Lost Planet 3 Xbox 360

Lost Planet 3 Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lost Planet 3 is the third entry in the Lost Planet franchise. With numerous multiplayer modes and a cinematic single player experience, Lost Planet 3 delves deeper into the Lost Planet universe, uncovering hidden truths within the unique environment of E.D.N. III.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    82
    Spark Unlimited's take on EDN III is engaging and fun. It's not going to turn the genre on its head or come away with any game of the year awards, but it is the best in the series and makes the franchise relevant again.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    The slow-burning start betrays a really engrossing game, let-down only by its rather repetitive firefights and laborious backtracking.
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    70
    There's already been a price drop of about $20 for Lost Planet 3, which makes it a pretty good deal. The timing for such a thing isn't great. There are a couple new consoles launching soon and the tidal wave of 4th Quarter games has only just started, I think Lost Planet 3's window of opportunity has closed for this somewhat enjoyable mid-tier game.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    The first two games balanced out any unsavory elements with mega moments and straightforward fun. The third entry simply doesn’t have enough thermal energy to overcome its many problems.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    60
    This is one of those games that you might snag on sale and end up finding enjoyment in its merits. Just know that there are several problems that are impossible to overlook when you do. Still, fans of the Lost Planet series would do well to give it a go when it gets cheaper.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    Despite looking the part, and having some of the best voice work in a third person shooter, Lost Planet 3 turns the gun on itself with bad gameplay design, terrible boss battles, and a story that never delivers on its promises.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    40
    It's worrying when the nicest thing you can say about a game is that the early sections manage to be boring in an interesting way, but it's true for Lost Planet 3. It's a game that manages to make third-person shooting feel like work - and one that makes work feel like something that more games should explore.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If itDon't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If it was released with a new franchise name without the expectations, it would have been voted much higher for the excellent character and story development, with a little less frenetic action. Collapse
  2. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    The best in the series. Thoroughly enjoyed LP1, LP2 was the worst of them all, but this latest game is a winner. The story line was engagingThe best in the series. Thoroughly enjoyed LP1, LP2 was the worst of them all, but this latest game is a winner. The story line was engaging and the game play, while not earth shattering, was more than adequate. I like games with good story lines. I usually judge a game by how much i think about the game when i am not playing. I thought about this game quite a bit and could not wait to start playing it again to find out what happens next. I bought this game from the bargain rack at Game Stop, but would have paid full price for it. I do not play multi-player, so i cannot offer any details regarding that. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    Please ignore the professional reviewers. They are PC gaming snobs who get paid for creating controversy. Claiming that this game is dull orPlease ignore the professional reviewers. They are PC gaming snobs who get paid for creating controversy. Claiming that this game is dull or repetitive while praising games such as Dead Space 3 and Saint's Row 4, which are even more repetitive, is hypocritical. Lost Planet 3 is much deeper than the two previous Lost Planet games, and is an improvement because of it. The characters have more depth and the gameplay experience is more immersive, for example in the way you can interact with the npc-s and upgrade your weapons. The graphics and environmental designs are better looking than in the previous games, and create an even greater sense of being stuck on an icy snow planet. It is more claustrophobic than the previous games, as it takes place in an earlier time line when the planet was just getting colonized. The combat is more immersive as you now have a first-person view in your mech, something the previous games did not have. The user interface adds to the immersion by being as minimalistic as possible. The voice acting and music is great. The storyline is probably more interesting if you liked the previous two games, as a stand-alone game the storyline is OK, a bit like a cross between the film 'The Thing' and 'Aliens'. The best new element in the series is the personalization given to the main character, he is a character with a personality. So there are three new elements in this game that you haven't seen in previous Lost Planet games, a well-developed character personality, weapons customization, and first-person view Mech combat. In addition the gameplay is more open than previously, it is not as linear as the other two games. In summary, this is a great sci-fi action game. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    If you were fans of the previous two games, I find no reason to complain about this game. It is exponentially better than the first 2 games.If you were fans of the previous two games, I find no reason to complain about this game. It is exponentially better than the first 2 games. My favorite aspect was the story line, yet I mainly play games for story lines (Elder Scrolls, Fallout, Arkham series, and Dungeon Siege to name a *few.*) so this game definitely fits the criteria. Everything else (game play, locations, characters, combat, enemies, soundtrack, etc.) was either average or above average, not great but not terrible. If you appreciate games for the same reason I do, I highly recommend this game. If you play games for the visual and audio quality, game play and lots of intense action, it's either gonna be hit or miss. Hope this helped. Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    This game is playable, but also a disappointment if you were a fan of the first two and their predecessor, "monster hunter". I didn't look toThis game is playable, but also a disappointment if you were a fan of the first two and their predecessor, "monster hunter". I didn't look to see, but I would wager this was made by a different developer than both of those series. It feels like they tried to Americanize it too much, and removed all the elements that made the previous titles unique. There is too much hollywood, too much halo, too much story-- I'll watch a movie if I want to see good screenwriting. I play games when I want to kill and destroy things. I was highly disappointed in Capcom over the past few titles they have screwed up, but I thought they had redeemed themselves with Revelations. Now it seems like instead of firing the guys from RE6 they moved them to Lost Planet 3...

    Lost Planet 3 is about half the pace of 2 because of all the extra talking and unnecessary cut scenes which actually detract from gameplay-- if you're gonna use a lot of story and dialogue, make it happen in - game not in cut scenes. The game mechanics are similar but seem worse than before: aiming is unusually off centered; you can no longer grapple at will or use the hook to pick up t energy; they removed coop story mode (the staple of the series!!!) but left 5 vs 5 which noone ever played (this is not call of duty!!!); most monsters can hit you even when you dodge them, while they take 5-10 shotgun blasts to the face before dying. I mean, I know it's called hard mode, but can we get something between this and the joke of a hard mode from 2 (like maybe functioning controls)?

    What is up with the giant robots? This is not Xenosaga, as much as I would love to see that series revived (just not by Capcom). If youre gonna use giant robots you need to make them cool and fast like gundam or at least armored core, not big, slow, and useless-- (really, like 5 small aliens take out a giant steel robot and i cant even eject?!?) There are just too many things wrong with this game...we already had halo and gears of war, they should have stayed true to this game's origins. I couldn't help but notice that all the people who questioned the negative reviews admitted to never having played 1 or 2. Of course you probably like this game better now if you were a strictly halo/gow player before.
    Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    5
    While being interested in the type of storyline and environment of the lost planet franchise, I never enjoyed the games. That's why I wasWhile being interested in the type of storyline and environment of the lost planet franchise, I never enjoyed the games. That's why I was excited to see them take it in a new direction while still sticking with the same kind of concept. What I experienced wasn't as exciting. It wasn't the story, but the gameplay that makes lost planet 3 not a satisfying game. Having said that, the storyline is a bit dull and obvious in the end. The layout seems to borrow a lot from dead space mixed with a hint of gears of war but without the clean flow and accuracy. I went through on hard and, while I enjoy a challenge, found it to be VERY damning. The lack of being able to save whenever you want to was also a source of annoyance. There is also a large part of the game dedicated to mech combat and playtime which normally is very exciting to me...unfortunately, it too was flawed. The mech controls were quite clunky and very slow. The combat was boring and hard to aim a lot of the time. I resorted to step on most things rather than try to hit them or engage in the 1 second counter window. Some boss fights were double frustrating due to having to go through the previous 2 minute long cut scene (in addition to the just as long load times) before starting the fight again after dying. It really killed my momentum.

    The only time i would suggest you play this is either you've borrowed/rented it or someone has offered to buy it for you. If those don't work out, wait for it to go down in price which I doubt will be a long wait. I'm OK with playing it...but the fact I paid 60$ for it still stings. Not the worst game but its not good either...it's just kinda...there.
    Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    0
    Starts out strong but just loses all momentum at about the 1/4 mark. Terrible shooting, drunk aiming and a melee attack that does NOTHING. I'mStarts out strong but just loses all momentum at about the 1/4 mark. Terrible shooting, drunk aiming and a melee attack that does NOTHING. I'm a huge fan of the 1st Lost Planet and to some degree the 2nd but this skid mark in the series has none of the Akrid epicness of the first two that made them great. Arkid in this game are an annoyance, you pray that there isn't a fight round the next corner because it's just not fun. At all. Not even a bit. And some genius mapped the grenade button where the change weapon should be so have fun wasting grenades, which are really prescious this time round.

    Also this game is incredibly frustrating, controller throwing frustrating. Shooting is not accurate, the game is unfair and VERY cheap, there is no skill required just the ability to keep going with the same repetitive s**t and to endure continually watching the same loading screen/ cut scene until the next button you need to press or white/ container filled corridor. I finished it out of spite and it was not a good feeling. For any fans of the original 2, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, it is not Lost Planet, and it will just leave a bad taste in your mouth.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews