User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 145
  2. Negative: 53 out of 145

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jayl
    Aug 26, 2006
    3
    WOW, Great presentation. I love the cutscenes to the raucus crowd and the animations of the chain gang measuring for first downs and the players celebrating on the sidelines after scoring......oh wait, that was nfl 2k5 TWO YEARS AGO!!!! C'mon EA, you have the NFL and ESPN liscenses, USE THEM!! We don't want that horrendous radio?! anouncer. We don't want static shots ofWOW, Great presentation. I love the cutscenes to the raucus crowd and the animations of the chain gang measuring for first downs and the players celebrating on the sidelines after scoring......oh wait, that was nfl 2k5 TWO YEARS AGO!!!! C'mon EA, you have the NFL and ESPN liscenses, USE THEM!! We don't want that horrendous radio?! anouncer. We don't want static shots of the stadium after plays and first downs. This is the next generation for pete's sake, give us stat overlays and explanations on the replays and halftime shows. Why has presentation taken a back seat? The gameplay is ok but it is just sooooo boring. Do yourself a favor, pick up nfl 2k5 for 5 bucks and see what could have been and what could be if EA got off their butts and made a football game and stopped relying on all the madden fanboys to buy their product every year. Expand
  2. MarioG.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    Good game but I guess I expected more. Do not really play any other mode exept exhibition and the gameplay is slow. The players move fast but react very slow when you control the player. My opinion I hooked up the PS2 and played Madden and its better than the X-box version. Nothing new practically everything is the same...something new has to come for the price.
  3. DanW.
    Dec 20, 2006
    3
    EA is simply not even trying to give us a good game, because of their monopoly and the absence of 2k. Initially I was excited that EA and ESPN were colaberating to give us the ultimate football game - now I am just pissed off. All EA cares about is sales, and that is obvious by the lack of quality in 07 for the 360. NO FANTASY DRAFT - that is unexcusable. Why not add that one simple EA is simply not even trying to give us a good game, because of their monopoly and the absence of 2k. Initially I was excited that EA and ESPN were colaberating to give us the ultimate football game - now I am just pissed off. All EA cares about is sales, and that is obvious by the lack of quality in 07 for the 360. NO FANTASY DRAFT - that is unexcusable. Why not add that one simple feature in, to make the game 10 times more enjoyable? Also, only two players, and you can not play on the same team, you have to play against each other. And the mini games suck compared to xbox training camp, and there is still no owner mode. The gameplay and the graphics are great, but once you get past that it is the same game as madden 06. I actually went out and bought a copy for xbox, and sold my 360 copy - that is how pathetic this game is Expand
  4. THOMASSCHAEFER
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    THIS GAME IS GREAT! I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH EA FOR GETTING AWAY FROM THAT STUPID VIEW FROM LAST YEAR. I WISH THAT THE 360 VERSION WAS A BIT FASTER ON THE LOADING AND AFTER PLAYS, BUT OTHER THEN THAT THE GAME IS GREAT. EA HAS REALLY OUTDONE THEM SELF WITH THIS GAME.
  5. GeorgeMorales
    Sep 1, 2006
    5
    The 360 Madden should have more options then the PS2 XBOX and all the other systems, because it has more GB so what is the !@#$ problem you need to download alternate jerseys, can't edit players or move them with out trading. This Game is starting to go in the wrong direction....P.S. thanks for reading!
  6. JasonBohanna
    Oct 4, 2006
    5
    In my experience with all madden games by far the best one is madden 2001. First reason is that there are almost no limits to what you can do, one of my favorite options 01 is that when you edit players you edit all stats including age and years in the league, what happend to that feature? why did ea feel the need to remove it? I'm sorry but when i buy a football game you should beIn my experience with all madden games by far the best one is madden 2001. First reason is that there are almost no limits to what you can do, one of my favorite options 01 is that when you edit players you edit all stats including age and years in the league, what happend to that feature? why did ea feel the need to remove it? I'm sorry but when i buy a football game you should be able to do what ever you like, second when your beefing up your team before the franchise mode, whenever you trade a player or sign a free agent as soon as you enter franchise mode that player's yearly statistics are erased? is this a gltch? a bug? i wouldnt think so it's been this way since madden 02, to me this ruins the playing experience, what i mean by that is lets say i trade Tony Parrish to the Seahawks for Michael Boulware then i enter franchise mode with my newly accuired player when you happen to look at his player info everything is erased! thease all might be minor to some but i know to many people how complain about this, i could easily scratch madden all together but guess what there are no other football games on the market so i guess i'll just have to settle WRONG i shouldnt have to settle EA should just bring back option that work before and add new options just like they do every year, why not? Expand
  7. BrandonP
    Oct 16, 2006
    1
    The game play is horse sh1t. Franchise mode is lame. Superstar mode you play the game as a puppet and they pick your plays. Retarted views of the stadium after every play is just lame. I want to punch the mother fuck3r in the face who made this game and caused me 60 dollars. The Game is ShiiiiiiiiiiTTTTTTTTTTTTT
  8. LouieD
    Apr 28, 2007
    2
    WTF is this crap...this game is retarded......it is the worst madden game every designed....if nebody gives this game above a 5 they should be shot.....DEAD.....lets start off, good...the graphics or amazing...now that i got the ONLY good thing about the game lets move on to sum of the things that make me made.......CREATE A PLAYER....what a joke this mode is.....absolutly IMPOSSIBLE toWTF is this crap...this game is retarded......it is the worst madden game every designed....if nebody gives this game above a 5 they should be shot.....DEAD.....lets start off, good...the graphics or amazing...now that i got the ONLY good thing about the game lets move on to sum of the things that make me made.......CREATE A PLAYER....what a joke this mode is.....absolutly IMPOSSIBLE to get a player above 65.....even the "FREAK" players suck....i created dwayne jarrett from USC right after he got drafted......he had decent speed at 89.......his hands (if u could call them hands).....he couldnt catch a cold in -20 degree weather being sprayed with a hose.....guess his catching rating.......5....how that hell do u give ANY WR a 5 idc who u think u r.....a 5 come on.......moving on.....where the hell is the edit player mode......wut the hell...the most important feature in madden history is abscent....whatever not even wasting my time with that one.....the mini camp drills or so hard to do...the person who made that drill couldnt even beat it.....the 40 yard dash....r u kidding me......nobody on this earth can move their figures or thumbs fast enough to get a decent score.......the bench press......ok let me ask u this......laroy glover 2 years ago in the probowl repped 225lbs 34 times.....the "strongest" man in the NFL....ya right....if u get 34 reps in madden 07 your strength is like a 64......so thats basically telling laroy glover hes as strong at a 4 year old on steriods....so ALL the ratings suck ass.....and to bring up another point.....how come steve smith (WR from the panthers) has a 97 speed rating and got chased down by a defensive end with 74 speed.....go figure.......theres a TON more things i can complain about but im gonna complain about 2 more things.......the most annoying aggrevating feature ever.....if there is a TINY piece of dust or an almost invisible scratch the "most powerful gaming system" (aka xbox 360) can't read the disk and the game shuts off right in the middle of you playing the game.................last but not least.......wheres the in game save feature....wut happens if i played 5 games in a row make it to the superbowl on all madden and my dog or mom gets hit by a car.......or i have to poop......or a fly gets caught in my lil brothers throat and i have to do CPR.....then what...if u pause the game for more then 5 mins when u get back to it the game shuts off just to b a prick......then u lose all that data all that time and effort put into the game.......???? stupid right.....this game is a waste of money.....if i didnt sell my original XBOX i would be playing the original madden games no 360 games.......this years game was a 64 dollar rip off the producers KNEW that the game sucked thats y they didnt give microsoft the ablity to let the player play an original madden game on the 360 so then u would b forced to buy the ONLY football game besides a street game.....if that dosent change for 08 there are going to be ALOT more pissed off people........i hope the designers of madden read these opinions and change their work habits......and stop smoking like in grandmas boy the movie.......so ya a over all rating of a 2 is being nice......ne comments on this send me an e-mail tipsypimp96@aol.com...............................................GO PANTHERS!