Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 50
  2. Negative: 15 out of 50
  1. A little Lost goes a long way with diehard fans. So, while I wished there were some deeper gameplay moments or a longer adventure (the game clocks in at about seven hours), I couldn't imagine, as a Lost fan, not playing this game and loving what it has to offer.
  2. 80
    We are offered up a compelling story, classically 'Lost' in fact, and fans will be more than titillated by this.
  3. Quotation forthcoming. [Apr 2008]
  4. Anyone who hasn't seen Series 1 and 2 needs to watch them before playing to understand it all. Although the game is terribly short, it is good for a quick rent as the whole adventure and Lost aspect is pulled off relatively well.
  5. Lost: Via Domus is above the average movie/show turn video game, it has its faults but does have some very nice touches.
  6. Get it, but only if you're really into the show and don't mind some casual adventuring.
  7. It had the incredibly difficult job of creating a new character in the Lost world with an interesting enough side-story, able to exist without disrupting the timeline or feeling like an aberration, and able to expose fans to at least a handful of things with which they would be satisfied, even eager, to tinker. There's no question it achieves that.
  8. Overall it's a decent effort but disappointingly there are only six missions/episodes in the game which can feel like it's all over just as you're just getting into it.
  9. Excellent for fans of the series. Everybody else: Do not take a look at this gameplay-lacking game.
  10. This game expands the show’s fiction and reveals a few mind-blowing twists, including one that has completely altered all of my theories about the show. As of the time of this writing, it is one of the biggest reveals yet.
  11. Overall, the game does not really stand out as a fabulous must own title, but if you like puzzle solving quest based games then this one should be right up your alley.
  12. This short adventure game nails the feel of both the show and the island on which it's set, but struggles with some of the characters.
  13. A great story ties together all things Lost, and the flashbacks are unique, but essentially it’s nothing that we haven’t played before.
  14. If you have the choice, check that you're really a huge fan of the show by reciting Hurley's winning lottery numbers, and then either play Via Domus on a PC or rent it.
  15. The game is not without its many shortcomings, however, and those easily frustrated by lousy checkpointing or undercooked and simplistic gameplay elements should steer clear.
  16. 65
    The real draw to Via Domus is the sheer amount of fan service poured into this disc. From the subtle nuances to the show to the proverbial flashback in each episode the game does a lot to appease its fanbase. Unfortunately that won't be enough to warrant a sixty dollar price tag for a game that can be completed in roughly 5-6 hours.
  17. If you are a fan of the show, this is an add-on you do not want to miss.
  18. While the atmosphere and character of the island and its locales are faithfully represented, sadly, the characters lack the same recognisable identity.
  19. Despite the fairly clunky gameplay mechanics, the so-so acting and the new character, you're still wandering around an island that you've spent hours watching on TV, doing things that you've seen characters do, which makes up for many of these problems.
  20. It conveys the atmosphere and mystery of the show and gives you plenty to think about. [Issue#31, p.91]
  21. Via Domus is really light on any actual action; as Elliott, you’ll mostly be solving puzzles and trying (and failing) not to get lost and frustrated while wandering around the jungle, in between conversing with other plane crash survivors and trying to figure out who you are and what’s going on.
  22. Despite the solid visuals and the slick flashback sequences there is just not enough content to give a solid recommendation to purchase a copy of Lost: Via Domus as the gameplay has far too many annoyances.
  23. Not exactly a mess of plane wreck proportions, but it is nonetheless thoroughly unremarkable and only worth the interest to see what happens.
  24. 60
    While the story is certainly entertaining, the gameplay is too linear to be taken seriously. The game can be completed in an evening, but it's undoubtedly cool being able to explore the island and its characters first hand if you watch the show.
  25. Not the step forward for TV-to-game titles that we'd hoped. Only really dedicated fans of the show need apply.
  26. The game is incredibly short, clocking in at five to six hours, and focuses too much on the things fans of the series do not want to do (random puzzles and hating your favorite characters) rather than the things they want, like exploring the island or being rewarded an answer or two.
  27. Ubisoft captured the visual spirit of the show, but the actual gameplay in the first LOST game is not worth the three-season wait.
  28. This tip-toes around the TV series rather than turning out a quality gaming experience. [Apr 2008, p.56]
  29. 55
    At least it only takes five hours to reach the conclusion.
  30. There’s a lot of detail on the scenery and the characters really look like the actors. And it follows the same structure as the show, mixing sections from the island with some flashbacks. But the gameplay is comprised of out of date mechanics and it doesn’t have what is basically the essence of Lost – a plot that really catches your attention. It doesn’t even tie well with the events of the show. [Apr 2008]
  31. As a Lost fan, I enjoyed exploring the island and interacting with survivors from the Oceanic Flight 815; as a videogames player, Via Domus feels like a wasted opportunity.
  32. I can’t deny that it captures the look of the show but it certainly doesn’t inspire me to go out and watch it.
  33. Lost Via Domus will be tempting to fans obsessed with the show, but the story—as good as it is--has no bearing whatsoever on the overall canon. It’s short, much of the gameplay amounts to a hurdle to get to the next cutscene, and at just over five hours long, under no circumstances can we recommend it for a purchase.
  34. If you’re not a fan of Lost in any way, there is just no way I can possibly recommended this game to you.
  35. While it successfully captures the atmosphere of the series thanks to its episodic nature, excellent environmental visuals and use of the show's soundtrack, it suffers from spotty voice acting, repetitive and bland puzzles, a bad ending and being painfully short.
  36. A decent digital recreation of the show, with mediocre story and adventure gameplay, counterbalanced by oodles of Lost fan-service.
  37. Folks who have been watching the show from the first episode won’t find any new answers about the island, and those used to a more robust adventure game experience will be put off by the boring, simplistic game play.
  38. 42
    Via Domus is fan service through and through, and does deliver one genuinely amazing moment via its ending.
  39. Still, it is fun exploring the island and piecing together the story, I just wish I had been ‘lost’ a little longer.
  40. As a rental, Lost: The Video Game might entertain a handful of die-hard fans for four or five hours, but it has no replay value.
  41. While Lost tries to encapsulate the spirit of the series, it ends up smothered by it, restricted from being anything more than a shiny tourist guide to the set and characters. [Apr 2008, p.84]
  42. 40
    A disappointment. As a Lost fan, I’m annoyed by the inconsistencies in character actions; if I were not a Lost fan, I’d be confused about who all these people are and what they’re up to. As a game player, I’m frustrated by clunky mechanics, and if I were a non-game player, I’d probably feel justified in thinking that videogames were still the realm of nerds and their ilk.
  43. But it’s not the mythology that brings Via Domus down — it’s the boring and uninspired gameplay, which consists of a bevy of puzzles using fuse panels, a few rudimentary action sequences, and some weak games of hide-and-seek.
  44. 40
    But there's nothing in the game that you haven't already heard blabbed around the water cooler. Besides, if you play the modest mess that is Lost: Via Domus you'll never again wonder if the TV series has jumped the shark. It can't possibly get this muddled.
  45. 40
    One gets the feeling that the show's creators are trying to wash their hands of Via Domus, awkwardly placed as it is in the series' now-sprawling legendarium. But above and beyond that, fans should approach it as a lark; it's not very accomplished as a game.
  46. Instead of making excuses for Lost: Via Domus, I would just recommend that everyone but the most die-hard of Lost fans take a pass on this one.
  47. Expensive at half the price, this is boring for Lost fans and baffling for the rest. [May 2008, p.72]
  48. Lost feels truncated to the extreme, a grand tutorial to island living violently cut off when the credits roll after four hours. [Apr 2008, p.93]
  49. Unoriginal, unexciting and uninspired: a cheap collection of poorly conceived mini-games and show references, held together by a script resembling bad fan fiction. If a good use of a license appeals to fans while spinning its successful elements into a game, then Lost: Via Domus is the opposite of this.
  50. It’s all pointless though because the writers of the TV show have since said that this game doesn’t even take part in the official chronology, making this nothing more than glorified fan fiction.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Apr 24, 2011
    2
    As an avid Lost fan, I got this game as a rental to see if it was any good or revealed anything about the TV series. I was more thanAs an avid Lost fan, I got this game as a rental to see if it was any good or revealed anything about the TV series. I was more than disappointed. This is a game that is an embarrassment to me as a fan of the Lost TV series. It's clunky, poorly designed and although it looks quite good, the island is so 1-dimensional that you can rarely go off a set path. The characters were not voiced by their TV counterparts and you play as a nobody. You go around taking photos of the island and in the end it's just totally boring. This is one of the few games I cannot recommend anyone play, Lost fan or not. 1/5, just plain bad. Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    the story was par for the course but it was not fun to play very limited linear story challenging puzzles.
    It compliment the shows story
    the story was par for the course but it was not fun to play very limited linear story challenging puzzles.
    It compliment the shows story mainly but still bites on the replay ability Beat once never played again and I'll lock it in a vault an forget after sometime passes or i watch the show.
    Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2012
    3
    This is a game that MIGHT be worth a rent if your a hardcore fan and very forgiving. However if you happen to have standards it will leave youThis is a game that MIGHT be worth a rent if your a hardcore fan and very forgiving. However if you happen to have standards it will leave you either irritated or bored with only a easy 1,000gs completion to make the pain go away. Apart from offering no challenge, it never offers up any inside scoop to island secrets or character revelations. The new protagonist is dull, the voice acting is bad and the game mechanics border on clunky to laughable. Worth a rent if your desperate for more lost, but do so with the knowlege it's mediocre. Full Review »