User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 235

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing. It takes your typical hack and slash and then twists it into a convoluted game full of dark humour catchy punchlines and spectacular colours. If you're looking for a zombie killing game with a twist look no further. I was hooked instantly and couldn't get enough. The game mechanics alone will draw you in and the gameplay will do the rest. 5 stars from me.
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    I'll keep it simple, the good things are the humor, the story is silly and funny, the fanservice is possibly what will draw in people to play it and to unlock (yes, unlock, not buy) the extra costumes, its "arcadey" style is good and gives it some replay value, the art direction is good as well with bonus points for using cutscenes in real time and thus letting you experience themI'll keep it simple, the good things are the humor, the story is silly and funny, the fanservice is possibly what will draw in people to play it and to unlock (yes, unlock, not buy) the extra costumes, its "arcadey" style is good and gives it some replay value, the art direction is good as well with bonus points for using cutscenes in real time and thus letting you experience them differently when using the alternate costumes, the music is kind of nice.

    BUT what can keep you from enjoying this game is the gameplay and level design, combos are very limited, special skills are even limited to certain stages which makes subsequent replays a hassle, the levels have a ton of invisible walls which in turn kill whatever is left from your creativity to approach enemies and obstacles, and let's not forget the cancer that plagues games today, it is loaded with QTEs, some of them are justifiable, others, not so much, the added minigames later in the game are a nice way to break the repetitiveness of the main game though.

    My advice is, rent it, if you like it enough then buy it at a reduced price, but try to not play it for long periods of time unless you truly love it.
    Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Firstly, Lollipop Chainsaw is not a game like Bioshock. It does not need to be a game of decade, that expands moral values. It does not need to make people think about their life. This game was made to make people laugh, to give them pure insane entertainment that does not require thinking. And yes, they've got that goal! Lollipop Chainsaw is one of most laughter causing games inFirstly, Lollipop Chainsaw is not a game like Bioshock. It does not need to be a game of decade, that expands moral values. It does not need to make people think about their life. This game was made to make people laugh, to give them pure insane entertainment that does not require thinking. And yes, they've got that goal! Lollipop Chainsaw is one of most laughter causing games in history. Jokes and gags fits perfectly together. I believe, that they could be used in comedy shows like Family Guy or The Simpsons, because of their pop culture references and accurate punchlines. Storyline reminds sometimes B class comedies, so this could be an ideal artpiece for Rodriguez and Tarantino fans.
    When talking about gameplay, there's no way to not compare this slasher to classical masterpiece Devil May Cry. Necessary in this category, DMC outperforms better. LC is dynamic, challenging but not in DMC 's extent. Grasshopper Manufacture game is well slasher, but it could be more expanded. For example, we wont see an acrobatic sequences in this game. Upgrade system is simple and you dont need to spend time for making Juliet badass. Enemies are often reductive and they dont divide for many classes, so new enemies wont be more challenging than previous.

    All in all, Lollipop Chainsaw is simple hack and slash, without many gameplay diversities. Even if gameplay is lame, comparing to other slashers, but it makes up with excellent humor, brilliant designed characters and amazing dialogues, that will surely stick in your memory for years!
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    Crazy, fast and stupid hack-in slash arcade like fun is the perfect way to sum up this game. No it's not the best hack in slash game in the world but with it only being $17 and if you like games that keep score than this well have tons of replay value for you. If not than it's worth playing at least once do the craziness off the game like fighting a rock viking zombie as one of theCrazy, fast and stupid hack-in slash arcade like fun is the perfect way to sum up this game. No it's not the best hack in slash game in the world but with it only being $17 and if you like games that keep score than this well have tons of replay value for you. If not than it's worth playing at least once do the craziness off the game like fighting a rock viking zombie as one of the bosses to the cast of characters themselves. So maybe not buy it but worth borrowing from a friend and playing it. Expand
  5. May 28, 2013
    9
    Very good game especially for a hack and slash which usually get extremely repetitive. Great funny dialogue all the way through. Lot's of replay value although if you're just gonna only run through the game once on easy it will probably only take about 5 hours. Easily over 20 hours worth of game play if you're going for all the achievements.
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    While I have totally enjoyed this game I am a bit shocked that some many people have given it a 5 star review.

    Yes it's a welcome change from the big titles like COD, but it's nothing more than good old fashioned button thrashing fun. I like the way your skills build up and the combos get more elaborate. It reminds me of older titles from days gone by, the closes game I can compare it
    While I have totally enjoyed this game I am a bit shocked that some many people have given it a 5 star review.

    Yes it's a welcome change from the big titles like COD, but it's nothing more than good old fashioned button thrashing fun. I like the way your skills build up and the combos get more elaborate.
    It reminds me of older titles from days gone by, the closes game I can compare it to on the Xbox is Wolverine which I loved.

    Do not be fooled by the portrayed cute girly looking image of this game. The language is dirty and there are plenty of sexual innuendoes which I like ;-)

    The main character Juliet is a babe which really makes me want to give this game a 5 star rating but she can get a little bit tedious when she repeatedly dishes out teen says such as O.M.G, awesome and this is totally cool etc etc.

    One other bad point is the game save points. I like to switch on the Xbox and have 15 30 mins on it while the misses is in the shower or something, the problem is that each chapter seems to last a lot longer than that and there are no midpoint saves. On the same note if you die it sometimes puts you annoyingly far back in the game.

    Please don't hate me for not giving this game 5 stars. I am just trying to be honest.
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now imagine your playing on Dead Rising with more speed and your a cheerleader woman armed with a chainsaw instead.

    This game have you running around doing fun missions plus helping the people who are not infected but will turn into them if you're not fast to save them.

    Knowing the controls was a bit mean since the book you got it with does not say much about it and so I think you can't block enemy's attack with your weapon I try-ed on hours and hours still no luck but it's a shame if you can't do it!

    Overall it's a nice game with plenty and I MEAN PLENTY of cut scenes to entertain you with a gir-ly feel.

    A shop to buy stuff from too to new skills or health pickups it's can be your choice.

    The music is a kind of rock and roll to the pause menu game so if you love rock this will please you since it has plenty of rock music in the game.

    PS now take a look at Dead Rising that game could be like this but it wasn't!

    Forgot the story mmm, it wasn't really a big one just cars trucks coming at you in the air in walls you name it a lot of cars oh yeah explosions too x x all because you must find your boyfriend in school.

    So by all means get this it will start your heart pulse race up and down with joy in it. A real charm to this game.

    At most part you only be using like 3 moves eh which does just gets dull boring at first but after a bit you learn more skills, it's a dark fantasy about a girl who can do magic stuff on pretty much anything with a gir-ly touch to it just look at the case for the more adult feel since it's 18+.

