User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 367 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 367

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    I created a metacritic account just to praise this game. It was actually the first jrpg I really became emerged into and i have played several since. Still this one is the best, all from story, to design and character development is excellent. The battle system can get tedious and I HATE the way the sometimes (or at lest once...) throw in 5 difficult boss battles in a row without the option to save. These minor problems aside, this is a game everyone should experience, it's really that good and on my top 5 list of games ever created. Read the dream sequences!! 10/10 without doubt, even if it's nt perfect, if any game deserves it, it is this one. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    This is a great JRPG and the best on the 360. The original creator of the Final Fantasy series, Hironobu Sakaguchi, left Square Enix to create Mistwalker Corporation, which produced this game. Also, Nobuo Uematsu, who does the music for the original Final Fantasy games, worked on this game. Together, they have created a masterpiece! If you do not like old school, turn-based combat, then this game is not for you. But if you are a fan of the old Final Fantasies, then this game is for you. Good graphics, AMAZING music, good story, good characters, and GREAT gameplay!!! I loved this game and it took me 99 hours to beat it and get 1100/1100 gamerpoints (including the Seeker of the Deep DLC, which is almost freaking impossible). If you like JRPGs, this game is a must. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    An incredibly well polished JRPG, which sadly is an Xbox 360 exclusive. This game has many elements that stand out such as the dreams and the art direction. The story will quickly immerse you keep you playing for hours on end. Quite possibly the best aspect, in my opinion, is the original soundtrack. Nobuo Uematsu is a God when it comes to composing music. Definitely worth your time if you own a 360. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the best RPG games for the Xbox 360. With a strong story, lovable characters, and stunning graphics, "The Lost Odyssey" goes above and beyond the typical RPG. This game clearly surpasses the Final Fantasy games available on the Xbox 360. Although, the story is linear and there is a limited amount of "free roaming" commonly found in adventure/RPG games, "The Lost Odyssey" is still well worth your money. You can get it for a mere $9.99. Undeniably, you will get your money's worth. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best RPG on the 360 with great characters, story, pacing, music, graphics, gameplay and cinema. This is what Final Fantasy XIII should have been.
  6. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The best RPG on the 360, bar none. And I mean that Oblivion, Fallout, FF, Mass Effect, ect. It is the best RPG on the 360, bar none. I only wish I hadn't ruined it for myself by buying the guide.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    When i first played lost odyssey a few years ago in my clunky old 360 it was a bag of mixed feelings because although i definetely loved the gameplay mechanics, story and characters development, i got to admit that i was in pain because of the long load times, sometimes it felt as if i was playing an old psone rpg game. Nevertheless, having said that, and currently having the option to install the game and definetely see an improvement in the loading times department i must say its a really really good game and every fan of ol school rpgs should give it a try, Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Feels and plays like a Final Fantasy from the next generation of consoles. Old school turn based combat system with CGI rendered scenes, really big production values, great music and all a Final Fantasy can offer
  9. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Easily the best, most proper "old school" JRPG of this generation. An epic story, excellent emotional drama, memorable characters, good cinematics, and enough side quests to last for 100+ hours. Hopefully not just a homage to the golden age of JRPGs as this is exactly what there needs to be more!
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Great Game,

