User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 91
  2. Negative: 29 out of 91
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. iamcool
    Aug 14, 2009
    0
    Are Gamespot and Gaming Trend the only honest reviewers? Every review says the fundamental problems that plague gameplay haven't been fixed but they still rate it in the 80's and 90's. Honestly?
  2. JoeP
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    This is the best Madden yet. The game play has been slowed down to be more true to life, the new tackling engine is great, the graphic presentation always gets better. The result...a better game than ever. Don't listen to "iam cool" this is worth the money for any football fan.
  3. OlikerS
    Nov 15, 2009
    8
    All right, let's start with the good. Madden 10 has the best presentation of any game to date.It, includes a halftime show, pre-game festivities, statitics,NFL record updates, and backtrack.The gameplay modes include a few upgrades but nothing new.Next we talk about the bad. In- game there are some MAJOR problems.The clock runs after incomplete passes, and kickoff returns,and All right, let's start with the good. Madden 10 has the best presentation of any game to date.It, includes a halftime show, pre-game festivities, statitics,NFL record updates, and backtrack.The gameplay modes include a few upgrades but nothing new.Next we talk about the bad. In- game there are some MAJOR problems.The clock runs after incomplete passes, and kickoff returns,and sometimes runs after you go out of bounds.Thats not all though, thew fumble recovery thing is stupid.One time, when I was playing the game my QB fumbled. Then a player on my team OBVIOUSLY dived on the ball.Let me tell, it did not end well.Actually it took away a win from me.The clock can also take wins away.If your a football fan then get this game. Expand
  4. EdR
    Dec 10, 2009
    2
    This game sucks. This franchise now sucks. It just doesn't have the right feel to it. The animations and player models are horrible. They should be much further along at this stage in the game. The team needs to stop wasting time with additional fluff like referees conversing and crowd shots and put the money elsewhere like on the field for instance. The attention to detail is just This game sucks. This franchise now sucks. It just doesn't have the right feel to it. The animations and player models are horrible. They should be much further along at this stage in the game. The team needs to stop wasting time with additional fluff like referees conversing and crowd shots and put the money elsewhere like on the field for instance. The attention to detail is just not there. First off, the audio is horrible. The play by play announcer is god-awful. Get someone with character for pity's sake. Collingsworth does all right but the guy he is paired up with is duller than your city weatherman. Also, the onfield chatter is dull, unrealistic and juvenille. Get the audio lead/creative director to watch NFL SFX. Watch real NFL games to get the thwap of shoulder pads colliding. It shouldn't sound like 'body falling' out of your typical foley library. Another issue I have is that when your player scores, he just waltzes in and stops like some dead automaton. It then goes into some celebratory animation which is fine but this should be fixed. Your player should be jacked up when breaking the goal-line in real-time and on the field. The AI is poor as well, especially in the trenches. The whole thing feels like a bubble hockey game or something like players are attached to constrained lines of movement. I think you need a whole new engine or something to alter the feel of it. For pity's sake take a year off or so and knock one out of the park. I am a longtime fan of this franchise but it is getting pathetic now. Thankfully I didn't shell out the 70 bux for it and I won't. I don't think I'll even buy it when it drops even more next year. It's just not that compelling gameplay nor presentation even. Expand
  5. TB
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    Better than last year's, thankfully.
  6. ToddL.
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    A must have for football fans and sports gamers. Madden 10 is a huge improvement on an already great Madden 09 in almost every way. It takes a long time to get used to and the things that worked in 09 seem to have become much more difficult to execute, making this a much more realistic and challenging football game. Once you get the hang of it though it makes executing plays as satisfying A must have for football fans and sports gamers. Madden 10 is a huge improvement on an already great Madden 09 in almost every way. It takes a long time to get used to and the things that worked in 09 seem to have become much more difficult to execute, making this a much more realistic and challenging football game. Once you get the hang of it though it makes executing plays as satisfying as playing real life football. Expand
