Madden NFL 07 Xbox 360

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 149
  2. Negative: 53 out of 149
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jayl
    Aug 26, 2006
    3
    WOW, Great presentation. I love the cutscenes to the raucus crowd and the animations of the chain gang measuring for first downs and the players celebrating on the sidelines after scoring......oh wait, that was nfl 2k5 TWO YEARS AGO!!!! C'mon EA, you have the NFL and ESPN liscenses, USE THEM!! We don't want that horrendous radio?! anouncer. We don't want static shots ofWOW, Great presentation. I love the cutscenes to the raucus crowd and the animations of the chain gang measuring for first downs and the players celebrating on the sidelines after scoring......oh wait, that was nfl 2k5 TWO YEARS AGO!!!! C'mon EA, you have the NFL and ESPN liscenses, USE THEM!! We don't want that horrendous radio?! anouncer. We don't want static shots of the stadium after plays and first downs. This is the next generation for pete's sake, give us stat overlays and explanations on the replays and halftime shows. Why has presentation taken a back seat? The gameplay is ok but it is just sooooo boring. Do yourself a favor, pick up nfl 2k5 for 5 bucks and see what could have been and what could be if EA got off their butts and made a football game and stopped relying on all the madden fanboys to buy their product every year. Expand
  2. MarioG.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    Good game but I guess I expected more. Do not really play any other mode exept exhibition and the gameplay is slow. The players move fast but react very slow when you control the player. My opinion I hooked up the PS2 and played Madden and its better than the X-box version. Nothing new practically everything is the same...something new has to come for the price.
  3. DanW.
    Dec 20, 2006
    3
    EA is simply not even trying to give us a good game, because of their monopoly and the absence of 2k. Initially I was excited that EA and ESPN were colaberating to give us the ultimate football game - now I am just pissed off. All EA cares about is sales, and that is obvious by the lack of quality in 07 for the 360. NO FANTASY DRAFT - that is unexcusable. Why not add that one simple EA is simply not even trying to give us a good game, because of their monopoly and the absence of 2k. Initially I was excited that EA and ESPN were colaberating to give us the ultimate football game - now I am just pissed off. All EA cares about is sales, and that is obvious by the lack of quality in 07 for the 360. NO FANTASY DRAFT - that is unexcusable. Why not add that one simple feature in, to make the game 10 times more enjoyable? Also, only two players, and you can not play on the same team, you have to play against each other. And the mini games suck compared to xbox training camp, and there is still no owner mode. The gameplay and the graphics are great, but once you get past that it is the same game as madden 06. I actually went out and bought a copy for xbox, and sold my 360 copy - that is how pathetic this game is Expand
  4. THOMASSCHAEFER
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    THIS GAME IS GREAT! I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH EA FOR GETTING AWAY FROM THAT STUPID VIEW FROM LAST YEAR. I WISH THAT THE 360 VERSION WAS A BIT FASTER ON THE LOADING AND AFTER PLAYS, BUT OTHER THEN THAT THE GAME IS GREAT. EA HAS REALLY OUTDONE THEM SELF WITH THIS GAME.
  5. GeorgeMorales
    Sep 1, 2006
    5
    The 360 Madden should have more options then the PS2 XBOX and all the other systems, because it has more GB so what is the !@#$ problem you need to download alternate jerseys, can't edit players or move them with out trading. This Game is starting to go in the wrong direction....P.S. thanks for reading!
