Madden NFL 08 Xbox 360

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 107
  2. Negative: 34 out of 107

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JRS.
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    What a joke E.A. has become. ALl this hype for a game that no where puts the 360 to maximum capacity. All these people that gave high scores are a joke as well, if you like this as a $60 game then you should have you head looked at. With the money that E.A. has to throw around to buy rights to certain thing to corner the markets should be a crime. They continue to rip people off again and What a joke E.A. has become. ALl this hype for a game that no where puts the 360 to maximum capacity. All these people that gave high scores are a joke as well, if you like this as a $60 game then you should have you head looked at. With the money that E.A. has to throw around to buy rights to certain thing to corner the markets should be a crime. They continue to rip people off again and again and game after game. Maybe they should dump that money into their development instead of buying the market. Expand
  2. H.C.
    Sep 16, 2007
    2
    Terrible game. First game I have bought and sold within a week. Shabby game play, tons of glitches, and it constantly froze up in the middle of the game. The graphics are pretty, I'll say that much. Check the EA Madden forums and you can see all the "happy" customers that feel the same way. Don't waste your money.
  3. DanielP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    0
    This is the worst version of Madden realeases since Madden 98. I guess buying exclusive rights left EA feeling that they could shell out a completely sub-standard product. The franchise mode has been completely dismantled, and every screen loads terribly slow. The 'alerts' you used to recieve during franchise play are gone, as are mid-season player progressions, position This is the worst version of Madden realeases since Madden 98. I guess buying exclusive rights left EA feeling that they could shell out a completely sub-standard product. The franchise mode has been completely dismantled, and every screen loads terribly slow. The 'alerts' you used to recieve during franchise play are gone, as are mid-season player progressions, position battles, and just about everything else I like in the previous Franchise mode. The game play is choppy and incredibly sluggish. Every huddle break or in-between-play animation has a brief pause before it. The passing is near impossible, and receivers and DB's can make the most ridiculous catches. Computer teams can always find gaping holes in your coverage, and blanket cover anyone themselves. The run game feels and defensive pursuit feels like I am watching one retards chase the ice-cream man. NCAA is no better. AGAIN, BY FAR THE WORST MADDEN TITLE SINCE 98! I'm playing Madden 06 on original X-Box if I want a fix... until this complete failure of a new game engine is scraped or re-worked. . Expand
  4. FredG.
    Sep 10, 2007
    3
    I hate this game. Someday I will learn that the professional reviewers are nothing but shills for EA sports and the NFL. Now I have revered back to playing Madden NFL 06 on my trusty Xbox, which is a far superior product to either Madden NFL 07 or Madden NFL 08 Xbox 360 versions. My review will be a comparison between Xbox NFL06 and NFL 08 Xbox 360. Features Xbox NFL 06 has that Xbox 360 doesn
  5. AaronM.
    Mar 6, 2008
    4
    The graphics are amazing, but with the problems this game has I would prefer the problems to be fixed and have Madden '96 graphics. Terrible AI, lineman are useless, recievers don't put their hands up, you can't change the positions of players. Brian Urlacher was a safety in college! Manny Lawson and Terrell Suggs were ends! Hines Ward played quarterback! No one releases The graphics are amazing, but with the problems this game has I would prefer the problems to be fixed and have Madden '96 graphics. Terrible AI, lineman are useless, recievers don't put their hands up, you can't change the positions of players. Brian Urlacher was a safety in college! Manny Lawson and Terrell Suggs were ends! Hines Ward played quarterback! No one releases anyone to free agency. This game is terrible but it's the only pro football game so by default it's the best. Expand
  6. RickS
    Nov 2, 2008
    2
    PLEASE 2K bring back your NFl game, ESPN NFL 2K5 greatest football in the history of video games. I can't take this anymore, i'm paying 50 bucks for something i can play on a PS1, no one cares about front office, or superstar or any of that Bull Madden, don't you make enough money from announcing. Im begging you 2K,bring it back, me and every other football fan will buy yourPLEASE 2K bring back your NFl game, ESPN NFL 2K5 greatest football in the history of video games. I can't take this anymore, i'm paying 50 bucks for something i can play on a PS1, no one cares about front office, or superstar or any of that Bull Madden, don't you make enough money from announcing. Im begging you 2K,bring it back, me and every other football fan will buy your game, I buy your NBA 2K titles(all amazing). First off Create Player for Madden 08 looks like PS2, and no, the graphics arn't that good, it's just average, you can't customize anything, the game feels half done, like playing a football game with the sound turned off, the field/stadium/fans looks horrid. Oh gameplay where art thou, the gameplay feels like an arcade game not a sim, this game confuses you to the brink, the passing game in 08 is flip a coin, why have all this depth/Plays when you can't pass correctly to an all star receiver. I'm not a football freak SO THIS WILL BE MY FIRST AND LAST MADDEN GAME, if you want this game look at all the loyal fans that stuck with basically sh!t for 4 years and nothing is changed.Terrible passing, messed up AI, ok graphics,loading screens, no announcers, terrible music, game looks like it was bulilt for the original Xbox, What more can you ask for, oh right it's a Madden game, go head bring Madden 08 or 09 fresh to a bunch of friends, 30 mins later you'll see everyone looking at each other and putting down controllers, thats what happend to me with Madden 08. ESPEN NFL 2K5 was way different, it was everything this game, almost 4 years later is not. YOU LIKE PLAYING FOOTBALL, YEA THEN THIS GAME IS NOT FOR YOU. Expand
  7. David
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    It's the same exact game, just with an updated roster. Save your money.
  8. UncleDougB.
    Aug 20, 2007
    0
    Extremely repetitive game play with LAST gen graphics and hollow "new" features make this game an instant classic for the bargain bin. Bottom line; a complete waste of time and money.
  9. McBain17
    Sep 4, 2007
    1
    The only reason I gave this steaming pile a one was because according to the cover its a football game. I can't even tell you how lame it is to BUY a game called John Madden Football, yet there isn't any Madden commentary. What the hell? It tells me he just wants to make the money because he knows his games have stunk the last few years. It gets to a point where you should be The only reason I gave this steaming pile a one was because according to the cover its a football game. I can't even tell you how lame it is to BUY a game called John Madden Football, yet there isn't any Madden commentary. What the hell? It tells me he just wants to make the money because he knows his games have stunk the last few years. It gets to a point where you should be able to expect a break through with graphics and game play, and I just dont see it. A lot of people are touting the pre snaps reads, but I just didn't think it was that cool. And on top of that the game play just seems, slow? I understand the last few Maddens were really unrealistic, but come on. It felt like my guys were running in quick sand. Another year, another disapointment from a classic franchise. It wasn't always this way kids, once, a long time ago, you could count on Madden to bring awesomeness to the table served with side of holy s**t. Now its just repetitive game play, poor design choices, shallow online modes, and no Big Guy to real you in. Stay away from BOTH major football titles this year. A sad sad day. Expand
  10. MichaelD.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Great concept, horrible execution. fI you do buy this game, expect for come craziness when you play online. I play with the Atlanta Flacons and Joey Harrington is one of the most accurate quarterbacks in the league. Guess what, in Madden land I don't think so. Throw the ball to an open receiver, five people will crowd him. Throw it over the middle a defender not even on the route Great concept, horrible execution. fI you do buy this game, expect for come craziness when you play online. I play with the Atlanta Flacons and Joey Harrington is one of the most accurate quarterbacks in the league. Guess what, in Madden land I don't think so. Throw the ball to an open receiver, five people will crowd him. Throw it over the middle a defender not even on the route will jump ten feet in the air and grab the rock.and run it in for a TD 50% of the time. Don't get me started on the horrible O-line play. This game is just garbage. Expand
  11. KINGHBK
    Aug 14, 2007
    3
    This should have been what we got in Madden 06 for the launch. Passing is still not as crisp as current gen or the WII for that matter. They keep saying that the gameplay is tight. This is NEXT GEN Game Play shouldn't be an issue. I love the TV style presentation, and online leagues the strong points of the game. If its in tha game its in tha game. What does EA not understand about This should have been what we got in Madden 06 for the launch. Passing is still not as crisp as current gen or the WII for that matter. They keep saying that the gameplay is tight. This is NEXT GEN Game Play shouldn't be an issue. I love the TV style presentation, and online leagues the strong points of the game. If its in tha game its in tha game. What does EA not understand about their own motto. Another cowards attempt from the EA STAFF. I will stick with the current gen or the WII version. I really feel BAD for the PS3 owners they have really been screwed this year. Expand
  12. JoshB.
    Aug 14, 2007
    0
    Same sh.t, different package. It should be called Roster Update 08' as that is the only significant change.
