player co-op.
  35. May 10, 2011
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean can be fun, so long as you don't get bored of doing the same things over and over again. The humor of the LEGO series remains, however, so there will be laughs along the way.
  36. May 17, 2011
    A bit more confusing storytelling than the other Lego games and still a lot of bugs. Fun co-op and better graphics though. TT Games delivers just what is requested and nothing more, just as usual.
  37. May 17, 2011
    The formula might be a little overdone, but its charm goes a long way.
  38. May 25, 2011
    Overall, Lego: Pirates was a game experience I'd be willing to play over and over again in order to complete all of the side objectives in the game. Initially getting through the puzzles is engaging and being able to go back later and unlock all the things I couldn't access before is made less tedious by just how nice the game looks to play and the de-emphasis on the combat. And the fact that I'm playing with pirates, which as we all know are far more awesome than ninjas.
  39. May 11, 2011
    It's nice to see this series mature and evolve over time, and while Traveller's Tales will need to continue upping the ante if it intends to keep putting out new Lego games at such a rapid clip, for the moment Lego Pirates offers plenty of reasons to jump back in and mash a few plastic bricks together again.
  40. Jun 19, 2011
    Another great game in the LEGO series, capable of entertaining both kids and grown-ups and sporting enhanced graphics. We're just a little disappointed in its small longevity, about 7 hours to complete, and the developers stubbornness in not providing an online co-op option.
  41. May 20, 2011
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is another excellent spin on a fantastic movie world, that does justice to both its source material and the standard of Lego games preceding it. With great visuals and scenery bringing such life to a rich, crazy world of ships, pirates, damsels in distress and turbulent seafaring life, it's hard not to fall in love once more with the cute charm, unique character and addictive gameplay that Lego Pirates has in strides.
  42. May 18, 2011
    With LEGO Pirates, Traveler's Tales didn't really intend to create a pitch-perfect reproduction of the tone and feel of the movies, but even in their crazy cartoon style, you might be surprised at just how much they got right. Adventure gaming fans now have plenty of stuff to choose from, especially with TellTale and Double Fine making pure gold on a regular basis, but I think that the LEGO games are a great choice too, and Pirates might possibly be their best one yet.
  43. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    May 22, 2011
    Satisfyingly vacuous. [July 2011, p.102]
  44. Jun 21, 2011
    I will continue to sound like a broken record, but it's true. At a day and age where you can hold 60 bucks in your hand and have dozens of suitable unique gaming options in-hand, the Lego franchise is very quickly falling behind in my mind's eye for where my gaming money should go.
  45. May 11, 2011
    Though the market has more than enough Lego games to go around, we're happy to make room for Lego Pirates of the Caribbean: The Video Game. Its heart is in the right place when it comes to gameplay and presentation, and it's good swashbuckler fun for all ages.
  46. May 20, 2011
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is a rollicking good time. You have to play through a few times in order to track down all of the secrets, jokes, and prizes, but even if you just play once, you're bound to enjoy yourself.
  47. 75
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean is a great kids game, with a well realised story and fun characters, but it's also more of the same. In terms of the LEGO series to date then this is probably one of the better incarnations, but you just can't help but wonder where things could go from here.
  48. May 11, 2011
    Quotation forthcoming.
  49. May 20, 2011
    New Traveller's Tales' game is a job well done that provides an absorbing entertainment for many hours. But that doesn't mean we have the best installment of the series in our hands - only a Pirates of the Caribbean maniac will think so. The developers have given us a simple, next-in-line game without any spectacular surprises. Does it mean sad routine and no heart? Fortunatelly no - belt-system production never provides stunning results but the LEGO series is still defending itself from losing its identity.
  50. May 10, 2011
    LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean may be the same old formula yet again, but as long as I have fun while playing it, I can't deny that the game has some really good quality in it.
  51. May 26, 2011
    If there's anything to take away from Lego Pirates of the Caribbean, it's that it represents a culmination of style of design that Traveller's Tales has been tweaking for years now, and does so in the most positive way possible. Every working part of the Lego series has been nigh-on perfected here, but if the formula has never won you over before, then not only will it fail to do so now, but it probably never will.
  52. May 11, 2011
    With loads of unlockables, downright adorable presentation, and solid co-op gameplay, it's extremely difficult to think of a person that wouldn't enjoy LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean. Maybe if you hate the movies, hate LEGO games, or just plain hate happiness, you shouldn't give this game a chance.
  53. May 9, 2011
    It's not their best film-themed moment, but Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is still a hugely enjoyable, family-pleasing diversion.
  54. May 21, 2011
    Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is clearly the best Lego game to date.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 11, 2011
    If you like the Lego video game series and you like the Pirates series, then you're going to love this game. I am somewhat shocked by theIf you like the Lego video game series and you like the Pirates series, then you're going to love this game. I am somewhat shocked by the lackluster media review scores this is getting, as I can't really imagine what more one could expect from this title. Some of the reviews reveal less familiarity with past Lego titles, so perhaps the reviewers don't well represent the target audience. But as someone with a family who has played all of the previous Lego titles, I can say without reservation that this is exactly what we hoped it would be. The visuals and sounds are excellent, and the game play is solid. Players of previous Lego games, especially the younger ones, will feel right at home with all the familiar mechanics, and also energized with all the rope swinging, sword play and other swashbuckling antics brought out for this new theme. All of this is rendered with the same impressive new graphics engine used in the recent Lego Star Wars III: The Clone Wars. Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    I got this game expecting quite a bit. The levels for this game are fun but sometimes the environments really don't change much. Don't get meI got this game expecting quite a bit. The levels for this game are fun but sometimes the environments really don't change much. Don't get me wrong it's a beautiful game but it needs a little more varied environments. The gameplay is sometimes very glitchy like any lego game but walking on planks could be worse since you can't walk straight at all. Another thing that bugs me is how some puzzles you have to figure out to advance through a level are actually really hard to find which happened way to many times. I even had to quit my game when I got stuck in the front of a boat. I also wish they could've had music from all 4 films instead of just the first 2. I am a big fan of POTC music and that kinda disappointed me. and now that I am done with negative comments, I will say this game looked very good and the gameplay got pretty fun at parts. The extras in the port royal hub were fun finding and the characters for the most part are unique and creative. The achievements were fun to get but easy, and the game overall was just really great though it had many issues. I would highly recommend this to any pirates or lego game fan but otherwise you might not like it. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    Another great game, the levels are mostly exciting and there is a lot to do, the only complaint I have is some of the stories are wrong, but its Lego.