Madden NFL 08 Xbox 360

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 107
  2. Negative: 34 out of 107

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JRS.
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    What a joke E.A. has become. ALl this hype for a game that no where puts the 360 to maximum capacity. All these people that gave high scores are a joke as well, if you like this as a $60 game then you should have you head looked at. With the money that E.A. has to throw around to buy rights to certain thing to corner the markets should be a crime. They continue to rip people off again and What a joke E.A. has become. ALl this hype for a game that no where puts the 360 to maximum capacity. All these people that gave high scores are a joke as well, if you like this as a $60 game then you should have you head looked at. With the money that E.A. has to throw around to buy rights to certain thing to corner the markets should be a crime. They continue to rip people off again and again and game after game. Maybe they should dump that money into their development instead of buying the market. Expand
  2. H.C.
    Sep 16, 2007
    2
    Terrible game. First game I have bought and sold within a week. Shabby game play, tons of glitches, and it constantly froze up in the middle of the game. The graphics are pretty, I'll say that much. Check the EA Madden forums and you can see all the "happy" customers that feel the same way. Don't waste your money.
  3. chuckB.
    Jul 11, 2008
    6
    i agree with other people about how we should be able to control ticket prices and stuff and how slow the load is but because Madden is the only pro game there is nothing to compare it to so you cant say its good or bad. another thing, what is up with the ring thing??? ive played like 500 games and only have part of the 2nd ring. i also agree that there should be different refs but ifi agree with other people about how we should be able to control ticket prices and stuff and how slow the load is but because Madden is the only pro game there is nothing to compare it to so you cant say its good or bad. another thing, what is up with the ring thing??? ive played like 500 games and only have part of the 2nd ring. i also agree that there should be different refs but if there were more the game would probably be slower. other then the things listed above i like madden and think its fun and i cant wait to see how crappy Madden 09 is. Expand
  4. DanielP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    0
    This is the worst version of Madden realeases since Madden 98. I guess buying exclusive rights left EA feeling that they could shell out a completely sub-standard product. The franchise mode has been completely dismantled, and every screen loads terribly slow. The 'alerts' you used to recieve during franchise play are gone, as are mid-season player progressions, position This is the worst version of Madden realeases since Madden 98. I guess buying exclusive rights left EA feeling that they could shell out a completely sub-standard product. The franchise mode has been completely dismantled, and every screen loads terribly slow. The 'alerts' you used to recieve during franchise play are gone, as are mid-season player progressions, position battles, and just about everything else I like in the previous Franchise mode. The game play is choppy and incredibly sluggish. Every huddle break or in-between-play animation has a brief pause before it. The passing is near impossible, and receivers and DB's can make the most ridiculous catches. Computer teams can always find gaping holes in your coverage, and blanket cover anyone themselves. The run game feels and defensive pursuit feels like I am watching one retards chase the ice-cream man. NCAA is no better. AGAIN, BY FAR THE WORST MADDEN TITLE SINCE 98! I'm playing Madden 06 on original X-Box if I want a fix... until this complete failure of a new game engine is scraped or re-worked. . Expand
  5. FredG.
    Sep 10, 2007
    3
    I hate this game. Someday I will learn that the professional reviewers are nothing but shills for EA sports and the NFL. Now I have revered back to playing Madden NFL 06 on my trusty Xbox, which is a far superior product to either Madden NFL 07 or Madden NFL 08 Xbox 360 versions. My review will be a comparison between Xbox NFL06 and NFL 08 Xbox 360. Features Xbox NFL 06 has that Xbox 360 doesn
