User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 149
  2. Negative: 53 out of 149
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MollyJ.
    Sep 4, 2006
    6
    Well, I will have to say that Madden 2007 is fun for what it is.... The graphics are great, and I enjoy the gameplay for the most part. But the most dissapointing facts of the game to me are the lack of camera views in superstar mode, and the poor performance on defense. This game is fun for what it is, but its a shame that they didn't expand on some of the other points to make this Well, I will have to say that Madden 2007 is fun for what it is.... The graphics are great, and I enjoy the gameplay for the most part. But the most dissapointing facts of the game to me are the lack of camera views in superstar mode, and the poor performance on defense. This game is fun for what it is, but its a shame that they didn't expand on some of the other points to make this a grade A game. I hope its not because they own the exclusive rights to the NFL liscense, and because of that, they didn't feel they had to make the game top notch due to competition. Expand
  2. NathanB.
    Sep 7, 2006
    7
    Great graphics, animation, and atmosphere. The downer thats holds this game back is first and foremost the control issues when trying to make plays with the DBs. Then I would have to say the the in depth owner mode, the inability to edit players, glitches with the game freezing up, the absense of John madden as a commentator, the interface is clunky, the removal of custom camera angles, Great graphics, animation, and atmosphere. The downer thats holds this game back is first and foremost the control issues when trying to make plays with the DBs. Then I would have to say the the in depth owner mode, the inability to edit players, glitches with the game freezing up, the absense of John madden as a commentator, the interface is clunky, the removal of custom camera angles, and finally --- No Fantasy Draft. And did I mention that all of the teams uniforms arent in the game? Only the basic home and away uni's come with the game. All others have to be downloaded from the market-place on XBOX-LIVE. Expand
  3. MichaelJ.
    Dec 13, 2006
    5
    This game is really pissing me off, first of all there is no fantasy draft which is dumb.....also, for some reason all these old players like Chuck Bednarik and Sammy Baugh just showed up on some cpu teams during my franchise in the first year, where did they come from? It just seems like they did all this stuff to the game and never mention it.
  4. FPSMaster
    Aug 25, 2006
    5
    I agree with everything you said Jake except for the graphics. I think they are absolutely terrible considering what the 360 has already shown us it's capabale of with even these first generation games. But EA can't even get that right, as they still seem very pixelly and the animations are choppy and lasy gen along with the gameplay. But what other choice do we have?
  5. ChrisW.
    Sep 3, 2006
    6
    The Graphics look great in the 360 version, yet I cant help but feel ripped off by EA with the lack of features.
  6. JasonBohanna
    Oct 4, 2006
    5
    In my experience with all madden games by far the best one is madden 2001. First reason is that there are almost no limits to what you can do, one of my favorite options 01 is that when you edit players you edit all stats including age and years in the league, what happend to that feature? why did ea feel the need to remove it? I'm sorry but when i buy a football game you should beIn my experience with all madden games by far the best one is madden 2001. First reason is that there are almost no limits to what you can do, one of my favorite options 01 is that when you edit players you edit all stats including age and years in the league, what happend to that feature? why did ea feel the need to remove it? I'm sorry but when i buy a football game you should be able to do what ever you like, second when your beefing up your team before the franchise mode, whenever you trade a player or sign a free agent as soon as you enter franchise mode that player's yearly statistics are erased? is this a gltch? a bug? i wouldnt think so it's been this way since madden 02, to me this ruins the playing experience, what i mean by that is lets say i trade Tony Parrish to the Seahawks for Michael Boulware then i enter franchise mode with my newly accuired player when you happen to look at his player info everything is erased! thease all might be minor to some but i know to many people how complain about this, i could easily scratch madden all together but guess what there are no other football games on the market so i guess i'll just have to settle WRONG i shouldnt have to settle EA should just bring back option that work before and add new options just like they do every year, why not? Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 22, 2006
    6
    Madden just doesn't do it for me like it used to. Needs a legitimate retooling instead of a new mode and 10 new button combos every year. Higher difficulty settings don't make the computer's AI more intelligent, it just makes your players make really dumb mistakes (giving up on blocks, corners running away from a play for a bit or stuttering). Personally looking forward to Madden just doesn't do it for me like it used to. Needs a legitimate retooling instead of a new mode and 10 new button combos every year. Higher difficulty settings don't make the computer's AI more intelligent, it just makes your players make really dumb mistakes (giving up on blocks, corners running away from a play for a bit or stuttering). Personally looking forward to Wii Madden (maybe it will actually be different). Expand
  8. Stevek
    Aug 22, 2006
    5
    Games looks great. After that, there's not much. Smart Hot Routes for WRs to run to the first down marker? Nope. Defensive Playmaker to double a star WR? Nope. Fundamental elements missing from the gameplay that makes it play like Madden 2001 on the PS2. IMMENSELY DISAPPOINTED w/ the lack of on field options that hurt the game. I should have kept my PS2 and bought Madden 07 for current gen.
  9. JohnK
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Good, but not great. That is my overall impression of this year's game. Although vastly improved over last year's version, it still seems unfinished. Interestingly, the area where the game is most lacking is in presentation. Why did EA bother to get the ESPN license, other than to just eliminate the competition from 2K sports? They are clearly wasting the license. 2K5 showed Good, but not great. That is my overall impression of this year's game. Although vastly improved over last year's version, it still seems unfinished. Interestingly, the area where the game is most lacking is in presentation. Why did EA bother to get the ESPN license, other than to just eliminate the competition from 2K sports? They are clearly wasting the license. 2K5 showed what could be done from a presentation standpoint, but instead of following that lead, they instead chose to have a radio announcer instead of TV style presentation. Makes no sense to do that with the ESPN license and Madden's name on the game. As a result, there is no play by play calling, no highlights or halftime show, no cheerleaders, and the game is generally just very uninspired sounding. That is my biggest complaint about the game. The actual gameplay is very well done, and fun to play. Graphics and animations are all very nice. I just don't understand why EA's "premier" football game is not as well done as NCAA 07. Gameplay in both is very fun and quite similar, but everything is slightly better in NCAA 07. Graphics are sharper and brighter, menus are larger and easier to read (for some reason the menus in Madden are all very small and often tilted at a strange angle, I suppose for some 3D effect), and very nice TV style presentation (which really makes a big difference). The bottom line: if you want the best football game in town, buy NCAA 07. If you love the NFL, then buy Madden. I have both, but I believe that NCAA 07 will spend more time in my 360 than Madden. Expand
  10. Guy
    Aug 24, 2006
    6
    Game (in-game and menu screens) still seems laggy and unresponsive. This was the key problem with 06 and it was unfixed in 07. Dissapointed.
  11. JakeS.
    Aug 24, 2006
    6
    Pros:the graphis for the most part, are very nice. the gameplay is good as well. i also thought the music seletcion (the old orchestral NFL tracks) and the visual screen presentation were ok. Cons-first off, nobody has mentioned, there is no edit a player. What happens when some has like a Kurt Warner or Tom Brady year? What if Alex Smith or LenDale White has an awesome year and they are Pros:the graphis for the most part, are very nice. the gameplay is good as well. i also thought the music seletcion (the old orchestral NFL tracks) and the visual screen presentation were ok. Cons-first off, nobody has mentioned, there is no edit a player. What happens when some has like a Kurt Warner or Tom Brady year? What if Alex Smith or LenDale White has an awesome year and they are only an 82 or something in the game. Your screwed over. This might be the biggest diappointment I have felt in a video game. There is also no situational setup, like when you could select a game to be in the 4th quarter, down by 2, with a minute and a half to play in the Super Bowl. Also, they added alot of old players but no create a team function. The owner mode is gone and replaced with a bare bones franchise mode. I guess you can sim games and make changes to your roster, but you can no longer hire and fire coaching staffs, adjust prices and make new stadiums. Also, you cant move your team or any of that stuff. Finally, sure Madden and Michaels were annoying on announcing, but they were alot better than this radio crap announcing we have now. It annoying and pointless. Final line, Ill play this game, but when compared with the NCAA 07 game, Madden is next to nothing. NCAA has full, editable rosters for all the teams. The dynasty setup is nice and actually had some thought put into it. All Madden creators care about is the graphics. If they are good people will buy the game. You get it home and realize that there is nothing else there. They need to make the game what is was in 04 and 05. I used to play it for hours back then, now, I will probably play it until NBA Live comes out and then forget about it. Expand