    Well I liked it too thumbs up no not because it has a cheerleader in it, it's like Dead Rising and by all means I liked that one too.
    Expand
  8. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    Coming from Suda51, the creator of Killer 7 and No More Heroes, there is a lot to dislike about Lollipop Chainsaw and I can certainly understand why it has received such mixed reviews. The endless QTE sections are irritating, the constant quips from the characters are repetitive and often unfunny and the boss fights largely unimaginative. Despite these flaws I must admit I enjoyed theComing from Suda51, the creator of Killer 7 and No More Heroes, there is a lot to dislike about Lollipop Chainsaw and I can certainly understand why it has received such mixed reviews. The endless QTE sections are irritating, the constant quips from the characters are repetitive and often unfunny and the boss fights largely unimaginative. Despite these flaws I must admit I enjoyed the game. Maybe it's Suda's strange imagination (the games main character is a zombie hunting cheerleader with a chainsaw), maybe it's the fact that the combat is always fast paced and fun, maybe it's something else entirely. Either way, while it is certainly no classic, Xbox 360 owners could do a lot worse than give Lollipop Chainsaw a try. Expand
  9. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    Entering the life of an ordinary California school girl could not get any more action packed as Juliet and her entourage of charismatic side kicks leave players in a buzzing state of enjoyment and laughter, captivating players as Grasshopper Manufacture's ready the release of their best, most enjoyable project yet. A unique game play style comes over as a breath of fresh air, as long timeEntering the life of an ordinary California school girl could not get any more action packed as Juliet and her entourage of charismatic side kicks leave players in a buzzing state of enjoyment and laughter, captivating players as Grasshopper Manufacture's ready the release of their best, most enjoyable project yet. A unique game play style comes over as a breath of fresh air, as long time gamers are cast into a whole new style of play, setting it's self away from the typical 'Hack & Slash' style game. Was this a risk? If so, its a risk that absolutely played off well. Aside from the the gameplay, players will be treated to an engaging soundtrack, captivating audiences even more (Best enjoyed with a good pare of gaming headphones). 8/10 Expand
  10. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    A game that could have been a masterpiece, but falls short. Visuals and character design are utterly gorgeous. But, the big B.U.T. the game is far, far too short. Way too much style and little substance. A few more levels and a the option for other weapons would have been nice. I really do hope they make a sequel and learn from what they did wrong in this game. This game should be inA game that could have been a masterpiece, but falls short. Visuals and character design are utterly gorgeous. But, the big B.U.T. the game is far, far too short. Way too much style and little substance. A few more levels and a the option for other weapons would have been nice. I really do hope they make a sequel and learn from what they did wrong in this game. This game should be in everyone's collection, but not at full price. Expand
  11. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    A 1980's themed game with a cheerleader killing zombies with her boyfriend head strapped to her belt? Can you ask for something more addictive?
    The flashy chainsaw techniques are in perfect tune with the 1980's themed, hilarious ambient. It might be classified as a button-masher but you actually need skills your time your attacks, you need to know when to use crowd control and when to use
    A 1980's themed game with a cheerleader killing zombies with her boyfriend head strapped to her belt? Can you ask for something more addictive?
    The flashy chainsaw techniques are in perfect tune with the 1980's themed, hilarious ambient. It might be classified as a button-masher but you actually need skills your time your attacks, you need to know when to use crowd control and when to use raw damage, when to dodge, it is simply genial.
    Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a fun game but it's definitely a buy for cheaper at gamestop kind of game. It's got repetitive combat but I enjoyed the silliness involved, especially the ultra final boss . All the "whore' and "slut" stuff got a little tiring after a few hours of hearing b yell the same insults at Juliet, but it wasn't the worst thing. It's just the kind of game where you have to beLollipop Chainsaw is a fun game but it's definitely a buy for cheaper at gamestop kind of game. It's got repetitive combat but I enjoyed the silliness involved, especially the ultra final boss . All the "whore' and "slut" stuff got a little tiring after a few hours of hearing b yell the same insults at Juliet, but it wasn't the worst thing. It's just the kind of game where you have to be able to laugh at the upskirts and stereotypical characters or you won't enjoy it. One of the funniest things was Nick, even though he was a headless teenager I enjoyed his banter with Juliette as she ran around. I dropped it down to an 8 because I HATE quick time events. In the end it's a descent Suda51 game but it's no No More Heroes and I expected more from it. Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Lollipop Chainsaw was never a game to be taken seriously and thats why its so appealing as it throws away the conventions of how a game should be or how people in the world behave and react, as in the spirit of all that is Suda 51 the game does what ever the hell it wants and that
  14. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Hugely enjoyable hack and slash action game that produces ample laughs along the way. Despite limited gameplay overall it's thoroughly good fun! Worth picking up for under £20 as it's not the longest of games.
  15. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    Good gameplay, decent graphics, sophomoric humor, lots of upgrades, moves, and extras. Typically wacky suda51 style but no real long term value. Just crass jokes meshed with ultraviolet zombie slaying with a hot protagonist. Cult hit at best. If you must support suda51, get Shadow of the Dammed.
  16. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    You get everything that's promised. Highschool cheerleader absurdly wielding a chainsaw and carrying her boyfriend's head on her hip. There's no attempt to pass this over the top hack and slash off as anything but the zombie shredding gore porn that it is. If that's what you're into; if you're looking for goofy but entertaining romp through the halls of a zombie filled highschool with aYou get everything that's promised. Highschool cheerleader absurdly wielding a chainsaw and carrying her boyfriend's head on her hip. There's no attempt to pass this over the top hack and slash off as anything but the zombie shredding gore porn that it is. If that's what you're into; if you're looking for goofy but entertaining romp through the halls of a zombie filled highschool with a bouncy blonde acrobat, this is your game. If you were expecting anything more than that: story, interesting characters, or intriguing dialogue you're a fool for even considering this game. It's a fun zombie slicing diversion. Expand
  17. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Killing zombies as a hot cheerleader! Heck Yeah! But there are some issues from this game being perfect. First off, the performance in this game is strong but not strong enough because of the pretty WEAK Unreal Engine 3 and its pop-ins in this game. Also, another problem is that this game has somewhat weak combat and somewhat meh jokes at the beginning of the game. It does seem like that IKilling zombies as a hot cheerleader! Heck Yeah! But there are some issues from this game being perfect. First off, the performance in this game is strong but not strong enough because of the pretty WEAK Unreal Engine 3 and its pop-ins in this game. Also, another problem is that this game has somewhat weak combat and somewhat meh jokes at the beginning of the game. It does seem like that I am being a dick to this game but I shouldn't because of all the things it does poorly, it does well in spades.like of the combos making the combos makes the combat more deep which is more fun then. Also, the game dishes out funny jokes later in the game and the gameplay is pretty fun. Overall, this game is a hell of a time and was made for immediate multiple playthroughs and was just plain hilarious and extremely enjoyable. Expand
  18. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    You would think that this game would have something going for it with its "Grindhouse" style and gameplay that is similar in some ways to God of War or Dante's Inferno... but you would be wrong. Not only does the combat get way to repetitive within the first hour and a half with hardly any enemy variation, but the dialogue tries way too hard to try and make you laugh; the only humorousYou would think that this game would have something going for it with its "Grindhouse" style and gameplay that is similar in some ways to God of War or Dante's Inferno... but you would be wrong. Not only does the combat get way to repetitive within the first hour and a half with hardly any enemy variation, but the dialogue tries way too hard to try and make you laugh; the only humorous one in the game would have to be Juliet's disembodied boyfriend, and even those jokes become stale after a while. If you were looking for a good hack and slash game that actually has a decent story and enjoyable combat, go for God of War 3 or Dante's Inferno. Both are better than this and won't break your wallet either, both being under $20.00. Expand
  19. Jul 15, 2012
    7
    Fun and unique. If you are a fan of Hack and Slash style games, you'll love this. "Lollipop Chainsaw" is a fantastic game: wide variety of music, advanced upgrade system, multitude of unlockables, hilarious scripts and heaps of replay value. You will definitely be surprised with this game. Additionally, many big names are involved with this game, such as Suda 51, James Gunn and JimmyFun and unique. If you are a fan of Hack and Slash style games, you'll love this. "Lollipop Chainsaw" is a fantastic game: wide variety of music, advanced upgrade system, multitude of unlockables, hilarious scripts and heaps of replay value. You will definitely be surprised with this game. Additionally, many big names are involved with this game, such as Suda 51, James Gunn and Jimmy Urine. If you don't have "Lollipop Chainsaw", you're missing out on an over the top experience. Expand