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  9. JohnnyHoge
    Jul 27, 2008
    1
    I have faithfully played madden since it came out. It is sad to say but madden 07 stinks it does sorry number 10 voters. Ok the super graphics everyone likes is a load of bs, every time my guy runs in the rain or snow it glitches gets tackled with 5 or more guys around glitches, when I say glitches its like there body movements aren't right like they were running on ice or thereI have faithfully played madden since it came out. It is sad to say but madden 07 stinks it does sorry number 10 voters. Ok the super graphics everyone likes is a load of bs, every time my guy runs in the rain or snow it glitches gets tackled with 5 or more guys around glitches, when I say glitches its like there body movements aren't right like they were running on ice or there body just didn't look like it should run that way, come on now. Now the 2nd thing, in all the madden games I've played the most fun i had was creating my own players i would erase the whole steelers team and make my own, yeah guess what you have to get a madden gamer level of 30 to make your QB what thats ok it seems cool, now that I make my QB i can't make himm 99 in some aspects i have to buy sucky guys off the free agents list to get a 99 rating because my WR cant outrun the ROLB or the SS screw that and how come my guys muscles are so small i had the highest setting they could go on they were like toothpicks. Then I made myself heavier still the same sticks. I hope 09 is better and the reason I played madden was for my team which I made all the names myself, hearing madden MC my plays, and going through 15 years of franchise with my players so seriously madden please bring the power back to the people you make the game for. And if those guys giving 10s over and over with only 1 liner sentences do work for madden you should be ashamed. And the only reason I give it a 1 is to hope that scares the heck out of madden and show some hope that they might make a good game again. Expand
  10. AaronH.
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    Great graphics, improved gameplay (lead blocker control is wonderful), and an engrossing Superstar Mode make this the best next gen sports game released to date.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Aug 22, 2006
    6
    Madden just doesn't do it for me like it used to. Needs a legitimate retooling instead of a new mode and 10 new button combos every year. Higher difficulty settings don't make the computer's AI more intelligent, it just makes your players make really dumb mistakes (giving up on blocks, corners running away from a play for a bit or stuttering). Personally looking forward to Madden just doesn't do it for me like it used to. Needs a legitimate retooling instead of a new mode and 10 new button combos every year. Higher difficulty settings don't make the computer's AI more intelligent, it just makes your players make really dumb mistakes (giving up on blocks, corners running away from a play for a bit or stuttering). Personally looking forward to Wii Madden (maybe it will actually be different). Expand
  12. TomD.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    THis game has made incredible strides and EA should be appaluded for what has been put in this year....... Madden 07 is for real.
  13. FMottier
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    Big jump from last year to this year. I especially thought the audio was immersive and really does a 5.1 system justice. Fun experience.
  14. RobertM.
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    I used to be a Sega fan, but this game has converted me over. The graphics and gameplay are far superior to anything that has ever been released before.
  15. ManuelG.
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    The game is off the HOOK! The amount of detail on the field is absoutlely amazing. I played it last night for 8 straight hours and it got better every hour I was playing it. Madden 07 fellas. Get yous and get online!
  16. TerrellOwens
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    There are always things to improve, but this is the best football game I have ever played. I have a small complaint here and there and I am not crazy about the lack of innovation in their front end, but the graphics, gameplay, and depth are ridiculous. Head to head is real fun again in Madden. It's clear to me that the EA team has their priorities straight cares about what ballers There are always things to improve, but this is the best football game I have ever played. I have a small complaint here and there and I am not crazy about the lack of innovation in their front end, but the graphics, gameplay, and depth are ridiculous. Head to head is real fun again in Madden. It's clear to me that the EA team has their priorities straight cares about what ballers want, and knows their audience. The ballitician. Expand
  17. JeffC.
    Aug 22, 2006
    8
    A solid game,..but nowhere near where a next gen football game named Madden should be. Framerate is average,..and a at times slows down considerably. ESPN 2k5 still has no peers as far as presentation,....Madden 2007 has no Madden, no halftime show,..no highlight reel, etc. EA's monopoly over NFL games has taken the genre back 2 steps,....nowhere near as flashy as NFL2k5 on the A solid game,..but nowhere near where a next gen football game named Madden should be. Framerate is average,..and a at times slows down considerably. ESPN 2k5 still has no peers as far as presentation,....Madden 2007 has no Madden, no halftime show,..no highlight reel, etc. EA's monopoly over NFL games has taken the genre back 2 steps,....nowhere near as flashy as NFL2k5 on the original XBOX. Expand
  18. Stevek
    Aug 22, 2006
    5
    Games looks great. After that, there's not much. Smart Hot Routes for WRs to run to the first down marker? Nope. Defensive Playmaker to double a star WR? Nope. Fundamental elements missing from the gameplay that makes it play like Madden 2001 on the PS2. IMMENSELY DISAPPOINTED w/ the lack of on field options that hurt the game. I should have kept my PS2 and bought Madden 07 for current gen.
  19. CodyB.
    Aug 22, 2006
    4
    What a joke! I was waiting all this time for this disappointment? First of all the game cheats once in the 4th quarter. Your players dont run their routes, blockers don't block, and the other teams players can run through your players! Not to mention the glitches all throughout the game. It runs choppy. The gameplay is no different than every other Madden. It gets old EA! What a What a joke! I was waiting all this time for this disappointment? First of all the game cheats once in the 4th quarter. Your players dont run their routes, blockers don't block, and the other teams players can run through your players! Not to mention the glitches all throughout the game. It runs choppy. The gameplay is no different than every other Madden. It gets old EA! What a major let down! Expand
  20. CraigS.
    Aug 22, 2006
    8
    Good Game! It is better than last year's Madden 06. It will be 9+ next year!
