User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 234

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    A fun hack n' slash, but it could have been better. LC's slower pacing hampers what should have been fast and frenetic combat throughout- something the game would have really benefited from. Enemies take far too much damage, causing battles to drag on longer than they should. That is the only real issue I have with the game, though being that combat is largely the game's focus, it is an issue felt from beginning to end. It's a good game, though it was close to being great. Aside from that, the writing is twisted, truly entertaining camp. Enjoyable from beginning to end. The characters are likable, and the story, while very straight-forward, is highly entertaining with strong focus and a worthwhile narrative. There are unlockables abound, requiring lot's of skill on the player's part, and possibly a second playthrough in order to see everything the game has to offer. The game itself is of decent length, and a potential second playthrough is made more worthwhile with separate endings based on success throughout the story. Visually, the game is nothing special. The art style, along with the graphics themselves, are highly reminiscent of Suda's earlier work - No More Heroes - just now set to a higher resolution. It gets the job done, but you will rarely be impressed by what there is to see in-game. What is impressive, however, are the stylized menus - another signature of Suda's work - his normal pseudo-punk/pop style - something that also translates to the audio, which incorporates a solid set-list that fits the game perfectly. Overall, I enjoyed the time spent with Lollipop Chainsaw. It is a solid hack n' slash with humorous writing and a good sense of style. While there are small things that would have went a long way to making the game more enjoyable, you can't argue with the end product. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Fantastic over the top cheerleader vs zombies hack n slash action game. If you loved Dead Rising series this is similar except you play as Juliet instead of Frank West. OTT, Violent, Insane & Biarre. Its different but also unique even though its a mish mash of other game styles this has a certain Planet Terror Gindhouse movie charm & so much to love. Never a dull moment & only £29.99 in UK instead of the usual £39.99 (due to game length its SP & only 6-7 hours long but you need another 20 hours to max out all achievements). Only downside is no PC version (this would rock on PC please WB Games make that happen in time for Halloween!!). Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    "Chainsaw Lollipop" is like many of other Japanese Hack and Slash games with girls in the middle (like BulletWitch and Oneemchambara), but with the visual touch of SUDA51. The game is basically an arcade action game in 3rd person, Hack and Slash style, with zombies and an attractive protagonist: the story is cliché, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and many other of the genre: the protagonist, Juliet, is a cheerleader who is making 18 years, and uses lollipops to give her energy (yes, this is a joke in the game) and has a chainsaw (dunno why). On her birthday, her school (San Romero High School) is infested with zombies, and even her boyfriend is affected - outraged by this, she takes the fight to save the school and her boyfriend.

    The graphics, are a mixed bag: Juliet graphics are excellent, and approach "selected" angles, but the rest of the game looks kinda square, and reminds Shadow of the Damned, which make them look as if there were a background noise on the image - I missed many details in objects, in the scenario and in the zombies. The game also have certain collision problems, for example your legs and arms do not collide against walls and sometimes they cross it.

    The CGs are very good for what I quoted above, and the menus already address other style, a comic hand drawn style: special attacks are full of colors and light effects (like in No More Heroes. The action has blood, but not as exaggerated as in Oneenchambara. When you try to use the camera to look under her skirt, she cover the front or back (there is a achievement related to this ;) )

    The dubbing is the standard of Grasshoper: a regular to good work, but the lines are often non-sense and many are cliché, and may be irritating sometimes. The music has a Teen-Rock style, as in series and B movies of related genres. Basically the other musics consists of Rock-Pop, with young singers and lyrics on such themes, as well as older high school songs, of the 50-60s, which also sets the tone for many elements.

    The action is the basic of a Hack and Slash, although not very fluid and somewhat mechanic (as in No More heroes): there are 3 types of attacks, plus a special mode when your star bar gets full. Quick low attacks with A, strong with the Y (which serves to finish and saw things in the environment), X attacks with pom-poms and kicks to make opponents dizzy and B jumps and dodge the enemies attacks. As you fill the star bar with rainbow colors, you enter a special mode with LT, where you can kill instantly any enemy, in a special screen. The game has much dismemberment scenes, and the enemies attack in waves, and by killing them you collect stars to fill the special bar and special coins to buy upgrades in stores throughout the game. The scenarios are linear , and the story does not make much sense... this point is very much like No More Heroes too. Some collectibles are in the form of colleagues who you have to save from the zombies. With the medals you win by killing zombies (platinum, gold and silver) you can buy upgrades, new moves and stuff (costumes, etc.) in a store called Chop2shop. The collectibles in the game are: things to Juliet's room (126), collection of achievements (there are 50, 49 offline and one online), Zombie Photo Album (35 pictures), a collection of lollipops (40) and collection of phone calls (21).

    Expect lots of jokes with double meaning and several scenes that shows the body of the protagonist and other girls. This game reminded me a lot another game, NeverDead, in the gameplay and in the strange story (and the use of the severed head of her boyfriend at the waist) - thought way better than this one. There is no multiplayer in the game, but one achievements needs Xbox Live, to post in the Leaderboard (another disappointment).

    Overall I was not surprised by this game, expecting a better gameplay anyway, that was more fluid, and I expected more creativity and commitment of SUDA51 - not standing still in time and innovating. The game after all is a decent Hack and Slash, with a nice overall visual, but with a mechanic gameplay - nothing that stands up high between other games of the genre.
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    2
    I would love to love this game. Cheerleaders, zombies, violence, vulgar humor....some of my favorite things. Unfortunately when it comes down to it, a game has to be well made to enjoy it. If Juliet was a dude (no cheerleader, no boobs, no bending over in a skirt........HEY, THATS THE POINT OF THE WHOLE GAME!....exactly), this would just be a cheap knock off of dead rising with more cussing during bad jokes we have all heard when we were 12. So if you just need to rub one out to a cheerleader in a video game because you feel guilty surfing porn, you might score this a 6 or 7. Otherwise you will think it a 2. (I dont give out free 6-7's, its a scale of 0-10, not 5-10 like most review sites seem to unexplainingly do). Before you say 2 is unfair, line this game up with 10 random recent releases and then you will be like.....oh....now I see. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    OK first of all everyone has to stop taking this game seriously, its a fun jump around type game which makes the player happy, this game has an engaging storyline with great japanese type graphics that has been recycled from no more heroes and shadows of the damned, sure the gameplay is a little repetitive but youll learn to love it because of upgrades and other combos, the dialogue is funny with great voice acting but the only flaw is its length which is like 4-7 hours, but journey was 2 hours so just think of it like that except 20 dollars more expensive. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    They've got if all wrong. Graphics is terrible, gameplay and controls are not fluid, more like clunky and broken, dialogue is not funny enough and overall game feels very rough around the edges.
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Ok, so Lollipop Chainsaw... Where to begin? I mean you have a hot pigtailed cheerleader, zombies, lollipops and a chainsaw. The story isn't extremely strong, but the characters are well acted, and the voice acting is up to snuff with some other big titles released recently. Juliet is that peppy cheerleader with an optimistic attitude (and a potty mouth) who can kick TONS OF ZOMBIE ASS! Now it's weird jumping from Juliet to combat but... The combat in the game is decent, the combos get better once you unlock them, but it seems like there's just alot of spamming X, or spamming Y, or both. having the jump button tied to B is mildly annoying for the first hour or so if you just came from a game where dodging and jumping was the A button (prototype 2). One thing I noticed... THIS GAME IS PRETTY EFFIN DIFFICULT, the zombies are more annoying than the ones in DR or DR2, they just aren't phased at all by your attacks until they're dead, but when you get hit it's this huge scene, and you can't attack momentarily, the main problem is how annoying the zombies are, and how HARD they can be! Other than the zombies being extremely hard, and the combat feeling a tad clunky, and slow (combos finishing if you spammed the button, but stopped, the combo still goes through the amount of times you pressed the button prior to stopping)... But other than that, the art style is wonderful, there's enough panty shots to keep the perverts entertained, there's TONS of unlockable costumes, and leaderboards to keep you playing AGAIN and AGAIN. It's a solid game with a few drawbacks, but if you want a whacky zombie game that doesn't take itself too seriously, and is quite a bit of fun, albiet difficult at time, pick up Lollipop Chainsaw for your console of choice. Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    In all Honesty this is probably the most innovative game to have been made in a very long time. The visual style, low brow humor, complete randomness followed by a solid control scheme. The gameplay is nothing completely to new although it is akin to Bayonetta for its combo system and Dead Rising for its learning curve in which you need to keep playing to improve. The combat itself very satisfying once you acquire more skills through games progression and replaying levels to upgrade is a must. It is not a simple Hack and Slash in order to upgrade and build meter to play efficiently you need to sparkle collect (Decapitate 3+ zombies at once). The game is not easy and you will die a few times to get the idea of how to be successful like the 2004 Ninja Gaiden. The level design very linear, but in a good way as the events in the game are interesting enough to keep the players on there toes through out. Visually the game stunning due to its punk MLP aesthetic although the graphics are not the best use of the Unreal Engine. The Humor is unlike any other videogame and must be experienced firsthand. When you do over levels the dailogue will change slightly to keep the player laughing through there replays. SUDA51 did not hold back on this tittle and is possibly his Masterpiece. Its far more developed than Shadows of the Damned. This is an experience that should be enjoyed by everyone in a market saturated with sequels, remakes and rehashes and is truly deserving of your money. Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This game is the biggest most overhyped piece of crap! It is game about a cheerleader who kills zombies! THE GAME IS CALLED LOLLIPOP CHAINSAW!!! That should cause an alarm to automatically go off in your head saying "Warning! Warning! This will be a terrible game!" But no. Everyone is acting as if this game is Gods gift to the freaking world! Well let me tell you something: It isn't!!!! This game is a stain on the industry and american culture. Some idiot Japanese guy named Suda 51 thinks he can make a stupid zombie game (boy, we sure don't have enough of those!) and add a blonde cheerleader and it will make all the Americans want to buy it. As much as I despise Suda for promoting this stereotype, I hate the video game news industry infinitely more for buying into this stupid game! However, I haven't even mentioned the worst thing of all about Lollipop Chainsaw: The girl is not even hot! It is personally insulting to me, as a proud Teenaged Caucasian American Male, that the cheerleader who is the main character of this game is not even slightly attractive!! I mean COME ON!! (Or maybe more like come off)

