Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars will include all the characters from both seasons of the hugely popular animated television series, Star Wars: The Clone Wars, as well as some fan-favorite characters from the beloved theatrical Star Wars Saga. The game will feature brand new battle modes, giving players unique, head-to-head combat and an upgraded level builder, allowing the creation of customized bases and in-game battlefields. Play either as a Jedi or Separatist with all-new character abilities, such as Squad command, Lightsaber slicing, Lightsaber jumps, long distance Jedi attacks and Grapple Tie-Ups, all within a new, easy-to-navigate hub. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    91
    With its breadth of content, incredible amount of collectibles (even if their placement isn't as intuitive as I would like), and the new Assault game modes, this is one of the best Lego games created yet.
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    85
    A very good game, with great graphics and sound together with the signature LEGO games gameplay.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    One of the best Lego games so far, and the bigger challenge is a nice surprise.
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    75
    The main problem is that even with the replay value in each level, you probably won't really feel like replaying everything again. Unless you're a true completionist, there's not much of a draw to replaying a level that's essentially the same thing as a number of other stages.
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    70
    It's another enjoyable often humorous romp through the Star Wars Universe that is sure to be a joy fans both young and the young at heart.
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    70
    It's the best game in the LEGO Star Wars franchise, but it still has some annoying design flaws that affect gameplay.
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    40
    Lego Clone Wars nails the Lego look and sense of humor, but completely fails when it comes to evoking the lighthearted fun the series is known for. Surprisingly difficult and repetitious, it seems to be working against the player as hard as it can.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Whether you measure this game on its graphics, its faithfulness to the source material, the many signs of creative effort that went into it, or the immense amount of content and innovative gameplay offered, I find it hard to justify any rating less than 9. It's a really great game, shockingly underrated in my opinion, still (in 2014) one of the very best lego games made. For co op fun, especially parent-child team ups, this cannot be beaten. The cartoon it is based on has some aspects parents might find objectionable (like occasional character death), but it can also be great fun to watch an episode of the show and then go play that same lego gamified story level in the game. Expand
  2. May 18, 2011
    10
    i thought i would be sick of these LEGO Star Wars titles by now (especially a cartoon based one), but it is a lot of fun. i really like the humongous battles featured within. nothing like hearing that familiar score while shooting droids. Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    By far the best Lego title I have seen so far. With better graphics more realistic gameplay, New features and options. And remember this game is still for kids who will love this addition to the lego galaxy. Collapse
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    Who would have thought that the Lego games would be some of the most fun, yet still challenging, games to come out onto the market? From the first Lego Star Wars, the appeal of the genre (yes, I would say it is itâ Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    If you are a fan of Star Wars, LEGO, or fun in general you should give this game a shot. It plays like the two previous LEGO Star Wars titles for the most part, with a few gameplay tweaks that improve and some that don't. Graphics are greatly improved, better textures and lighting, not everything is smooth and shiny this time, realistic rocks, environments and creatures are thrown in and improve the overall look of the game. You can now have two groups of characters, each at different sides of a level, accomplishing different tasks. Anakin may be on one side of a ship,you'll solve a puzzle, making it possible for Obi Wan on the other side of the level to do what he needed to, you simply hold down the Y button to switch between characters. There is a new hub, two battle-cruisers you can pass between and explore at your leisure, each with new things to build and discover as you collect more red and yellow bricks in-game. This is also how you select the level you want to play. There is a hologram monitor in the center of one of the ships where you can select star systems, planets and levels. As usual there is a lot of replay value because if you want to collect everything you'll have to play through each level multiple times with different characters, each with a different skill and able to access different parts of each level. This is a very simple game comprised of light platforming, mild puzzles, simple combat and a whole lot of collecting. You can't die, whenever your character does, he reappears instantly where he was, the only penalty is you lose a few of the studs(LEGO currency) you've collected. There are tons of characters to unlock and play as, you also get to drive virtually every vehicle available in the Clone Wars series and even some off-the-wall stuff like ice cream trucks and scooters. The one problem I had with the game were the new strategy levels where the developers tried to emulate games like Command and Conquer or Warhammer, only simplified. You command three characters and an army of troopers and try to disable enemy defenses and destroy bases and weaponry. Its like the games it tries to emulate in the most basic way possible. There is no real strategy, just an order in which you should destroy certain targets and the way you command your forces. It is really trial and error, with little instruction on what exactly you're supposed to be doing or how to do it it. You basically run around aimlessly till you luck out and figure out the correct order and how to destroy certain structures and die a lot, and I know I said there is no penalty for dying, but doing it over and over is boring and tedious. I can't imagine children enjoying these levels, and that is this game's core audience. The majority of the levels in the game are the fun platform or vehicle levels so this doesn't really hurt the game too much. Besides, you don't have to play these levels if you don't want to. LEGO Star Wars is a fun game for adults and children alike, and you don't have to worry about violence and language in this one. If you are an adult and can get over the fact that you're playing a game for children there is a lot of fun to be had here, and if you want 100% completion you'll need a lot of skill, a human partner sometimes, and a lot of free time. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    As a fan of not just the Lego Star Wars games, but the Lego games in general, it's nice to see that the company behind them is doing what it must in order to keep it series fresh, as opposed to other game series which just do the some thing over and over again, this entry includes RTS battles, improved co-op, and just better gameplay all around, during the story missions I found myself slashing through waves of droids, sniping enemies at a distance, commanding an army to take control of enemy bases, and collecting all sorts of stuff, there are tons of characters, ships, and hidden secrets to unlock, it will take you hours to 100% this, I've played a little over 15 hours and have only gotten a little over 50%, co-op is now a lot smoother, making it where you don't have to stay together, which is especially helpful on the RTS missions, and the graphics are great, tons of stuff is happening on screen at once, during the RTS battles hundreds of enemies are fighting at once, during the vehicle missions tons of ships are fighting each other while huge battleships are exploding all around you, and there is a lot of replay value here, but the game does have it's flaws, while playing by yourself the friendly AI never helps you fight, during the vehicle missions objectives aren't clearly laid out, I often found myself flying around thinking ok what now? and there are some glitches, like the game did freeze up on me once, and I did get stuck in the environment once but it was my own fault and I quickly was able to get unstuck, but even with these flaws and the fact that I would have preferred a little more depth in the RTS sections I still kept coming back for more, its highly addicting, and I had a blast playing this game, and the new changes might even bring in a more mature audience, I highly recommend this to any and all gamers, it's very fun, one of the best games of 2011 for sure. Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    If you like the previous LEGO Star Wars games, you'll love LEGO Star Wars III. Most of the glitches or annoyances of previous titles in the franchise have been removed created a better experience. This game is definitely not for kids, but young adults will be able to maneuver through the tough levels. Exm.nr/ReviewWars Expand

See all 11 User Reviews