  20. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    The humour is really quirky and I can see a lot of people not getting it, but if it floats your boat you'll love the game. The gameplay is solid: stringing combos together to bring more and more destruction to the zombies with the occasional minigame to vary the action.
    There are loads of things to collect and this is one of those games designed to be replayed to score better / buy all
    The humour is really quirky and I can see a lot of people not getting it, but if it floats your boat you'll love the game. The gameplay is solid: stringing combos together to bring more and more destruction to the zombies with the occasional minigame to vary the action.
    There are loads of things to collect and this is one of those games designed to be replayed to score better / buy all the moves / collect all the outfits, etc.
    A good, fun title.
    Expand
  21. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a game about a high school cheerleader who tears through zombies with a pink chainsaw, and it knows it. A game that never takes itself too seriously, it is definitely a helluva lot of fun. In no way will it win big in story telling, but the narrative is ridiculous enough to set the tone which the visuals and gameplay aptly follow. If anything, its a fun time. AndLollipop Chainsaw is a game about a high school cheerleader who tears through zombies with a pink chainsaw, and it knows it. A game that never takes itself too seriously, it is definitely a helluva lot of fun. In no way will it win big in story telling, but the narrative is ridiculous enough to set the tone which the visuals and gameplay aptly follow. If anything, its a fun time. And really, what more could you want from a zombie hack n slash? Expand
  22. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Awesome, awesome game! That's just what it is get over it. If you want a high emotional in depth detailed story of a zombapocalypse, you can go to hell. This game is for those who love cheerleaders short skirts big boobs and general sluttiness combined with simple but fun gameplay and funny scripting.
    And francktly if you wanted anything else you probably should've picked a game that
    Awesome, awesome game! That's just what it is get over it. If you want a high emotional in depth detailed story of a zombapocalypse, you can go to hell. This game is for those who love cheerleaders short skirts big boobs and general sluttiness combined with simple but fun gameplay and funny scripting.
    And francktly if you wanted anything else you probably should've picked a game that didn't have a half naked blonde on the cover sucking on a lollipop.
    Expand
  23. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    Lollipop Chainsaw is a stylish and often times imaginative and creative game. That's to be expected of a Suda 51 game. A goofy and unique spin on the overdone zombie slaughtering action game. Sporting brilliant boss designs and flashy gameplay visuals, it seems like it gets the main boxes ticked. But then you start playing the game and you realise the depth and longevity have been flushedLollipop Chainsaw is a stylish and often times imaginative and creative game. That's to be expected of a Suda 51 game. A goofy and unique spin on the overdone zombie slaughtering action game. Sporting brilliant boss designs and flashy gameplay visuals, it seems like it gets the main boxes ticked. But then you start playing the game and you realise the depth and longevity have been flushed down the sinkhole. For starters the combat feels a bit slow, making zombie slaying feel a bit dull. There is hardly any depth to combat, as there are no upgrades to the weapons you use. There is also a miniscule arsenal which disappoints. The characters also utter the most horrificly distasteful quips and metaphors in recent memory. Though that's pattented Suda 51, it can be too much. Overall though it's got the style and presentation to keep you playing but is far too brief and button mashy to enjoy it over the long haul. Expand
  24. Jun 28, 2012
    3
    As long as don't expect anything from this game, you will enjoy it. This just shows that gamers will buy and enjoy anything that has mindless hack n' slash qualities with zombies. Sadly the game does nothing to make up its utterly ridiculous title and premise.
  25. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I thought it The End. Suck hard sh­it game was good. Had boobs, mah dick was s­hite. Suda51 likes period. Also, Holly Summers Twilight Sparkle my penis. Superbly sh­itty great combat, Night Springs chainsaw combat. Pirate it, Lex Luthor. 10/10 would DMC those tittays. Play again dem t­it­s better than Dear Princess buy now? Vidya's finest. Based god justI thought it The End. Suck hard sh­it game was good. Had boobs, mah dick was s­hite. Suda51 likes period. Also, Holly Summers Twilight Sparkle my penis. Superbly sh­itty great combat, Night Springs chainsaw combat. Pirate it, Lex Luthor. 10/10 would DMC those tittays. Play again dem t­it­s better than Dear Princess buy now? Vidya's finest. Based god just fantasy? Dolan, pls. Caught in bicycle, bicycle game. Still, I didn't Doommarines Daughter. Cheap DLC! The best! She had Ellen Page; SHE'S FAT. many penises. CONSCRIPT REPORTING cashews of ITS HAPPENING, the music oniichan, my Reddit sucks. Not Call le reddit is funny. Bucketloads of groundbreaking jiggle Big dick: Eurovision 2013, truly masterful. Killer7 better Monkey love anal buttpicking, fat dil­do? Pretty fun. Sonic06 Better! Spaghetti everywhere! 9gag is monkey trouble. RECTAL DEVASTATION! Imminent IGN says: "Overtly Sexualised." Rougelike Doom, and then there will lel redditculture busty hilarity. I love Gaben. Ate Defecated on doom 3. it. Then, Double Barrelled, But how? Meatbeall Stuffed. Holy Canneloni! Child c­unt. AERIS DIES. Quivering rump. In conclusion, Blunder is a ni­gger. Profitable, but the greatest thing of those tit­ties tig bitties, nig­ger ever only when DAT ASS. Amazing plot, mad ruffians! And titt­ies! Purseowner, bring lotion dem tit­ties anal climax are sh­it, became entitled. So please, colon triturated da bowls. More tit­ties. Checkem and then my period. Buy it. PS: I reddit landwhales anal plunder stream Kung free porn baboon explosion. Chie banned in Germany and Jesus smegma. Gaben dies foot fetish only if of fatness. Please Respond. bad end Didju rike Tit­ties/10 Big McLargeHuge Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    Fun and over the top. This game is very much a classic Suda51 trip with over the top characters and story. Juliet Starling is a fantastic protagonist and her insanely cheerful cheerleader personality is an amusing clash to the zombie attack in the game. I really enjoyed the antics of her, her body less boyfriend and insane zombie fighting family. As for the game play Lollipop ChainsawFun and over the top. This game is very much a classic Suda51 trip with over the top characters and story. Juliet Starling is a fantastic protagonist and her insanely cheerful cheerleader personality is an amusing clash to the zombie attack in the game. I really enjoyed the antics of her, her body less boyfriend and insane zombie fighting family. As for the game play Lollipop Chainsaw plays as a classic arcade beat em up. As you progress you can unlock more powerful combos to aid you in your zombie slaying. The game does come up short in terms of overall fluidity and it's only 4 hours long. However you can compete in online leaderboards to make you aim to grab a better score than your friends. I recommend this game a lot just not at the current price of $60. Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2012
    7
    Lollipop chainsaw is an enjoyable game up to a certain extent. I'll admit Juliet looks pretty cute and that's probably why the game managed to sell a decent amount of copies. But, even Lego batman 2 managed to sell more than this game. The camera angles are a bit stiff and restrict you a bit at certain points. Music is enjoyable to listen to while you play since it gives it that highLollipop chainsaw is an enjoyable game up to a certain extent. I'll admit Juliet looks pretty cute and that's probably why the game managed to sell a decent amount of copies. But, even Lego batman 2 managed to sell more than this game. The camera angles are a bit stiff and restrict you a bit at certain points. Music is enjoyable to listen to while you play since it gives it that high school fell to it. This game will only entertain you for so long since all it has is 7 levels plus a prologue. I suggest you either rent or buy it used and then decide if you would keep it, but I don't think its worth the 60 bucks. Expand
  28. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    Looks cool. Sounds cool. It even has a cool story (well, sort of). Plays... meh! Suda-51 is surely a true visionary, but sometimes visions are not meant to be shared...
  29. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    It's SUDA 51! C'mon. What do you expect? Crass humor? Stilted action? Hilarious writing? It's all here. If you are not a fan of his works, then avoid this. If you want smooth, action games then you should be a fan of PLATINUM GAMES and not GRASSHOPPER STUDIO.
  30. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    Underneath its exterior, which is by no means gratuitous or sleazy, Lollipop Chainsaw is a great action game. Experienced gamers will appreciate the many excellent design elements. Casual gamers will not be frustrated. This game is pure fun. So do yourself a favor and play it. Don't listen to the corrupt critics who are bought or influenced by mainstream advertising dollars, or to theUnderneath its exterior, which is by no means gratuitous or sleazy, Lollipop Chainsaw is a great action game. Experienced gamers will appreciate the many excellent design elements. Casual gamers will not be frustrated. This game is pure fun. So do yourself a favor and play it. Don't listen to the corrupt critics who are bought or influenced by mainstream advertising dollars, or to the suckers who hide their lack of intelligence behind political correctness.

    Fun,intelligent game for intelligent gamers.
    Expand
  31. Jun 22, 2012
    7
    A very well made from a great developer, Suda 51 and Grasshopper Manufacture. The controls can feel delayed at times, i felt like I was mashing the buttons more than I was actually doing attacks in the game at points. This game isn't really too deep, with the main point being that Juliet Starling is hot, and she kills zombies, that's about it. Definitely a great game for when you don'tA very well made from a great developer, Suda 51 and Grasshopper Manufacture. The controls can feel delayed at times, i felt like I was mashing the buttons more than I was actually doing attacks in the game at points. This game isn't really too deep, with the main point being that Juliet Starling is hot, and she kills zombies, that's about it. Definitely a great game for when you don't feel like doing much story work, or competitive multiplayer. I would recommend a rent, but not a full value buy. Expand
  32. Jun 21, 2012
    7
    If Sudo51 had gone the way of shadow of the colossus and only left in the boss fights this would be the greatest most imaginative game ever created

    as it is- it may be the worse corridor boring dunegon crawler- saved by its boss fights - ever made the 7 out of 10 points is perhaps generous considering the lack of content- lack of diversity- lack of gameplay- lack of playability
    If Sudo51 had gone the way of shadow of the colossus and only left in the boss fights this would be the greatest most imaginative game ever created

    as it is- it may be the worse corridor boring dunegon crawler- saved by its boss fights - ever made

    the 7 out of 10 points is perhaps generous considering the lack of content- lack of diversity- lack of gameplay- lack of playability

    its a shame- gaming needs sudo51s- otherwise gaming would be dead and buried with trash like call of duty

    however- sudo51 needs to make his game have more substance to go with his amazing style

    hes not quite the tarantino of gaming but he sure does have the potential to be

    one day sudo51 will make the pulp fiction of gaming

    this however is not it
    Expand
  33. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    This games genre influence is less
  34. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    I have been playing this game for 7 hours now and the Credits roll, which is kind of sad because I enjoyed this game from the Moment it started to the very end, but it may be for the best since this game **** up my intelligence.
    This game just never let´s you go and through all the 7 hours of Gameplay I had a blast with this game, dying of laughter and fun.
    Even if the Camerawork
    I have been playing this game for 7 hours now and the Credits roll, which is kind of sad because I enjoyed this game from the Moment it started to the very end, but it may be for the best since this game **** up my intelligence.
    This game just never let´s you go and through all the 7 hours of Gameplay I had a blast with this game, dying of laughter and fun.
    Even if the Camerawork in this game is really bad and Lock-On doesn´t work in the moments you need it, it suddenly doesn´t matter because for every moment of bad Camera there is laughter followed by **** basically after the premise you get what you expect, I just needed to look at the cover and knew what was going on: Hot Girl with Chainsaw, killing Zombies, dark Humor and no intelligence at all.

    So in the end I just can say: You will have a blast with this game and it delivers what it promises so well that you can´t get out of laughter.
    Still this game has Problems with the lock-on System and the camera, also 7 hours are pretty short, because there is nothing to do after you played through it the first time since you know all the jokes and this is the one aspect this game is counting on. But I would recommend this game definitely on a budget or at least renting it but it is not worth the full price.
    Expand
  35. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    forget reviews lolipop is amazing take it and enjoy lolipop :)......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  36. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    This game doesn't make any pretense on what it's about. Like Duke Nukem, it's a fun, 12yo naughty joke filled romp. It's not too long and there are some fun combo mechanics and crazy zombie killing sports games. Pros
    The boss fights are outrageous, the gore large!
    The jokes are great for late night and overtired giggles. Some great combos and unique abilities. Great use of camera
    This game doesn't make any pretense on what it's about. Like Duke Nukem, it's a fun, 12yo naughty joke filled romp. It's not too long and there are some fun combo mechanics and crazy zombie killing sports games. Pros
    The boss fights are outrageous, the gore large!
    The jokes are great for late night and overtired giggles.
    Some great combos and unique abilities.
    Great use of camera work to remind you of when you were little and trying to sneak a peak under the skirt.
    Not too long where it becomes tiresome.

    Complaints
    You have to sit through cut scenes and tutorial tips that pop up all of which can not be skipped. It seemed they found it fun to put these right before cheap mechanic areas that will kill you (i.e. the baseball game).
    Stages are too long, break them up into chapters.
    Expand
  37. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    Amazing. If you are a fan of beat'em ups in anyway, i.e: Final Fight, Double Dragon, River City Ransom. Or any of the recent Grasshopper games, Shadows of the Damned, No More Heroes & Killer 7--you're in for a special treat. You play as Juliet Starling who is dealing with the Rotten World coming into our own and it's your job to stop them! I don't want to go too into it but it's great!Amazing. If you are a fan of beat'em ups in anyway, i.e: Final Fight, Double Dragon, River City Ransom. Or any of the recent Grasshopper games, Shadows of the Damned, No More Heroes & Killer 7--you're in for a special treat. You play as Juliet Starling who is dealing with the Rotten World coming into our own and it's your job to stop them! I don't want to go too into it but it's great! The combat is super responsive and the game is so silly it's just hilarious going from level to level. BUY THIS GAME! Full price purchase and I'm extremely happy. Expand
  38. Jun 16, 2012
    6
    This game can be summed up with 3 words: Comedy, Style, and meh.

    With all the advertisements and trailers which have been released over the past year, people have been genuinely hyped for this release. I myself am a Suda fan and am aware of the style of game I was getting. However when I started playing I loved the game, it was worth the wait; the art style, the comedy, the action were
    This game can be summed up with 3 words: Comedy, Style, and meh.

    With all the advertisements and trailers which have been released over the past year, people have been genuinely hyped for this release. I myself am a Suda fan and am aware of the style of game I was getting. However when I started playing I loved the game, it was worth the wait; the art style, the comedy, the action were all there. The soundtrack was brilliant varying in different genres depending of what level I was playing. The Prologue was hard rock, 2nd level was metal etc.. But as soon as I put my controller down and tried to remember what I had just played I forgot one thing; the combat. For an action game the action and violence is forgettable, its colourfully stylised with the inclusion of rainbows and overuse of blood. But that's all that it has combat wise and regrettably it's bland. By the way I am certainly not saying its a bad game, but i'm saying that its not that great either. its simply good. the prologue is fast paced, entertaining and in my opinion the most enjoyable part of the game. if you dont like this game 10 minutes into this level, you wont like the rest of it. the witty banter from sidekick Nick had me in stitches through the whole story and is without a doubt the best character in lollipop. Comedy is something grasshopper manufacture is famous for in its games and it doesnt disappoint on that front. the main character Juliet is a typical blonde popular girl in high school, dumb and voluptuous and the inclusion of a chainsaw sadly doesnt help her break the mold of the stereotype. She is the mascot of the game yet she is just bland, tasteless and has little to no development. she is a flat character with **** but that isnt disappointing seeing as the trailer described the game as having 'more skin than a girls locker room.' the gimmick of cheerleader zombie hunter delivers but sadly doesnt give you anything other than an erection.