    I wish there were more JRPG'S like this on the market today but when you have tittles like mass effect,ff,and fallout allot of people forget where these games came from.Thanks Mistwalker for a great game I won't ever forget.
  11. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    at least as far as i know, the best really turn-based jrpg currently out there. if you take away all semi-turn-based stuff like newer final fantasies, eternal sonata, etc. and all the handheld stuff (although a lot of the games there are either strategy rpgs or just semi-turn-based anyway)... you pretty much only end up with lost odyssey. but besides the fact that it would be nice to have more games like that, that's not a bad thing. lost odyssey has gorgeous graphics, a great story and battle system and an amazing soundtrack (one of the few games i bothered to get it separately for). and if you try to do everything possible, it goes on for a long, long time - like one expects from jrpgs. i'm at 70 hours and still haven't beaten the "ultra-monster" in the game that gives you an achievement. and i don't think i even did a lot of grinding during those 70 hours. but no worries for those who feel that that is "too" long - if you just focus on the main story, i'm sure you can get through it in 25 hours or so. oh and also the story of this game is REALLY well done - i think it made me cry at one or two points. very dramatic stuff. so if you like TRULY turn-based jrpgs like e.g. the good old final fantasies, you absolutely HAVE to get this! Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    This is the real Final Fantasy XI - the true next game in the series after X. Hironobu Sakaguchi knows what the real fans want and boy did he deliver - a fairly linear world-traveling journey, a focus on your limited cast of interesting party members, an epic story with a catastrophe that changes the world for worse, a ship and field map, a gruff mechanic/pilot named "Sed" (Cid/Sid), random encounters, a solid, evenly paced turn-based battle system, mature, fully-fledged compositions by none other than Nobuo Uematsu...the list goes on. Every minute I played this game was pure Final Fantasy nostalgic bliss coupled with the excitement of playing it on a next gen console. I just wish I could have bought it at the full 60 bucks when it came out to show my support. At least there's downloadable content. So as I hoped that X wouldn't be the last of it's kind, let's hope that Lost Odyssey won't be either. Expand
  13. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Best jrpg in this generation. One of the best games in this generation. Too far the satisfaction from Final Fantasy XIII. This is a game well done. Recommended 100%
  14. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Artistically PERFECT. Inoue Arts. 33 beatiful novels to discover as "dreams" while playing the game. One of the best work of Nobuo Uematsu so far. Storyline and characters will live in your hearts for the rest of your lives. A masterpiece of incommensurable human value. A CLASSIC JRPG blessed by God :-)
  15. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Sure it may seem dated in the eyes of modern gamers, but its throwback to when JRPGs ruled the gaming market sets it apart from most RPGs on the 360, which enough depth and variety in its gameplay to keep it a fresh experience. I absolutely loved this game, from the stunning cut-scenes, to the interesting characters (characters you will care about and others you just wish would die already), its great and efficient means of exploration, I spent a good 70 hours playing through this game for the 1st time. Also unlike many JRPGs, the way this game levels you up removes the need to grind most of the time, which is something I'm sure many gamers had a gripes about. One very unique and one of my favorite things about Lost Odyssey were the dreams portion. I wasn't able to collect them all but every single one I managed to read were interestingly written, giving us background information on the specific immortal while still giving us a great short story at the same time. These were so well written, I didn't care that it was only in text. The graphics were beautiful, as expected. Walking into Numara for the 1st time reminded me of how beautifully crafted JRPGs typically are, especially since I had just played the kind of dark and gloomy settings of Fable 3 and Mass Effect 2 (both are also amazing games). Probably my only negative of the game would be the character designs, with Kaim being kind of bland looking, Seth looking a bit odd, and mainly Mack being dressed like a girl. In the end, Lost Odyssey a game I highly recommend to any RPG fan looking for a well crafted story, lots of content, great battle systems, and beautiful graphics. Expand
  16. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    More mature than the Final Fantasy saga but still with the same kind of magic. Lost odyssey is a traditional JRPG, very polished and deep. During your adventure, you can discover several secret tales that tell some of the most moving stories you will ever read. This is the best XBOX rpg and simply a big piece of art.
  17. May 27, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played. It's like a next gen final fantasy! A great game that really evokes emotion out of you! This game is very underated! The game would of got a 10, but the game drags on towards the end, I could never finish this game, cuz it was so long and the main story just kinda dragged.
  18. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Totally and utterly underated game.... i have no idea why this game didnt get more exposure, its fantastic, better than any final fantasy game that came out after the 9th one by a long shot.......... this is what final fantasy 10 should have been.... go buy now
  19. May 30, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played in my life. Lost Odyssey is a JRPG that creates a really unique world. It combined fantasy with modern innovation that I have not seen before in a fantasy setting. What made this game so good to me was 1.) the Story. 2.) The Characters and 3.) the literature. The story was so compelling and wonderful that I couldn't stop playing. I could not get enough of this game. The characters really hit home for me and they all are really well developed and you get attached to all of them even if you didn't like a particular character. The literature in this game is so wonderful that the first time I read some of it, it brought me to tears and that was only an hour into this 50+ hour epic. You need to put down your Call of Duty or Skyrim, go to Gamestop or whoever the is selling this and buy it. You will not regret it! Expand
  20. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I hate this game, i don´t like the consoles but i buy the 360 just for play this one!!
    Why it isn´t for PC? the xbox controller is so comfortable, we will miss it in the next gen... someone will buy one?

    The game is amazing, a -must have- for any rpg gamer, get ready your human side and your bunch of tears because you will cry playing this!!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 80
    It's staggeringly gorgeous, and looks and plays like a Final Fantasy title. It rarely steps away from the origins of the genre – instead playing with the 'me too!' mentality of a company that desperately wants to show the world that Square Enix can be bested.
  2. 82
    It may not be in the same class as "Mass Effect," but for a system in desperate need for more quality RPGs, Lost Odyssey fits nicely into the 360 library.
  3. 50
    We have immense respect for what Lost Odyssey tries to do: be a back-to-basics JRPG with modern technological trimmings on the 360. Unfortunately, it's less a celebration of what made older RPGs great and more a crude relic of their past.