Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lost Planet 3 is the third entry in the Lost Planet franchise. With numerous multiplayer modes and a cinematic single player experience, Lost Planet 3 delves deeper into the Lost Planet universe, uncovering hidden truths within the unique environment of E.D.N. III.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 43
  2. Negative: 5 out of 43
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    82
    Spark Unlimited's take on EDN III is engaging and fun. It's not going to turn the genre on its head or come away with any game of the year awards, but it is the best in the series and makes the franchise relevant again.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    The slow-burning start betrays a really engrossing game, let-down only by its rather repetitive firefights and laborious backtracking.
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    70
    There's already been a price drop of about $20 for Lost Planet 3, which makes it a pretty good deal. The timing for such a thing isn't great. There are a couple new consoles launching soon and the tidal wave of 4th Quarter games has only just started, I think Lost Planet 3's window of opportunity has closed for this somewhat enjoyable mid-tier game.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    The first two games balanced out any unsavory elements with mega moments and straightforward fun. The third entry simply doesn’t have enough thermal energy to overcome its many problems.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    60
    This is one of those games that you might snag on sale and end up finding enjoyment in its merits. Just know that there are several problems that are impossible to overlook when you do. Still, fans of the Lost Planet series would do well to give it a go when it gets cheaper.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    Despite looking the part, and having some of the best voice work in a third person shooter, Lost Planet 3 turns the gun on itself with bad gameplay design, terrible boss battles, and a story that never delivers on its promises.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    40
    It's worrying when the nicest thing you can say about a game is that the early sections manage to be boring in an interesting way, but it's true for Lost Planet 3. It's a game that manages to make third-person shooting feel like work - and one that makes work feel like something that more games should explore.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If itDon't pay attention to the negative reviews. Those are based on expectations. This is a more story driven mature game than the first 2. If it was released with a new franchise name without the expectations, it would have been voted much higher for the excellent character and story development, with a little less frenetic action. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2015
    10
    Wow I am surprised that this game received bad reviews... I never played any of the other lost planets but this one was pretty dang good. InWow I am surprised that this game received bad reviews... I never played any of the other lost planets but this one was pretty dang good. In the beginning the pacing is a bit off and the loading is annoying... But other than that this game thought outside the box. Story: Awesome - Voice Acting: Great - Game Play: Worth it. I hope these bad reviews don't stop lost planet 4 cause I sure would like to play it. Keep up the good work on this game. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    The characters and story make a great gaming experience. I loved the facial technology. The gameplay is really fun at times and all togetherThe characters and story make a great gaming experience. I loved the facial technology. The gameplay is really fun at times and all together it makes a cool game in such an interesting setting! Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Although your generic third-person shooter, the story is very well written and worth the price of admission. If you're like me and like aAlthough your generic third-person shooter, the story is very well written and worth the price of admission. If you're like me and like a mature story-based game versus how much carnage you can do then this game is worth your cash. It makes you want to see the ending. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    7
    Lost Planet 3 serves a great story offering greater depths into its universe offering a variety of combat on foot or in your mech. However itsLost Planet 3 serves a great story offering greater depths into its universe offering a variety of combat on foot or in your mech. However its out dated graphics has its hilarious moments in cut-scenes and can also get slightly repetitive in terms of combat. Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    I am extremely annoyed of this lost planet after I started playing it my stress came back,i'm like ugh what happened to team fighting now yourI am extremely annoyed of this lost planet after I started playing it my stress came back,i'm like ugh what happened to team fighting now your solo wow.....I got the game thinking it would be nice and it turned out to be very sad,hopfully trading it in for diablo cant wait. Collapse
  7. Dec 17, 2013
    0
    Starts out strong but just loses all momentum at about the 1/4 mark. Terrible shooting, drunk aiming and a melee attack that does NOTHING. I'mStarts out strong but just loses all momentum at about the 1/4 mark. Terrible shooting, drunk aiming and a melee attack that does NOTHING. I'm a huge fan of the 1st Lost Planet and to some degree the 2nd but this skid mark in the series has none of the Akrid epicness of the first two that made them great. Arkid in this game are an annoyance, you pray that there isn't a fight round the next corner because it's just not fun. At all. Not even a bit. And some genius mapped the grenade button where the change weapon should be so have fun wasting grenades, which are really prescious this time round.

    Also this game is incredibly frustrating, controller throwing frustrating. Shooting is not accurate, the game is unfair and VERY cheap, there is no skill required just the ability to keep going with the same repetitive s**t and to endure continually watching the same loading screen/ cut scene until the next button you need to press or white/ container filled corridor. I finished it out of spite and it was not a good feeling. For any fans of the original 2, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, it is not Lost Planet, and it will just leave a bad taste in your mouth.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews