Madden NFL 08 Xbox 360

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 109
  2. Negative: 34 out of 109
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. chuckB.
    Jul 11, 2008
    6
    i agree with other people about how we should be able to control ticket prices and stuff and how slow the load is but because Madden is the only pro game there is nothing to compare it to so you cant say its good or bad. another thing, what is up with the ring thing??? ive played like 500 games and only have part of the 2nd ring. i also agree that there should be different refs but ifi agree with other people about how we should be able to control ticket prices and stuff and how slow the load is but because Madden is the only pro game there is nothing to compare it to so you cant say its good or bad. another thing, what is up with the ring thing??? ive played like 500 games and only have part of the 2nd ring. i also agree that there should be different refs but if there were more the game would probably be slower. other then the things listed above i like madden and think its fun and i cant wait to see how crappy Madden 09 is. Expand
  2. BryanMccann
    Sep 6, 2007
    6
    what do mean you want madden's voice. he is the most anoyying person to lissten to in football histrory. The only thing i am really P old about is that the ps2 verson still has more stuff in it. I mean come on Xbox360 diskes are sapost to have more room on them. the mode i love is Fantasy mode but it is not on the 360 verson.
  3. MattP.
    Nov 24, 2007
    5
    For some reason, some very odd, very naive reason, I thought that this Madden would somehow be better than the horrendous outing in 07. I thought that everything would be fixed and that the game wouldn't be a broken mess, boy, was I wrong. I know I'm not going to steer away any fans of the series, and seeing as how this is the only NFL game out there, there really isn't any For some reason, some very odd, very naive reason, I thought that this Madden would somehow be better than the horrendous outing in 07. I thought that everything would be fixed and that the game wouldn't be a broken mess, boy, was I wrong. I know I'm not going to steer away any fans of the series, and seeing as how this is the only NFL game out there, there really isn't any option, anyway. To start off with, the turnover mechanic is woefully broken. Not only will you fumble two, three, four times a game, but you will also throw about three or four interceptions a game. This is, however, nicely balanced because the computer QB will either throw 7 INTS or none at all and eight touchdowns. QBs will consistently throw lame duck line drives that will end up in the hands of a middle linebacker. Balance is way, way off, with the computer being really bad and your team being really good, for the most part. The recievers will, I kid you not, turn around with their hands out infront of them like a cowboy holding two six shooters and watch the ball hit them in the helmet. On one replay, I watched Larry Fitzgerald's eyes actually follow the ball as it hit him the thigh. Playing as a secondary defender is next to impossible, because when you press the Y button you jump, you more than less wait three seconds then shoot your hands up in the air, like you're doing the wave. The only positive: it's the only real, liscenced pro football game out there. Expand
  4. pissedofft
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    right now I am really geting p od at this game. for some dumb reason madden 08 is starting to frezz will I am trying to do mini camp. and I dont know why it just started duing it one day. and then the next thing I know the lazzer burnd it . and now I got another madden and I still have the same problem. EA fix this now!
  5. C.W.
    Aug 26, 2007
    7
    I really like this game compared to the earlier versions of the game and I agree with most people on this post that their are way to many fumbles. I mean I am averaging a fumble a game with m y running back who might have had 3-4 fumbles all year last year. Interceptions I don't have such a problem with as I think if you throw it into tight coverage that it will be picked off and should be.
  6. ChrisK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    6
    It is nice to see some attention finally being paid to gameplay on the next gen maddens. It is by no means perfect, but it is passable. -- The AI is still very one sided, as the computer's AI plays zone like every Tampa 2 coach's dream, yours on the other hand will look like kids at fat camp trying to play football. That being said, there are still the AI sliders in the game to It is nice to see some attention finally being paid to gameplay on the next gen maddens. It is by no means perfect, but it is passable. -- The AI is still very one sided, as the computer's AI plays zone like every Tampa 2 coach's dream, yours on the other hand will look like kids at fat camp trying to play football. That being said, there are still the AI sliders in the game to help balance things out, though the effects are minimal. -- My biggest beef with this game is the lack of useful features. One of the new features (to me, didn't get 07. Don't know if it was in there) is streaming sports news via ESPN radio. While this is neat, it does not provide anything at all towards enjoyment of the game. The ring feature is pure unsaturated stupidity. Why? Why? Why? -- Features that have been standard on the PS2 are lost in this game, most noticeably for me was the loss of the ability to change a player's position. In sports, football most of all (i'm sure we have all heard the buzz word "tweener" every year during the draft), no one's position is set in stone until you reach stardom. Example: I have a star linebacking crops in terms of ratings, and solid depth as well. My DE's are bloatful at best. I would dearly love to be able to take one of my LB's and make him a DE, or a SS, hell even a HB. While i am aware i can play an OLB at DE, that player loses ratings because he is playing out of position. In Madden 07 for PS2, if you changed a players position his stats were unchanged with the exception of the overall rating. Scouting and finding a player's true position is part of what makes football so great. -- I would dearly love to see EA stop giving us bells and and whistles until the meat and potatoes are cooked and worth eating. I strongly recommend people check out the college game if you need your football fix. IMO NCAA 08 is far better than Madden, hands down. Expand
  7. BlackMachismo
    Dec 30, 2007
    5
    This game didn't fix anything! The rosters weren't even accurate. The ratings were horribly ill-proportioned (Carson Palmer a 90! Phillip rivers an 88! Rex Grossman above 75! come on!). The training camp mini-games (if they can be called games) are still impossible. I barely got under five seconds with devin hester! Also it is Bullsh*t that they call features like create a team This game didn't fix anything! The rosters weren't even accurate. The ratings were horribly ill-proportioned (Carson Palmer a 90! Phillip rivers an 88! Rex Grossman above 75! come on!). The training camp mini-games (if they can be called games) are still impossible. I barely got under five seconds with devin hester! Also it is Bullsh*t that they call features like create a team that have existed since '04 "new". And if I cant change positions (which is complete bull, by the way), why isn't there any flexibility t ohave players play as "tweeners, ie:Rodney Harison playing WR. The AI is so broken I'm not even going to talk about it. The only redeeming quality is it is football (barely). Come on EA get on the ball and stop ripping us off. Expand
  8. Rich
    Aug 14, 2007
    6
    The biggest issue, IMO, was the laggy in-game menus. Most notably was the laggy lobby within '07 ('06 was OK, though, or some reason). When there's 50 people in a lobby online, you can't even type a message or view user's stats. It's practically unusable. And god forbid I'd like to have a responsive menu system while trying to set my lineup before an The biggest issue, IMO, was the laggy in-game menus. Most notably was the laggy lobby within '07 ('06 was OK, though, or some reason). When there's 50 people in a lobby online, you can't even type a message or view user's stats. It's practically unusable. And god forbid I'd like to have a responsive menu system while trying to set my lineup before an online game starts. They didn't fix this in '08. I'm mostly dissapointed in the major reviewers for not acknowleding this issue. This is a real problem that needs to be addressed in Madden '09. Graphics are tight, and the new animations are good too. I like the game, don't get me wrong. But the lobby and online menu lag is so bad that it really turns me away from the game. Expand
  9. DaveR.
    Aug 15, 2007
    5
    It's not in the game. It's obvious that EA will continue to open its coffers for the beggars. In this case, the beggars are simply the fans. EA refuses to provide a complete game from beginning to end because they want to force gamers to buy the latest and greatest offering each year. Of course, the development team graces us with little bells and whistles. How can EA possible It's not in the game. It's obvious that EA will continue to open its coffers for the beggars. In this case, the beggars are simply the fans. EA refuses to provide a complete game from beginning to end because they want to force gamers to buy the latest and greatest offering each year. Of course, the development team graces us with little bells and whistles. How can EA possible leave out solid commentary, a half-time show, and a post-game show as features? The answer, please deposit more of your hard earned money in the collection bin. We promise to improve upon the game next year by added all the features we promised last year. To be honest, I'm sick of it. EA needs to stop sitting on its laurels and start giving the fans what they deserve and desire. It doesn't matter what EA thinks, it's the fans that determine the success or failure of a game. Expand
  10. keith
    Aug 24, 2007
    6
    I get tired of EA rehashing the same bad football game. There is no difference from 2007 in this one. And the gang tackling animations are still light years behing the last 2K sports game, and that was in 2005. Good job EA in continuing to give us a completely mediocre game. Keeping my 07' since there really is not any differece. Glad I rented before buying it.
  11. Aaace5
    Aug 25, 2007
    7
    I am a true madden hater(if you didn't know), but I have to give this game credit... This is the best madden game I have ever played! I still don't like it much, but I bought it anyway cause I had to have my chicago bears. The game gets bonus points for presentation, because the opening scene should touch every football players heart, cause it gets you emotionally envolved. The I am a true madden hater(if you didn't know), but I have to give this game credit... This is the best madden game I have ever played! I still don't like it much, but I bought it anyway cause I had to have my chicago bears. The game gets bonus points for presentation, because the opening scene should touch every football players heart, cause it gets you emotionally envolved. The gameplay for the most part is still not great, but it seems like EA sports may be trying to work on it(a little). The online is kind of funky, cause it will do wierd things at times. The passing game isn't that great. The running game isn't that great. The overall speed of the game just doesn't feel right( too slow). The A.I. however is a bit better this year. EA still has a long way to go with this series in order for it to be a great game... They just better do it before 2k gets back in the picture! I still think 2k has the better football game. All that all-pro football was missing was an NFL title and some polish. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. After two disappointing efforts the last two seasons -- disappointing by the high standard that EA's football franchise set for itself over the years -- Madden NFL 08 redeems the franchise as one of the best-playing football games in recent memory.
  2. 90
    You'll find a much smarter brand of football in 08: Quarterbacks now scramble when no one is open, wideouts continue to make blocks 30 yards downfield, and defensive backs rarely fall for the deep ball. Some might even say that pass defense is a tad too stingy this season.
  3. 100
    These animations are gorgeous to look at, from Reggie Bush doing his trademark summersault for six, or a Chad Johnson river dance after a score. This is because the game runs at a buttery smooth 60 frames per second...Madden 08 is simply superb. If you could only own one next-gen football, this is it.