  21. JohnK
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    Good, but not great. That is my overall impression of this year's game. Although vastly improved over last year's version, it still seems unfinished. Interestingly, the area where the game is most lacking is in presentation. Why did EA bother to get the ESPN license, other than to just eliminate the competition from 2K sports? They are clearly wasting the license. 2K5 showed Good, but not great. That is my overall impression of this year's game. Although vastly improved over last year's version, it still seems unfinished. Interestingly, the area where the game is most lacking is in presentation. Why did EA bother to get the ESPN license, other than to just eliminate the competition from 2K sports? They are clearly wasting the license. 2K5 showed what could be done from a presentation standpoint, but instead of following that lead, they instead chose to have a radio announcer instead of TV style presentation. Makes no sense to do that with the ESPN license and Madden's name on the game. As a result, there is no play by play calling, no highlights or halftime show, no cheerleaders, and the game is generally just very uninspired sounding. That is my biggest complaint about the game. The actual gameplay is very well done, and fun to play. Graphics and animations are all very nice. I just don't understand why EA's "premier" football game is not as well done as NCAA 07. Gameplay in both is very fun and quite similar, but everything is slightly better in NCAA 07. Graphics are sharper and brighter, menus are larger and easier to read (for some reason the menus in Madden are all very small and often tilted at a strange angle, I suppose for some 3D effect), and very nice TV style presentation (which really makes a big difference). The bottom line: if you want the best football game in town, buy NCAA 07. If you love the NFL, then buy Madden. I have both, but I believe that NCAA 07 will spend more time in my 360 than Madden. Expand
  22. PhilM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    Stayed up all night playing Madden.. Yaaaaaaawwn. This game is so good I may flunk out of college.
  23. FedUp
    Aug 23, 2006
    3
    So have you guys figured out yet that EA is milking you? Where's ESPN? Why is there still some goofy animations? Where's the authentic gameplay? Tired of the gimmicks of hit stick, blocker control, vision cone, and build a sign? EA bought out the NFL rights because they knew they had to string the Madden series out with small updates. Major updates spurned on by NFL2k or NFL So have you guys figured out yet that EA is milking you? Where's ESPN? Why is there still some goofy animations? Where's the authentic gameplay? Tired of the gimmicks of hit stick, blocker control, vision cone, and build a sign? EA bought out the NFL rights because they knew they had to string the Madden series out with small updates. Major updates spurned on by NFL2k or NFL Fever would force them to work harder and innovate more...EA saw the wall they were about to hit. So now we have this new game with very nice graphics, yet essentially what you bought 4 years ago! This is not NEXT GEN, this is OLD GEN with new paint. Why the lousy announcer this year in a next gen game?...So when next year's "feature" of ESPN Presentation, you'll go "wow this is better than 07, I've got to buy it!". Why the lousy DB or WR control? So in Madden 2009 you can get "Daunte Hall on the Cover DB Defense" or "Chad Johnson Hands of Glue, Mouth of a Horse" feature. The game is built flawed intentionally...if it worked then why would you buy next year's game? Not to mention...does anyone remember the "next gen" video EA showed us of the Eagles and Giants? What a lark...maybe on the 2011 XBox or PS4, but not this generation. The NFL cheated us fans by selling exclusive rights, they monopolized the market and now we have a hyped up gaming "event" that is staged, that is a controlled illusion. Madden is a good game...it will never be great. It is not designed to be great, it is designed to leave you wanting fixes and more features so that you spend "faith money" year after year hoping you finally get the game you wanted. Madden is now so over hyped like the Super Bowl that it can never live up to expectations. I didn't skip work or school like I wanted to 4 years ago when Madden came out because it is not that great, it has lost the "wow" factor. Now it's like "I'm glad they fixed that animation or stopped LBs from going unblocked on certain plays." Come on! You spent $50-$60 so that a flawed game had some bug fixes put in and some inane feature that you won't use much? Based on previous versions...Graphics: 9, Gameplay 4, Presentation 1, Value: 1. If this is a new game to you then this is a 90+ game. If you are a buyer of the series then anything over a 7 means you have bought the EA Bible and have decided it's easier to go along with the crowd then see the truth. Expand
  24. Meepos
    Aug 23, 2006
    8
    First, Fed Up needs to lay off the Folgers, cause he's way too uptight. I think the move by EA and the NFL was for the purposes of business, not screwing fans of football video games. Do we, as gamers, benefit? No. But it's not like EA got the exclusive rights and put out a game suitable for the Atari 2600. I'd like to have a utopian outlook and think that NFL2k and NFL First, Fed Up needs to lay off the Folgers, cause he's way too uptight. I think the move by EA and the NFL was for the purposes of business, not screwing fans of football video games. Do we, as gamers, benefit? No. But it's not like EA got the exclusive rights and put out a game suitable for the Atari 2600. I'd like to have a utopian outlook and think that NFL2k and NFL Fever would force Madden to be better, but I don't think that would be the case. And for the record, the last 2K football was lousy...the only thing good was the ESPN presentation, and what good is that if the players run like ducks? The 360 version is great! Madden is still the best! Here are my pros and cons. Woo-Hoo!: Playable Hall of Fame players, great graphics and presentation, lead blocker control is innovative and practical. D'Oh!: NO FANTASY DRAFT....AGAIN? Madden still hasn't figured out a well-balanced difficulty level; the default is too easy and the next level up presents too much difficutly. Expand
  25. JamalW.
    Aug 24, 2006
    8
    I couldn't help but post a review after reading some peoples response. I can't help but think that a lot of the negative reviews are just negative EA feelings that have nothing to do with actual game. The conspiricy theories are actually quite funny. The thoughts that a game company, known for sports would do something to NOT make a good game...? That makes no sense. After I couldn't help but post a review after reading some peoples response. I can't help but think that a lot of the negative reviews are just negative EA feelings that have nothing to do with actual game. The conspiricy theories are actually quite funny. The thoughts that a game company, known for sports would do something to NOT make a good game...? That makes no sense. After playing the game this is what my thoghts on it are: Graphics 9 (Can it be more realistic...come one! It is sick on HD); Presentation 7 (I like the presentation feel, but there is a lot of room for improvement here); Value 9 (I find this game addicting and competetive... if you go to the movies you will spend $30 for 2 hours, or one night out to dinner is $50. I will be playing Madden for months, therefore the $60 is worth it), Gameplay 8 (Still some quirks that I am hoping will be resolved, but overall, good quality.) Expand
  26. FedUpFan
    Aug 24, 2006
    3
    Thanks Fed Up you said it all. If you have not read his post please read it. The only way we will get quality out of EA is to stop spending money on their mediocre junk!
  27. Guy
    Aug 24, 2006
    6
    Game (in-game and menu screens) still seems laggy and unresponsive. This was the key problem with 06 and it was unfixed in 07. Dissapointed.
  28. MaxB.
    Aug 24, 2006
    4
    So uh, this game isn't umm, finished. There's no franchise fantasy mode... a feature thats been on Madden for over 10 years. It's no the only feature missing either. Everything about the game reeks "unfinished." But I guess no competition means you can put out an unfinished product and people will still buy it. Superstar mode is improved from 06 however.
