Lost Planet: Extreme Condition Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 184 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 184
  2. Negative: 33 out of 184
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelL.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    This game has a great story and the fire FXs are amazing. and its great because how many Akrid you have to kill AWESOME!!!.
  2. PlayerH.
    Jan 24, 2007
    5
    Decent game. Great graphics and great third person control. I bought it for the online action and the third person view and have been disappointed with the online play. The large maps online are a mess...you run for 2 minutes to find someone to shoot, you get killed, then you spawn at the beginning and do it all over again, very boring even if you are the guy who gets the kill. On the Decent game. Great graphics and great third person control. I bought it for the online action and the third person view and have been disappointed with the online play. The large maps online are a mess...you run for 2 minutes to find someone to shoot, you get killed, then you spawn at the beginning and do it all over again, very boring even if you are the guy who gets the kill. On the small maps, there's so much smoke and other explosion effects blurring your vision you can't see who you're shooting at half the time. Also, you can't exit an online match with out exiting the game completely and restarting it. There was so much potential for this game and you can feel it at times but it's disappointing that the forementioned things really ruin the game for me. Note to developers, make smaller maps with more objectives and shorting time rounds....if this had SOCOM esk multiplayer it would have been the next biggest thing. Instead it's just another game on the long list of decent attempts at online multiplayer mayhem. Expand
  3. RavenX301
    Jan 29, 2007
    7
    I kinda feel stuipid for buying this game. I seen the reviews and read almost all of them, but it was so good side bad side i didnt know what to think. Sense there is NO good games out for my PS3, 360, or Wii (I already got WARIO!) thenn i needed SOMETHING to feel my trigger finger. This does do that, but i dont really feel the explosive feeling in the guns that Gears of War had....NotI kinda feel stuipid for buying this game. I seen the reviews and read almost all of them, but it was so good side bad side i didnt know what to think. Sense there is NO good games out for my PS3, 360, or Wii (I already got WARIO!) thenn i needed SOMETHING to feel my trigger finger. This does do that, but i dont really feel the explosive feeling in the guns that Gears of War had....Not that this was suppose to pass GOW but it should of mustarded some kind of power..it just feels like the bullets are spraing out. I dont feeel like i am hurting the creatures at all. that was the big big big BIG dissapointment. I couldnt care about story....the Grahpics are lovely and really sold me at first sight and even now......I like the idea of being in a Winter land becasue it hasnt been really REALLY done before this buetifully. Still........i am really left wanting....and not wanting another Gears of War this soon, but i wanted a really fun and powerfully shooter which should be natural for all shooters now a days. I get the fun, but i am still cheated from an other wise unbeileveable experenice with the low impact guns. THey look grewat! but they pack no punch...I cant tell sometimes if I am actually shooting or not.........P.S I feel like a fool also for paying out hard money for PS3.....The 360 and Wii is really all iu needed and all anyone would need. The PS3 has been (Including old PS2 games) a massive dissapoinment. not becasue of the weak start it has, but i thought PS games were good! All the reviews were amazing for so many games i thought it would be great to get a PS3 and get some PS2 games for it till the real ones comes out...but other than Soul Cabliur 3 (Which isnt THAT great) i havnt had much fun at all.....Infact i think sony games are rather cheap...they feel like a second hand Xbox......I hate it and am very angrey at myself for that. Maybe this is why there is such a bad vibe between PS users and 360 users........They know that Mircosoft makes much more valued hardware games than Sony, but feel so foolish about likeing it. Althought Sony has way way more games the actually good games are very very few and far between and even those good games are not as good as the 360 or normal Xbox games....... Expand
  4. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game was decent. I liked the setting and creatures but game got repetitive and story wasn't that interesting.
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    5
    The cruelty in Japanese game design is fully explored in this game: if you die at the end of a level you often have to start again from the beginning of it, boss fights are very difficult on even the easiest setting and will require many hours of trial and error, you also cannot save the game whenever you want to. To add to this your character is extremely weak, he topples over very easilyThe cruelty in Japanese game design is fully explored in this game: if you die at the end of a level you often have to start again from the beginning of it, boss fights are very difficult on even the easiest setting and will require many hours of trial and error, you also cannot save the game whenever you want to. To add to this your character is extremely weak, he topples over very easily after being hit, and will keep toppling over after each subsequent hit...over and over again. In practicality there are only three difficulty settings for this game: hard, very hard, extremely hard. For me the game became too frustrating and consequently too boring after while. There is a limit to everyone's patience and in this game "positive frustration", the kind that ignites your desire to succeed, may very well turn into a black hole...draining your desire to complete the game.The question is whether you regard this kind game design as the blueprint of how games should be, or as an archaic monstrosity best left in the past. Personally I think the game's difficulty hinders the enjoyment of what is otherwise a good storyline and setting. It takes away from the game what I think is much more important than mere technical skill. Expand