  6. JasonBohanna
    Oct 4, 2006
    5
    In my experience with all madden games by far the best one is madden 2001. First reason is that there are almost no limits to what you can do, one of my favorite options 01 is that when you edit players you edit all stats including age and years in the league, what happend to that feature? why did ea feel the need to remove it? I'm sorry but when i buy a football game you should beIn my experience with all madden games by far the best one is madden 2001. First reason is that there are almost no limits to what you can do, one of my favorite options 01 is that when you edit players you edit all stats including age and years in the league, what happend to that feature? why did ea feel the need to remove it? I'm sorry but when i buy a football game you should be able to do what ever you like, second when your beefing up your team before the franchise mode, whenever you trade a player or sign a free agent as soon as you enter franchise mode that player's yearly statistics are erased? is this a gltch? a bug? i wouldnt think so it's been this way since madden 02, to me this ruins the playing experience, what i mean by that is lets say i trade Tony Parrish to the Seahawks for Michael Boulware then i enter franchise mode with my newly accuired player when you happen to look at his player info everything is erased! thease all might be minor to some but i know to many people how complain about this, i could easily scratch madden all together but guess what there are no other football games on the market so i guess i'll just have to settle WRONG i shouldnt have to settle EA should just bring back option that work before and add new options just like they do every year, why not? Expand
  7. BrandonP
    Oct 16, 2006
    1
    The game play is horse sh1t. Franchise mode is lame. Superstar mode you play the game as a puppet and they pick your plays. Retarted views of the stadium after every play is just lame. I want to punch the mother fuck3r in the face who made this game and caused me 60 dollars. The Game is ShiiiiiiiiiiTTTTTTTTTTTTT
  8. LouieD
    Apr 28, 2007
    2
    WTF is this crap...this game is retarded......it is the worst madden game every designed....if nebody gives this game above a 5 they should be shot.....DEAD.....lets start off, good...the graphics or amazing...now that i got the ONLY good thing about the game lets move on to sum of the things that make me made.......CREATE A PLAYER....what a joke this mode is.....absolutly IMPOSSIBLE toWTF is this crap...this game is retarded......it is the worst madden game every designed....if nebody gives this game above a 5 they should be shot.....DEAD.....lets start off, good...the graphics or amazing...now that i got the ONLY good thing about the game lets move on to sum of the things that make me made.......CREATE A PLAYER....what a joke this mode is.....absolutly IMPOSSIBLE to get a player above 65.....even the "FREAK" players suck....i created dwayne jarrett from USC right after he got drafted......he had decent speed at 89.......his hands (if u could call them hands).....he couldnt catch a cold in -20 degree weather being sprayed with a hose.....guess his catching rating.......5....how that hell do u give ANY WR a 5 idc who u think u r.....a 5 come on.......moving on.....where the hell is the edit player mode......wut the hell...the most important feature in madden history is abscent....whatever not even wasting my time with that one.....the mini camp drills or so hard to do...the person who made that drill couldnt even beat it.....the 40 yard dash....r u kidding me......nobody on this earth can move their figures or thumbs fast enough to get a decent score.......the bench press......ok let me ask u this......laroy glover 2 years ago in the probowl repped 225lbs 34 times.....the "strongest" man in the NFL....ya right....if u get 34 reps in madden 07 your strength is like a 64......so thats basically telling laroy glover hes as strong at a 4 year old on steriods....so ALL the ratings suck ass.....and to bring up another point.....how come steve smith (WR from the panthers) has a 97 speed rating and got chased down by a defensive end with 74 speed.....go figure.......theres a TON more things i can complain about but im gonna complain about 2 more things.......the most annoying aggrevating feature ever.....if there is a TINY piece of dust or an almost invisible scratch the "most powerful gaming system" (aka xbox 360) can't read the disk and the game shuts off right in the middle of you playing the game.................last but not least.......wheres the in game save feature....wut happens if i played 5 games in a row make it to the superbowl on all madden and my dog or mom gets hit by a car.......or i have to poop......or a fly gets caught in my lil brothers throat and i have to do CPR.....then what...if u pause the game for more then 5 mins when u get back to it the game shuts off just to b a prick......then u lose all that data all that time and effort put into the game.......???? stupid right.....this game is a waste of money.....if i didnt sell my original XBOX i would be playing the original madden games no 360 games.......this years game was a 64 dollar rip off the producers KNEW that the game sucked thats y they didnt give microsoft the ablity to let the player play an original madden game on the 360 so then u would b forced to buy the ONLY football game besides a street game.....if that dosent change for 08 there are going to be ALOT more pissed off people........i hope the designers of madden read these opinions and change their work habits......and stop smoking like in grandmas boy the movie.......so ya a over all rating of a 2 is being nice......ne comments on this send me an e-mail tipsypimp96@aol.com...............................................GO PANTHERS!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  9. JohnnyHoge
