Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    If the Lost Planet series still had any devotees, they'd probably be disappointed by this third installment's padded and passionless offering.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    The slow-burning start betrays a really engrossing game, let-down only by its rather repetitive firefights and laborious backtracking.
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    65
    Spark Unlimited did well with the game's script and the stunning landscapes, but all this gets hindered by a too-repetitive gameplay and an overly slow pace, worsened by the too many and frequent load screens.
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    50
    It's competent enough, efficient as a means to fill the day and not totally devoid of fun, but you'll never be in it with all your heart. It's time to quit and leave EDN III. This time, maybe once and for all.
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    50
    Lost Planet 3 is a weird and uninspired sequel to an already mediocre series. It's a decent game with relatively high production values, but it's just not very fun to play and I'll forget about it the second I turn it off.
  6. 60
    A disappointing entry in the Lost Planet series that occasionally shows flashes of potential, but ultimately ends up being marred by numerous problems, Lost Planet 3 manages to eke out a mildly compelling story and a solid multiplayer mode. More akin to the first game, Lost Planet 3 will nonetheless leave you cold.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    A solid third person shooter but is marred by some repetitive gameplay elements and a lack of depth with its mechanics and story.
  8. Oct 3, 2013
    50
    Lost Planet 3 does a decent job telling its story, but absolutely average, unimaginative gameplay lets it down. [Nov 2013, p.72]
  9. Aug 27, 2013
    65
    Holds some legitimate moments of brilliance, and the game shines when it comes to character development and storytelling. Unfortunately, Lost Planet 3 then ends up sabotaging itself with gameplay so dull or tedious at times that it can’t begin to support the weight of its ambitions.
  10. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    It went beyond predictable third-person shooter conceits often enough to make me glad I explored it, even if I wondered where the "could have beens" would have gone.
  11. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Lost Planet 3 is the best game from Spark Unlimited, but that isn't a real achievement (remember Legendary?). Capcom trusted a mediocre studio from California and let them create a new installment in a well known series. Fortunately everything went ok. If you don't have elevated expectations, enjoy the cold atmosphere and got a kick out of Dead Space 3, you should definitely buy LP3. This is the best game in the series and looks like a step in a good direction.
  12. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    Despite looking the part, and having some of the best voice work in a third person shooter, Lost Planet 3 turns the gun on itself with bad gameplay design, terrible boss battles, and a story that never delivers on its promises.
  13. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    Lost Planet 3 gets the hard stuff right and is ultimately likeable, but its gameplay just isn’t capable of sustaining any warm feelings you might harbour for it.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    I don't understand all of these negative reviews. Did they play the same game as me? I tried this game out first on my pc via torrents. JustI don't understand all of these negative reviews. Did they play the same game as me? I tried this game out first on my pc via torrents. Just to make sure its worth purchasing on my xbox 360. I played for about an hour, the game is loads of fun. I played the first 2 games. If you enjoyed them. You will enjoy this. Some parts can get repetative. But overall a great experience. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If itDon't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If it was released with a new franchise name without the expectations, it would have been voted much higher for the excellent character and story development, with a little less frenetic action. Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    The characters and story make a great gaming experience. I loved the facial technology. The gameplay is really fun at times and all togetherThe characters and story make a great gaming experience. I loved the facial technology. The gameplay is really fun at times and all together it makes a cool game in such an interesting setting! Full Review »