  6. RyanG.
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    I believe that this game got mediocre game because they had just come from playing GoW. GoW is a great game that set high standards for the 360. Lost Planet isn't necessarily as good as GoW, but it has a kick that is enjoyable. The single player can be finished in 4-5 hours on Easy & 7-12 on Normal(I'm not sure about Hard). Pros: 1. Great Graphics(Not as detailed as GoW, but I believe that this game got mediocre game because they had just come from playing GoW. GoW is a great game that set high standards for the 360. Lost Planet isn't necessarily as good as GoW, but it has a kick that is enjoyable. The single player can be finished in 4-5 hours on Easy & 7-12 on Normal(I'm not sure about Hard). Pros: 1. Great Graphics(Not as detailed as GoW, but still can be considered "next-gen." 2. Enjoyable Online: The online consists of about 4 modes with each with distinct attributes. 3. Good Single-player: Probably has the best boss fights in any game. Cons: 1. Speed of Character: The main character walks very slow. Sometimes I found myself walking for minutes without any excitement. 2. Single player is too short(see above). 3.Story & Voice Acting: While this won't really ruin the game experience, it is a con. The story is sort of complicated and the cutscenes are over very long (you can skip them). The voice actors are very very average. Overall: This game is very good, and deserves a spot in your 360 collection. If you're still hesitant by the reviews, try renting the game first to see for yourself. Lost Planet is a very enjoyable game, and is one of the best Xbox 360 game so far this year (2007). Expand
  7. capcomfan
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    video games are popular. every class of person plays video games. you can now consider all reviews positive or negative useless . if you have a 360 . download the demo . and decide for yourself . i like it . but i am a retard . if i hated it . i would still be a retard . support capcom download the demo . amen
  8. JonathanG.
    Jan 17, 2007
    8
    It had great game play but it really didnt do anything new. It had great graphics but it didn't seem like it had al lot of the small details that I have gotten used to in other next gen games.
  9. BenG.
    Mar 28, 2007
    1
    Lost Planet is more drab, slow, mundane, and shallow than any other shooter I've played. The graphics are very nice, but don't dare make the mistake of believing that Lost Planet is worthy of a comparison to games like Gears of War.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    1
    This game is extremly bad. It's unrefined and it's by my opinion, the definition of bad and frustrating gameplay; in a landscape of only snow and boring combat, this game really stands out in the crowd. No time for exploration and no freedom what so ever.
  11. Dec 24, 2013
    5
    Game play was repetitive and story sparse, the aiming was nice a tight and the ability to traverse the environment was a nice thought but quite choppy. The best different little thing this game did was with it's cold heat source dynamic and life/time limit, these, whilst interesting ideas were pretty poor and similar concepts were dealt with much better in the game metro 2033. A stockGame play was repetitive and story sparse, the aiming was nice a tight and the ability to traverse the environment was a nice thought but quite choppy. The best different little thing this game did was with it's cold heat source dynamic and life/time limit, these, whilst interesting ideas were pretty poor and similar concepts were dealt with much better in the game metro 2033. A stock standard 3rd person shooter. Expand
  12. JohnN.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I love how difficult this game is. A boss battle can take up to 4 hours to beat. It is frustrating until you actually beat it, and then you feel a sense of accomplishment. The story doesn't blow me away, but the weapons and fights are quite awesome. I think some people were prepared to diss this game from the start. It is my 3rd favorite 460 game behind Gears of War and F.E.A.R.
  13. JairoArevalo
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    This games rocks!!! Absolutly retro-hypercool action!.
  14. Smokedog
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    Boss fights are just total and utter carnage, with explosions and smoke everywhere. Forget Gears of War, this is miles better!
  15. JohnR.
    Jan 13, 2007
    8
    Good game, some annoyances that probably wouldve been ironed out with a better dev team.
  16. JakeB.
    Feb 1, 2007
    4
    Sure, everything looks great. But I can't enjoy the freaking game if I can't play. I need a southpaw option and the game just doesn't have it. What a colossal waste of time and money.
  17. JacekO.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Incredible, amazing graphics and battles; climate.
  18. CharlesM.
    Jun 6, 2009
    4
    Unfortunately, as with so many games developed in Japan, the complete lack of balance in boss battles ruins this game. It's not just the difficulty level, it's the hackneyed cheap trick of creating the illusion of challenge by removing any control of the player character for 95% of the battle while the game beats up on you at will. In boss battles, don't be surprised to see Unfortunately, as with so many games developed in Japan, the complete lack of balance in boss battles ruins this game. It's not just the difficulty level, it's the hackneyed cheap trick of creating the illusion of challenge by removing any control of the player character for 95% of the battle while the game beats up on you at will. In boss battles, don't be surprised to see hundreds of Mission Failed screens while exercising control over your character for mere seconds at a time. I finished it, but have no intention of ever going near this poor excuse for design ever again. Expand
  19. JohnJ.
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    Going out on a limb as an advocate of the plot, I might be one of a smaller percentage of reviewers. I believe something so subjective should not have influenced magazine reviews and the like to such a degree. That's why I give it an 8. For someone who understands and enjoys Japanese style character and drama add on another point. Most point deducting mishaps I felt came from Going out on a limb as an advocate of the plot, I might be one of a smaller percentage of reviewers. I believe something so subjective should not have influenced magazine reviews and the like to such a degree. That's why I give it an 8. For someone who understands and enjoys Japanese style character and drama add on another point. Most point deducting mishaps I felt came from gameplay and were more balancing issues or features that could have been tweaked or rounded out which is a shame. These include simple things like not being able to grapple while jumping and a generally slightly sluggish feeling movement system for a fast paced action game. On the whole the game feels like an immaculately presented, beautifully designed (particularly the art direction) and fun action game typical of Capcoms best efforts. An amusing, light hearted, multiplayer mode adds icing to the cake. Expand
