User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 107
  2. Negative: 34 out of 107

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidS.
    Sep 4, 2007
    9
    Madden 08 is a great footbal sim. For people who are crying over fumbles and interceptions your complaints are completely bunk! In the NFL, when a quarterback throws into double coverage, what happens? An interception! That's exactly how Madden plays out! When I first started playing, I was throwing 2-3 interceptions a game because I was used to the old Madden, where the secondary Madden 08 is a great footbal sim. For people who are crying over fumbles and interceptions your complaints are completely bunk! In the NFL, when a quarterback throws into double coverage, what happens? An interception! That's exactly how Madden plays out! When I first started playing, I was throwing 2-3 interceptions a game because I was used to the old Madden, where the secondary had butter fingers! This year you have to wait until a receiver is open. I rarely throw interceptions anymore. Fumbling is also realistic. I Reggie Bush is your halfback, expect fumbles. If Larry Johnson is more up your alley, than expect none. It's that simple. Madden 08 is greatly improved over last year, and is one hell of a footbal sim. So stop crying and start practising! Expand
  2. JeffC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Really 8.5, but I'll round up. The bad: Too many turnovers, 10+ in a game is not unusual. No online replays, nothing....unnacceptable for 'next gen'. TERRIBLE announcing/presentation. Other than the player intro's, which are cool, there is no halftime show, post game show,...in game tv style announcements. Don't they have the ESPN license,..you would never know Really 8.5, but I'll round up. The bad: Too many turnovers, 10+ in a game is not unusual. No online replays, nothing....unnacceptable for 'next gen'. TERRIBLE announcing/presentation. Other than the player intro's, which are cool, there is no halftime show, post game show,...in game tv style announcements. Don't they have the ESPN license,..you would never know it. THe GOOD: silky smooth framerate, tough pass AI, INCREDIBLE depth of play calling/audibles. GREAT animations, gang tackling, flying collisions, gorgeous. Overall, it's solid, but far from perfect. I cannot fathom why they left out replays and these other STANDARD features known to previous Madden's is suspicious. Wait til next year should be EA's new motto... very Good, not GREAT. 8.5. Expand
  3. DavidA.
    Aug 15, 2007
    9
    Overall, a much more solid game this time around. WAYYY smoother on the 360 (unlike the PS3) compared to 07, no stuttering during transitions, and much more animations. I think the passing game is also much more balanced, but the DLBs are more active (like 7 Int's total in the first game) and tackling is more precise. Much prettier and improved overall package.
  4. jaredjones
    May 21, 2009
    10
    the game is way better than any madden before. better than 94, 96, 2000, 2006, 2007. that includes graphics, new kind of franchise mode which allows you to own 1 team or all teams and in between in the nfl. plus you could do more with the game than the past ones.
  5. JoshuaW.
    Aug 11, 2007
    9
    Great game, that while lacking a few minor features, still manages to finally bring Madden football to next-gen levels.
  6. JimF.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    This game is excellent. It has great addictive gameplay, cool new features, and good graphics. This is a must buy for all NFL fans, and a must have for all next gen consoles.
  7. Dave
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Great gameplay. The game is a blast. However, there aren't many new things in the game besides the animations and the "weapons." The animations and the "weapons" really help the gameplay move forward in the right direction. I love the game but I hate the commentary. The commentary is absolutely lousy. I will probably be playing the game with it off.
  8. LexxxW.
    Aug 15, 2007
    9
    THis years Madden is leaps and bounds above previous next gen efforts. THough it still has a ways to go such as still missing online leagues, or actual ESPN integration, (what did they pay all that ESPN money for if they are only going to have those four letters everywhere, with nothing else.) Madden is finally up to snuff for NextGen but still has a little ways to go to catch up to its THis years Madden is leaps and bounds above previous next gen efforts. THough it still has a ways to go such as still missing online leagues, or actual ESPN integration, (what did they pay all that ESPN money for if they are only going to have those four letters everywhere, with nothing else.) Madden is finally up to snuff for NextGen but still has a little ways to go to catch up to its little brother. Expand
  9. Slingblade
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    First off, the game grows on you quickly, but at the same time, you'll notice that some things are missing. Like, no scoring summary - so who knows how long that field goal was or how specifically how many plays the last drive took. Minor quibbles aside, this is a great game for all the little things that are done right. Hit stick 2.0 takes some getting used to, but once it is First off, the game grows on you quickly, but at the same time, you'll notice that some things are missing. Like, no scoring summary - so who knows how long that field goal was or how specifically how many plays the last drive took. Minor quibbles aside, this is a great game for all the little things that are done right. Hit stick 2.0 takes some getting used to, but once it is second-nature, you'll be cracking ribs in no time. Also, the game AI is pretty impressive. You'll slip in the rain now, and you MUST cover up the ball in order to prevent coughing up a fumble - VERY realistic. Suggest re-mapping the buttons and running several practice sessions to really ingrain the stick skill muscle memory. Now go get your addiction on!! Expand
  10. JonathanD.
    Aug 22, 2007
    8
    No it isnt perfect, and it wont be perfect for atleast 2 more years, its a step in the right direction definately, and this game unlike the previous two on the 360 is good enough to be worth 60 bucks. the graphics are great on an HDTV, the tackles are all smooth unlike the 07 and 06 and the invincibility is pretty much gone(you know when you are breaking a tackle, nobody else can tackle No it isnt perfect, and it wont be perfect for atleast 2 more years, its a step in the right direction definately, and this game unlike the previous two on the 360 is good enough to be worth 60 bucks. the graphics are great on an HDTV, the tackles are all smooth unlike the 07 and 06 and the invincibility is pretty much gone(you know when you are breaking a tackle, nobody else can tackle you) now when more people attempt to tackle you at once you will be brought down. and to people complaining its not realistic because of fumbles and interceptions you should learn to not throw picks and be protective of the ball, its not the game its when you try to truck stick ray lewis with clinton portis, you will fumble. maybe instead you should cover up the ball like slingblade says. and if nobody is open throw it out of bounds not into double/triple coverage. and for those of you who prefer jon madden and his 46 IQ commentary then you must not realize that madden is a moneymaking product and it is only named madden 08 because everyone who knows football knows jon madden.(and i prefer people to not tell me how great brett favre is 62 times in a game which the packers arent even playing in) OH and to the ones who want a half time show/ post game show/ computer vs. computer games then you truly TRULY must need a life because most people who play madden either to franchise mode, or play against friends, neither of which are as fun as watching computer simulated cheerleaders waving their pompoms or watching the computer play the computer(this is almost as good as an NFL preseason game because it doesnt matter except, IT ISNT REAL, and id rather be watching computer programmed cheerleaders.) Expand
  11. TimmyM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. how dont you like it i really thought his wa the best nfl game ever It was the funest and most exciting it also had big hitting and insane catching.
  12. AllanC
    Sep 4, 2007
    9
    I'm from Australia, so NFL isn't really well received as the US. But I've got to say, that this is one of the better NFL games. I'm really getting into NFL at the moment and, even though the graphics aren't the best I've seen it's just so damn fun to play.
  13. RodelleeL.
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    Finally next gen has caught up to the current gen offering and given those of us who invested in the new technology the game we deserve! Now add online leagues!!!
  14. BillyD.
    Aug 13, 2007
    8
    Predictable Madden with a couple new features. People will revolt against EA if the format doesn't change. Heres to hoping the NFL has enough cash and doesn't need to license exclusively. I think some competition would help.
  15. K.C.S.
    Aug 13, 2007
    9
    One of the most solid Madden iterations ever created. The gameplay has finally caught up to the technical improvements afforded by the current generation of hardware. Overall a great game of football.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. After two disappointing efforts the last two seasons -- disappointing by the high standard that EA's football franchise set for itself over the years -- Madden NFL 08 redeems the franchise as one of the best-playing football games in recent memory.
  2. 90
    You'll find a much smarter brand of football in 08: Quarterbacks now scramble when no one is open, wideouts continue to make blocks 30 yards downfield, and defensive backs rarely fall for the deep ball. Some might even say that pass defense is a tad too stingy this season.
  3. These animations are gorgeous to look at, from Reggie Bush doing his trademark summersault for six, or a Chad Johnson river dance after a score. This is because the game runs at a buttery smooth 60 frames per second...Madden 08 is simply superb. If you could only own one next-gen football, this is it.