    If i were to choose i would say that Grasshopper's previous console release 'shadows of the damned' was more enjoyable out of the 2, and i believe this comes down to the fact that 'SoTD' wasnt advertised and hyped up to the proportions of lollipop, this game had tours, cosplay competitions, behind the scenes video; hyping what could have been an excellent game based on an excellent premise. but it delivers a 'good' result instead of the 'great' result we were expecting. I really wanted to love this game with the same love as I had when i first played no more heroes 1 on wii, but the hype created an ambition which was filled but not filled to the brim. In short this is in no way a bad game, the amount of advertising can tell you that much. but its not what we were expecting. I recommend you play it, you wont be disappointed, you just wont be satisfied when you're done.
    Expand
  39. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    This game is hilarious and the action and style are amazing fun. What's better than fun combat, great dialogue and a short skirt? Get this game. It's more fun than dead rising and almost as good as mario
  40. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    This game will give you exactly what you expect from it. Assuming you are expecting a hilarious satirical stab at zombie-fan culture. It's a Suda51 game, so there is definitely a suspension of taste involved. This game is not an attempt to mock or emulate another series, nor is it devaluing or attacking anything about any other game or any film. It simply seeks to shock and provokeThis game will give you exactly what you expect from it. Assuming you are expecting a hilarious satirical stab at zombie-fan culture. It's a Suda51 game, so there is definitely a suspension of taste involved. This game is not an attempt to mock or emulate another series, nor is it devaluing or attacking anything about any other game or any film. It simply seeks to shock and provoke laughter with it's oft unbelievable and over-the-top combination of innocent ignorance and vicious gore. It is not a game that is intended to be taken seriously. The game play AND the story are both vehicles for the message of the game which is that nothing is sacred and no line cannot be crossed. If you judge a game solely on graphics, fight mechanics, or pure innovation this game is nothing groundbreaking, but it makes up for that by having such a unique and fun environment and stylistic ambiance.
    The bottom line: This is a fun game with an extremely humorous context that will please anyone with a sense of humor.
    Expand
  41. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    This game has turned out to be everything that I've come to expect from months of entertaining trailers and videos. While some of the lines (you know, filler stuff) may be repetitive at times, the dialog is just the right level of silliness that you end up not really caring when a line is recycled. If you don't have a silly bone in your body, you may get a bit overwhelmed by this game.This game has turned out to be everything that I've come to expect from months of entertaining trailers and videos. While some of the lines (you know, filler stuff) may be repetitive at times, the dialog is just the right level of silliness that you end up not really caring when a line is recycled. If you don't have a silly bone in your body, you may get a bit overwhelmed by this game. However, if that were the case, you wouldn't be playing a game called 'Lollipop Chainsaw'. Would you? Expand
  42. Jun 13, 2012
    2
    I would love to love this game. Cheerleaders, zombies, violence, vulgar humor....some of my favorite things. Unfortunately when it comes down to it, a game has to be well made to enjoy it. If Juliet was a dude (no cheerleader, no boobs, no bending over in a skirt........HEY, THATS THE POINT OF THE WHOLE GAME!....exactly), this would just be a cheap knock off of dead rising with moreI would love to love this game. Cheerleaders, zombies, violence, vulgar humor....some of my favorite things. Unfortunately when it comes down to it, a game has to be well made to enjoy it. If Juliet was a dude (no cheerleader, no boobs, no bending over in a skirt........HEY, THATS THE POINT OF THE WHOLE GAME!....exactly), this would just be a cheap knock off of dead rising with more cussing during bad jokes we have all heard when we were 12. So if you just need to rub one out to a cheerleader in a video game because you feel guilty surfing porn, you might score this a 6 or 7. Otherwise you will think it a 2. (I dont give out free 6-7's, its a scale of 0-10, not 5-10 like most review sites seem to unexplainingly do). Before you say 2 is unfair, line this game up with 10 random recent releases and then you will be like.....oh....now I see. Expand
  43. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    It's for fun It's not as elaborate a combat system, but it has some combos and chaining to master. Leaderboards and challenges add some replayability, and it was released at a "Reduced" price from the standard $60. If you like Wet, or Splatterhouse I can't imagine you wouldn't like this. I put it ahead of Wet and Beneath Splatterhouse.
  44. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Bottom line: If you wish the movies Planet Terror or Hobo With a Shotgun were video games, this is the closest thing you are going to get. How Lollipop Chainsaw is being reviewed by a lot of the "pro reviewers" is why we barely have any innovation or unabashed, addictive fun in video games. Seriously, put down the grey poupon and smoked salmon for an hour to understand what this game is.Bottom line: If you wish the movies Planet Terror or Hobo With a Shotgun were video games, this is the closest thing you are going to get. How Lollipop Chainsaw is being reviewed by a lot of the "pro reviewers" is why we barely have any innovation or unabashed, addictive fun in video games. Seriously, put down the grey poupon and smoked salmon for an hour to understand what this game is. It's a highly original, arcade-style, zombie slaying, crazy, fun injected, explosion of style. It's not God of War, Devil May Cry, or Dead Rising. Because of that, does that mean everyone is going to like it? Of course not. So, does that mean that nitpicking the game apart for what you think it "should be" is right? No as well. Take the game on it's own merits and try really hard just a little bit to put yourself in the game's world. It's fun, it's addicting, it's different, it's all mature, and it's hilarious. It'll go out of it's way to constantly surprise you in combat, story, dialogue, and visuals. What a concept, huh? Support Lollipop Chainsaw if you can because we really need another "epic" blockbuster game of the year like a hole in the head. Why can't games just be fun again! Expand
  45. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    People who think this game is ridiculous need to realize who is making it. SUDA51 has a very unique game design and style.

    As for the game: It is EXACTLY what I expected. If you are looking for this years TOP TITLE - this isn't it.. and if you were expecting this to BE it - you're a moron. You need to manage your expectations with games. As for this one - it is fun. You run around with a
    People who think this game is ridiculous need to realize who is making it. SUDA51 has a very unique game design and style.

    As for the game: It is EXACTLY what I expected. If you are looking for this years TOP TITLE - this isn't it.. and if you were expecting this to BE it - you're a moron. You need to manage your expectations with games. As for this one - it is fun. You run around with a chainsaw and you cut things up. What did you EXPECT? Although the zombies take a bit too much damage in my opinion, if you know good combos you can save yourself from tedium. As always - Suda delivers on the script. There are some cheesy one liners in the beginning that made me cringe but it develops and there are some good solid funny/enjoyable moments as you go.

    SO in the end - it is worth your money - has lot of unlockables and plays like a very good, very exciting zombie slasher. What did you expect?
    Expand
  46. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Tbe graphics of the game may be a bit less than the top graphics out there, but that doesn't stop it from being a great game. The upgrades and combos keep the game interesting. Although the game may be a bit short, there is tons of extra content that you can unlock such as costumes, more upgrades, combos, and art.. Its a great game that is really worth getting. Also, Tara Strong voicesTbe graphics of the game may be a bit less than the top graphics out there, but that doesn't stop it from being a great game. The upgrades and combos keep the game interesting. Although the game may be a bit short, there is tons of extra content that you can unlock such as costumes, more upgrades, combos, and art.. Its a great game that is really worth getting. Also, Tara Strong voices Juliet, so... thats another reason. Expand
  47. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Ok, so Lollipop Chainsaw... Where to begin? I mean you have a hot pigtailed cheerleader, zombies, lollipops and a chainsaw. The story isn't extremely strong, but the characters are well acted, and the voice acting is up to snuff with some other big titles released recently. Juliet is that peppy cheerleader with an optimistic attitude (and a potty mouth) who can kick TONS OF ZOMBIE ASS! NowOk, so Lollipop Chainsaw... Where to begin? I mean you have a hot pigtailed cheerleader, zombies, lollipops and a chainsaw. The story isn't extremely strong, but the characters are well acted, and the voice acting is up to snuff with some other big titles released recently. Juliet is that peppy cheerleader with an optimistic attitude (and a potty mouth) who can kick TONS OF ZOMBIE ASS! Now it's weird jumping from Juliet to combat but... The combat in the game is decent, the combos get better once you unlock them, but it seems like there's just alot of spamming X, or spamming Y, or both. having the jump button tied to B is mildly annoying for the first hour or so if you just came from a game where dodging and jumping was the A button (prototype 2). One thing I noticed... THIS GAME IS PRETTY EFFIN DIFFICULT, the zombies are more annoying than the ones in DR or DR2, they just aren't phased at all by your attacks until they're dead, but when you get hit it's this huge scene, and you can't attack momentarily, the main problem is how annoying the zombies are, and how HARD they can be! Other than the zombies being extremely hard, and the combat feeling a tad clunky, and slow (combos finishing if you spammed the button, but stopped, the combo still goes through the amount of times you pressed the button prior to stopping)... But other than that, the art style is wonderful, there's enough panty shots to keep the perverts entertained, there's TONS of unlockable costumes, and leaderboards to keep you playing AGAIN and AGAIN. It's a solid game with a few drawbacks, but if you want a whacky zombie game that doesn't take itself too seriously, and is quite a bit of fun, albiet difficult at time, pick up Lollipop Chainsaw for your console of choice. Expand
  48. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This game is the biggest most overhyped piece of crap! It is game about a cheerleader who kills zombies! THE GAME IS CALLED LOLLIPOP CHAINSAW!!! That should cause an alarm to automatically go off in your head saying "Warning! Warning! This will be a terrible game!" But no. Everyone is acting as if this game is Gods gift to the freaking world! Well let me tell you something: It isn't!!!!This game is the biggest most overhyped piece of crap! It is game about a cheerleader who kills zombies! THE GAME IS CALLED LOLLIPOP CHAINSAW!!! That should cause an alarm to automatically go off in your head saying "Warning! Warning! This will be a terrible game!" But no. Everyone is acting as if this game is Gods gift to the freaking world! Well let me tell you something: It isn't!!!! This game is a stain on the industry and american culture. Some idiot Japanese guy named Suda 51 thinks he can make a stupid zombie game (boy, we sure don't have enough of those!) and add a blonde cheerleader and it will make all the Americans want to buy it. As much as I despise Suda for promoting this stereotype, I hate the video game news industry infinitely more for buying into this stupid game! However, I haven't even mentioned the worst thing of all about Lollipop Chainsaw: The girl is not even hot! It is personally insulting to me, as a proud Teenaged Caucasian American Male, that the cheerleader who is the main character of this game is not even slightly attractive!! I mean COME ON!! (Or maybe more like come off)