    Jul 27, 2008
    1
    I have faithfully played madden since it came out. It is sad to say but madden 07 stinks it does sorry number 10 voters. Ok the super graphics everyone likes is a load of bs, every time my guy runs in the rain or snow it glitches gets tackled with 5 or more guys around glitches, when I say glitches its like there body movements aren't right like they were running on ice or thereI have faithfully played madden since it came out. It is sad to say but madden 07 stinks it does sorry number 10 voters. Ok the super graphics everyone likes is a load of bs, every time my guy runs in the rain or snow it glitches gets tackled with 5 or more guys around glitches, when I say glitches its like there body movements aren't right like they were running on ice or there body just didn't look like it should run that way, come on now. Now the 2nd thing, in all the madden games I've played the most fun i had was creating my own players i would erase the whole steelers team and make my own, yeah guess what you have to get a madden gamer level of 30 to make your QB what thats ok it seems cool, now that I make my QB i can't make himm 99 in some aspects i have to buy sucky guys off the free agents list to get a 99 rating because my WR cant outrun the ROLB or the SS screw that and how come my guys muscles are so small i had the highest setting they could go on they were like toothpicks. Then I made myself heavier still the same sticks. I hope 09 is better and the reason I played madden was for my team which I made all the names myself, hearing madden MC my plays, and going through 15 years of franchise with my players so seriously madden please bring the power back to the people you make the game for. And if those guys giving 10s over and over with only 1 liner sentences do work for madden you should be ashamed. And the only reason I give it a 1 is to hope that scares the heck out of madden and show some hope that they might make a good game again. Expand
  10. AaronH.
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    Great graphics, improved gameplay (lead blocker control is wonderful), and an engrossing Superstar Mode make this the best next gen sports game released to date.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Aug 22, 2006
    6
    Madden just doesn't do it for me like it used to. Needs a legitimate retooling instead of a new mode and 10 new button combos every year. Higher difficulty settings don't make the computer's AI more intelligent, it just makes your players make really dumb mistakes (giving up on blocks, corners running away from a play for a bit or stuttering). Personally looking forward to Madden just doesn't do it for me like it used to. Needs a legitimate retooling instead of a new mode and 10 new button combos every year. Higher difficulty settings don't make the computer's AI more intelligent, it just makes your players make really dumb mistakes (giving up on blocks, corners running away from a play for a bit or stuttering). Personally looking forward to Wii Madden (maybe it will actually be different). Expand
  12. TomD.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    THis game has made incredible strides and EA should be appaluded for what has been put in this year....... Madden 07 is for real.
  13. FMottier
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    Big jump from last year to this year. I especially thought the audio was immersive and really does a 5.1 system justice. Fun experience.
  14. RobertM.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    I used to be a Sega fan, but this game has converted me over. The graphics and gameplay are far superior to anything that has ever been released before.
  15. ManuelG.
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    The game is off the HOOK! The amount of detail on the field is absoutlely amazing. I played it last night for 8 straight hours and it got better every hour I was playing it. Madden 07 fellas. Get yous and get online!
  16. TerrellOwens
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    There are always things to improve, but this is the best football game I have ever played. I have a small complaint here and there and I am not crazy about the lack of innovation in their front end, but the graphics, gameplay, and depth are ridiculous. Head to head is real fun again in Madden. It's clear to me that the EA team has their priorities straight cares about what ballers There are always things to improve, but this is the best football game I have ever played. I have a small complaint here and there and I am not crazy about the lack of innovation in their front end, but the graphics, gameplay, and depth are ridiculous. Head to head is real fun again in Madden. It's clear to me that the EA team has their priorities straight cares about what ballers want, and knows their audience. The ballitician. Expand