  12. JonD.
    Aug 25, 2006
    7
    Its a huge improvement over 06 on the 360. The graphics are amazing on HD, There are bugs but not as many, for instance you sometimes dissapear and then reapear 2-4 feet away from your original position. The gameplay is very good, and its fun. The minicamps are there this year but they are very lackluster, they are fun at first but the games directions on how to play them is awful so it Its a huge improvement over 06 on the 360. The graphics are amazing on HD, There are bugs but not as many, for instance you sometimes dissapear and then reapear 2-4 feet away from your original position. The gameplay is very good, and its fun. The minicamps are there this year but they are very lackluster, they are fun at first but the games directions on how to play them is awful so it will take you 3-5 times to actualy know how to play them and even then you wont be sure if you're doing it correctly. The franchise is there and its not bad but compared to madden 06 on normal XBox it isnt complete. All in all the game is good but its not madden good. The music is awful like every madden game... in other words 5 good songs 20 terrible ones. To Jake S. when he said what happens if a rookie does outstanding and is only an 80 in the game then you can change the stats if you really need to, but the players are rated on what they did last year not what the future will bring. My main issue is its only 2 players, its football and you can only have 2 players? that doesnt make sense to me, I think this game is definately bettter then last year but it has room for improvement of what it can be. Next year It will be a little better and the year after that a little better but Madden is a franchise that gets better every year not worse like others. Expand
  13. Andrew
    Aug 26, 2006
    7
    This game isn't nearly as good as the 10's and is not nearly as bad as the 3's. It's not bad. It's not great. Honestly, I remember having a lot more fun with last year's Madden on Xbox. Still haven't gotten used to the new game engine on 360. But I'm willing to give EA a break for a couple years. They rebuilt the game engine from the ground up for This game isn't nearly as good as the 10's and is not nearly as bad as the 3's. It's not bad. It's not great. Honestly, I remember having a lot more fun with last year's Madden on Xbox. Still haven't gotten used to the new game engine on 360. But I'm willing to give EA a break for a couple years. They rebuilt the game engine from the ground up for next gen, which was the right move, but it's not gonna happen in a year. Madden for PS2 and Xbox have been refined to the point of near perfection over the years. Remember the first PS2 Madden? It wasn't that good. It takes a few development cycles before the engine is perfectly refined. The next couple years will be the true test. There are no more excuses, what with PS3 around the corner. They shouldn't be focusing on anything but next gen from here on out. If the game still plays like this next year, then I'll start to worry. As for now, I take Madden 07 on 360 for what it is: a good football game that has a lot of room for improvement, especially in Franchise mode. If you have a 360 and an Xbox or PS2, I hate to say it, but I would get the current gen Madden. It's ten bucks cheaper and it plays a little better. It's not as pretty, but you'll get more bang for your buck. If you only have a 360, pick this up. You won't be blown away, but you shouldn't be disappointed either. Just don't go in expecting to be floored and you'll be fine. Expand
  14. MattP.
    Aug 26, 2006
    6
    How is it possible for something to be on a "next-gen" console and have less than the previous edition? Nothing about this game seems all that well done: the players all look the same and mad as hell at that; the passing game is ridiculously easy; the defense is ridiculously bad and the shoddy attempt at "reaslism" in the superstar and create a player modes is a frusterating grabbag of How is it possible for something to be on a "next-gen" console and have less than the previous edition? Nothing about this game seems all that well done: the players all look the same and mad as hell at that; the passing game is ridiculously easy; the defense is ridiculously bad and the shoddy attempt at "reaslism" in the superstar and create a player modes is a frusterating grabbag of half-hashed football ideas. On the offense front, running is much the same as it was in '06, except they moved around some controls and renamed the hitstick the highlight stick. Passing, however, is much revamped. Let's just say that Bobby Engram shouldn't be getting 268 yards on Ty Law. Which says something about the play of the defense; which is totally all or nothing. I was either breaking a 70 yard run with Edgearin James or getting schooled by Nate Burleson for 80 yards a catch. The defensive play in the game is the most dissapointing aspect. In the franchise mode, there's not fantasty draft, which really took away from the videogame part of the videogame. Lastly, the menus are overdone and obtuse: why can't you just press a bumper button to switch positions? Alot of ideas, but none of them all that great. If this is what EAs going to do with their vaunted exclusive lisence, then I don't think I'm going to be buying many more of these. Expand
