Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lucha Libre AAA 2011 - Heroes of the Ring is a wrestling video game based on the popular Mexican "Lucha Libre" style of wrestling.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    70
    The game may not have what it takes to dethrone WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2011 as best wrestling title of the year, but there's enough to make people look forward to a new entry in the series. If you're a big wrestling fan, be sure to rent Lucha Libre AAA, but since the online landscape is so desolate, be prepared to have a few friends on standby.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    65
    The gameplay really clicks (for the most part), the presentation is true to the sport, and there are more than enough matches and modes to keep you busy when not detailing your luchador. It has a long way to go to catch WWE Smackdown vs. Raw, but here's hoping that Lucha Libre AAA expands even further with future installments.
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    60
    Lucha Libre AAA: Heroes del Ring is game that wrestling fans may want to try, but try with caution. The content is a refreshing take on the world of wrestling given that the Mexican spectacle of Lucha Libre takes center stage. That being said, the control and AI issues do take away from a game that could have been so much more and this is where the cautionary warning is duly noted.
  4. Oct 25, 2010
    50
    Lucha Libre isn't going to be crowned the king of the ring anytime soon. This Mexican flavoured grappler has the ambition and look, but in the rings things fail to come together. The in-ring action is just too sluggish with controls that match.
  5. 45
    What could have given other wrestling games a run for their money ends up winded before the ring bell even sounds. [Jan 2011, p.66]
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    42
    Fans of Lucha Libre might enjoy seeing their favorite fighters in action, but even the most dedicated aficionado will find the turgid gameplay disappointing.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    34
    Lucha Libre AAA: Heroes Del Ring is a poor attempt at introducing this branch of the sport to the masses and should be avoided at all costs.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Face it, many critics downrated this game simply because it isn't palatable to Americans. They can make it palatable to Americans, butFace it, many critics downrated this game simply because it isn't palatable to Americans. They can make it palatable to Americans, but something else will result, and it will not be a lucha libre video game anymore. You cannot Americanize Lucha Libre, because then it looses it's cultural value, the largest obstacle in this game being the language barrier, some things just don't translate form Spanish very well...so it would have been better to just adapt it to English and had English commentators do the talking just like they do for WWE. I would imagine subtitles don't help much either, nevertheless I can say native Spanish speakers do not have as much trouble understanding the game. Anyway, if they ever make a second game, it's probably going to be better than this one...but then again every single video game out there is meant for Americans. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    Lucha Libre AAA Heroes del Ring its a total new experience for mexican gamers, because its not only the game its the tradition that involvesLucha Libre AAA Heroes del Ring its a total new experience for mexican gamers, because its not only the game its the tradition that involves la lucha libre mexicana, and you see it because its not the only punching - kicking and super mortal finishers ( like wwe ) its working the crowd, raising the popularity of the character.

    like the game say`s no es wrestling es lucha libre! att. mr - leo
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    For a first game ever from Slang and the fact that the wrestling genre is stale as month old bread, Lucha Libre AAA: Heroes del Ring is a funFor a first game ever from Slang and the fact that the wrestling genre is stale as month old bread, Lucha Libre AAA: Heroes del Ring is a fun game and a much needed addition to the genre. It does have some flaws, but with really cool features like Creating your own mask (there are a million options), the story player mode where I learned a ton about the sport and it has cool vids, and the online mode of Mask vs. Hair (when you play and win, you rip the mask off your opponent and get to keep it in your trophies), this game is fun and easy to pick-up and enjoy. I highly recommend turning off the English and sticking with Spanish commentary....I don't speak Spanish but loved it. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2012
    6
    Overall, this is a decent game, but not a great representation of lucha libre in terms of how slow the characters move and the lack of 6 manOverall, this is a decent game, but not a great representation of lucha libre in terms of how slow the characters move and the lack of 6 man tag matches. I would recommend this, but only if you're a hardcore wrestling fan. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2010
    6
    Get in to the ring to fight in the first video game that puts on the spot mexican wrestling on our video game consoles.
    Now you can be on the
    Get in to the ring to fight in the first video game that puts on the spot mexican wrestling on our video game consoles.
    Now you can be on the ring and transform yourself into a professional wrestler; you could choose your side, as rude or technical and develop your own fighting style.
    I spent last Friday, Saturday and Sunday playing this video game in the video games expo EGS 2010 here in Mexico city and it was awesome to kick some asses with my favorite wrestlers as La Parka and Octagon, **** good, I mean, very good xD.
    I could make all my favorite moves but mainly I could become a mexican wrestler with all the equipment, masks, shoes and everything involved in the AAA without limits.
    This videogame reflects faithfully the mexican wrestling style, thus during the match, you can make aerial movements and spectacular throws.
    Besides, to cheer you up, you can interact with public and begin the party of the place.
    At the end you can make your final trick to win the match and with an amount of luck you could win the championship and get the belt that recognize you as a AAA hero of the ring.
    This is not wrestling: es lucha libre AAA sin limites.
    Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2010
    0
    An apsolute piece of sheizz of a game. Worst wrestling game ever bar none, and I have p[layed all wrestling games ever made. THe only reasonAn apsolute piece of sheizz of a game. Worst wrestling game ever bar none, and I have p[layed all wrestling games ever made. THe only reason people are writing good reviews for it is because the company is so desperate that they hosted competition like write a good review and get entered into a draw, which no one ever wins or they never give a price, So all reviews below are just written as a high mark only because the company did the stupid company... SMHâ Collapse
  7. Dec 10, 2010
    0
    There is a game-breaking glitch that can make it so that your profile cannot play this game. I won a prize for best review, but they neverThere is a game-breaking glitch that can make it so that your profile cannot play this game. I won a prize for best review, but they never sent it. They have no love for their fans. Expand