User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 120
  2. Negative: 45 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    2
    This game took a step back from last year. Why take out the sprint and that gang tackling? But more importantly, why the hell does EA refuse to allow the Xbox servers to host games? EA's servers are crap. They are laggy and it took me 10min to find a game that actually connected, then all i had to deal with was the noticeable delay between when i pressed the button and when somethingThis game took a step back from last year. Why take out the sprint and that gang tackling? But more importantly, why the hell does EA refuse to allow the Xbox servers to host games? EA's servers are crap. They are laggy and it took me 10min to find a game that actually connected, then all i had to deal with was the noticeable delay between when i pressed the button and when something actually happened, which in a timing based game is a pretty big deal. Plus, i can't even play with half my friends because of connections issues, issues i have never had in the past with games hosted on Xbox's servers. EA is junk, money money money. This game is getting sold back when Game Stop opens in the morning. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2010
    3
    For one, this game is just like NCAA 11, just with different teams. The graphics also look somehow worse than that game and the little headset feature in the quarterback's ear is just really repetitive and not very good. So my point here is, you can get NCAA 11 for maybe a 5$ discount because of this game. Same game but again, somehow the graphics are worse in this game, i can't stressFor one, this game is just like NCAA 11, just with different teams. The graphics also look somehow worse than that game and the little headset feature in the quarterback's ear is just really repetitive and not very good. So my point here is, you can get NCAA 11 for maybe a 5$ discount because of this game. Same game but again, somehow the graphics are worse in this game, i can't stress enough on how this does not make sense because they had more time to work on this game but it is the same new running mechanics and core gameplay as NCAA so if you are in to football sports games, go for the college edition this year. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2010
    2
    This is the biggest pay-to-play crap I've ever seen. The game comes with a code for online play. So if you buy the game used, you have to pay to play online. The game also has an "Ultimate Team" mode that starts you off with a deck of players (like playing fantasy football), and you earn "coins" to buy new decks of players. It would be a good idea, but the cards all expire after x games.This is the biggest pay-to-play crap I've ever seen. The game comes with a code for online play. So if you buy the game used, you have to pay to play online. The game also has an "Ultimate Team" mode that starts you off with a deck of players (like playing fantasy football), and you earn "coins" to buy new decks of players. It would be a good idea, but the cards all expire after x games. When you don't earn enough coins for enough decks to fill all the positions, you can only buy new coins (using real money). I've never seen a game-mode that can only be played if you pay to play it. It's classic bait-and-switch, and a total greedy money grab. I'll never buy Madden again! Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is basically madden 10, with less of a challenge of getting into the end zone on any play level, and more of a challenge of stopping your opponent from doing the same thing. The tackling in the this game is a joke, but online play is the biggest joke of it all. I have yet to finish an entire game, which makes my DNF going on 10 games, they all quit or lose connection in the middle of the first quarter and you canâ Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2010
    1
    madden 11 is the worst madden. and i hate all the maddens DO NOT WASTE MONEY on this horrible game
  6. May 16, 2011
    4
    I have said it before, and I'll say it again: EA Sports needs to release their sports games only once every 3 years. Not much can be done to a game in 8 months, and each iteration of Madden seems to disappoint with its lack of ingenuity. I am truly glad that NBA Live was killed for 2011, and I only hope and pray that Madden will take a sabbatical so EA can relearn its roots. This gameI have said it before, and I'll say it again: EA Sports needs to release their sports games only once every 3 years. Not much can be done to a game in 8 months, and each iteration of Madden seems to disappoint with its lack of ingenuity. I am truly glad that NBA Live was killed for 2011, and I only hope and pray that Madden will take a sabbatical so EA can relearn its roots. This game is the same Madden of last year, the same Madden of two years ago, the same Madden of 3 years ago; it just has Old Spice commercials and "updated" rosters. Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    Oh I am soo dissapointed yet again with this game. It honestly gets worse each year. The gameflow makes it feel like an arcade game like Blitz or something and no longer an NFL simulation. It is far to easy at default settings. I have turned them up but haven't found a sweet spot yet. The online play is laggy and there are no provisions to prevent poor online sportsmanship. DoOh I am soo dissapointed yet again with this game. It honestly gets worse each year. The gameflow makes it feel like an arcade game like Blitz or something and no longer an NFL simulation. It is far to easy at default settings. I have turned them up but haven't found a sweet spot yet. The online play is laggy and there are no provisions to prevent poor online sportsmanship. Do yourself a favor, get NCAA 2011 instead. At least rent before you buy and make you own decision. I hope 2K games or anyone else gets an NFL license soon. Once Madden got that they got lazy and quality has been getting consistently worse. By the way, I am selling my copy should anyone want it in spite of my warning. Expand