  15. ChrisD.
    Aug 29, 2006
    6
    Although Graffics are great and the stadiums look amazing, the stupid create a player mini game and the lake of edit a player really botherd me in this instalment, plus you can no longer have a 4 player multiplayer which my 3 brothers and i loved to play. leap in Graffics but a step back in gameing, franchise mode is basic and when you win the super bowl there is nothing, plus the Although Graffics are great and the stadiums look amazing, the stupid create a player mini game and the lake of edit a player really botherd me in this instalment, plus you can no longer have a 4 player multiplayer which my 3 brothers and i loved to play. leap in Graffics but a step back in gameing, franchise mode is basic and when you win the super bowl there is nothing, plus the commantary feels like Montana sports talk, huge dissipointment Expand
  16. GeorgeMorales
    Sep 1, 2006
    5
    The 360 Madden should have more options then the PS2 XBOX and all the other systems, because it has more GB so what is the !@#$ problem you need to download alternate jerseys, can't edit players or move them with out trading. This Game is starting to go in the wrong direction....P.S. thanks for reading!
  17. EricP.
    Sep 6, 2006
    5
    Its a 5...but closer to 4 then it is 6. madden 06 was a horrible waste of time...so i waited until 07 was released...although better than 06, no where near as good as it should have been...Refunds..or exchanges should be offer to folks who did buy Madden 06, and if Circuit City wasn't selling 07 for 47 bucks (360) I probably would have rented it first...and then returned cause Its a 5...but closer to 4 then it is 6. madden 06 was a horrible waste of time...so i waited until 07 was released...although better than 06, no where near as good as it should have been...Refunds..or exchanges should be offer to folks who did buy Madden 06, and if Circuit City wasn't selling 07 for 47 bucks (360) I probably would have rented it first...and then returned cause waiting for 07 was not worth it. The create a player feature has taken a step back from PS2...sure you can run through some "combine" test...but its impossible to create a solid/starter quality player...also the players are to BIG, to much muscle....even on the lowest setting. Create a player Face options are limited it, and the on field player looks like a 5x7 picture was forced into a helmet Unable to Edit existing players... Unable to Turn off Fatigue...once in season mode Players look like they're "skating" on grass....no grass/mud gets kicked up as the run...or even as cut backs occur Madden 06 for PS2 was a great game, and I am very disappointed that Madden 07 was my entry into Madden franchise for 360 or even XBOX in general...I was a Playstation kid...but decided I couldn't wait for PS3, all I say is that EA better come correct with their entire line for PS3 Expand
  18. MikeG.
    Jan 27, 2007
    5
    The graphics are really great..the rain and snow looks much better than that on current gen systems..the dirt stains and scuff marks are cool too..but thats about the only good thing in the game...the graphics. I hate how the controls are sluggish and it looks like the players are playing with roller skates on or something..and most of all I HATE how you cant adjust your created players The graphics are really great..the rain and snow looks much better than that on current gen systems..the dirt stains and scuff marks are cool too..but thats about the only good thing in the game...the graphics. I hate how the controls are sluggish and it looks like the players are playing with roller skates on or something..and most of all I HATE how you cant adjust your created players attributes yourself..the training camp drills are retarded and my player always comes out with like a 40 overall rating..and I hate how you can't adjust equipment and attributes on rosters too...Frank Gore is terrible in 07 and I cant even make him better. Expand
  19. JustinF.
    Apr 18, 2007
    5
    I've been playing Madden since 02, and although 07 has great graphics and a cool new superstar mode, it lacks in areas. Being on the 360 you would think it would go through a major overhaul. I enjoyed NCAA 07 much more. The controls seemed more responsive. Also, if I am going to pay $60 for a game, I want the ability to create a player and max out his stats if I want to. It seemed on I've been playing Madden since 02, and although 07 has great graphics and a cool new superstar mode, it lacks in areas. Being on the 360 you would think it would go through a major overhaul. I enjoyed NCAA 07 much more. The controls seemed more responsive. Also, if I am going to pay $60 for a game, I want the ability to create a player and max out his stats if I want to. It seemed on this one, even with the lead blocking controls, I had to unlock a Hall of Fame running back with 99 overall to have a decent running game. If things don't change, I will be going to NFL 2K8. Expand
  20. BryanM.
    Nov 22, 2006
    5
    It graphics are great but the Franchise is crap what happend to fantasy draft that is the fun part. It just seems like Madden is falling apart without the 2k serise now they don't try that hard to make a great game. if you have a PS2 or Xbox try NFL2k5 and then play Madden you think man has this game stinks. EA try harder because madden 04 is the best out of all the todays maddens.