    The color scheme of the game is repulsive. The graphics are even worse. The gameplay and concept is unoriginal. WHY HAS THIS GAME RECEIVED 50,000 PREVIEW FROM GAMEINFORMER.COM!?! WHY IS THERE A HUGE SIGN OUTSIDE MY LOCAL GAMESTOP ADVERTISING THE RELEASE OF THIS GAME!!! I just cannot believe this folks. We are looking into the face of corroded and decaydent industry. This game simply cannot receive as much pre release praise as it has if we wish to bring pride to our name as gamers. At least gamer informer gave it a 7.5, although in my opinion they should have given it a 0 to compensate for all the misleading and inaccurate information they had published previously concerning the game.
    I'm done sounding off.
    Expand
  49. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    A fun hack n' slash, but it could have been better. LC's slower pacing hampers what should have been fast and frenetic combat throughout- something the game would have really benefited from. Enemies take far too much damage, causing battles to drag on longer than they should. That is the only real issue I have with the game, though being that combat is largely the game's focus, it is anA fun hack n' slash, but it could have been better. LC's slower pacing hampers what should have been fast and frenetic combat throughout- something the game would have really benefited from. Enemies take far too much damage, causing battles to drag on longer than they should. That is the only real issue I have with the game, though being that combat is largely the game's focus, it is an issue felt from beginning to end. It's a good game, though it was close to being great. Aside from that, the writing is twisted, truly entertaining camp. Enjoyable from beginning to end. The characters are likable, and the story, while very straight-forward, is highly entertaining with strong focus and a worthwhile narrative. There are unlockables abound, requiring lot's of skill on the player's part, and possibly a second playthrough in order to see everything the game has to offer. The game itself is of decent length, and a potential second playthrough is made more worthwhile with separate endings based on success throughout the story. Visually, the game is nothing special. The art style, along with the graphics themselves, are highly reminiscent of Suda's earlier work - No More Heroes - just now set to a higher resolution. It gets the job done, but you will rarely be impressed by what there is to see in-game. What is impressive, however, are the stylized menus - another signature of Suda's work - his normal pseudo-punk/pop style - something that also translates to the audio, which incorporates a solid set-list that fits the game perfectly. Overall, I enjoyed the time spent with Lollipop Chainsaw. It is a solid hack n' slash with humorous writing and a good sense of style. While there are small things that would have went a long way to making the game more enjoyable, you can't argue with the end product. Collapse
  50. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    In all Honesty this is probably the most innovative game to have been made in a very long time. The visual style, low brow humor, complete randomness followed by a solid control scheme. The gameplay is nothing completely to new although it is akin to Bayonetta for its combo system and Dead Rising for its learning curve in which you need to keep playing to improve. The combat itself veryIn all Honesty this is probably the most innovative game to have been made in a very long time. The visual style, low brow humor, complete randomness followed by a solid control scheme. The gameplay is nothing completely to new although it is akin to Bayonetta for its combo system and Dead Rising for its learning curve in which you need to keep playing to improve. The combat itself very satisfying once you acquire more skills through games progression and replaying levels to upgrade is a must. It is not a simple Hack and Slash in order to upgrade and build meter to play efficiently you need to sparkle collect (Decapitate 3+ zombies at once). The game is not easy and you will die a few times to get the idea of how to be successful like the 2004 Ninja Gaiden. The level design very linear, but in a good way as the events in the game are interesting enough to keep the players on there toes through out. Visually the game stunning due to its punk MLP aesthetic although the graphics are not the best use of the Unreal Engine. The Humor is unlike any other videogame and must be experienced firsthand. When you do over levels the dailogue will change slightly to keep the player laughing through there replays. SUDA51 did not hold back on this tittle and is possibly his Masterpiece. Its far more developed than Shadows of the Damned. This is an experience that should be enjoyed by everyone in a market saturated with sequels, remakes and rehashes and is truly deserving of your money. Expand
  51. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    I'll say it just once.
    This is the second worst game I have ever played. Nothing was good about it.
    At all. It has awful gameplay that gets repetitive within the first 10 minutes. It has terrible, ANNOYING characters who you will hate, bad voice acting and a stupid story. The game isn't funny even though it tried to be. There's a cool visual aesthetic with the rainbow blood and all but the
    I'll say it just once.
    This is the second worst game I have ever played. Nothing was good about it.
    At all. It has awful gameplay that gets repetitive within the first 10 minutes.
    It has terrible, ANNOYING characters who you will hate, bad voice acting and a stupid story. The game isn't funny even though it tried to be.
    There's a cool visual aesthetic with the rainbow blood and all but the textures look like the game is being played in build mode.
    The music is bland as hell.
    thank god it's only 5 hours long. What a terrible, terrible game. The worst I've played this entire gen. SKIP IT. Not even worth 5 bucks in the bargain bin. I don't even think anyone involved with this game was even trying.
    Expand
  52. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    OK first of all everyone has to stop taking this game seriously, its a fun jump around type game which makes the player happy, this game has an engaging storyline with great japanese type graphics that has been recycled from no more heroes and shadows of the damned, sure the gameplay is a little repetitive but youll learn to love it because of upgrades and other combos, the dialogue isOK first of all everyone has to stop taking this game seriously, its a fun jump around type game which makes the player happy, this game has an engaging storyline with great japanese type graphics that has been recycled from no more heroes and shadows of the damned, sure the gameplay is a little repetitive but youll learn to love it because of upgrades and other combos, the dialogue is funny with great voice acting but the only flaw is its length which is like 4-7 hours, but journey was 2 hours so just think of it like that except 20 dollars more expensive. Expand
  53. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    They've got if all wrong. Graphics is terrible, gameplay and controls are not fluid, more like clunky and broken, dialogue is not funny enough and overall game feels very rough around the edges.
  54. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Fantastic over the top cheerleader vs zombies hack n slash action game. If you loved Dead Rising series this is similar except you play as Juliet instead of Frank West. OTT, Violent, Insane & Biarre. Its different but also unique even though its a mish mash of other game styles this has a certain Planet Terror Gindhouse movie charm & so much to love. Never a dull moment & only £29.99Fantastic over the top cheerleader vs zombies hack n slash action game. If you loved Dead Rising series this is similar except you play as Juliet instead of Frank West. OTT, Violent, Insane & Biarre. Its different but also unique even though its a mish mash of other game styles this has a certain Planet Terror Gindhouse movie charm & so much to love. Never a dull moment & only £29.99 in UK instead of the usual £39.99 (due to game length its SP & only 6-7 hours long but you need another 20 hours to max out all achievements). Only downside is no PC version (this would rock on PC please WB Games make that happen in time for Halloween!!). Expand
  55. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    "Chainsaw Lollipop" is like many of other Japanese Hack and Slash games with girls in the middle (like BulletWitch and Oneemchambara), but with the visual touch of SUDA51. The game is basically an arcade action game in 3rd person, Hack and Slash style, with zombies and an attractive protagonist: the story is cliché, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and many other of the genre:"Chainsaw Lollipop" is like many of other Japanese Hack and Slash games with girls in the middle (like BulletWitch and Oneemchambara), but with the visual touch of SUDA51. The game is basically an arcade action game in 3rd person, Hack and Slash style, with zombies and an attractive protagonist: the story is cliché, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and many other of the genre: the protagonist, Juliet, is a cheerleader who is making 18 years, and uses lollipops to give her energy (yes, this is a joke in the game) and has a chainsaw (dunno why). On her birthday, her school (San Romero High School) is infested with zombies, and even her boyfriend is affected - outraged by this, she takes the fight to save the school and her boyfriend.