  13. Karl
    Aug 17, 2007
    0
    I just purchased madden for the 360, now i'm trying to return this crap. To me the game is missing still all of things for example in the current the gen superstar mode you get you own room everything as you move up your room change, when you playing the game they don't show you your stats you have to pause the game and go to game stats, and where the f*** is john madden I just purchased madden for the 360, now i'm trying to return this crap. To me the game is missing still all of things for example in the current the gen superstar mode you get you own room everything as you move up your room change, when you playing the game they don't show you your stats you have to pause the game and go to game stats, and where the f*** is john madden isn't the game name after him the announcer sucks. it's sad to say but i've just purchased my last madden game and i hope 2k come back cause madden fan keep getting cheated. Expand
  14. FredB.
    Sep 15, 2007
    4
    This game has what it takes to be an amazing game......... but its not! I have thrown roughy 8 interceptions in less then two games. I've fumbled at least 5 time, again thats only in less then two games, WITH THE PATRIOTS. Im on pro and my opponents keep out scoring me by two touchdowns. I love the graphics but the game play is poor. Seems to be a common trend in this years games.
  15. DakariD.
    Sep 19, 2007
    3
    You can't change camera views at all. Superstar (SS) mode is the worse ever. If you play Defense all blockers will try to block you and forget about the guy in their face. This was a problem on 07 too. I was hoping they changed that. Plus trying to create a SS is harder than ever. You have to pass drills that are very hard. You end up with a slow MLB that can
  16. CJ
    Sep 22, 2007
    0
    Incredibly BAD BAD BAD. There was some serious potential here, but with a game PROGRAMMED to make players fumble nonstop it is simply unplayable. Its honestly like they didn't even test the game. BEYOND BELIEF that EA is so lazy that they put out untested garbage (perhaps more unreal is that I keep buying it). Im done with Madden...sold it back already.
  17. MattM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    2
    Not a good game. Weird glitchy play if you change control button assignment. Jetpack receivers ridiculous. Players do weird things when audible called in offline games. QB won't pass sometimes. Some receivers won't catch balls when hit in the hands time and again. No formation changes in this version that I can find documented. No hot audible pick ups of plays(why would PS2 have Not a good game. Weird glitchy play if you change control button assignment. Jetpack receivers ridiculous. Players do weird things when audible called in offline games. QB won't pass sometimes. Some receivers won't catch balls when hit in the hands time and again. No formation changes in this version that I can find documented. No hot audible pick ups of plays(why would PS2 have this LAST year?). The smart route as documented gives you a drag route. If you want a smart route you have to highlight and then right stick down. When controls are modified you lose every on screen menu including audibles which makes it tough to play with a new team. Weapons system is dorky and just a gimmick. Ball is intercepted too often by guys in single coverage but when opponent throws into a receiver who is double triple quadrulple covered it seems to bounce around and into the receivers hands too often. You can count on a fumble occuring if you are running well and closing in on the goal line even if you are covering up. For instance LT is a fumblemaniac in this game. Since when does Addai or Reggie Wayne or Anthony Gonzalez not get separation on a linebacker when isolated. Once again, a very glitchy game and they seem to occur at the worst time if you're big on using audibles. Give this game Hot Audibles and formation changes like in last gen PS2 and you might have a real game that does not frustrate. Better documentation is in order as well. Expand