    The color scheme of the game is repulsive. The graphics are even worse. The gameplay and concept is unoriginal. WHY HAS THIS GAME RECEIVED 50,000 PREVIEW FROM GAMEINFORMER.COM!?! WHY IS THERE A HUGE SIGN OUTSIDE MY LOCAL GAMESTOP ADVERTISING THE RELEASE OF THIS GAME!!! I just cannot believe this folks. We are looking into the face of corroded and decaydent industry. This game simply cannot receive as much pre release praise as it has if we wish to bring pride to our name as gamers. At least gamer informer gave it a 7.5, although in my opinion they should have given it a 0 to compensate for all the misleading and inaccurate information they had published previously concerning the game.
    I'm done sounding off.
    Expand
  10. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Tbe graphics of the game may be a bit less than the top graphics out there, but that doesn't stop it from being a great game. The upgrades and combos keep the game interesting. Although the game may be a bit short, there is tons of extra content that you can unlock such as costumes, more upgrades, combos, and art.. Its a great game that is really worth getting. Also, Tara Strong voices Juliet, so... thats another reason. Expand
  11. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Bottom line: If you wish the movies Planet Terror or Hobo With a Shotgun were video games, this is the closest thing you are going to get. How Lollipop Chainsaw is being reviewed by a lot of the "pro reviewers" is why we barely have any innovation or unabashed, addictive fun in video games. Seriously, put down the grey poupon and smoked salmon for an hour to understand what this game is. It's a highly original, arcade-style, zombie slaying, crazy, fun injected, explosion of style. It's not God of War, Devil May Cry, or Dead Rising. Because of that, does that mean everyone is going to like it? Of course not. So, does that mean that nitpicking the game apart for what you think it "should be" is right? No as well. Take the game on it's own merits and try really hard just a little bit to put yourself in the game's world. It's fun, it's addicting, it's different, it's all mature, and it's hilarious. It'll go out of it's way to constantly surprise you in combat, story, dialogue, and visuals. What a concept, huh? Support Lollipop Chainsaw if you can because we really need another "epic" blockbuster game of the year like a hole in the head. Why can't games just be fun again! Collapse
  12. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I thought it The End. Suck hard sh­it game was good. Had boobs, mah dick was s­hite. Suda51 likes period. Also, Holly Summers Twilight Sparkle my penis. Superbly sh­itty great combat, Night Springs chainsaw combat. Pirate it, Lex Luthor. 10/10 would DMC those tittays. Play again dem t­it­s better than Dear Princess buy now? Vidya's finest. Based god just fantasy? Dolan, pls. Caught in bicycle, bicycle game. Still, I didn't Doommarines Daughter. Cheap DLC! The best! She had Ellen Page; SHE'S FAT. many penises. CONSCRIPT REPORTING cashews of ITS HAPPENING, the music oniichan, my Reddit sucks. Not Call le reddit is funny. Bucketloads of groundbreaking jiggle Big dick: Eurovision 2013, truly masterful. Killer7 better Monkey love anal buttpicking, fat dil­do? Pretty fun. Sonic06 Better! Spaghetti everywhere! 9gag is monkey trouble. RECTAL DEVASTATION! Imminent IGN says: "Overtly Sexualised." Rougelike Doom, and then there will lel redditculture busty hilarity. I love Gaben. Ate Defecated on doom 3. it. Then, Double Barrelled, But how? Meatbeall Stuffed. Holy Canneloni! Child c­unt. AERIS DIES. Quivering rump. In conclusion, Blunder is a ni­gger. Profitable, but the greatest thing of those tit­ties tig bitties, nig­ger ever only when DAT ASS. Amazing plot, mad ruffians! And titt­ies! Purseowner, bring lotion dem tit­ties anal climax are sh­it, became entitled. So please, colon triturated da bowls. More tit­ties. Checkem and then my period. Buy it. PS: I reddit landwhales anal plunder stream Kung free porn baboon explosion. Chie banned in Germany and Jesus smegma. Gaben dies foot fetish only if of fatness. Please Respond. bad end Didju rike Tit­ties/10 Big McLargeHuge Expand
  13. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    It's for fun It's not as elaborate a combat system, but it has some combos and chaining to master. Leaderboards and challenges add some replayability, and it was released at a "Reduced" price from the standard $60. If you like Wet, or Splatterhouse I can't imagine you wouldn't like this. I put it ahead of Wet and Beneath Splatterhouse.
  14. Jun 16, 2012
    6
    This game can be summed up with 3 words: Comedy, Style, and meh.