  17. JeffC.
    Aug 22, 2006
    8
    A solid game,..but nowhere near where a next gen football game named Madden should be. Framerate is average,..and a at times slows down considerably. ESPN 2k5 still has no peers as far as presentation,....Madden 2007 has no Madden, no halftime show,..no highlight reel, etc. EA's monopoly over NFL games has taken the genre back 2 steps,....nowhere near as flashy as NFL2k5 on the A solid game,..but nowhere near where a next gen football game named Madden should be. Framerate is average,..and a at times slows down considerably. ESPN 2k5 still has no peers as far as presentation,....Madden 2007 has no Madden, no halftime show,..no highlight reel, etc. EA's monopoly over NFL games has taken the genre back 2 steps,....nowhere near as flashy as NFL2k5 on the original XBOX. Expand
  18. Stevek
    Aug 22, 2006
    5
    Games looks great. After that, there's not much. Smart Hot Routes for WRs to run to the first down marker? Nope. Defensive Playmaker to double a star WR? Nope. Fundamental elements missing from the gameplay that makes it play like Madden 2001 on the PS2. IMMENSELY DISAPPOINTED w/ the lack of on field options that hurt the game. I should have kept my PS2 and bought Madden 07 for current gen.
  19. CodyB.
    Aug 22, 2006
    4
    What a joke! I was waiting all this time for this disappointment? First of all the game cheats once in the 4th quarter. Your players dont run their routes, blockers don't block, and the other teams players can run through your players! Not to mention the glitches all throughout the game. It runs choppy. The gameplay is no different than every other Madden. It gets old EA! What a What a joke! I was waiting all this time for this disappointment? First of all the game cheats once in the 4th quarter. Your players dont run their routes, blockers don't block, and the other teams players can run through your players! Not to mention the glitches all throughout the game. It runs choppy. The gameplay is no different than every other Madden. It gets old EA! What a major let down! Expand
  20. CraigS.
    Aug 22, 2006
    8
    Good Game! It is better than last year's Madden 06. It will be 9+ next year!
  21. JohnK
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Good, but not great. That is my overall impression of this year's game. Although vastly improved over last year's version, it still seems unfinished. Interestingly, the area where the game is most lacking is in presentation. Why did EA bother to get the ESPN license, other than to just eliminate the competition from 2K sports? They are clearly wasting the license. 2K5 showed Good, but not great. That is my overall impression of this year's game. Although vastly improved over last year's version, it still seems unfinished. Interestingly, the area where the game is most lacking is in presentation. Why did EA bother to get the ESPN license, other than to just eliminate the competition from 2K sports? They are clearly wasting the license. 2K5 showed what could be done from a presentation standpoint, but instead of following that lead, they instead chose to have a radio announcer instead of TV style presentation. Makes no sense to do that with the ESPN license and Madden's name on the game. As a result, there is no play by play calling, no highlights or halftime show, no cheerleaders, and the game is generally just very uninspired sounding. That is my biggest complaint about the game. The actual gameplay is very well done, and fun to play. Graphics and animations are all very nice. I just don't understand why EA's "premier" football game is not as well done as NCAA 07. Gameplay in both is very fun and quite similar, but everything is slightly better in NCAA 07. Graphics are sharper and brighter, menus are larger and easier to read (for some reason the menus in Madden are all very small and often tilted at a strange angle, I suppose for some 3D effect), and very nice TV style presentation (which really makes a big difference). The bottom line: if you want the best football game in town, buy NCAA 07. If you love the NFL, then buy Madden. I have both, but I believe that NCAA 07 will spend more time in my 360 than Madden. Expand
  22. PhilM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    Stayed up all night playing Madden.. Yaaaaaaawwn. This game is so good I may flunk out of college.