  8. Aug 23, 2010
    4
    I don't usually like to jump right on and review a game within 24 hours of purchasing it. I usually give myself a little time to form a more accurate opinion, but Madden NFL 11 really left a lot on the field from my perspective. EA Sports' Madden slogan is, "If it's in the game, it's in the game". practice squads, bundling and trading draft picks from next year's crop (or the year after),I don't usually like to jump right on and review a game within 24 hours of purchasing it. I usually give myself a little time to form a more accurate opinion, but Madden NFL 11 really left a lot on the field from my perspective. EA Sports' Madden slogan is, "If it's in the game, it's in the game". practice squads, bundling and trading draft picks from next year's crop (or the year after), fully customizable playbooks, plays, and uniforms, and 45 man game-day rosters are all things that are "in the game" but still no where near the madden franchise. I may be in the sad minority here, but I don't give a crap about online play, especially online team-play. What I tend to focus on the most is franchise mode. Playing the franchise mode on Madden 11 is a serviceable experience at best, but very disappointing if you were hoping for any upgrades. It is basically the EXACT SAME interface as Madden 10. With the exception of mid-day lighting/shadow contrasts, the In-game presentation has been polished visually (but they still get some minor uniform details wrong), but the actual game-play is frustrating. The new "strategy pad" is certainly subtraction by addition. EA has had the same format for YEARS for pre-snap adjustments with the trigger buttons. This "strategy pad" changes that for no good reason at all and actually involves more button pushes and more time than the old format. This is the opposite of what they were going for in their efforts to "streamline" the game-play. Also, they decide that after 6 or 7 years of the analogue stick kicking interface, that they would go back the X button double-tap timing system. A curious move at best. Most of these changes seem like they were made for the sake of making them, with no real thought toward overall gameplay efficiency or accuracy. The new "gameflo" system is only commendable for the effort made. It is misguided and inaccurate, but i do agree with them that coaches/offensive coordinators don't come into a game with 300 plays to choose from. It seems to me that there's better ways of going about this, like selecting from your playbook a choice of 20 plays or so, and carrying them into a game with you, and that's all you have that you can call, and you select those plays based on what works well against your opponent's commonly called plays. That would also alleviate the burden of having to hear some jacknut OC tell me why he's calling a ridiculously useless play (i know, i can just turn it off. i did.). As for the in-game commentary, once again, i'm probably in the vast minority, but i haven't listened to that in years on any sports game, so i'm no authority there. For the sake of being fair, I'm sure it's earth-shatteringly amazing. It's probably the one thing that would change my whole outlook on this game, because it's the one thing I turn off immediately every year. I just don't think NFL football players have the TV commentary presentation playing in their helmets while they're playing the game. Considering I was one of the midnight release people that had had this game reserved and completely paid for a full month in advance it pains me to say, but overall, this game is a $60 roster update. In summary: meh... Expand
  9. Aug 12, 2010
    2
    Ok yes Madden is the best NFL game on the market, well pretty much the only one on the market these days with no competition to push the boundaries EA have just pumped out another years edition without anything worthwhile to warrant paying for roster updates and mediocre changes in game play.
  10. Sep 27, 2013
    1
    Graphics good. Everything else is not innovative at all. 2K and Sega were a blessing for Football video games. EA sports should be ashamed of themselves. Selling this rehashed junk and calling it a new game. Worst con in the modern era.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jan 9, 2011
    80
    Aside from the new dpad mapping, gameflow and some new graphic elements, there aren't too many innovations in this last chapter. It seems that the best football simulator is getting hard to update.
  2. 90
    Madden 11 is without a doubt the best American football game on the Xbox 360. [Issue#65, p.85]
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    As I said in my first field report, hardcore Madden players may not appreciate all the changes, but those of us who are more casual fans have a lot to like.