    The graphics, are a mixed bag: Juliet graphics are excellent, and approach "selected" angles, but the rest of the game looks kinda square, and reminds Shadow of the Damned, which make them look as if there were a background noise on the image - I missed many details in objects, in the scenario and in the zombies. The game also have certain collision problems, for example your legs and arms do not collide against walls and sometimes they cross it.

    The CGs are very good for what I quoted above, and the menus already address other style, a comic hand drawn style: special attacks are full of colors and light effects (like in No More Heroes. The action has blood, but not as exaggerated as in Oneenchambara. When you try to use the camera to look under her skirt, she cover the front or back (there is a achievement related to this ;) )

    The dubbing is the standard of Grasshoper: a regular to good work, but the lines are often non-sense and many are cliché, and may be irritating sometimes. The music has a Teen-Rock style, as in series and B movies of related genres. Basically the other musics consists of Rock-Pop, with young singers and lyrics on such themes, as well as older high school songs, of the 50-60s, which also sets the tone for many elements.

    The action is the basic of a Hack and Slash, although not very fluid and somewhat mechanic (as in No More heroes): there are 3 types of attacks, plus a special mode when your star bar gets full. Quick low attacks with A, strong with the Y (which serves to finish and saw things in the environment), X attacks with pom-poms and kicks to make opponents dizzy and B jumps and dodge the enemies attacks. As you fill the star bar with rainbow colors, you enter a special mode with LT, where you can kill instantly any enemy, in a special screen. The game has much dismemberment scenes, and the enemies attack in waves, and by killing them you collect stars to fill the special bar and special coins to buy upgrades in stores throughout the game. The scenarios are linear , and the story does not make much sense... this point is very much like No More Heroes too. Some collectibles are in the form of colleagues who you have to save from the zombies. With the medals you win by killing zombies (platinum, gold and silver) you can buy upgrades, new moves and stuff (costumes, etc.) in a store called Chop2shop. The collectibles in the game are: things to Juliet's room (126), collection of achievements (there are 50, 49 offline and one online), Zombie Photo Album (35 pictures), a collection of lollipops (40) and collection of phone calls (21).

    Expect lots of jokes with double meaning and several scenes that shows the body of the protagonist and other girls. This game reminded me a lot another game, NeverDead, in the gameplay and in the strange story (and the use of the severed head of her boyfriend at the waist) - thought way better than this one. There is no multiplayer in the game, but one achievements needs Xbox Live, to post in the Leaderboard (another disappointment).

    Overall I was not surprised by this game, expecting a better gameplay anyway, that was more fluid, and I expected more creativity and commitment of SUDA51 - not standing still in time and innovating. The game after all is a decent Hack and Slash, with a nice overall visual, but with a mechanic gameplay - nothing that stands up high between other games of the genre.
    Expand
  56. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    A fun hack n' slash, but it could have been better. LC's slower pacing hampers what should have been fast and frenetic combat throughout- something the game would have really benefited from. Enemies take far too much damage, causing battles to drag on longer than they should. That is the only real issue I have with the game, though being that combat is largely the game's focus, it is anA fun hack n' slash, but it could have been better. LC's slower pacing hampers what should have been fast and frenetic combat throughout- something the game would have really benefited from. Enemies take far too much damage, causing battles to drag on longer than they should. That is the only real issue I have with the game, though being that combat is largely the game's focus, it is an issue felt from beginning to end. It's a good game, though it was close to being great. Aside from that, the writing is twisted, truly entertaining camp. Enjoyable from beginning to end. The characters are likable, and the story, while very straight-forward, is highly entertaining with strong focus and a worthwhile narrative. There are unlockables abound, requiring lot's of skill on the player's part, and possibly a second playthrough in order to see everything the game has to offer. The game itself is of decent length, and a potential second playthrough is made more worthwhile with separate endings based on success throughout the story. Visually, the game is nothing special. The art style, along with the graphics themselves, are highly reminiscent of Suda's earlier work - No More Heroes - just now set to a higher resolution. It gets the job done, but you will rarely be impressed by what there is to see in-game. What is impressive, however, are the stylized menus - another signature of Suda's work - his normal pseudo-punk/pop style - something that also translates to the audio, which incorporates a solid set-list that fits the game perfectly. Overall, I enjoyed the time spent with Lollipop Chainsaw. It is a solid hack n' slash with humorous writing and a good sense of style. While there are small things that would have went a long way to making the game more enjoyable, you can't argue with the end product. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    80
    Switch off your brain and bask in the silliness. [Issue#88, p.80]
  2. 70
    Bayonetta and Devil May Cry are maybe better optimized from a game design perspective but there is no other fighting game with such a sexy look as Lollipop Chainsaw. [Issue#220]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    78
    Playing Lollipop Chainsaw is exactly like eating a lollipop - once you're finished with such a luscious treat, all the excitement is gone but definitely remembered.