Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mad Riders, developed by Techland, sees players performing aerial stunts and racing at high speeds on over 45 stunning tracks from all over the world. To gain the edge on the competition, players will need to use their Boost skill wisely and take advantage of shortcuts hidden in the tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. May 29, 2012
    90
    Mad Riders has a few faults, but none of them are major. The core racing game is outstanding, and one of the best off-road racers on the market. It's worlds better than the MX vs. ATV games, and about as good as Pure. It's one of the few XBLA releases that is easily worth its full asking price, and is an easy recommendation as long as you liked Pure. If you did, then you'll adore this, if you didn't, then give the trial game a shot and see if it wins you over.
  2. May 31, 2012
    78
    Although Mad Riders might not feature anything in the way of innovation in either its core gameplay or race modes, I appreciate how developer Techland has honed its racing craft and made it so I never have to let up on the throttle.
  3. May 30, 2012
    74
    Mad Riders is all about adrenaline, lightning fast quads and huge huge jumps. The vehicles are not as difficult to control as in nail'd and the stunt system has improved. But still AI and visuals are not up to standards.
  4. 70
    Sadly, the floaty handling returns, which limits the feeling of tactile connection to the game. Similarly, while the simplistic trick system is adequate for boost hoarding in races, the stunt events are a fiddly chore. Techland still hasn't entirely 'nailed' it then, but you definitely won't feel robbed for the price.
  5. May 29, 2012
    65
    Mad Riders borrows a little too liberally from other titles to truly have its own identity. What is there, however, is an enjoyable enough arcade racer.
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    60
    Mad Riders is not a bad game, just an unfortunate one. Nail'd is now in the bargain bin along with some of the older MX vs. ATV games, and they are much better. This feels like a stripped down version of Nail'd and one that is not nearly as entertaining. The lack of diversity and progression are disappointing, and the stiff controls don't lend themselves well to this type of game. If you want an off-road racer for your console, there are a lot of other, better choices out there.
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    40
    Mad Riders is an arcade racing game that is boring to death. Even though the game offers plenty of tracks, modes and vehicles, the actual differences are in their different colours. Quantity dominates quality and most importantly - it dominates the actual entertainment.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Easily the best offroad racing game out there. I play it on PC but the game is basically the same on all consoles minus the graphic tweaks. I cannot believe the low scores. The game is like MotorStorm: PR without all the vehicles and better graphics at least on PC. The jumps are insane in this game and remind of SSX of old times. Way off base here giving this 10 dollar title a 6. Go back to COD you tards. I got the DLC and game on Steam for 4 bucks and you can find sales on XBL and PSN as well. Full 10 because it's cheap and damn near a full game off road style. A lot of love was put into these tracks. The tournies have the usual Stunt, Clock, Race, etc. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this game. Insane air and tons of variety with the DLC. I thought they did the island theme about as good as it can possibly be done for DL title. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Bought it recently and I gotta say that this game deserves more than 6 score. First of all, it has great sense of speed which I haven't experience for a long time. Career mode seems to be long enough to provide some serious play time. I'm at second tournament and there are few more to unlock. I haven't check multiplayer yet but it looks promising too. It's well spent 800 points and I can recommend it if you're looking for arcade racing with long career mode. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    This is my problem-You people are reviewing this game like it went on retail for 60 bucks.Even then there is enough content to make racing fans happy.Look this game is ten dollars and has more game play and freshness then pure.Everything that pissed you off about Pure,well Mad Riders has you covered so please buy this game people,but beware it has more speed than any arcade racer I have ever played,You will actually have to take a break because of the restraints on your eyes.Now how cool is that?Spend your points and get the long download,because this game is so huge its almost 1.4 gb.Pure bliss,pure speed,for a ten dollar bill,it's better than that 12 pack you got last night and it sure lasts longer,but you will have a hangover too,a speed hangover...enjoy! Expand
  4. May 30, 2012
    8
    Mad Riders, the new racing game for XBLA, PSN and PC, I need say, wow, funny game, have some mistakes, but the most important is the gameplay and the funny moments that the player have, and this things appear on Mad Riders, funny game. Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2012
    7
    Mad Raiders is an ATV racing game, made for XBLA. I can say having played it for real, that he is an Arcade version of Pure, having some elements from Nail'd. It has graphics on cell-shadded, but with realistic base details and fast and constant animations: the races have a lot of speed and action, and follows the classic scheme to earn points and stars to unlock new levels and vehicles, having a total of 45 different tracks which ensures the gameplay lenght. The soundtrack and music that accompanies the game, are good, but nothing unusual. While maintaining a formula known in other games, the game has a nice gameplay, for those who like the style of Pure, with interesting graphics and actually is a well produced and fast ATV arcade racing game - recommend to anyone who likes the genre (which I'm not fan). Collapse
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    Bought this on sale for $5...It has some great exaggerated jumps and speed. Learning new tricks and earning new vehicles along the career is a nice touch. Its a lot like Pure but more crazy. Is it fun? Kind of. What really kills it for me is that on many big jumps there always seems to be something in the way coming down- a giant rock, a huge tree, statue, etc that youll most likely hit accidentally. And there are A LOT of huge jumps in the game. But the game doesnt give me freedom with those jumps but instead makes me try to control my character mid-air to avoid it. Its annoying at first but after the 100th time its frustrating. As with most racing games, rubber banding is present. Not terribly bad, but its there. Also, when you go up against a "Pro Racer" you will race a ghost of a very cheap, rubber banding ghost driver. I had to go back and do other races to earn enough credits to get a better vehicle, but this just led to the ghost car being that must faster. Annoying. Also the music is terrible. Very generic. Not bad for $5 considering I probably put about 5-6 hours into it and beat the game today. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    0
    I Must to say that, this game compared to Pure(Blackrock) suck, as nothing to do with atv

See all 9 User Reviews