  29. KeepitReal
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    I can't belive all of the abit EA guys out there. EA has defined quality football and people just keep finding reasons to hate. This game is solid in every aspect and if it continues to make this much progress every year I will contniue to buy it every year. Call me a sheep, but I like getting a good football game every year. Yeah, O6 could have been better, but this game is solid. I can't belive all of the abit EA guys out there. EA has defined quality football and people just keep finding reasons to hate. This game is solid in every aspect and if it continues to make this much progress every year I will contniue to buy it every year. Call me a sheep, but I like getting a good football game every year. Yeah, O6 could have been better, but this game is solid. The only complaint I have is that the catching and pass coverage are harder to control then they should be, but even that is minor for me. Keep up the good work EA!! Expand
  30. JakeS.
    Aug 24, 2006
    6
    Pros:the graphis for the most part, are very nice. the gameplay is good as well. i also thought the music seletcion (the old orchestral NFL tracks) and the visual screen presentation were ok. Cons-first off, nobody has mentioned, there is no edit a player. What happens when some has like a Kurt Warner or Tom Brady year? What if Alex Smith or LenDale White has an awesome year and they are Pros:the graphis for the most part, are very nice. the gameplay is good as well. i also thought the music seletcion (the old orchestral NFL tracks) and the visual screen presentation were ok. Cons-first off, nobody has mentioned, there is no edit a player. What happens when some has like a Kurt Warner or Tom Brady year? What if Alex Smith or LenDale White has an awesome year and they are only an 82 or something in the game. Your screwed over. This might be the biggest diappointment I have felt in a video game. There is also no situational setup, like when you could select a game to be in the 4th quarter, down by 2, with a minute and a half to play in the Super Bowl. Also, they added alot of old players but no create a team function. The owner mode is gone and replaced with a bare bones franchise mode. I guess you can sim games and make changes to your roster, but you can no longer hire and fire coaching staffs, adjust prices and make new stadiums. Also, you cant move your team or any of that stuff. Finally, sure Madden and Michaels were annoying on announcing, but they were alot better than this radio crap announcing we have now. It annoying and pointless. Final line, Ill play this game, but when compared with the NCAA 07 game, Madden is next to nothing. NCAA has full, editable rosters for all the teams. The dynasty setup is nice and actually had some thought put into it. All Madden creators care about is the graphics. If they are good people will buy the game. You get it home and realize that there is nothing else there. They need to make the game what is was in 04 and 05. I used to play it for hours back then, now, I will probably play it until NBA Live comes out and then forget about it. Expand
  31. FPSMaster
    Aug 25, 2006
    5
    I agree with everything you said Jake except for the graphics. I think they are absolutely terrible considering what the 360 has already shown us it's capabale of with even these first generation games. But EA can't even get that right, as they still seem very pixelly and the animations are choppy and lasy gen along with the gameplay. But what other choice do we have?
  32. TimC.
    Aug 25, 2006
    9
    All You Guys are sick, this game is one of Maddens Best yet and i'm more of a Nba live fan myself. This madden has it all the graphics which i give a 10. okay the commentating could be better, but the run game is awesome, no longer do you have to play madden just throwing 50 yard passes all day, now it's much easier to run as well, the blovkers pick up there blocks, or u can All You Guys are sick, this game is one of Maddens Best yet and i'm more of a Nba live fan myself. This madden has it all the graphics which i give a 10. okay the commentating could be better, but the run game is awesome, no longer do you have to play madden just throwing 50 yard passes all day, now it's much easier to run as well, the blovkers pick up there blocks, or u can even change to be the fullback or a blocker. This makes the game more challenging. but the best thing ever is to be able to play an actual season online, instead of playing the computer all the time. Thats the best addition to me, i'm in the military this game came out on tuesday and i called in sick wendsday & Thursday. This is the best football ever but wait until live comes out than we would see if EA can hold me in there hall of fame players. Expand
  33. JonathanW.
    Aug 25, 2006
    7
    until they fix the superhuman linebackers this won't be a great game. does it look nice? oh ya.. the graphics are very tight.
  34. JonD.
    Aug 25, 2006
    7
    Its a huge improvement over 06 on the 360. The graphics are amazing on HD, There are bugs but not as many, for instance you sometimes dissapear and then reapear 2-4 feet away from your original position. The gameplay is very good, and its fun. The minicamps are there this year but they are very lackluster, they are fun at first but the games directions on how to play them is awful so it Its a huge improvement over 06 on the 360. The graphics are amazing on HD, There are bugs but not as many, for instance you sometimes dissapear and then reapear 2-4 feet away from your original position. The gameplay is very good, and its fun. The minicamps are there this year but they are very lackluster, they are fun at first but the games directions on how to play them is awful so it will take you 3-5 times to actualy know how to play them and even then you wont be sure if you're doing it correctly. The franchise is there and its not bad but compared to madden 06 on normal XBox it isnt complete. All in all the game is good but its not madden good. The music is awful like every madden game... in other words 5 good songs 20 terrible ones. To Jake S. when he said what happens if a rookie does outstanding and is only an 80 in the game then you can change the stats if you really need to, but the players are rated on what they did last year not what the future will bring. My main issue is its only 2 players, its football and you can only have 2 players? that doesnt make sense to me, I think this game is definately bettter then last year but it has room for improvement of what it can be. Next year It will be a little better and the year after that a little better but Madden is a franchise that gets better every year not worse like others. Expand
  35. MattP.
    Aug 26, 2006
    6
    How is it possible for something to be on a "next-gen" console and have less than the previous edition? Nothing about this game seems all that well done: the players all look the same and mad as hell at that; the passing game is ridiculously easy; the defense is ridiculously bad and the shoddy attempt at "reaslism" in the superstar and create a player modes is a frusterating grabbag of How is it possible for something to be on a "next-gen" console and have less than the previous edition? Nothing about this game seems all that well done: the players all look the same and mad as hell at that; the passing game is ridiculously easy; the defense is ridiculously bad and the shoddy attempt at "reaslism" in the superstar and create a player modes is a frusterating grabbag of half-hashed football ideas. On the offense front, running is much the same as it was in '06, except they moved around some controls and renamed the hitstick the highlight stick. Passing, however, is much revamped. Let's just say that Bobby Engram shouldn't be getting 268 yards on Ty Law. Which says something about the play of the defense; which is totally all or nothing. I was either breaking a 70 yard run with Edgearin James or getting schooled by Nate Burleson for 80 yards a catch. The defensive play in the game is the most dissapointing aspect. In the franchise mode, there's not fantasty draft, which really took away from the videogame part of the videogame. Lastly, the menus are overdone and obtuse: why can't you just press a bumper button to switch positions? Alot of ideas, but none of them all that great. If this is what EAs going to do with their vaunted exclusive lisence, then I don't think I'm going to be buying many more of these. Expand
  36. Andrew
    Aug 26, 2006
    7
    This game isn't nearly as good as the 10's and is not nearly as bad as the 3's. It's not bad. It's not great. Honestly, I remember having a lot more fun with last year's Madden on Xbox. Still haven't gotten used to the new game engine on 360. But I'm willing to give EA a break for a couple years. They rebuilt the game engine from the ground up for This game isn't nearly as good as the 10's and is not nearly as bad as the 3's. It's not bad. It's not great. Honestly, I remember having a lot more fun with last year's Madden on Xbox. Still haven't gotten used to the new game engine on 360. But I'm willing to give EA a break for a couple years. They rebuilt the game engine from the ground up for next gen, which was the right move, but it's not gonna happen in a year. Madden for PS2 and Xbox have been refined to the point of near perfection over the years. Remember the first PS2 Madden? It wasn't that good. It takes a few development cycles before the engine is perfectly refined. The next couple years will be the true test. There are no more excuses, what with PS3 around the corner. They shouldn't be focusing on anything but next gen from here on out. If the game still plays like this next year, then I'll start to worry. As for now, I take Madden 07 on 360 for what it is: a good football game that has a lot of room for improvement, especially in Franchise mode. If you have a 360 and an Xbox or PS2, I hate to say it, but I would get the current gen Madden. It's ten bucks cheaper and it plays a little better. It's not as pretty, but you'll get more bang for your buck. If you only have a 360, pick this up. You won't be blown away, but you shouldn't be disappointed either. Just don't go in expecting to be floored and you'll be fine. Expand
  37. JackH.
    Aug 27, 2006
    2
    Awkward menus, Jerky play, lousy commentary, Bugs with work arounds and promised patches for the fortuate few with LIVE. Can't edit players, No Owner Mode, Franchise Mode flawed and virtually useless. Can't do a fantasy draft, No salary cap, Player trades pointless because AI accepts any trade, No Coach mode, Can't do a cpu vs cpu game, Can't play with a buddy on the Awkward menus, Jerky play, lousy commentary, Bugs with work arounds and promised patches for the fortuate few with LIVE. Can't edit players, No Owner Mode, Franchise Mode flawed and virtually useless. Can't do a fantasy draft, No salary cap, Player trades pointless because AI accepts any trade, No Coach mode, Can't do a cpu vs cpu game, Can't play with a buddy on the same team. Graphics and animation are great. Gameplay is good. SS mode is cute. Everything else in the game sucks, Everything that's missing is inexcusable. For PLAYERS I rate this game a 7, For STRATEGISTS I rate it 0, and for leaving out options, and releasing with obvious bugs, I give it a -5. Expand
  38. AndresL.
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    This is just a theory so dont hold me to it. If madden usually comes out in August but the 360 version came out in late November, wouldn't that shorten the dev cycle by a few months if madden 2007 needed to be released in August? I think the game is pretty great given how little time they prolly had to work on it. With a much shorter cycle, either you have less dev time or less testing time
  39. JJN.
    Aug 28, 2006
    3
    So disappointed in this series of game. Yeah, fine I could understand why Madden 06 for 360 was horrible but 07 has no explanation. I loved playing Madden on my original XBox and I used to play for days and even weeks and sometime months at a time but this game I got sick of after playing it for an hour. I really want my money back I feel violated. Why did they have to hype it so much?? So disappointed in this series of game. Yeah, fine I could understand why Madden 06 for 360 was horrible but 07 has no explanation. I loved playing Madden on my original XBox and I used to play for days and even weeks and sometime months at a time but this game I got sick of after playing it for an hour. I really want my money back I feel violated. Why did they have to hype it so much?? Madden doesnt even announce the games you have to put up with this jack ass of an announcer. The game play is sluggish and slow. A plus is that they spent all the time and effort on the graphics and thats the only reason in my mind to give it a 3. If your used to options that were available in the older Madden games don't be dissatisfied when you play this because this is your for warning. I am an EA gamer who only plays EA Sports game, but after this hack of a game I might have to give another football game a try. Expand
  40. BobC.
    Aug 28, 2006
    2
    I think madden 07 for the xbox 360 is the worst f*cking madden ever, the graphics are very nice but the game play sucks,it is very slow, the defense is very stupid even in all madden, CBs get bit like crazy by the WR. i regreat buying this sucky madden.
  41. ChrisD.
    Aug 29, 2006
    6
    Although Graffics are great and the stadiums look amazing, the stupid create a player mini game and the lake of edit a player really botherd me in this instalment, plus you can no longer have a 4 player multiplayer which my 3 brothers and i loved to play. leap in Graffics but a step back in gameing, franchise mode is basic and when you win the super bowl there is nothing, plus the Although Graffics are great and the stadiums look amazing, the stupid create a player mini game and the lake of edit a player really botherd me in this instalment, plus you can no longer have a 4 player multiplayer which my 3 brothers and i loved to play. leap in Graffics but a step back in gameing, franchise mode is basic and when you win the super bowl there is nothing, plus the commantary feels like Montana sports talk, huge dissipointment Expand
  42. JayT.
    Aug 29, 2006
    3
    Terribly dissappointed in the game. I've bought this game every year for the last 7 years. This year I was let down. They took out so many of the features. I'm selling my Xbox 360 version and going back to the PS2. Why can't I edit players? Why take out the fantasy draft? The graphics look nice, but that doesnt make for a good game. There also are major bugs with fatigue Terribly dissappointed in the game. I've bought this game every year for the last 7 years. This year I was let down. They took out so many of the features. I'm selling my Xbox 360 version and going back to the PS2. Why can't I edit players? Why take out the fantasy draft? The graphics look nice, but that doesnt make for a good game. There also are major bugs with fatigue and salary caps! And its plain silly when the user-interface is boring and difficult to navigate. Who the heck designed this, and how could they have thought they were making it easier and better? Expand
  43. NickD.
    Aug 31, 2006
    4
    I'm very disappointed in this years Madden. Bad interface, no fantasy draft. Superstar mode is okay but i would much rather have fantasy draft than superstar. i dont understand how a next-gen system can have less features than the ps2 or xbox versions. but seriously, there is no fantasy draft. i really thought having a 360 would be the greatest but right now i feel like EA is just I'm very disappointed in this years Madden. Bad interface, no fantasy draft. Superstar mode is okay but i would much rather have fantasy draft than superstar. i dont understand how a next-gen system can have less features than the ps2 or xbox versions. but seriously, there is no fantasy draft. i really thought having a 360 would be the greatest but right now i feel like EA is just screwing us all over. i could have waited a month or so for madden, rather than another year for a new one. Expand
  44. RickW.
    Sep 1, 2006
    4
    I have enjoyed and played Madden Footbal games from 98' to 07'. every madden game has been consistently amazing except for 07'. I feel they have broken to traditional style of the game along with subtracting fun elements. I beleive EA has tryed too hard on graphics rather then gameplay or any other user friendly activity in the game. If you enjoy playing with a group of I have enjoyed and played Madden Footbal games from 98' to 07'. every madden game has been consistently amazing except for 07'. I feel they have broken to traditional style of the game along with subtracting fun elements. I beleive EA has tryed too hard on graphics rather then gameplay or any other user friendly activity in the game. If you enjoy playing with a group of friends then i suggest Madden 06'. Expand
  45. ChrisG.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Excellent game and gameplay.
  46. JonL.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Great game!
  47. TomW.
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Best Madden ever!!! Graphics and gameplay are ace! Dont listen to the doubters. Superstar mode is so addictive! Awe inspiring game.
  48. JimV.
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Superb in every aspect and probably the greatest football game ever made!
  49. TimW.
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Is this the best game ever? The superstar mode alone makes me say yes!
  50. TonyC.
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Jaw-dropping graphics, sound, gameplay and the most fun I have had playing a game in quite some time!
  51. ChrisW.
    Sep 3, 2006
    6
    The Graphics look great in the 360 version, yet I cant help but feel ripped off by EA with the lack of features.