  6. AaronM.
    Mar 6, 2008
    4
    The graphics are amazing, but with the problems this game has I would prefer the problems to be fixed and have Madden '96 graphics. Terrible AI, lineman are useless, recievers don't put their hands up, you can't change the positions of players. Brian Urlacher was a safety in college! Manny Lawson and Terrell Suggs were ends! Hines Ward played quarterback! No one releases The graphics are amazing, but with the problems this game has I would prefer the problems to be fixed and have Madden '96 graphics. Terrible AI, lineman are useless, recievers don't put their hands up, you can't change the positions of players. Brian Urlacher was a safety in college! Manny Lawson and Terrell Suggs were ends! Hines Ward played quarterback! No one releases anyone to free agency. This game is terrible but it's the only pro football game so by default it's the best. Expand
  7. RickS
    Nov 2, 2008
    2
    PLEASE 2K bring back your NFl game, ESPN NFL 2K5 greatest football in the history of video games. I can't take this anymore, i'm paying 50 bucks for something i can play on a PS1, no one cares about front office, or superstar or any of that Bull Madden, don't you make enough money from announcing. Im begging you 2K,bring it back, me and every other football fan will buy yourPLEASE 2K bring back your NFl game, ESPN NFL 2K5 greatest football in the history of video games. I can't take this anymore, i'm paying 50 bucks for something i can play on a PS1, no one cares about front office, or superstar or any of that Bull Madden, don't you make enough money from announcing. Im begging you 2K,bring it back, me and every other football fan will buy your game, I buy your NBA 2K titles(all amazing). First off Create Player for Madden 08 looks like PS2, and no, the graphics arn't that good, it's just average, you can't customize anything, the game feels half done, like playing a football game with the sound turned off, the field/stadium/fans looks horrid. Oh gameplay where art thou, the gameplay feels like an arcade game not a sim, this game confuses you to the brink, the passing game in 08 is flip a coin, why have all this depth/Plays when you can't pass correctly to an all star receiver. I'm not a football freak SO THIS WILL BE MY FIRST AND LAST MADDEN GAME, if you want this game look at all the loyal fans that stuck with basically sh!t for 4 years and nothing is changed.Terrible passing, messed up AI, ok graphics,loading screens, no announcers, terrible music, game looks like it was bulilt for the original Xbox, What more can you ask for, oh right it's a Madden game, go head bring Madden 08 or 09 fresh to a bunch of friends, 30 mins later you'll see everyone looking at each other and putting down controllers, thats what happend to me with Madden 08. ESPEN NFL 2K5 was way different, it was everything this game, almost 4 years later is not. YOU LIKE PLAYING FOOTBALL, YEA THEN THIS GAME IS NOT FOR YOU. Expand
  8. David
    Aug 16, 2007
    0
    It's the same exact game, just with an updated roster. Save your money.
  9. UncleDougB.
    Aug 20, 2007
    0
    Extremely repetitive game play with LAST gen graphics and hollow "new" features make this game an instant classic for the bargain bin. Bottom line; a complete waste of time and money.
  10. DavidS.
    Sep 4, 2007
    9
    Madden 08 is a great footbal sim. For people who are crying over fumbles and interceptions your complaints are completely bunk! In the NFL, when a quarterback throws into double coverage, what happens? An interception! That's exactly how Madden plays out! When I first started playing, I was throwing 2-3 interceptions a game because I was used to the old Madden, where the secondary Madden 08 is a great footbal sim. For people who are crying over fumbles and interceptions your complaints are completely bunk! In the NFL, when a quarterback throws into double coverage, what happens? An interception! That's exactly how Madden plays out! When I first started playing, I was throwing 2-3 interceptions a game because I was used to the old Madden, where the secondary had butter fingers! This year you have to wait until a receiver is open. I rarely throw interceptions anymore. Fumbling is also realistic. I Reggie Bush is your halfback, expect fumbles. If Larry Johnson is more up your alley, than expect none. It's that simple. Madden 08 is greatly improved over last year, and is one hell of a footbal sim. So stop crying and start practising! Expand
  11. BryanMccann
    Sep 6, 2007
    6
    what do mean you want madden's voice. he is the most anoyying person to lissten to in football histrory. The only thing i am really P old about is that the ps2 verson still has more stuff in it. I mean come on Xbox360 diskes are sapost to have more room on them. the mode i love is Fantasy mode but it is not on the 360 verson.
  12. JeffC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Really 8.5, but I'll round up. The bad: Too many turnovers, 10+ in a game is not unusual. No online replays, nothing....unnacceptable for 'next gen'. TERRIBLE announcing/presentation. Other than the player intro's, which are cool, there is no halftime show, post game show,...in game tv style announcements. Don't they have the ESPN license,..you would never know Really 8.5, but I'll round up. The bad: Too many turnovers, 10+ in a game is not unusual. No online replays, nothing....unnacceptable for 'next gen'. TERRIBLE announcing/presentation. Other than the player intro's, which are cool, there is no halftime show, post game show,...in game tv style announcements. Don't they have the ESPN license,..you would never know it. THe GOOD: silky smooth framerate, tough pass AI, INCREDIBLE depth of play calling/audibles. GREAT animations, gang tackling, flying collisions, gorgeous. Overall, it's solid, but far from perfect. I cannot fathom why they left out replays and these other STANDARD features known to previous Madden's is suspicious. Wait til next year should be EA's new motto... very Good, not GREAT. 8.5. Expand
  13. DavidA.
    Aug 15, 2007
    9
    Overall, a much more solid game this time around. WAYYY smoother on the 360 (unlike the PS3) compared to 07, no stuttering during transitions, and much more animations. I think the passing game is also much more balanced, but the DLBs are more active (like 7 Int's total in the first game) and tackling is more precise. Much prettier and improved overall package.
  14. McBain17
    Sep 4, 2007
    1
    The only reason I gave this steaming pile a one was because according to the cover its a football game. I can't even tell you how lame it is to BUY a game called John Madden Football, yet there isn't any Madden commentary. What the hell? It tells me he just wants to make the money because he knows his games have stunk the last few years. It gets to a point where you should be The only reason I gave this steaming pile a one was because according to the cover its a football game. I can't even tell you how lame it is to BUY a game called John Madden Football, yet there isn't any Madden commentary. What the hell? It tells me he just wants to make the money because he knows his games have stunk the last few years. It gets to a point where you should be able to expect a break through with graphics and game play, and I just dont see it. A lot of people are touting the pre snaps reads, but I just didn't think it was that cool. And on top of that the game play just seems, slow? I understand the last few Maddens were really unrealistic, but come on. It felt like my guys were running in quick sand. Another year, another disapointment from a classic franchise. It wasn't always this way kids, once, a long time ago, you could count on Madden to bring awesomeness to the table served with side of holy s**t. Now its just repetitive game play, poor design choices, shallow online modes, and no Big Guy to real you in. Stay away from BOTH major football titles this year. A sad sad day. Expand
  15. jaredjones
    May 21, 2009
    10
    the game is way better than any madden before. better than 94, 96, 2000, 2006, 2007. that includes graphics, new kind of franchise mode which allows you to own 1 team or all teams and in between in the nfl. plus you could do more with the game than the past ones.
  16. MattP.
    Nov 24, 2007
    5
    For some reason, some very odd, very naive reason, I thought that this Madden would somehow be better than the horrendous outing in 07. I thought that everything would be fixed and that the game wouldn't be a broken mess, boy, was I wrong. I know I'm not going to steer away any fans of the series, and seeing as how this is the only NFL game out there, there really isn't any For some reason, some very odd, very naive reason, I thought that this Madden would somehow be better than the horrendous outing in 07. I thought that everything would be fixed and that the game wouldn't be a broken mess, boy, was I wrong. I know I'm not going to steer away any fans of the series, and seeing as how this is the only NFL game out there, there really isn't any option, anyway. To start off with, the turnover mechanic is woefully broken. Not only will you fumble two, three, four times a game, but you will also throw about three or four interceptions a game. This is, however, nicely balanced because the computer QB will either throw 7 INTS or none at all and eight touchdowns. QBs will consistently throw lame duck line drives that will end up in the hands of a middle linebacker. Balance is way, way off, with the computer being really bad and your team being really good, for the most part. The recievers will, I kid you not, turn around with their hands out infront of them like a cowboy holding two six shooters and watch the ball hit them in the helmet. On one replay, I watched Larry Fitzgerald's eyes actually follow the ball as it hit him the thigh. Playing as a secondary defender is next to impossible, because when you press the Y button you jump, you more than less wait three seconds then shoot your hands up in the air, like you're doing the wave. The only positive: it's the only real, liscenced pro football game out there. Expand
  17. MichaelD.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Great concept, horrible execution. fI you do buy this game, expect for come craziness when you play online. I play with the Atlanta Flacons and Joey Harrington is one of the most accurate quarterbacks in the league. Guess what, in Madden land I don't think so. Throw the ball to an open receiver, five people will crowd him. Throw it over the middle a defender not even on the route Great concept, horrible execution. fI you do buy this game, expect for come craziness when you play online. I play with the Atlanta Flacons and Joey Harrington is one of the most accurate quarterbacks in the league. Guess what, in Madden land I don't think so. Throw the ball to an open receiver, five people will crowd him. Throw it over the middle a defender not even on the route will jump ten feet in the air and grab the rock.and run it in for a TD 50% of the time. Don't get me started on the horrible O-line play. This game is just garbage. Expand
  18. pissedofft
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    right now I am really geting p od at this game. for some dumb reason madden 08 is starting to frezz will I am trying to do mini camp. and I dont know why it just started duing it one day. and then the next thing I know the lazzer burnd it . and now I got another madden and I still have the same problem. EA fix this now!
  19. JoshuaW.
    Aug 11, 2007
    9
    Great game, that while lacking a few minor features, still manages to finally bring Madden football to next-gen levels.
  20. JimF.
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    This game is excellent. It has great addictive gameplay, cool new features, and good graphics. This is a must buy for all NFL fans, and a must have for all next gen consoles.
  21. KINGHBK
    Aug 14, 2007
    3
    This should have been what we got in Madden 06 for the launch. Passing is still not as crisp as current gen or the WII for that matter. They keep saying that the gameplay is tight. This is NEXT GEN Game Play shouldn't be an issue. I love the TV style presentation, and online leagues the strong points of the game. If its in tha game its in tha game. What does EA not understand about This should have been what we got in Madden 06 for the launch. Passing is still not as crisp as current gen or the WII for that matter. They keep saying that the gameplay is tight. This is NEXT GEN Game Play shouldn't be an issue. I love the TV style presentation, and online leagues the strong points of the game. If its in tha game its in tha game. What does EA not understand about their own motto. Another cowards attempt from the EA STAFF. I will stick with the current gen or the WII version. I really feel BAD for the PS3 owners they have really been screwed this year. Expand
  22. Dave
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Great gameplay. The game is a blast. However, there aren't many new things in the game besides the animations and the "weapons." The animations and the "weapons" really help the gameplay move forward in the right direction. I love the game but I hate the commentary. The commentary is absolutely lousy. I will probably be playing the game with it off.
  23. JoshB.
    Aug 14, 2007
    0
    Same sh.t, different package. It should be called Roster Update 08' as that is the only significant change.
  24. LexxxW.
    Aug 15, 2007
    9
    THis years Madden is leaps and bounds above previous next gen efforts. THough it still has a ways to go such as still missing online leagues, or actual ESPN integration, (what did they pay all that ESPN money for if they are only going to have those four letters everywhere, with nothing else.) Madden is finally up to snuff for NextGen but still has a little ways to go to catch up to its THis years Madden is leaps and bounds above previous next gen efforts. THough it still has a ways to go such as still missing online leagues, or actual ESPN integration, (what did they pay all that ESPN money for if they are only going to have those four letters everywhere, with nothing else.) Madden is finally up to snuff for NextGen but still has a little ways to go to catch up to its little brother. Expand
  25. Slingblade
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    First off, the game grows on you quickly, but at the same time, you'll notice that some things are missing. Like, no scoring summary - so who knows how long that field goal was or how specifically how many plays the last drive took. Minor quibbles aside, this is a great game for all the little things that are done right. Hit stick 2.0 takes some getting used to, but once it is First off, the game grows on you quickly, but at the same time, you'll notice that some things are missing. Like, no scoring summary - so who knows how long that field goal was or how specifically how many plays the last drive took. Minor quibbles aside, this is a great game for all the little things that are done right. Hit stick 2.0 takes some getting used to, but once it is second-nature, you'll be cracking ribs in no time. Also, the game AI is pretty impressive. You'll slip in the rain now, and you MUST cover up the ball in order to prevent coughing up a fumble - VERY realistic. Suggest re-mapping the buttons and running several practice sessions to really ingrain the stick skill muscle memory. Now go get your addiction on!! Expand
  26. Karl
    Aug 17, 2007
    0
    I just purchased madden for the 360, now i'm trying to return this crap. To me the game is missing still all of things for example in the current the gen superstar mode you get you own room everything as you move up your room change, when you playing the game they don't show you your stats you have to pause the game and go to game stats, and where the f*** is john madden I just purchased madden for the 360, now i'm trying to return this crap. To me the game is missing still all of things for example in the current the gen superstar mode you get you own room everything as you move up your room change, when you playing the game they don't show you your stats you have to pause the game and go to game stats, and where the f*** is john madden isn't the game name after him the announcer sucks. it's sad to say but i've just purchased my last madden game and i hope 2k come back cause madden fan keep getting cheated. Expand
  27. JonathanD.
    Aug 22, 2007
    8
    No it isnt perfect, and it wont be perfect for atleast 2 more years, its a step in the right direction definately, and this game unlike the previous two on the 360 is good enough to be worth 60 bucks. the graphics are great on an HDTV, the tackles are all smooth unlike the 07 and 06 and the invincibility is pretty much gone(you know when you are breaking a tackle, nobody else can tackle No it isnt perfect, and it wont be perfect for atleast 2 more years, its a step in the right direction definately, and this game unlike the previous two on the 360 is good enough to be worth 60 bucks. the graphics are great on an HDTV, the tackles are all smooth unlike the 07 and 06 and the invincibility is pretty much gone(you know when you are breaking a tackle, nobody else can tackle you) now when more people attempt to tackle you at once you will be brought down. and to people complaining its not realistic because of fumbles and interceptions you should learn to not throw picks and be protective of the ball, its not the game its when you try to truck stick ray lewis with clinton portis, you will fumble. maybe instead you should cover up the ball like slingblade says. and if nobody is open throw it out of bounds not into double/triple coverage. and for those of you who prefer jon madden and his 46 IQ commentary then you must not realize that madden is a moneymaking product and it is only named madden 08 because everyone who knows football knows jon madden.(and i prefer people to not tell me how great brett favre is 62 times in a game which the packers arent even playing in) OH and to the ones who want a half time show/ post game show/ computer vs. computer games then you truly TRULY must need a life because most people who play madden either to franchise mode, or play against friends, neither of which are as fun as watching computer simulated cheerleaders waving their pompoms or watching the computer play the computer(this is almost as good as an NFL preseason game because it doesnt matter except, IT ISNT REAL, and id rather be watching computer programmed cheerleaders.) Expand
  28. C.W.
    Aug 26, 2007
    7
    I really like this game compared to the earlier versions of the game and I agree with most people on this post that their are way to many fumbles. I mean I am averaging a fumble a game with m y running back who might have had 3-4 fumbles all year last year. Interceptions I don't have such a problem with as I think if you throw it into tight coverage that it will be picked off and should be.
  29. FredB.
    Sep 15, 2007
    4
    This game has what it takes to be an amazing game......... but its not! I have thrown roughy 8 interceptions in less then two games. I've fumbled at least 5 time, again thats only in less then two games, WITH THE PATRIOTS. Im on pro and my opponents keep out scoring me by two touchdowns. I love the graphics but the game play is poor. Seems to be a common trend in this years games.
  30. TimmyM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. how dont you like it i really thought his wa the best nfl game ever It was the funest and most exciting it also had big hitting and insane catching.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. After two disappointing efforts the last two seasons -- disappointing by the high standard that EA's football franchise set for itself over the years -- Madden NFL 08 redeems the franchise as one of the best-playing football games in recent memory.
  2. 90
    You'll find a much smarter brand of football in 08: Quarterbacks now scramble when no one is open, wideouts continue to make blocks 30 yards downfield, and defensive backs rarely fall for the deep ball. Some might even say that pass defense is a tad too stingy this season.
  3. These animations are gorgeous to look at, from Reggie Bush doing his trademark summersault for six, or a Chad Johnson river dance after a score. This is because the game runs at a buttery smooth 60 frames per second...Madden 08 is simply superb. If you could only own one next-gen football, this is it.