  7. GregS.
    Aug 18, 2009
    5
    Downward slide from last year. Coop play/camera angles are a joke and was clearly added to sell games. Animation is still bad. Game play looks good as long as you are zoomed in during a replay, but is more sluggish than I have ever seen it. Last year was an improvement, this year was again a let down. Seriously guys, you stop wasting your 1 yr dev time on stupid side games and fix your Downward slide from last year. Coop play/camera angles are a joke and was clearly added to sell games. Animation is still bad. Game play looks good as long as you are zoomed in during a replay, but is more sluggish than I have ever seen it. Last year was an improvement, this year was again a let down. Seriously guys, you stop wasting your 1 yr dev time on stupid side games and fix your fundamental crappy game. 2K is still kicking your ass five years later. We have no choice but you for football, and it shows in your game. Stop letting us down. Rent this before you buy and you will see. All hype, no passion. Expand
  8. aj
    Aug 21, 2009
    3
    Eh, the fact that you have to spend an extra 20 bucks ta grab all the toted features of the game set it back a couple points. it's slower, the gang tackling is "meh", rbs still somehow manage to grab an extra 5 yards after falling down (when they clearly could not irl), player ratings are shoddy, also gone is the weapon system that i actually came to enjoy as is the rewind system Eh, the fact that you have to spend an extra 20 bucks ta grab all the toted features of the game set it back a couple points. it's slower, the gang tackling is "meh", rbs still somehow manage to grab an extra 5 yards after falling down (when they clearly could not irl), player ratings are shoddy, also gone is the weapon system that i actually came to enjoy as is the rewind system that was only in place for a single game, etcetc. seriously considering selling it off (this coming from "one of those guys" that pre-ordered the shit back in february and went to the midnight opening since the early 00's). the positives are few and far in between, but the player models/graphics all around are the best out of any madden game. instead of putting in crap music as per usual, they went with solid classics. and devin hester's still the fastest dude in the game. Expand
  9. MarkR
    Oct 18, 2009
    2
    Horribly arcade-y. It's ironic that the most realistic graphics ever in madden accompany the least realistic gameplay yet. Tiny running backs bull over huge lineman, DB AI is non-existant, every drive ends in a TD, multiple 50+ yard plays every game. Seems more like NFL blitz than a Madden game. Will be the first Madden game I ever sell before the season is over. Waste of $60.
  10. ChrisM
    Oct 6, 2009
    2
    While the game play and visuals are improved over the previous iterations in the series, EA has murdered Super Star mode. As someone who is getting bored with the traditional franchise play, I thoroughly enjoyed Super Star mode in Madden 07, and it wasnt bad in Madden 09, but Super Star mode in 10 is pointless. Had I known this before purchasing it I wouldnt have (I checked reviews, didnt While the game play and visuals are improved over the previous iterations in the series, EA has murdered Super Star mode. As someone who is getting bored with the traditional franchise play, I thoroughly enjoyed Super Star mode in Madden 07, and it wasnt bad in Madden 09, but Super Star mode in 10 is pointless. Had I known this before purchasing it I wouldnt have (I checked reviews, didnt see anything about the gutting of Super Star mode, but all reviews said it was the best in the franchise). If you want Super Star mode, stay away from Madden 10 Expand
  11. AnonymousMC
    Aug 15, 2009
    4
    Still the same game as 09, except they have made gameplay slower than real life (a step backwards), and still far too many plays that work far too often. DB's also seem to run away from the WR at times on long passes. Not really an upgrade to 09, more a side step with more problems.
  12. JimR
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    There is no doubt Madden 10 is a great game of football, but for all of its few "improvements, " it really isn't light years ahead of last year's game- especially not $60.00 worth. Having gone back and forth between '09 and '10 several times, this game feels more like a nice "add-on" to me, than a legitimate successor. Do not be fooled by scores in the upper There is no doubt Madden 10 is a great game of football, but for all of its few "improvements, " it really isn't light years ahead of last year's game- especially not $60.00 worth. Having gone back and forth between '09 and '10 several times, this game feels more like a nice "add-on" to me, than a legitimate successor. Do not be fooled by scores in the upper '80's with this one if you think you are going to obtain a wholly different animal than your copy of '09, but if you are too lazy to update your own rosters or you absolutely need the superficials like the new presentation or the couple of new animations or "features" as they're called, then go get it. Expand
  13. TBP
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    This year's Madden takes huge stride over previous years. The game feels much more realistic with the slower game speed, where you can actually see routes develop on offense and you can create 7 man gang tackling. This is NOT just another annual Madden release, this years version knew there were serious problems to fix and addressed those problems.