    With all the advertisements and trailers which have been released over the past year, people have been genuinely hyped for this release. I myself am a Suda fan and am aware of the style of game I was getting. However when I started playing I loved the game, it was worth the wait; the art style, the comedy, the action were
    all there. The soundtrack was brilliant varying in different genres depending of what level I was playing. The Prologue was hard rock, 2nd level was metal etc.. But as soon as I put my controller down and tried to remember what I had just played I forgot one thing; the combat. For an action game the action and violence is forgettable, its colourfully stylised with the inclusion of rainbows and overuse of blood. But that's all that it has combat wise and regrettably it's bland. By the way I am certainly not saying its a bad game, but i'm saying that its not that great either. its simply good. the prologue is fast paced, entertaining and in my opinion the most enjoyable part of the game. if you dont like this game 10 minutes into this level, you wont like the rest of it. the witty banter from sidekick Nick had me in stitches through the whole story and is without a doubt the best character in lollipop. Comedy is something grasshopper manufacture is famous for in its games and it doesnt disappoint on that front. the main character Juliet is a typical blonde popular girl in high school, dumb and voluptuous and the inclusion of a chainsaw sadly doesnt help her break the mold of the stereotype. She is the mascot of the game yet she is just bland, tasteless and has little to no development. she is a flat character with **** but that isnt disappointing seeing as the trailer described the game as having 'more skin than a girls locker room.' the gimmick of cheerleader zombie hunter delivers but sadly doesnt give you anything other than an erection.