  52. MollyJ.
    Sep 4, 2006
    6
    Well, I will have to say that Madden 2007 is fun for what it is.... The graphics are great, and I enjoy the gameplay for the most part. But the most dissapointing facts of the game to me are the lack of camera views in superstar mode, and the poor performance on defense. This game is fun for what it is, but its a shame that they didn't expand on some of the other points to make this Well, I will have to say that Madden 2007 is fun for what it is.... The graphics are great, and I enjoy the gameplay for the most part. But the most dissapointing facts of the game to me are the lack of camera views in superstar mode, and the poor performance on defense. This game is fun for what it is, but its a shame that they didn't expand on some of the other points to make this a grade A game. I hope its not because they own the exclusive rights to the NFL liscense, and because of that, they didn't feel they had to make the game top notch due to competition. Expand
  53. BobbyB.
    Sep 5, 2006
    0
    Madden 2007 for XBox 360, is the worst Madden I have seen since the early 90's. You can't make substitutions for your second string players. I would think, spending close to $500 for the game and system, you would be able to manipulate your team playbook and substituations. The thing that really burns me is that when you unlock these stupid ass historic players, you are stuck Madden 2007 for XBox 360, is the worst Madden I have seen since the early 90's. You can't make substitutions for your second string players. I would think, spending close to $500 for the game and system, you would be able to manipulate your team playbook and substituations. The thing that really burns me is that when you unlock these stupid ass historic players, you are stuck with them forever. You go into franchise mode and all other teams pick up these 99 rated players and I have no control over that. I rated this game a BIG FAT ZERO just to make up for the people rating a 10...because they just don't know....the 40 yard dash is cool! along with mini games to create yourself...that's about it. Expand
  54. EricP.
    Sep 6, 2006
    5
    Its a 5...but closer to 4 then it is 6. madden 06 was a horrible waste of time...so i waited until 07 was released...although better than 06, no where near as good as it should have been...Refunds..or exchanges should be offer to folks who did buy Madden 06, and if Circuit City wasn't selling 07 for 47 bucks (360) I probably would have rented it first...and then returned cause Its a 5...but closer to 4 then it is 6. madden 06 was a horrible waste of time...so i waited until 07 was released...although better than 06, no where near as good as it should have been...Refunds..or exchanges should be offer to folks who did buy Madden 06, and if Circuit City wasn't selling 07 for 47 bucks (360) I probably would have rented it first...and then returned cause waiting for 07 was not worth it. The create a player feature has taken a step back from PS2...sure you can run through some "combine" test...but its impossible to create a solid/starter quality player...also the players are to BIG, to much muscle....even on the lowest setting. Create a player Face options are limited it, and the on field player looks like a 5x7 picture was forced into a helmet Unable to Edit existing players... Unable to Turn off Fatigue...once in season mode Players look like they're "skating" on grass....no grass/mud gets kicked up as the run...or even as cut backs occur Madden 06 for PS2 was a great game, and I am very disappointed that Madden 07 was my entry into Madden franchise for 360 or even XBOX in general...I was a Playstation kid...but decided I couldn't wait for PS3, all I say is that EA better come correct with their entire line for PS3 Expand
  55. MikeM.
    Sep 6, 2006
    3
    Getting worse every single year. It is a shame that EA was able to pay off the NFL so that it did not have to compete with other software companies...(Sega2k). Graphics poor on 360,no added plays, no edit, no added features=NO VALUE and NO FUN.
  56. NathanB.
    Sep 7, 2006
    7
    Great graphics, animation, and atmosphere. The downer thats holds this game back is first and foremost the control issues when trying to make plays with the DBs. Then I would have to say the the in depth owner mode, the inability to edit players, glitches with the game freezing up, the absense of John madden as a commentator, the interface is clunky, the removal of custom camera angles, Great graphics, animation, and atmosphere. The downer thats holds this game back is first and foremost the control issues when trying to make plays with the DBs. Then I would have to say the the in depth owner mode, the inability to edit players, glitches with the game freezing up, the absense of John madden as a commentator, the interface is clunky, the removal of custom camera angles, and finally --- No Fantasy Draft. And did I mention that all of the teams uniforms arent in the game? Only the basic home and away uni's come with the game. All others have to be downloaded from the market-place on XBOX-LIVE. Expand
  57. Andyman
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    I'm now really glad I passed on the 360 version of 06! Madden NFL 07 is a phenomenal game, in virtually every respect. It's the next-gen football game I've been waiting for. There are so many nice little touches that really make this game head and shoulders above its Xbox/PS2/GC predecesors. The CPU-controlled players on my team finally help me out instead of looking like I'm now really glad I passed on the 360 version of 06! Madden NFL 07 is a phenomenal game, in virtually every respect. It's the next-gen football game I've been waiting for. There are so many nice little touches that really make this game head and shoulders above its Xbox/PS2/GC predecesors. The CPU-controlled players on my team finally help me out instead of looking like they're in the Special Olympics! Gotta love it! Expand
  58. JohnS.
    Sep 7, 2006
    3
    All these losers giving the game a 10 must work for EA. The Xbox 360 version blows. The only thing it's good for is exhibition with you friends. Everything else is broken or just plain sucks.
  59. TonyB.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Best football game ever! Why are people dissing this game? Dont listen! I have bought every madden game since 96 and this the best that I have ever seen.
  60. jJoeJ.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    What a great game!
  61. TomR.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Why do people keep saying this game is bad? This is an awesome game and people should apreciate how great it is!
  62. WillR.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    My no.1 source of entertainment every year is back and better than ever!
  63. JonL.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Great game!
  64. HalW.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Wow, this is footballing perfection.
  65. PeteT.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Prepare to become addicted...
  66. TadP.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Definitely worth the money! Love this game already.
  67. ShaunK
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Best game I have ever played! Ever!
  68. KyleL.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    I think that if you give this a bad review you are failing to see how good it is!
  69. RonW.
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Wahoo! New Season! New Madden! We all love it!
  70. DanielB.
    Sep 8, 2006
    4
    Not a 4 beacuase it's a bad game, just beacuse it's not nearly what it should be. At this rate, they won't make it the game it should be until the NEXT generation is ready to hit
  71. JeffA.
    Sep 10, 2006
    2
    Still waiting for a truly next gen game. This is just gloss.
  72. PavelM.
    Sep 10, 2006
    1
    Looks great but the controls are sluggish. EA keeps adding one or two improvements each year while taking one or two features out.
  73. NeilA.
    Sep 10, 2006
    4
    Mediocre at best. Not much better looking than the Xbox version.
  74. JasonB.
    Sep 10, 2006
    4
    Bizzare rating system. Challenges feel like an afterthought and need a lot of work by the developers. Looks stunning but the gameplay doesn't live up the the graphics.
  75. PaulM.
    Sep 10, 2006
    0
    Eye candy with inaccurate controls. Fatigue is a joke. No Timeouts visable for opponents. Distracting Ticker at the bottom of the screen. NCAA is a much better game. Like EA NFL gamers have been telling themselves each year, maybe next year.