  20. ShaneS.
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Lost planet is a cross between a third person shooter, and a mech game. It's pretty much the only game I've played where getting out of your vehicle actually adds to the gameplay rather than take away from it. Certian things like timed button mashes, escort missions, and getting out of vehicles to walk on foot just don't work in most games. But Lost Planet, and Resident Lost planet is a cross between a third person shooter, and a mech game. It's pretty much the only game I've played where getting out of your vehicle actually adds to the gameplay rather than take away from it. Certian things like timed button mashes, escort missions, and getting out of vehicles to walk on foot just don't work in most games. But Lost Planet, and Resident Evil 4 manage to make these things work very very well. Resident Evil 4 makes escort missions, and timed button mashes work well, and Lost Planet makes getting out of vehicles work well. While on foot you have a creative and varied arsenal of grenades, machine guns, rifles, and rocket launchers. You can also rip weapons off of mechs and use them. These weapons slow you down though, and have big reload times. You can only carry two weapons at once (grenades do not count as one of your two weapons) ala Halo. Over half of your on foot weapons are explosives, and you'll be thankfull for that because you'll often be battling insects and mechs twice your size. While on foot you also have a grappling hook that you can use to repel from high places, or climb to otherwise unreachable spots commando style. The mechs in the game are pretty varied in function. Some hover in the air for a short time, some jump extremely high, and others transform into tanks or motorcycles. The motorcycle mech can be a bit tricky to use and annoying, but all the other mechs are a breeze to use. Mech weapons vary from gatling guns to rocket launchers and shotguns. The insects in this game are either gigantic behemoths or unending swarms of smaller creatures. Many of the creatures in this game offer a sense of scale that is downright scary. Basically you are thrust right into the worlds of Starship Troopers or Blue Gender. The boss battles often have you facing down a gigantic insect or a super mech. Many of the insect bosses are enough to make Samus Aran green with envy. In Lost Planet you have a power meter of sorts. All enemies drop energy for your power meter after dying. Bigger enemies drop bigger pools of energy. When you take damage this energy drops. Needless to say when you die it is because you ran out of energy and froze to death. Your energy is constantly going down in the game because it takes energy to run your life support system. Getting in a mech causes your energy to drain even faster because you need that energy to run the mech. I never once died because I failed to collect energy fast enough. All of my deaths came from simply being pounded by enemies enough to make my power meter drop enough for me to freeze to death. You'll find none of the annoying energy problems that plagued Ultimate Spiderman's Venom. Overall Lost Planet is a great game that I'd recommend to anyone that is a fan of arcade shooters. Pros: Getting out of vechicles was done extremely well. Monsters are huge and scary. Lots of fun original weapons to use. Grappling hook is tons of fun. Challenging bosses. Cons: Humans are can often be easy to kill unless they are packing rocket launchers (and they do often). 9.4/10 Expand
  21. Matticus
    Jan 18, 2007
    8
    What I've found most difficult to believe is that after playing the demo from E3, reviewers were surprised that the game didn't have more to it. I played the demo, thoroughly enjoyed it, and the final product inspired the same feelings. The pacing is reminiscent of Panzer Dragoon Orta, where simple arcade-style gameplay rushes you through a fairly short quest (which is a good What I've found most difficult to believe is that after playing the demo from E3, reviewers were surprised that the game didn't have more to it. I played the demo, thoroughly enjoyed it, and the final product inspired the same feelings. The pacing is reminiscent of Panzer Dragoon Orta, where simple arcade-style gameplay rushes you through a fairly short quest (which is a good thing if you've ever played the aforementioned). The story is not what I would call generic, but the storytelling certainly isn't up to par with games like, oh, God of War. But I wasn't expecting this to be the next God of War or RE4. The demo showed everything to the game. Great graphics and presentation, an arcade style shooting mechanic, and mechanical suit battles. All consistute a shallow but very enjoyable game. May not be worth 60 dollars but it's sure as hell worth renting. Expand
  22. JaneA.
    Jan 1, 2007
    4
    Only two stretches, snow covered capes and underground caverns. Just like gears-of-war, this game falls short in attempts to deliver a wholesome view of a planet on the whole. In gears-of-war there were only techno-cities and caves being the major canvas and in lost-planet its snow-towns and caverns. Where are those beaches, forests, deserts ans swamps that are integral to the display of Only two stretches, snow covered capes and underground caverns. Just like gears-of-war, this game falls short in attempts to deliver a wholesome view of a planet on the whole. In gears-of-war there were only techno-cities and caves being the major canvas and in lost-planet its snow-towns and caverns. Where are those beaches, forests, deserts ans swamps that are integral to the display of a planet where a story has to establish ? Expand
  23. DanielK
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    I beat this game a week ago in single-player, and it was the most incredible experience I have ever had while playing a video game. The "professional" reviews it has recieved so far are bullsh.t (besides Gamebrink's and the official xbox magazine). Fantastic story, gameplay, graphics, and it was just plain fun as hell. The only problem in some areas were incredibly frustrating I beat this game a week ago in single-player, and it was the most incredible experience I have ever had while playing a video game. The "professional" reviews it has recieved so far are bullsh.t (besides Gamebrink's and the official xbox magazine). Fantastic story, gameplay, graphics, and it was just plain fun as hell. The only problem in some areas were incredibly frustrating difficult-as-hell boss aliens. Once you beat them though (the first few are the hardest) the game continues to shine. And besides, the bosses are amazing in their own right, as they really make your heart pound get your adrenaline rushing. Expand
  24. JamesA.
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    Lost Planet is a nod to the 'Old School' gaming you fondly remember. Delivered in a beautiful graphics package with incredible audio. I love this game ... it delivers and keeps your attention from start to finish. Multiplayer is a nice change of pace from the typical shooter fare. Thank you Capcom for making games fun again.
  25. JamesL.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Capcom does it again....except for the story...well kind of.
  26. MarkB.
    Feb 14, 2007
    3
    For 59 bucks for this game I feel ripped off. too short. I'd make this one a rental.
  27. RavenX301
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    At first I didn't like this game....it looked wonderful, but i kept on feeling cheated. Although I still feel cheated by its very VERY brief levels and lack of PUNCH in the guns, I am starting to buy into this game. However, it is a let down from GOW and RB6, but the environments are what make a different and (for me) worth playing. The Story acting isn't TERRIBLE, but the story At first I didn't like this game....it looked wonderful, but i kept on feeling cheated. Although I still feel cheated by its very VERY brief levels and lack of PUNCH in the guns, I am starting to buy into this game. However, it is a let down from GOW and RB6, but the environments are what make a different and (for me) worth playing. The Story acting isn't TERRIBLE, but the story does suck so don't expect a great epic game. P.S does anyone else have trouble with this game freezing after a certain time of play...It really bothers me. Expand
  28. Macavity
    May 4, 2007
    6
    you know something?...i think its time they made ragdoll physics and havoc engine a standard with every action game. if i see animated deaths in a next-gen title...like lost planet, its just not going to do anything for me at all. capcom did the same with dead rising...you can throw things around in a havoc style but zombies just fall down and die in an animated way...how hard is it to you know something?...i think its time they made ragdoll physics and havoc engine a standard with every action game. if i see animated deaths in a next-gen title...like lost planet, its just not going to do anything for me at all. capcom did the same with dead rising...you can throw things around in a havoc style but zombies just fall down and die in an animated way...how hard is it to use ragdolls? even my syphon filter game for psp has ragdolls for cryin out loud! Expand
  29. Rol
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    Beautiful and fun in an arcade not realistic way. Games this good are rare. My new favourite 360 game. And why do some of the reviews undervalue the multiplayer. It's great. Maps are interesting and you can change the layouts of each map. Also the free CE map is very good as well. Plenty of life in the multiplayer maybe more than Gow's to be truthful.
  30. NickM.
    Jan 13, 2007
    6
    Great graphics, decent game play, and one bad story. Lost Planet is a pretty big letdown in the long run. Some innovative game play mechanics allow a unique experience that in the end gets beaten down with the bloody fist of redundancy.
  31. WillS.
    Jan 13, 2007
    8
    I think this game is very entertaining I like how they put the cool weapon and machine choices. The graphics are stunning. A.I. perfect! But fighting does get a little old even though this game has only been out for a day. I give this game a whopping 8 out of 10.
  32. HWNDarkside
    Jan 15, 2007
    5
    A big F U to Capcom for not including southpaw control options. Who cares if everything is pretty if you can't control the action? Another waste of £40. Fill in the bin, next to FEAR, GRAW and Gears Of War.
  33. StephenS.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    The graphica integrity is astounding and easily the best looking broad pallete game on the system. The best fir, smoke and explosions of any game ever. Main character and mech controls are spot on. The grappling hook could have been made better use of ...but all and all a t top notch game. LIVe play makes for a casual gamers paradise with just enough for hardcore players to have a blast.
  34. CodyB.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    Lost Planet is very refreshing. It takes me back to the days of satisfaction playing Contra... with a little Mechassault. The controls were a little sketchy at first, but once I got the hang of it, they were as smooth as silk. Sure there are some design flaws, like, walking through some graphical ice, but I am not here to nit-pick at this game. If it wasn't for the weak story and Lost Planet is very refreshing. It takes me back to the days of satisfaction playing Contra... with a little Mechassault. The controls were a little sketchy at first, but once I got the hang of it, they were as smooth as silk. Sure there are some design flaws, like, walking through some graphical ice, but I am not here to nit-pick at this game. If it wasn't for the weak story and cheezy acting, I would have given this game a 10. Other than that, I think the graphics are great, the gameplay is solid, and the boss battles are unbelievable! For me, this game has as much replay value as Halo. Expand
  35. BobS.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    This game is great! the campaign is a little short but awesome every step of the way. the multiplayer is fun too . if u like 3rd person shooters, but are looking for something different than Gears of War or Halo, this is the game for you.
  36. JimC.
    Jan 2, 2007
    4
    Its not up to my expectations. I had trouble with the controls and responsiveness. graphics are fair, but not the best ive seen on 360
  37. HeinrichN.
    Jan 24, 2007
    3
    Hi all. I bought this game for 600 rand and it lasted me one day. Surely they should have made it longer lasting. The graphics are awesome and the explosions make you want blow up everything. I just wish they would have given a indication on how long the gameplay would be. I just blew 600 rand in day.
  38. FOJAKV
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    My really rating is 8.5 but ther´s is no half points in Metacritic ratings.
    Good game, challenging battles with bosses, some minor issues but doesn´t affect much the gameplay. Graphics are good not the detail caliber of GOW or RSVegas, interesting replay value, a good buy. If you finished other 3rd FPS games give it a try.
  39. ScottSleeper
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    Great graphics. Tough bosses.
  40. gingerman
    Jan 5, 2007
    7
    i played the demo and kind of curious what the other levels look like, but from what i understand capcom does not use rag dolls...just like dead rising, the lack of proper physics hold these titles back. if you ever played call of duty 2 and 3 you know what an immense difference true physics make. cod3 is supperior to cod2 just because it has a true physics engine. considering 360 is ai played the demo and kind of curious what the other levels look like, but from what i understand capcom does not use rag dolls...just like dead rising, the lack of proper physics hold these titles back. if you ever played call of duty 2 and 3 you know what an immense difference true physics make. cod3 is supperior to cod2 just because it has a true physics engine. considering 360 is a very powerfull machine, a.k.a next-gen...i would have hoped that lost planet raised the bar instead of just being another silly sci-fi shooter. if you dont use ragdoll physics in a shooting game, where are you gona use it?...in a game about killing things, if the killing doesnt look good...its over for me. games like these go for 60 dollars, not 6 dollars...so we need bang for our buck, its that simple. Expand
  41. Donny
    Jan 8, 2007
    9
    Do you miss the action arcade of old? Do you like beautifully designed levels with superb boss battle? Then this game is for you. Don't let the game sites fool you. This game is superb. Sure the story isn't great and the dialogue could use some work but the gameplay is spot on, multiplayer is incredibly fun and the singleplayer has replayablitiy thanks to the tokens you can find!
  42. Hawkemann
    Feb 12, 2007
    7
    The Good: Great graphics, incredible explosions, good multilayer, unique "life" meter The Bad: Each level is about fighting a different boss. The bosses are great but if your not into fighting bosses don't buy it.
  43. StigmataJ.
    Feb 18, 2007
    4
    Great graphics. Not the best game play. Missions are absurdly easy with bad a.i., no ability to run through lengthy segments and very hard boss fights that take too many repetitions until you win by luck.
  44. GrettS.
    Feb 3, 2007
    4
    So, I rented this game as i do with all xbox games, cause it's pretty much hit and miss when it comes to good games, and i can say I'm happy i rented this one. The game play is repetitive, the dumbest AI ever, i mean, it was like i was getting a flashback to the late 90's where AI stood there and let you shoot them and didn't anything more intelligent then duck every So, I rented this game as i do with all xbox games, cause it's pretty much hit and miss when it comes to good games, and i can say I'm happy i rented this one. The game play is repetitive, the dumbest AI ever, i mean, it was like i was getting a flashback to the late 90's where AI stood there and let you shoot them and didn't anything more intelligent then duck every now and then, wait that is what this AI does, YIPEE! i guess the game designers decided to make up for the lame AI and fall back to the traditional tride and true method of boring gamers by throwing mass's of enemies at them. Yeah, just what i want from a next generation game, old style but mashing, mind numbing old school tactics. Playing a button mashing game is alright if you have maybe 3 or 4 bosses througout the game, but every time you turn a corner you've got another button mashing no skill boss to kill, i mean BORING !!!. A good game is not, in my opinion, throw as many boss's and enemis at a player as possible, but cut the amount of bad guys in half and make them more challenging. Unfortunately, the cool concepts, and good graphics (COD3 is better) in the game are out weighed by the button mashing, dumb boring AI ,over kill on the boss's and the overall repetive boring game play. The story is kind of interesting, but nothing to write home aobut. As for online, it sucks. the only reason to buy a game, i figure, is if it has awesome on line play. The campaign can be average, but hey, we all want to be able to take our skill and pit it against other people, in as close to realistic settings as possible, did i hear someone say, blood lust lol. So, to summarize my rant, i mean opinon, this game is okay if you like button mashing, and if you have nothing to do for a few hours on a saturday. DON'T BUY IT, RENT IT. YOU'LL BE HAPPY YOU DID Expand
  45. BretG.
    Feb 6, 2007
    7
    Although the story isn't mindblowing, the game packs enough wallop with its massive effects and awesome boss battles to make it worth your while. The online battles are great fun and don't suffer nearly as much lag as games like Prey. Vital Suit controls are smooth and very easy to get the hang of. All the weapons are killer and the levels are challenging enough without being Although the story isn't mindblowing, the game packs enough wallop with its massive effects and awesome boss battles to make it worth your while. The online battles are great fun and don't suffer nearly as much lag as games like Prey. Vital Suit controls are smooth and very easy to get the hang of. All the weapons are killer and the levels are challenging enough without being too frustrating. Overall, the graphics are fantastic, its a solid game, but it could've used a little more development in the story department. 7 out of 10. Expand
  46. HamishB.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    Short and predictable, but loads of fun. Great graphics and large universe to explore.
  47. ChadL.
    May 13, 2007
    10
    This game is so fun and the online is unbeliveable maybe some glitches but its by far the best game ive ever played.
  48. RobC.
    Aug 17, 2007
    8
    This game looks great, feels great, and is great. The minor faults are'nt worth crying over, because in truth, if you love great games, you'll love this baby.
  49. StevieB.
    Aug 24, 2007
    7
    I am being VERY genorous giving this game a seven. i would give the graphics 89% as the explosions are f**king awesome. i would give the sound 74% and i would give the gameplay 40% the environments are tiny there is nowhere to explore. it is also very very very very repetitive with no replay value at all, you wont even want to finish it nevermind go back to it once you have. once youve I am being VERY genorous giving this game a seven. i would give the graphics 89% as the explosions are f**king awesome. i would give the sound 74% and i would give the gameplay 40% the environments are tiny there is nowhere to explore. it is also very very very very repetitive with no replay value at all, you wont even want to finish it nevermind go back to it once you have. once youve seen the first 2 levels youve seen it all it doesnt get any better. overall i would give this game 59%. Expand
  50. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    I really enjoyed the nex-gen Capcom graphics that you would find in this game and Dead Rising. The story mode the best I've played on Xbox 360 so far and the multiplayer is great and piloting the mechs is cool.
  51. PatrickS.
    Jan 6, 2008
    7
    I like the game, but there were a few aspects missing that make it a worth while game like Halo. It just needs a little touch-up job is all.
  52. ACE5
    Dec 29, 2006
    5
    It seems like the Capcom had an ambitious idea when they came up with Lost Planet... But at the end of the day, this game just doesn't seem to be put together too well. They had the concept right, but the execution is lacking...A.K.A..."Not alot of fun to play!" At least we got Dead Rising though.
  53. BlakeK.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    I honestly loved this game. The graphics are great and I enjoyed the gameplay. Some people are complaining about the game being mostly snow, but that's what the planet is. A snow covered planet, no forests or beaches. As for multiplayer, it's one of the best I've played in a while. If you're not sure if you'll like it, rent it, but I'm sure you'll want I honestly loved this game. The graphics are great and I enjoyed the gameplay. Some people are complaining about the game being mostly snow, but that's what the planet is. A snow covered planet, no forests or beaches. As for multiplayer, it's one of the best I've played in a while. If you're not sure if you'll like it, rent it, but I'm sure you'll want to go out and buy it that very day. Expand
  54. MikeL.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    ACE5 wrote:
    "It seems like the Capcom had an ambitious idea when they came up with Lost Planet... But at the end of the day, this game just doesn't seem to be put together too well. They had the concept right, but the execution is lacking...A.K.A..."Not alot of fun to play!" At least we got Dead Rising though."
    Ok, take that review and COMPLETELY reverse it for the truth.
    ACE5 wrote:
    "It seems like the Capcom had an ambitious idea when they came up with Lost Planet... But at the end of the day, this game just doesn't seem to be put together too well. They had the concept right, but the execution is lacking...A.K.A..."Not alot of fun to play!" At least we got Dead Rising though."

    Ok, take that review and COMPLETELY reverse it for the truth. I'm not even sure what game that guy is playing. Everything in this game shines, from the graphics, animations, gameplay, story, and online. It's a total masterpiece that has you completely hooked as soon as you first get to control your guy in single player, and multiplayer it has you wanting to play match after match, especially if you are playing ranked matches, because it is awesome to see your rank go up and up as you play more.

    I can't reccomend this game enough to people that want that "killer app" for their 360. This is the real deal. A+++++ title!
    Expand
  55. TerryS.
    Jan 16, 2007
    2
    This game did not live up to expectations for me. I'd reccomend a pass. Nothing special.
  56. LeeB.
    Jan 16, 2007
    5
    The story is weak. Alot of derivative gameplay. Starts off cool, but loses interest fast. Enemy A/I is weak for a FPS.
  57. WyattG.
    Oct 17, 2007
    8
    There is a lot to like about this game and only a few things to dislike. Starting with the good; the graphics are good, so to are the weapons in particular the ones on the VS's. Fighting bugs is fun. The grappling hook adds a new dimension. The boss fights range from challenging to near impossible (even on the medium difficulty setting), which means when you finally defeat them you There is a lot to like about this game and only a few things to dislike. Starting with the good; the graphics are good, so to are the weapons in particular the ones on the VS's. Fighting bugs is fun. The grappling hook adds a new dimension. The boss fights range from challenging to near impossible (even on the medium difficulty setting), which means when you finally defeat them you feel a real sense of achievement (that's if you have not thrown your controller through the tv ! ....grrrr that green eye boss was hell hard). The story mode is a good length and the missions are varied in location, although the aim is the same...get from point A to point B whilst killing anything that gets in your way. The online multiplayer is great, there are a huge number of maps and the fighting is intense. So the bad ? .... story is crap, cut scenes are annoyingly long (in fact 1/2 way through I just stopped watching them and found that it made no difference to my gameing experience), and voice acting is pretty poor. Also there is no co-op mode, which for me is a big negative in a shooter. Replay value ? If you like achievements then like me you will probably play the game through a second time to find the gold target mark coins that are scattered through each mission (and some of these are so hard to find that you may need a walkthrough guide to find them). Although not up to the standard of some other shooters on the 360 I would be surprised if you did not enjoy the game. Expand
  58. TheMoo
    Jan 31, 2007
    8
    Definitely a good game. not the best of them all, but yes, passes time quickly from boss to another. Didn't like the repetitive (after a while) gameplay, but I guess can't get it all. Multiplayer's awesome. should have worked a bit more on graphics. Playing this after Gears of War is kinda disappointing.
  59. JackF.
    Feb 23, 2007
    3
    Try as I may, I just cant seem to get over some of the shortcomings of this game. It shines in some areas and falls short in others. But ultimately, I classify this as failing to live up to my expectations.
  60. DominicK.
    Jun 25, 2007
    9
    Great Game! Single Player is like going through a Sci FI Movie and Xbox Live MP is the best!! This game as already added three map packs with three new maps in each one and has also put out one free map for download from Xbox Live.
  61. nikephoros
    Mar 17, 2008
    3
    This game's sins were far greater than its virtues. Positive Aspects: I really liked its premise (human survival on a science fiction ice world), the captivating environment (beautiful art and decent sound), and the time pressure (player has to constantly replenish thermal energy during game play or his character will die). Neutral Aspects: I was ambivalent about the shooter/mech This game's sins were far greater than its virtues. Positive Aspects: I really liked its premise (human survival on a science fiction ice world), the captivating environment (beautiful art and decent sound), and the time pressure (player has to constantly replenish thermal energy during game play or his character will die). Neutral Aspects: I was ambivalent about the shooter/mech components of this game. They were not bad, just not necessarily better than anything that has already come out. The game has a grappling hook which I thought looked pretty cool, however except for the mountain climbing tasks, its use during game play felt superfluous (i.e. a chore/novelty). More could have been done to bring out the fun platforming potential of this device. Negative Aspects: I disliked the game due to three main issues. Issue 1 - Main character control felt really slow and sluggish. Perhaps this was by design (to capture the fact that this was a cold environment). His constant need to pause after performing controller actions (i.e. jumping or grappling), slow foot speed, and slow panning rates made some tactical situations extremely frustrating - especially when against multiple opponents or opponents who could move fast. The game uses the left and right bumpers for quick 90 degree left/right panning, but it did not feel natural to use during play. Issue 2 - Camera angles and visual cues were occasionally very poor, especially during boss fights. In some cases the view was too low and narrow such that the main character was unable get a decent visual of his opponent. This issue is magnified since many of the enemies/monsters were huge in scale. Another problem was that some of the visual cues in these fights were not clear (i.e. weak spots of big bosses) and get hidden by excessive special effects (i.e. ice, webs, smoke). Although learning how to fight and defeat a boss is part of the joy in most games, the implementation in "Lost Planet" made it a pretty frustrating trial-and-error experience. Issue 3 - Horrible plot and character development. For most shooter/action games, this probably wouldn't be a major gripe, but "Lost Planet" devotes a lot of time to the story. There were long cut scenes throughout the game and they made less sense as time went on. Character relationships and plot twists were extremely contrived and filled with non-sequiturs. What bothered me most was that the two human sides of the main conflict basically wanted the same goal (pacification of the ice world) and that their differences could largely have been resolved with a little thinking and no fighting. But to make the bad guys who they are, they had to use a method that would wipe out innocent humans (add evil laugh) Expand
  62. LanceF
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    Great graphics, great gameplay. Storyline needs improvement (seems very hard to follow). The mechs are nice and the overall fun factor is there. Definately worth a play.
  63. ??????????
    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    The game is good. The graphics for its time I found really cool and the explosion around the screen made me want to just stare in awe ( I couldn't because I would die) The scenery was excellent and the boss battles outrageous. I found the story line entertaining and made me feel like I was there with the characters and I really don't understand the complaints of it being hard to The game is good. The graphics for its time I found really cool and the explosion around the screen made me want to just stare in awe ( I couldn't because I would die) The scenery was excellent and the boss battles outrageous. I found the story line entertaining and made me feel like I was there with the characters and I really don't understand the complaints of it being hard to understand ????? The game does have its faults including that in 70% of all the time in the boss battles you could not move as the opponents just bashed at you again and again. The movement was way too slow, okay we get it is ice but his running is like walking! The zip line....oh the zip line. If you fell of a cliff or anything like that you dangled. Ok. Thats good right? WRONG. You could do nothing while dangling except to get shot. Not only that but you also have to wait for a moment when he falls and when he gets back up. He keeps constantly stumbling making the contorls just akward. Worth the $60 bucks. Expand
  64. YouDamnFanboyS
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Amazing, this is just another example of Capcoms great work. The gameplay is simple, and the story and graphics are just great. Online is so addictive. This is just one of those smaller titles, that you can pick up and play until no one is left online.
  65. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Lost Planet is an amazing game. First of all the game is a glorious 3rd person action, which obviously you can appreciate only if you are a normal person, and obviously can't stand 1st peson games crap. Straight second goes that the design is beautiful, it is inspired by real Japanese manga / anime style, which is beautifully crafted by a very talented Japanese artist. The game looksLost Planet is an amazing game. First of all the game is a glorious 3rd person action, which obviously you can appreciate only if you are a normal person, and obviously can't stand 1st peson games crap. Straight second goes that the design is beautiful, it is inspired by real Japanese manga / anime style, which is beautifully crafted by a very talented Japanese artist. The game looks amazing, with beautifully designed characters and rationally designed mechas, and to not forget the biologically believable designed enemy - the arachnids. And third but not least, it has the best multiplayer possible, with beautiful visionary maps, and the multiplaer mode called Post Grab, which is the most entertaing that exists still today in gaming. If you put these three elements, you have the best entertaining multiplayer gaming experience possible.