    If i were to choose i would say that Grasshopper's previous console release 'shadows of the damned' was more enjoyable out of the 2, and i believe this comes down to the fact that 'SoTD' wasnt advertised and hyped up to the proportions of lollipop, this game had tours, cosplay competitions, behind the scenes video; hyping what could have been an excellent game based on an excellent premise. but it delivers a 'good' result instead of the 'great' result we were expecting. I really wanted to love this game with the same love as I had when i first played no more heroes 1 on wii, but the hype created an ambition which was filled but not filled to the brim. In short this is in no way a bad game, the amount of advertising can tell you that much. but its not what we were expecting. I recommend you play it, you wont be disappointed, you just wont be satisfied when you're done.
    Expand
  15. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a stylish and often times imaginative and creative game. That's to be expected of a Suda 51 game. A goofy and unique spin on the overdone zombie slaughtering action game. Sporting brilliant boss designs and flashy gameplay visuals, it seems like it gets the main boxes ticked. But then you start playing the game and you realise the depth and longevity have been flushed down the sinkhole. For starters the combat feels a bit slow, making zombie slaying feel a bit dull. There is hardly any depth to combat, as there are no upgrades to the weapons you use. There is also a miniscule arsenal which disappoints. The characters also utter the most horrificly distasteful quips and metaphors in recent memory. Though that's pattented Suda 51, it can be too much. Overall though it's got the style and presentation to keep you playing but is far too brief and button mashy to enjoy it over the long haul. Expand
  16. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    I'll say it just once.
    This is the second worst game I have ever played. Nothing was good about it.
    At all. It has awful gameplay that gets repetitive within the first 10 minutes.
    It has terrible, ANNOYING characters who you will hate, bad voice acting and a stupid story. The game isn't funny even though it tried to be.
    There's a cool visual aesthetic with the rainbow blood and all but the
    textures look like the game is being played in build mode.
    The music is bland as hell.
    thank god it's only 5 hours long. What a terrible, terrible game. The worst I've played this entire gen. SKIP IT. Not even worth 5 bucks in the bargain bin. I don't even think anyone involved with this game was even trying.
    Expand
  17. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    This game has turned out to be everything that I've come to expect from months of entertaining trailers and videos. While some of the lines (you know, filler stuff) may be repetitive at times, the dialog is just the right level of silliness that you end up not really caring when a line is recycled. If you don't have a silly bone in your body, you may get a bit overwhelmed by this game. However, if that were the case, you wouldn't be playing a game called 'Lollipop Chainsaw'. Would you? Expand
  18. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    This game will give you exactly what you expect from it. Assuming you are expecting a hilarious satirical stab at zombie-fan culture. It's a Suda51 game, so there is definitely a suspension of taste involved. This game is not an attempt to mock or emulate another series, nor is it devaluing or attacking anything about any other game or any film. It simply seeks to shock and provoke laughter with it's oft unbelievable and over-the-top combination of innocent ignorance and vicious gore. It is not a game that is intended to be taken seriously. The game play AND the story are both vehicles for the message of the game which is that nothing is sacred and no line cannot be crossed. If you judge a game solely on graphics, fight mechanics, or pure innovation this game is nothing groundbreaking, but it makes up for that by having such a unique and fun environment and stylistic ambiance.
    The bottom line: This is a fun game with an extremely humorous context that will please anyone with a sense of humor.
    Expand
  19. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    forget reviews lolipop is amazing take it and enjoy lolipop :)......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  20. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    This game is hilarious and the action and style are amazing fun. What's better than fun combat, great dialogue and a short skirt? Get this game. It's more fun than dead rising and almost as good as mario
  21. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    Amazing. If you are a fan of beat'em ups in anyway, i.e: Final Fight, Double Dragon, River City Ransom. Or any of the recent Grasshopper games, Shadows of the Damned, No More Heroes & Killer 7--you're in for a special treat. You play as Juliet Starling who is dealing with the Rotten World coming into our own and it's your job to stop them! I don't want to go too into it but it's great! The combat is super responsive and the game is so silly it's just hilarious going from level to level. BUY THIS GAME! Full price purchase and I'm extremely happy. Expand
  22. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    People who think this game is ridiculous need to realize who is making it. SUDA51 has a very unique game design and style.

    As for the game: It is EXACTLY what I expected. If you are looking for this years TOP TITLE - this isn't it.. and if you were expecting this to BE it - you're a moron. You need to manage your expectations with games. As for this one - it is fun. You run around with a
    chainsaw and you cut things up. What did you EXPECT? Although the zombies take a bit too much damage in my opinion, if you know good combos you can save yourself from tedium. As always - Suda delivers on the script. There are some cheesy one liners in the beginning that made me cringe but it develops and there are some good solid funny/enjoyable moments as you go.

    SO in the end - it is worth your money - has lot of unlockables and plays like a very good, very exciting zombie slasher. What did you expect?
    Expand
  23. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    This game doesn't make any pretense on what it's about. Like Duke Nukem, it's a fun, 12yo naughty joke filled romp. It's not too long and there are some fun combo mechanics and crazy zombie killing sports games. Pros
    The boss fights are outrageous, the gore large!
    The jokes are great for late night and overtired giggles.
    Some great combos and unique abilities.
    Great use of camera
    work to remind you of when you were little and trying to sneak a peak under the skirt.
    Not too long where it becomes tiresome.

    Complaints
    You have to sit through cut scenes and tutorial tips that pop up all of which can not be skipped. It seemed they found it fun to put these right before cheap mechanic areas that will kill you (i.e. the baseball game).
    Stages are too long, break them up into chapters.
    Expand
  24. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    ndsncnhciiiiiiisjjjjjjsssssssssssssssssssjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjhuyehwduynhqwunshiunwiudwnhudnsiunqwunsiqjnswwsunqwisniwdniwndiuejwndijsnjndqiuwndijshnindidqniudnsijsnd
  25. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Lollipop Chainsaw was never a game to be taken seriously and thats why its so appealing as it throws away the conventions of how a game should be or how people in the world behave and react, as in the spirit of all that is Suda 51 the game does what ever the hell it wants and that
  26. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    You would think that this game would have something going for it with its "Grindhouse" style and gameplay that is similar in some ways to God of War or Dante's Inferno... but you would be wrong. Not only does the combat get way to repetitive within the first hour and a half with hardly any enemy variation, but the dialogue tries way too hard to try and make you laugh; the only humorous one in the game would have to be Juliet's disembodied boyfriend, and even those jokes become stale after a while. If you were looking for a good hack and slash game that actually has a decent story and enjoyable combat, go for God of War 3 or Dante's Inferno. Both are better than this and won't break your wallet either, both being under $20.00. Expand
  27. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    While I have totally enjoyed this game I am a bit shocked that some many people have given it a 5 star review.

    Yes it's a welcome change from the big titles like COD, but it's nothing more than good old fashioned button thrashing fun. I like the way your skills build up and the combos get more elaborate.
    It reminds me of older titles from days gone by, the closes game I can compare it
    to on the Xbox is Wolverine which I loved.