  76. SethK.
    Sep 16, 2006
    5
    The game is good and I like the Gameplay, but the feature I've always loved about madden (franchise mode) has been castrated, fo lack of a better word. I love creating my own team. I also like exporting my team to play against my friends created teams. Way to go EA; you made madden a single player game that noone else can enjoy. I want those features back next year, or I'll buy The game is good and I like the Gameplay, but the feature I've always loved about madden (franchise mode) has been castrated, fo lack of a better word. I love creating my own team. I also like exporting my team to play against my friends created teams. Way to go EA; you made madden a single player game that noone else can enjoy. I want those features back next year, or I'll buy a PS2 back to get 07 for that. They took out the best features. Expand
  77. MikeT.
    Sep 18, 2006
    4
    This game sucks. I want a refund. Players age inccorectly in Franchise mode, 4 yrs into the franchise Reggie Bush was still 21. The dumbest feature ever was added with HOF players entering the franchise mode. Qb are way too good in Franchise Mode I had a 96 qb rating through week 14 and my qb was like 20th in the NFL, whatever
  78. JJ
    Sep 21, 2006
    5
    All the 1-5's are right. They really stripped it. I went out and got 4 controllers altogether to play with friends and fired it up. Funny that they show 4 controllers on the screen when you pick, but it's actually only a 2 Player Game! The other two get to watch. Guess I have to keep my eye on EA titles from now on. WHY does politics have to seep into a video game system? All the 1-5's are right. They really stripped it. I went out and got 4 controllers altogether to play with friends and fired it up. Funny that they show 4 controllers on the screen when you pick, but it's actually only a 2 Player Game! The other two get to watch. Guess I have to keep my eye on EA titles from now on. WHY does politics have to seep into a video game system? Don't we have enough of that crap already? Do not buy! Maybe a rental..... Expand
  79. JustinD.
    Oct 1, 2006
    4
    The 360 version is definitely overrated. The only thing good about it is the graphics are better and the exhibiton to play against someone else the features on the original Xbox is way better.
  80. JMan
    Oct 2, 2006
    0
    I agree with all of the low ratings! The features left out like editing players commentary highlight stats at halftime! Come On this is an extremely expensive game system and as being a Madden gamer for many years you would expect the 360 version to be the best and blow everything else away as far as game features! This 360 version should have everthing the previous years have had plus I agree with all of the low ratings! The features left out like editing players commentary highlight stats at halftime! Come On this is an extremely expensive game system and as being a Madden gamer for many years you would expect the 360 version to be the best and blow everything else away as far as game features! This 360 version should have everthing the previous years have had plus more! I am extremenly dissapointed In this version, I was really pumped up for this years game, and now really ticked of!!!!! What has Madden been known for all these years? I'll tell you! realism such as fatigue and substitutions to name a few, How about sideline reports and commentary? where did it all go? Has EA gotton lazy? Or just do not care on what they put out there! I just hope that next years game is a complete turn around! I am just upset to have to wait a whole year again and still not know what to expect! EA Wake up and smell the coffee All Madden Gamers want REALISM! Expand
  81. Nef.
    Oct 3, 2006
    0
    Sure am glad I spent months on this game just to find out that half the franchise features are bugged and I'll be unable to continue.
  82. Guy2
    Oct 4, 2006
    0
    I'm only doing this to match the spammer who gives 10s. This game has serious flaws, mostly in the choppy and unresponsive menu screens/gameplay.
  83. SteveS.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    People who give this game a 0 for one little mistake are missing the true beauty of this game. I've been a Madden fan for 8 years now, and I have thoroughly played each of the games, and I can honestly say this year's madden on 360 has the best gameplay. Sure it's missing some extra features and content, but the gameplay, graphics, and overall fun, are flat-out superior to People who give this game a 0 for one little mistake are missing the true beauty of this game. I've been a Madden fan for 8 years now, and I have thoroughly played each of the games, and I can honestly say this year's madden on 360 has the best gameplay. Sure it's missing some extra features and content, but the gameplay, graphics, and overall fun, are flat-out superior to any other Madden that has been made. Great buy. Expand
  84. BryanM.
    Nov 22, 2006
    5
    It graphics are great but the Franchise is crap what happend to fantasy draft that is the fun part. It just seems like Madden is falling apart without the 2k serise now they don't try that hard to make a great game. if you have a PS2 or Xbox try NFL2k5 and then play Madden you think man has this game stinks. EA try harder because madden 04 is the best out of all the todays maddens.
  85. JacobD.
    Dec 11, 2006
    7
    It is a pretty good game, but the Madden superstar is pretty crappy. You are not allowed to pick your play, and if you are a halfback you hardly ever get a chance to get the ball to you.
  86. MichaelJ.
    Dec 13, 2006
    5
    This game is really pissing me off, first of all there is no fantasy draft which is dumb.....also, for some reason all these old players like Chuck Bednarik and Sammy Baugh just showed up on some cpu teams during my franchise in the first year, where did they come from? It just seems like they did all this stuff to the game and never mention it.
  87. MichaelW.
    Dec 23, 2006
    2
    Graphics are simply not enough. This is by far the worst football game that I've ever played. I played Madden faithfully from 95-00 and then switched to 2k in 01 mainly because of the graphics as for the other stuff, the bar was lower back then so you didn't expect much. As far as I'm concerned the last good football game was 2k5. My beefs wit 07 for 360 are as follows: Graphics are simply not enough. This is by far the worst football game that I've ever played. I played Madden faithfully from 95-00 and then switched to 2k in 01 mainly because of the graphics as for the other stuff, the bar was lower back then so you didn't expect much. As far as I'm concerned the last good football game was 2k5. My beefs wit 07 for 360 are as follows: Unlike Madden the player's bodies in 2k5 were better proportioned and looked realistic. For $500 I want full damn control of everything, editing players(including changing their positions), creating teams, having a variety of camera angles to choose from, being able to sub players to any position on special teams offense or defense (what about defensive players who play some offense in real life?), owners mode, fatasy draft, being able to create players any way I want (the create a player mode for 360 is just plain stupid). Furthermore, Why load up your franchise team with top 2nd string talent? the players never get tired ( I find myself kina hoping starters get hurt just to see the 2nd stringers play if they don't their ratings decline as much as 3 points a season). And how about this little tid bit, THE DRAFTEES SUCK!!! I played two seasons and each draft class produced about 5 solid defensive ends and 5-6 players rated between 70-75, is this a glitch? Unless you have a Middle-linebacker rated in the mid 90's, the cpu willrun all over you. And how about your cornerback with 97 speed being out sprinted by a WR with 85 speed(catching passes yeah but how many WR's can out run a DeAngelo Hall?). And what's up with defensive ratings in franchise mode? I had a number of players top the league in their respective catagories two seasons in a row and their ratings never moved, so much for building a defensive dynasty. It would be nice to choose the weather in franchise mode, since I play year round I want the game to give me that freedom. How about having all of the team uni's available, get rid of that gammer points crap for $500 big ones I shouldn't have to earn anything more period. And I could care less about incorporating hall of fame players, to me incorporating them makes the game unrealistic. Now for the positves: The game play is pretty competive no matter how stacked your team is, you couldn't say that about any of the 2k series, or early Maddens for that matter. That's it one positive! The only reason I stillplay this game is because I can't take it back. Way to go EA you got me....! Expand
  88. JohnG.
    Dec 24, 2006
    4
    4 for the graphics...other than that, this game is just another slap in the face by EA. completely agree with Michael W, last good game was undoubtedly 2k5. I had been playing maddens since 93 for the the genesis, until 2004 where i pretty much just gave up on football video games. i gave 2k5 an unbiased try, hated it at first due to having to completely relearn buttons, etc, but as soon 4 for the graphics...other than that, this game is just another slap in the face by EA. completely agree with Michael W, last good game was undoubtedly 2k5. I had been playing maddens since 93 for the the genesis, until 2004 where i pretty much just gave up on football video games. i gave 2k5 an unbiased try, hated it at first due to having to completely relearn buttons, etc, but as soon as i did, i was blown away at how much more REALISTIC it was. I have come to realize that madden has simply come to be made for and appeal to kids that want to score 50 td's a game with 0 punts. there really is no defense. I loved tecmo bowl but we have the technology to simulate real football so why this?? when did madden turn into blitz. Ea did a terrible diservice to the people that supported madden for all these years and put madden on the pedastal its currently on by starting this monopoly. honestly its simply rediculous. Collapse
  89. JamieT.
    Dec 25, 2006
    3
    Graphics are good, they def got lazy with the lack of extra features like editing your players, I mean what if you have players you don't expect to be good like frank gore, he is awsome this year, but he sucks on the game it would be nice to be able to make him better, so you could actually use him. EA needs to take a serious look at this game and make some adjustments.