  18. JeffB.
    Dec 8, 2007
    2
    Wow just got the PC version and it was nothing I hoped it would be. The AI is flat-out terrible and favors the computer for sure. Players make impossible defensive plays - like instantly changing direction the instant your QB releases the ball only to cover 15 yards and make a play on the ball before your receiver can catch it. Blockers are retarded and let obvious threats sack/tackle you Wow just got the PC version and it was nothing I hoped it would be. The AI is flat-out terrible and favors the computer for sure. Players make impossible defensive plays - like instantly changing direction the instant your QB releases the ball only to cover 15 yards and make a play on the ball before your receiver can catch it. Blockers are retarded and let obvious threats sack/tackle you while stopping obviously benign defenders. The comp always gets good protection in the pocket, even with a crappy O-line, while your first four draft picks were O-linemen and you get sacked every other play. The computer also seems to become invincible as soon as you are up by about 14 points, generating turnovers and making impossible plays like the cheater it is. The mini-camp games are still largely impossible and you need to play them if you want to level up your players. I chose to skip them and screw my player's stats rather than deal with the frustration. This year you can't switch the positions that your players play. WTF? It was nice to be able to move your players around in previous versions, especially on defense. Franchise mode still generates statistics that are completely unrealistic. Custom playbooks are still limited to 11 formations and less than 80 plays. Custom play building is still buggy and frustrating. The one thing that is new, player "weapons," is actually just a useless gimmick! For instance, if a player has a 95 speed, he gets a little foot icon above his head! If he has a 95 break tackle, then he gets a little bulldozer icon! It has changed nothing significant at all! This game was a disappointment across the board. I have been unsatisfied with the Madden franchise for years, and this years release proves to me that EA has ceased trying to make it better. I will go back to playing Madden 06 for now, and pray to God almighty that the NFL has the sense to let someone else use their signature in the future. Expand
  19. PabloG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    4
    The gameplay is smooth for the most part, but this game feels like it was rushed. Your average game will have around 2-3 fumbles and 4-5 interceptions(that your teammates will pick off) making the game highly UNREALISTIC. Also, the Read And React system means absolutely nothing. Outside of the Smart QB/DB/LB weapons, the other "weapons" do absolutely nothing. Darrel Jackson is a quick The gameplay is smooth for the most part, but this game feels like it was rushed. Your average game will have around 2-3 fumbles and 4-5 interceptions(that your teammates will pick off) making the game highly UNREALISTIC. Also, the Read And React system means absolutely nothing. Outside of the Smart QB/DB/LB weapons, the other "weapons" do absolutely nothing. Darrel Jackson is a quick receiver? Well, w already knew that. And judging by his ratings, he would've been a quick receiver regardless of the "weapon" he has. Beware, this game feels rushed and has added nothing new(except features that have been in the PS2 versions for the last 3 years that they added and act like they're new). Expand
  20. StanD.
    Jan 19, 2008
    4
    Anyone who knows video games will like the new madden, but if you like and know football the old one is so much better. I don't understand why they got rid of substitutions, if my MLB sucks I don't want him in on 1 or 2 linebacker sets. Also I like having me best WR in the slot on some plays, for the mismatches. Madden 08 for regular xbox is still the same, just to let you know.
  21. DuM.
    Feb 23, 2008
    3
    Madden 08 sucks! the game graphics are great but the sideline and stadium graphics look like nfl 2k2... franchise mode is useless.. why can't i control it like in madden 05 (prices, tickets, advertisement) where is the newspaper thing?... another thing that simply drives me crazy is that i can't change a players position even though i have a need and also i can't change a Madden 08 sucks! the game graphics are great but the sideline and stadium graphics look like nfl 2k2... franchise mode is useless.. why can't i control it like in madden 05 (prices, tickets, advertisement) where is the newspaper thing?... another thing that simply drives me crazy is that i can't change a players position even though i have a need and also i can't change a player's height like in past madden... after a week i get tired of hearing marshall faulk's stupid intro and after game ring what it's called thing..stupid!!! why is there only one frikin official in the game? that sucks too... and finally madden is too slow for my taste.. loading takes forever and every single thing you do like changing a players appearence takes for ever... and it runs slow in my ps3 meaning sometimes you feel it freezes... simply awful!!! the only thing that keeps my buying madden is the draft class. Period. Expand
  22. KyleSharby
    Sep 24, 2008
    2