  14. JY
    Sep 11, 2009
    2
    Perhaps the most frustrating Madden to date. Madden 10 plays like a football game of the NFL 2K Franchise. Last years Madden was praised for its gameplay, something it had sorely missed the two years preceding (07, 08). This year's gameplay has taken a couple steps back rather than forward. The gameplay is slower paced as players have very dicey movements and cannot cut like in lsat Perhaps the most frustrating Madden to date. Madden 10 plays like a football game of the NFL 2K Franchise. Last years Madden was praised for its gameplay, something it had sorely missed the two years preceding (07, 08). This year's gameplay has taken a couple steps back rather than forward. The gameplay is slower paced as players have very dicey movements and cannot cut like in lsat years version. This year the game also took out the "Pass Commit and Run Commit" features. Come the end of the day, Madden's consumers purchase the game to have fun, it is one thing to try to up the game's realism but to do so at the cost of fun gameplay is not the correct path. After all it is a video GAME simulation, not the real thing. Expand
  15. JeffJ
    Sep 19, 2009
    2
    Gang tackling is ultra fake. You basically have 185-pound guys shaking off about 850 lbs. of DTs and LBs. This game is all about breaking tackles in a bogus and unrealistic manner. Tapping the buttons for a fumble recovery will be a 1-year novelty like the flashlight mode. WTF is this? Track and Field? Playbooks are extremely rudimentary. There's not really much that's good Gang tackling is ultra fake. You basically have 185-pound guys shaking off about 850 lbs. of DTs and LBs. This game is all about breaking tackles in a bogus and unrealistic manner. Tapping the buttons for a fumble recovery will be a 1-year novelty like the flashlight mode. WTF is this? Track and Field? Playbooks are extremely rudimentary. There's not really much that's good about this game. Expand
  16. AllenD
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    Madden is back! I have been a fan for years and I've been sorely disappointed since it's made it's next gen jump. This one finally gets it right. The gameplay has slowed to give it a more realistic feel. TV style presentation FINALLY makes it's debut, although I would like to see the game make some kind of CPU generated highlights during the post game show in the Madden is back! I have been a fan for years and I've been sorely disappointed since it's made it's next gen jump. This one finally gets it right. The gameplay has slowed to give it a more realistic feel. TV style presentation FINALLY makes it's debut, although I would like to see the game make some kind of CPU generated highlights during the post game show in the Franchise mode and not just stats and schedules. The only other complaint is when uploading NCAA players the game doesn't recognize which players were good in college and give them a decent rating to start (I had a player that was 99 in college and was a 70 when brought over to Madden). Aside from that, this game is sweet, and it is the best looking Madden to date. The people that are giving this game bad scores are the people who have hated and had a grudge against this franchise and EA for years and will always hate it no matter how much EA improves it. If you people don't like it, don't play it. Don't hate the game because you don't like the company that created it. Expand
  17. mikel
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    Greatest madden game yet!!! the new features and gameplay are way ahead of its time and the realism keeps getting better and better!! perfect buy for all ages.
  18. MarkH
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    I would say this is the best madden since the we enterened the next gen of gaming. I love the fact that it is much slower, more realistic. Most Madden faithfull will find it to be a bit easy except on the harder levels. One thing that I love is in older versions when a defense would drop a linebacker in a zone, it was imposible to hit a reciever behind the backer and in front of the I would say this is the best madden since the we enterened the next gen of gaming. I love the fact that it is much slower, more realistic. Most Madden faithfull will find it to be a bit easy except on the harder levels. One thing that I love is in older versions when a defense would drop a linebacker in a zone, it was imposible to hit a reciever behind the backer and in front of the cornerback. Not this year. Makes you feel a little bit more like a real qb. Running is also a bit easier. Defensive linemen don't shed the block everytime you are near them. I don't get the negative reviews by people. Have you never played a Madden game before? It is the most realistic game yet. Expand
  19. EmJaySena
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    RIP ESPN NFL 2K5. Madden has finally justified it's long-standing contract with the NFL, and even if 2K was still releasing NFL games, they wouldn't be able to compete with this. Don't agree? Play All-Pro Football 2K8, then Madden NFL 10. There is no comparison. Madden is simply the best football experience ever created.
  20. CodyB
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Let me just start off saying I absolutely HATED Madden 09. Now that I have that out of the way, I have waited for a football game to come out that is as fun as 2k5 and this is it. Yes it has its faults but the good parts totally wipe the faults away. The pro tak system makes this game and it makes it great! I can't put it down.
  21. JasonF
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Madden is FINALLY back - this is from a long time 2k'er. These low reviews are asinine...Madden is no worse than a 9/10, I give it a 10/10 because they added two things everyone has always wanted - online franchise and great broadcast-style presentation.
  22. Sep 16, 2010
    6
    Way way to slow. Madden 10 I have to say is pretty sloppy on Xbox and Wii. The franchise mode is terrible and the gameplay is crappy, madden moments is pretty cool though.
  23. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    The usual detractors will claim nothing has changed, but this is as close to a revolutionary shift in direction that Madden has received in nine years. And it works.
  24. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    It's pretty standard. Not much different from all of the other games. The multiplayer is pretty bad because you will get disconnected from lobbies too much and it's not too enjoyable. I also don't like you can't play 2v2. The superstar mode is just horrible. My ego is always big headed and they will start you as a starter even if you're a rookie, which I suppose would be funner than notIt's pretty standard. Not much different from all of the other games. The multiplayer is pretty bad because you will get disconnected from lobbies too much and it's not too enjoyable. I also don't like you can't play 2v2. The superstar mode is just horrible. My ego is always big headed and they will start you as a starter even if you're a rookie, which I suppose would be funner than not playing at all. It's just not really too realistic. It's an OK football game and probably the best for it's time, but not very good. It's a buy if you want a football game, but it's far from amazing. Expand
  25. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Great game. Definitely better than 09 and the earlier games. Movement is good, the overall flow of the game is good. There is some issues with the momentum and how you can go for a tackle facing the opposite direction and it will teleport your character to the ball carrier sometimes. Great game overall.
  26. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    Madden 10 is over all the best madden ever, but playing against the computer in madden mode is a complete joke!!!!!!! wide receivers can't catch the computer intercepts almost ever throw!!! it totally ridiculous
  27. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This is a very fun, fast paced, action packed game, but not your typical shoot'em action. It is very fun, but there are little features from the previous maddens that bring this down a little like just giving your character stats instead of playing the game and seeing how good the PLAYER is. The superstar menu is boring just like a regular menu and doesn't have the little things likeThis is a very fun, fast paced, action packed game, but not your typical shoot'em action. It is very fun, but there are little features from the previous maddens that bring this down a little like just giving your character stats instead of playing the game and seeing how good the PLAYER is. The superstar menu is boring just like a regular menu and doesn't have the little things like personas or pro-bowl ballots. The multiplayer doesn't work either because EA is to cheap to keep anything up for long. I bet they're preparing to shut down Battlefield Bad Company 2' s servers down right now, which is still a really good game. Expand
  28. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    In my previous review, I bashed this installment. mentioning it was better than the Wii version, but not by much. I based that review purely on the Superstar mode, which I still believe isn't the best. But after playing franchise mode, I take back everything I said about the game. It really brings you back to the old Madden. (Old as in 2004-2008) It's very Nostalgic to long time playersIn my previous review, I bashed this installment. mentioning it was better than the Wii version, but not by much. I based that review purely on the Superstar mode, which I still believe isn't the best. But after playing franchise mode, I take back everything I said about the game. It really brings you back to the old Madden. (Old as in 2004-2008) It's very Nostalgic to long time players whom have played the newer Maddens. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. 89
    Madden NFL 10 doesn’t redefine the series or innovate in any monumental way, but that doesn’t stop it from being a truly great football game.
  2. In the end Madden 10 is the kind of game that I am willing to look past the shortcomings because what’s good is really, really good. It’s worth putting up with the faults in order to experience what works.
  3. 90
    There's a noticeable focus on keeping you actively involved in the game and it's an effort that succeeds in spades.