    Do not be fooled by the portrayed cute girly looking image of this game. The language is dirty and there are plenty of sexual innuendoes which I like ;-)

    The main character Juliet is a babe which really makes me want to give this game a 5 star rating but she can get a little bit tedious when she repeatedly dishes out teen says such as O.M.G, awesome and this is totally cool etc etc.

    One other bad point is the game save points. I like to switch on the Xbox and have 15 30 mins on it while the misses is in the shower or something, the problem is that each chapter seems to last a lot longer than that and there are no midpoint saves. On the same note if you die it sometimes puts you annoyingly far back in the game.

    Please don't hate me for not giving this game 5 stars. I am just trying to be honest.
    Expand
  28. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    Coming from Suda51, the creator of Killer 7 and No More Heroes, there is a lot to dislike about Lollipop Chainsaw and I can certainly understand why it has received such mixed reviews. The endless QTE sections are irritating, the constant quips from the characters are repetitive and often unfunny and the boss fights largely unimaginative. Despite these flaws I must admit I enjoyed the game. Maybe it's Suda's strange imagination (the games main character is a zombie hunting cheerleader with a chainsaw), maybe it's the fact that the combat is always fast paced and fun, maybe it's something else entirely. Either way, while it is certainly no classic, Xbox 360 owners could do a lot worse than give Lollipop Chainsaw a try. Expand
  29. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    You get everything that's promised. Highschool cheerleader absurdly wielding a chainsaw and carrying her boyfriend's head on her hip. There's no attempt to pass this over the top hack and slash off as anything but the zombie shredding gore porn that it is. If that's what you're into; if you're looking for goofy but entertaining romp through the halls of a zombie filled highschool with a bouncy blonde acrobat, this is your game. If you were expecting anything more than that: story, interesting characters, or intriguing dialogue you're a fool for even considering this game. It's a fun zombie slicing diversion. Expand
  30. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Killing zombies as a hot cheerleader! Heck Yeah! But there are some issues from this game being perfect. First off, the performance in this game is strong but not strong enough because of the pretty WEAK Unreal Engine 3 and its pop-ins in this game. Also, another problem is that this game has somewhat weak combat and somewhat meh jokes at the beginning of the game. It does seem like that I am being a dick to this game but I shouldn't because of all the things it does poorly, it does well in spades.like of the combos making the combos makes the combat more deep which is more fun then. Also, the game dishes out funny jokes later in the game and the gameplay is pretty fun. Overall, this game is a hell of a time and was made for immediate multiple playthroughs and was just plain hilarious and extremely enjoyable. Expand
  31. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    Bottom line: If you wish the movies Planet Terror or Hobo With a Shotgun were video games, this is the closest thing you are going to get. How Lollipop Chainsaw is being reviewed by a lot of the "pro reviewers" is why we barely have any innovation or unabashed, addictive fun in video games. Seriously, put down the grey poupon and smoked salmon for an hour to understand what this game is. It's a highly original, arcade-style, zombie slaying, crazy, fun injected, explosion of style. It's not God of War, Devil May Cry, or Dead Rising. Because of that, does that mean everyone is going to like it? Of course not. So, does that mean that nitpicking the game apart for what you think it "should be" is right? No as well. Take the game on it's own merits and try really hard just a little bit to put yourself in the game's world. It's fun, it's addicting, it's different, it's all mature, and it's hilarious. It'll go out of it's way to constantly surprise you in combat, story, dialogue, and visuals. What a concept, huh? Support Lollipop Chainsaw if you can because we really need another "epic" blockbuster game of the year like a hole in the head. Why can't games just be fun again! Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    80
    Switch off your brain and bask in the silliness. [Issue#88, p.80]
  2. 70
    Bayonetta and Devil May Cry are maybe better optimized from a game design perspective but there is no other fighting game with such a sexy look as Lollipop Chainsaw. [Issue#220]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    78
    Playing Lollipop Chainsaw is exactly like eating a lollipop - once you're finished with such a luscious treat, all the excitement is gone but definitely remembered.