    There is also the solo game obviously, which is well crafted and is fun to play. But because of the exceptional multiplayer you will understand why not many are interested in talking about the solo, because everyone who owned and had access to internet, were busy in playing the multiplayer 24/7. You can obviously try to play the solo game even today, but you really need the multiplayer experience to understand why this game is pure genius. Unfortunately not everyone had internet access back in the days, where the game was released. This is the reason why they cannot understand why a lot of people are so excited about the game. People who never tried the multiplayed will never understand why this is the best game possible.

    Unfortunately the sequel was worse than the original, and the next sequel was even worse than the second one. Everybody who enjoyed the first original one Lost Planet are always hoping that someday they will remake a new game on the same level of the original, with the same excellent multiplayer.
    Expand
  66. FGM
    Jun 22, 2016
    8
    I love Lost Planet EC, it's a linear. arcade shooter with a cool story and nice graphics and I love it for it. Graphics were really amazing at the time of release and they are still pretty good looking. People complain that it's just snow, but hey, I think they made it clear enough before you bought the game. Shame that the sequels feel sort of a downgrade when it comes to graphics, storyI love Lost Planet EC, it's a linear. arcade shooter with a cool story and nice graphics and I love it for it. Graphics were really amazing at the time of release and they are still pretty good looking. People complain that it's just snow, but hey, I think they made it clear enough before you bought the game. Shame that the sequels feel sort of a downgrade when it comes to graphics, story and gameplay. Expand
  67. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Extremely varied gameplay, a worthy assortment of different enemies, and a harrowing set of visuals make "Lost Planet: Extreme Condition" a superb sci-fi action adventure game.
  68. Dec 9, 2013
    5
    This game falls short in many ways. My roommate had this game when it came out and I watched him play a bit of it and thought it looked interesting, so I decided to pick it up a few months back for cheap. It was not even worth the $5.00 I paid for it. The graphics still hold up pretty well, and I remember how good it looked back in the day and the story is pretty interesting, but thoseThis game falls short in many ways. My roommate had this game when it came out and I watched him play a bit of it and thought it looked interesting, so I decided to pick it up a few months back for cheap. It was not even worth the $5.00 I paid for it. The graphics still hold up pretty well, and I remember how good it looked back in the day and the story is pretty interesting, but those are the only 2 nice things I can say about it. The game is just annoying and frustrating. You spend sometimes 15 seconds straight lying on the ground because you get hit with yet another missile or grenade as soon as you finally get back to standing. The lack of any kind of sprint or speed increase just adds to the frustration of the game. This game is not challenging and hard in a fun way. It's hard because of you being on the ground constantly from explosions, from not being able to see anything for 5 seconds at a time because of ridiculous amounts of smoke covering the camera view. Thermal Energy is a neat concept and mechanic to the game, however it adds an unnecessary time limit to the game in my opinion. If you want a challenging game look elsewhere. This is not a fun game. Expand
  69. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    The single player campaign for this game is just a basic monster third-person shooter, but where the real fun comes into play is the online. I wouldn't even of wasted my time completing the campaign, but since I love the online so much I was compelled to know what the whole story behind the game was. I found the story pretty interesting, almost completely different from the online and theThe single player campaign for this game is just a basic monster third-person shooter, but where the real fun comes into play is the online. I wouldn't even of wasted my time completing the campaign, but since I love the online so much I was compelled to know what the whole story behind the game was. I found the story pretty interesting, almost completely different from the online and the last level was just awesome.

    The mechs, weapons, maps, unique types of levels and being able to pull yourself up to any height basically with the rope-gun are awesome. I spent countless hours with my friends thinking of new ways to take on the maps, whether or not to use mechs, and always trying to get that new suit.

    I like how it also showed how highly placed you were in the world and your country, that was pretty new to me in 2007. Maybe it is just nostalgia, but I remember certain maps and even times I played this game and that was about four years ago. The only problem I had with this game was that I always got put in Japanese servers so it got kinda of annoying when I couldn't understand my team mates.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    80
    It's straight out of 1989, and that makes it either archaic or retro-cool comfortable. With Capcom's steady attention to polish and presentation, Lost Planet falls into the latter category more often than not. And even if it's familiar, it's definitely not repetitive. [Jan 2007, p.48]
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    Really, this is a game of strong, simple virtues: knockout action, beautiful character design, lovingly articulated models, crisp sound and overall polish. Every now and then it'll overstretch, at which point it falls. [Jan 2007, p.76]
  3. It does what it says on the tin, and delivers heart-pounding explosions, pant-wetting big alien monsters and hordes of minions to slay. If you can overlook the fact that it doesn't challenge your Xbox 360 either intellectually or technically, and you can just get down and dirty with some big guns and even bigger odds, then you and Lost Planet are going to get along just fine. [Issue 20, p.50]