  90. MikeG.
    Jan 27, 2007
    5
    The graphics are really great..the rain and snow looks much better than that on current gen systems..the dirt stains and scuff marks are cool too..but thats about the only good thing in the game...the graphics. I hate how the controls are sluggish and it looks like the players are playing with roller skates on or something..and most of all I HATE how you cant adjust your created players The graphics are really great..the rain and snow looks much better than that on current gen systems..the dirt stains and scuff marks are cool too..but thats about the only good thing in the game...the graphics. I hate how the controls are sluggish and it looks like the players are playing with roller skates on or something..and most of all I HATE how you cant adjust your created players attributes yourself..the training camp drills are retarded and my player always comes out with like a 40 overall rating..and I hate how you can't adjust equipment and attributes on rosters too...Frank Gore is terrible in 07 and I cant even make him better. Expand
  91. PabloG.
    Feb 3, 2007
    1
    An embarrassment. I have never played an NFL 2K game but I will buy their All-Pro game this year after 7 years of Madden if EA doesn't do something. Every time you play you'll notice something that should've been fixed back in 05 or 04. It's the little things that add up. Like 06 on the PS2(don't know about other systems) had no punt blocking on returns. There is An embarrassment. I have never played an NFL 2K game but I will buy their All-Pro game this year after 7 years of Madden if EA doesn't do something. Every time you play you'll notice something that should've been fixed back in 05 or 04. It's the little things that add up. Like 06 on the PS2(don't know about other systems) had no punt blocking on returns. There is no way EA released the game without noticing it. They only did it so in 07 when you returned a punt, you felt the game was improved. When you run the ball to the outside, 3 out of 5 times your block will be running head on to a defender and will suddenly change to block somebody 5 yards away who has nothing to do with the play. To make it short: BROKEN GAME NOT FIXED ON PURPOSE. I can't believe they would even release a Madden game without Madden announcing it. Ridiculous. Expand
  92. DLee
    Feb 6, 2007
    0
    Just felt compelled to counter the numerous phony 10s on here. This game is terrible, really pathetic, all the reasons have been covered.
  93. BrandonG.
    Feb 7, 2007
    1
    Yeah it maybe pretty but very unrealistic with guys jumping 20 feet in the air not even hitting guys to tackle...no more hot routes and way to similar to NCAA. The regular Xbox madden '07 is way better.
  94. DavidL.
    Mar 24, 2007
    6
    I have read some of the major reviews by some of the major magazines. The journalist that stated that this had enhancements to the defensive game play has apparently never played this game. It may be better than the 06 version for the 360 (which is what I think most are comparing it to) but they took away from defensive controls. (no double teaming with your safeties or LB's) Whereas I have read some of the major reviews by some of the major magazines. The journalist that stated that this had enhancements to the defensive game play has apparently never played this game. It may be better than the 06 version for the 360 (which is what I think most are comparing it to) but they took away from defensive controls. (no double teaming with your safeties or LB's) Whereas the original format Madden's made improvements all around they added online clubs, and kept the EA locker, try looking for these features on the 360...you won't find them. Still no league support offered which fans have been screaming for in order to play a complete franchise season online. The offline gameplay isn't too bad, but the next gen Madden's took this avid fan offline with their lack of upgrades and defensive controls. It's evident that EA knows they had the only licensed franchise going. Expand
  95. JustinF.
    Apr 18, 2007
    5
    I've been playing Madden since 02, and although 07 has great graphics and a cool new superstar mode, it lacks in areas. Being on the 360 you would think it would go through a major overhaul. I enjoyed NCAA 07 much more. The controls seemed more responsive. Also, if I am going to pay $60 for a game, I want the ability to create a player and max out his stats if I want to. It seemed on I've been playing Madden since 02, and although 07 has great graphics and a cool new superstar mode, it lacks in areas. Being on the 360 you would think it would go through a major overhaul. I enjoyed NCAA 07 much more. The controls seemed more responsive. Also, if I am going to pay $60 for a game, I want the ability to create a player and max out his stats if I want to. It seemed on this one, even with the lead blocking controls, I had to unlock a Hall of Fame running back with 99 overall to have a decent running game. If things don't change, I will be going to NFL 2K8. Expand
  96. DocB.
    Jun 25, 2007
    0
    This game completely sucks. It seems to me that it is getting worse every year. I can't stand the stupid EA employees giving it a 10 rating, the graphics aren't great, and EA took all of the control out of your hands. Bring back some control to Franchise mode, and bring back Owner mode. EA sucks. and Madden 07 is a waste of money.
  97. DramaPrarieDog
    Jul 1, 2007
    0
    Great graphics, but missing WAY too many features. Back to PS2 for me.
  98. JoeM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    3
    I actually thought this game was pretty good when i got it ...then as i went throughout the features i was dissipionted, i mean you cant even create a team which is a fun features to me only being 13...i think that the xbox 360 producers are lazy as helll every year i keep saying to myself that maybe they'll bring back the features from the ps2 maddens ..those were what every body I actually thought this game was pretty good when i got it ...then as i went throughout the features i was dissipionted, i mean you cant even create a team which is a fun features to me only being 13...i think that the xbox 360 producers are lazy as helll every year i keep saying to myself that maybe they'll bring back the features from the ps2 maddens ..those were what every body liked ...good gamplay, amzing/alot features, and the fun of the game .....bring all of it back . and this whole deal with the superatr mode ...y cant i pick my own play ....i think that ea took away all of our control in this game...i mean last years madden for the 360 ..y even bring it out ...that was the most aweful game ive ever experienced.....i think ea needs to get off there a** and do some more work Expand
  99. MattFarrow
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    Good american football game. Being british, i'm not a great fan of the game, but I love playing madden. This game gives me everything I would require from the sport. Great fun on live and leaves me no reason to buy the next in the series. My girlfriend bought me this game as an anniversary present about a year ago, and to be honest, it will stay on my shelf for as long as my 360 Good american football game. Being british, i'm not a great fan of the game, but I love playing madden. This game gives me everything I would require from the sport. Great fun on live and leaves me no reason to buy the next in the series. My girlfriend bought me this game as an anniversary present about a year ago, and to be honest, it will stay on my shelf for as long as my 360 does. It gets played on rainy days. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Madden 07 marks a turnaround for the franchise on the 360, and that's reason enough for football fans to rejoice. [Oct. 2006, p.77]
  2. With a bit more attention to in-game fluidity and detail, and the inclusion of core extras such as online leagues and co-op, Madden NFL 07 could have been stellar. It’s good for sure, but Madden NFL 07 isn’t a lock in this gamer’s Hall of Fame.
  3. 85
    This is the year EA Sports finally shows 360 owners what the series is all about, the trash talking, the head-to-head competition, the ability to create yourself and become a bigger star than the Seahawk on the box.