    I was a superstar mode fan because of madden 07, now that I bought 08, I'm tempted to not buy madden again. Not being able to pick your own difficulty in superstar mode in training and in games, and the major downtweak with NOT being able to raise your stats (trucking, carrying, speed, strength ect) from performance institute, and simply playing good, completely wrecks the superstarI was a superstar mode fan because of madden 07, now that I bought 08, I'm tempted to not buy madden again. Not being able to pick your own difficulty in superstar mode in training and in games, and the major downtweak with NOT being able to raise your stats (trucking, carrying, speed, strength ect) from performance institute, and simply playing good, completely wrecks the superstar mode. Along with NOT having any button to show the routes of the players on your team before the snap. Makes it quite difficult to ascertain where the defense will mostly be (should they be in man coverage or combo coverage). All in all, as a gamer that buys at least 1 game a month, I feel I wasted my money. Expand
  23. DanC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    2
    I have the PS3 version. Gameplay can be choppy online. I played one game online and I would be sacked before my primary receiver got off the line every time, or else have to rush a pass that would always get picked off, because the other guy clearly had a better connection. The worst thing is the turnovers, though. Some of you guys say it's realistic to have a guy fumble 4 times a I have the PS3 version. Gameplay can be choppy online. I played one game online and I would be sacked before my primary receiver got off the line every time, or else have to rush a pass that would always get picked off, because the other guy clearly had a better connection. The worst thing is the turnovers, though. Some of you guys say it's realistic to have a guy fumble 4 times a game if he doesn't constantly cover up. That's just wrong. How many guys do you see covering up the ball with both arms every single time they get hit? None. And yet there are some guys out there who fumble once a season or less, and practically nobody that fumbles even once a game on average, much less 2-4. If covering the ball is what is required to avoid fumbling 3 to 5 times the real-life average, then you shouldn't have to slow to a crawl in order to do it. These guys drop the ball like they're carrying it in one hand. The other terrible thing about fumbles in the game is that you can't tell you've fumbled until it's being recovered by the other team. There is no notification on-screen, and the announcer never says anything until it's too late. Sometimes if you have it stripped without getting really hit, you can tell you've fumbled because your guy keeps moving and the camera stops, but when you notice that, you've run 10 yards away from the ball and still have momentum in that direction. I'm trying to remember even one time that I've recovered a fumble on offense. I think the underlying reason for this is that EA felt they had to make the difficulty levels distinct. Pro is too easy. You basically impose your will on both offense and defense (at least I do). You win by 20 points every game in your sleep, and there's no challenge. Then you step up to all-pro, and you can execute perfectly and still get buried by 30-40 points because after you break that 20 yard run or 30 yard pass, the CPU decides it deserves the ball back, and takes it accordingly. I'd say defense operates about right in this mode, but it still gets ugly quick because the CPU never starts in its own territory after recovering a fumble on your 2nd to 3rd play from scrimmage. I'm going to try playing on pro and just boosting the CPU AI. Maybe that will strike some kind of balance. I don't know why anyone is hating on NCAA though. The gameplay on that is head and shoulders above Madden. NCAA is as great as ever. I think what EA ought to do is, instead of having the 4 very drastically different levels, have 10 more subtle difficulty levels, where only level 10 is the "CPU cheats you" level, and the rest just require you to be smarter and execute better. The current difficulty levels are basically set up to where the bottom two are characterized by the CPU laying down for you, while the upper two are characterized by the CPU cheating you. I guess with the sliders, it's still a little better than, say, Fight Night, where the hardest level is still basically the CPU laying down for you. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. After two disappointing efforts the last two seasons -- disappointing by the high standard that EA's football franchise set for itself over the years -- Madden NFL 08 redeems the franchise as one of the best-playing football games in recent memory.
  2. 90
    You'll find a much smarter brand of football in 08: Quarterbacks now scramble when no one is open, wideouts continue to make blocks 30 yards downfield, and defensive backs rarely fall for the deep ball. Some might even say that pass defense is a tad too stingy this season.
  3. These animations are gorgeous to look at, from Reggie Bush doing his trademark summersault for six, or a Chad Johnson river dance after a score. This is because the game runs at a buttery smooth 60 frames per second...Madden 08 is simply superb. If you could only own one next-gen football, this is it.