  23. FedUp
    Aug 23, 2006
    3
    So have you guys figured out yet that EA is milking you? Where's ESPN? Why is there still some goofy animations? Where's the authentic gameplay? Tired of the gimmicks of hit stick, blocker control, vision cone, and build a sign? EA bought out the NFL rights because they knew they had to string the Madden series out with small updates. Major updates spurned on by NFL2k or NFL So have you guys figured out yet that EA is milking you? Where's ESPN? Why is there still some goofy animations? Where's the authentic gameplay? Tired of the gimmicks of hit stick, blocker control, vision cone, and build a sign? EA bought out the NFL rights because they knew they had to string the Madden series out with small updates. Major updates spurned on by NFL2k or NFL Fever would force them to work harder and innovate more...EA saw the wall they were about to hit. So now we have this new game with very nice graphics, yet essentially what you bought 4 years ago! This is not NEXT GEN, this is OLD GEN with new paint. Why the lousy announcer this year in a next gen game?...So when next year's "feature" of ESPN Presentation, you'll go "wow this is better than 07, I've got to buy it!". Why the lousy DB or WR control? So in Madden 2009 you can get "Daunte Hall on the Cover DB Defense" or "Chad Johnson Hands of Glue, Mouth of a Horse" feature. The game is built flawed intentionally...if it worked then why would you buy next year's game? Not to mention...does anyone remember the "next gen" video EA showed us of the Eagles and Giants? What a lark...maybe on the 2011 XBox or PS4, but not this generation. The NFL cheated us fans by selling exclusive rights, they monopolized the market and now we have a hyped up gaming "event" that is staged, that is a controlled illusion. Madden is a good game...it will never be great. It is not designed to be great, it is designed to leave you wanting fixes and more features so that you spend "faith money" year after year hoping you finally get the game you wanted. Madden is now so over hyped like the Super Bowl that it can never live up to expectations. I didn't skip work or school like I wanted to 4 years ago when Madden came out because it is not that great, it has lost the "wow" factor. Now it's like "I'm glad they fixed that animation or stopped LBs from going unblocked on certain plays." Come on! You spent $50-$60 so that a flawed game had some bug fixes put in and some inane feature that you won't use much? Based on previous versions...Graphics: 9, Gameplay 4, Presentation 1, Value: 1. If this is a new game to you then this is a 90+ game. If you are a buyer of the series then anything over a 7 means you have bought the EA Bible and have decided it's easier to go along with the crowd then see the truth. Expand
  24. Meepos
    Aug 23, 2006
    8
    First, Fed Up needs to lay off the Folgers, cause he's way too uptight. I think the move by EA and the NFL was for the purposes of business, not screwing fans of football video games. Do we, as gamers, benefit? No. But it's not like EA got the exclusive rights and put out a game suitable for the Atari 2600. I'd like to have a utopian outlook and think that NFL2k and NFL First, Fed Up needs to lay off the Folgers, cause he's way too uptight. I think the move by EA and the NFL was for the purposes of business, not screwing fans of football video games. Do we, as gamers, benefit? No. But it's not like EA got the exclusive rights and put out a game suitable for the Atari 2600. I'd like to have a utopian outlook and think that NFL2k and NFL Fever would force Madden to be better, but I don't think that would be the case. And for the record, the last 2K football was lousy...the only thing good was the ESPN presentation, and what good is that if the players run like ducks? The 360 version is great! Madden is still the best! Here are my pros and cons. Woo-Hoo!: Playable Hall of Fame players, great graphics and presentation, lead blocker control is innovative and practical. D'Oh!: NO FANTASY DRAFT....AGAIN? Madden still hasn't figured out a well-balanced difficulty level; the default is too easy and the next level up presents too much difficutly. Expand
  25. JamalW.
    Aug 24, 2006
    8
    I couldn't help but post a review after reading some peoples response. I can't help but think that a lot of the negative reviews are just negative EA feelings that have nothing to do with actual game. The conspiricy theories are actually quite funny. The thoughts that a game company, known for sports would do something to NOT make a good game...? That makes no sense. After I couldn't help but post a review after reading some peoples response. I can't help but think that a lot of the negative reviews are just negative EA feelings that have nothing to do with actual game. The conspiricy theories are actually quite funny. The thoughts that a game company, known for sports would do something to NOT make a good game...? That makes no sense. After playing the game this is what my thoghts on it are: Graphics 9 (Can it be more realistic...come one! It is sick on HD); Presentation 7 (I like the presentation feel, but there is a lot of room for improvement here); Value 9 (I find this game addicting and competetive... if you go to the movies you will spend $30 for 2 hours, or one night out to dinner is $50. I will be playing Madden for months, therefore the $60 is worth it), Gameplay 8 (Still some quirks that I am hoping will be resolved, but overall, good quality.) Expand
  26. FedUpFan
    Aug 24, 2006
    3
    Thanks Fed Up you said it all. If you have not read his post please read it. The only way we will get quality out of EA is to stop spending money on their mediocre junk!