  21. JonathanW.
    Aug 25, 2006
    7
    until they fix the superhuman linebackers this won't be a great game. does it look nice? oh ya.. the graphics are very tight.
  22. SethK.
    Sep 16, 2006
    5
    The game is good and I like the Gameplay, but the feature I've always loved about madden (franchise mode) has been castrated, fo lack of a better word. I love creating my own team. I also like exporting my team to play against my friends created teams. Way to go EA; you made madden a single player game that noone else can enjoy. I want those features back next year, or I'll buy The game is good and I like the Gameplay, but the feature I've always loved about madden (franchise mode) has been castrated, fo lack of a better word. I love creating my own team. I also like exporting my team to play against my friends created teams. Way to go EA; you made madden a single player game that noone else can enjoy. I want those features back next year, or I'll buy a PS2 back to get 07 for that. They took out the best features. Expand
  23. JJ
    Sep 21, 2006
    5
    All the 1-5's are right. They really stripped it. I went out and got 4 controllers altogether to play with friends and fired it up. Funny that they show 4 controllers on the screen when you pick, but it's actually only a 2 Player Game! The other two get to watch. Guess I have to keep my eye on EA titles from now on. WHY does politics have to seep into a video game system? All the 1-5's are right. They really stripped it. I went out and got 4 controllers altogether to play with friends and fired it up. Funny that they show 4 controllers on the screen when you pick, but it's actually only a 2 Player Game! The other two get to watch. Guess I have to keep my eye on EA titles from now on. WHY does politics have to seep into a video game system? Don't we have enough of that crap already? Do not buy! Maybe a rental..... Expand
  24. MattFarrow
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    Good american football game. Being british, i'm not a great fan of the game, but I love playing madden. This game gives me everything I would require from the sport. Great fun on live and leaves me no reason to buy the next in the series. My girlfriend bought me this game as an anniversary present about a year ago, and to be honest, it will stay on my shelf for as long as my 360 Good american football game. Being british, i'm not a great fan of the game, but I love playing madden. This game gives me everything I would require from the sport. Great fun on live and leaves me no reason to buy the next in the series. My girlfriend bought me this game as an anniversary present about a year ago, and to be honest, it will stay on my shelf for as long as my 360 does. It gets played on rainy days. Expand
  25. DavidL.
    Mar 24, 2007
    6
    I have read some of the major reviews by some of the major magazines. The journalist that stated that this had enhancements to the defensive game play has apparently never played this game. It may be better than the 06 version for the 360 (which is what I think most are comparing it to) but they took away from defensive controls. (no double teaming with your safeties or LB's) Whereas I have read some of the major reviews by some of the major magazines. The journalist that stated that this had enhancements to the defensive game play has apparently never played this game. It may be better than the 06 version for the 360 (which is what I think most are comparing it to) but they took away from defensive controls. (no double teaming with your safeties or LB's) Whereas the original format Madden's made improvements all around they added online clubs, and kept the EA locker, try looking for these features on the 360...you won't find them. Still no league support offered which fans have been screaming for in order to play a complete franchise season online. The offline gameplay isn't too bad, but the next gen Madden's took this avid fan offline with their lack of upgrades and defensive controls. It's evident that EA knows they had the only licensed franchise going. Expand
  26. JacobD.
    Dec 11, 2006
    7
    It is a pretty good game, but the Madden superstar is pretty crappy. You are not allowed to pick your play, and if you are a halfback you hardly ever get a chance to get the ball to you.
  27. Sep 11, 2015
    5
    Sadly Madden 07 is only a little bit better than 06. The real improvements were the graphics; other than that the game modes were still way behind the PS2 games.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    80
    Madden 07 marks a turnaround for the franchise on the 360, and that's reason enough for football fans to rejoice. [Oct. 2006, p.77]
  2. With a bit more attention to in-game fluidity and detail, and the inclusion of core extras such as online leagues and co-op, Madden NFL 07 could have been stellar. It’s good for sure, but Madden NFL 07 isn’t a lock in this gamer’s Hall of Fame.
  3. 85
    This is the year EA Sports finally shows 360 owners what the series is all about, the trash talking, the head-to-head competition, the ability to create yourself and become a bigger star than the Seahawk on the box.