  27. Guy
    Aug 24, 2006
    6
    Game (in-game and menu screens) still seems laggy and unresponsive. This was the key problem with 06 and it was unfixed in 07. Dissapointed.
  28. MaxB.
    Aug 24, 2006
    4
    So uh, this game isn't umm, finished. There's no franchise fantasy mode... a feature thats been on Madden for over 10 years. It's no the only feature missing either. Everything about the game reeks "unfinished." But I guess no competition means you can put out an unfinished product and people will still buy it. Superstar mode is improved from 06 however.
  29. KeepitReal
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    I can't belive all of the abit EA guys out there. EA has defined quality football and people just keep finding reasons to hate. This game is solid in every aspect and if it continues to make this much progress every year I will contniue to buy it every year. Call me a sheep, but I like getting a good football game every year. Yeah, O6 could have been better, but this game is solid. I can't belive all of the abit EA guys out there. EA has defined quality football and people just keep finding reasons to hate. This game is solid in every aspect and if it continues to make this much progress every year I will contniue to buy it every year. Call me a sheep, but I like getting a good football game every year. Yeah, O6 could have been better, but this game is solid. The only complaint I have is that the catching and pass coverage are harder to control then they should be, but even that is minor for me. Keep up the good work EA!! Expand
  30. JakeS.
    Aug 24, 2006
    6
    Pros:the graphis for the most part, are very nice. the gameplay is good as well. i also thought the music seletcion (the old orchestral NFL tracks) and the visual screen presentation were ok. Cons-first off, nobody has mentioned, there is no edit a player. What happens when some has like a Kurt Warner or Tom Brady year? What if Alex Smith or LenDale White has an awesome year and they are Pros:the graphis for the most part, are very nice. the gameplay is good as well. i also thought the music seletcion (the old orchestral NFL tracks) and the visual screen presentation were ok. Cons-first off, nobody has mentioned, there is no edit a player. What happens when some has like a Kurt Warner or Tom Brady year? What if Alex Smith or LenDale White has an awesome year and they are only an 82 or something in the game. Your screwed over. This might be the biggest diappointment I have felt in a video game. There is also no situational setup, like when you could select a game to be in the 4th quarter, down by 2, with a minute and a half to play in the Super Bowl. Also, they added alot of old players but no create a team function. The owner mode is gone and replaced with a bare bones franchise mode. I guess you can sim games and make changes to your roster, but you can no longer hire and fire coaching staffs, adjust prices and make new stadiums. Also, you cant move your team or any of that stuff. Finally, sure Madden and Michaels were annoying on announcing, but they were alot better than this radio crap announcing we have now. It annoying and pointless. Final line, Ill play this game, but when compared with the NCAA 07 game, Madden is next to nothing. NCAA has full, editable rosters for all the teams. The dynasty setup is nice and actually had some thought put into it. All Madden creators care about is the graphics. If they are good people will buy the game. You get it home and realize that there is nothing else there. They need to make the game what is was in 04 and 05. I used to play it for hours back then, now, I will probably play it until NBA Live comes out and then forget about it. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    80
    Madden 07 marks a turnaround for the franchise on the 360, and that's reason enough for football fans to rejoice. [Oct. 2006, p.77]
  2. With a bit more attention to in-game fluidity and detail, and the inclusion of core extras such as online leagues and co-op, Madden NFL 07 could have been stellar. It’s good for sure, but Madden NFL 07 isn’t a lock in this gamer’s Hall of Fame.
  3. 85
    This is the year EA Sports finally shows 360 owners what the series is all about, the trash talking, the head-to-head competition, the ability to create yourself and become a bigger star than the Seahawk on the box.