Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Control the line of scrimmage using just your voice. Both on defense and offense, Kinect on Xbox 360 gives you full control over all your pre-snap adjustments, audibles, and personnel, immersing you into the NFL. Powered by the all-new Infinity Engine, true player impact and authentic momentum transfer ensure that no two plays ever look or feel the same. Connected Careers is a new and fully connected universe defined by deep gameplay, unique storylines and social integration. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 10, 2012
    95
    In the end, Madden 13 is a fast paced NFL game that allows fans to play a variety of different gameplay modes, including a relatively in-depth career mode. If you want to take the gameplay to another level, the title also supports a detailed online mode so you can challenge other players from around the world. With a strong gaming engine and graphics that will amaze, it's definitely a great time to be a NFL fan.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    Madden NFL 13 is a fantastic update to the series. It feels like a complete overhaul. Sure, some of the new things will need tweaking in the years to come, but this is a great step in the right direction.
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    89
    Madden NFL 13 makes huge strides this year, but also makes a few rookie mistakes. Seasoned football fanatics and casual onlookers should be satisfied with the end result. As seen in my previous Madden reviews, you know that I have had my fair share of issues with the game. If you have been skeptical of Madden before, this year's edition is worth a look. If only they could do something about the number of interceptions.
  4. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    The on-field experience is stellar, and Connected Careers' staggering scope allows it to transcend its shortcomings. For the first time in ages, Madden's future is bright.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Madden 13 marks a vast improvement over the past few Maddens. The first one in a while. [Dec 2012]
  6. Aug 25, 2012
    80
    All that said, every year we beg the question: Is Madden really worth $60 for what little tweaks are made? Probably not, but most people buy it anyway because we all feel that desire to be caught up and current with what's new.
  7. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    In spite of its misfires and glitches, Madden NFL 13 is a step forward for this franchise. It's a small, clumsy step, but considering how little forward progress this series has made in recent years, any kind of step is a cause for minor celebration. If you can forgive the technical problems and often cumbersome menus, there's a football game worth liking here.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 112
  2. Negative: 40 out of 112
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    THERE IS A FRANCHISE MODE. I figured I would bold that up front since some people don't seem to understand that. The new career mode Connected Careers did not replace it. It encompassed it. If you start a coach in connected careers it IS franchise mode. You control the whole team, choose the players, progress the players, go through the draft, hire free agents, cut players, etc. Aside from that you can also start a player and play the mode like superstar mode in the past. The mode is well designed gives a fresh feel to the game.

    On the gameplay side they have made numerous improvements. The physics engine is the most obvious one. It isn't perfect by any means and you will occasionally see weird moments but for the most part it works well. The passing trajectories have also added some good depth to the gameplay giving more control to your passing than in years past. Add to this the usual slider set that you can find in the settings and if there is anything you don't like about gameplay it is easy to adjust to your liking.

    Overall Madden 13 is a fantastic step in the right direction. After all the years of gimmicks and copy and paste games the madden team under its new management is finally trying and has released a game that not only updates the roster but the formula that makes up football games as well.
    Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    Awesome!! The best Madden I have ever played, it feels like watching Monday night football. I love the new connected mode. This game play has improved tremendously Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Let it be known: Franchise mode is here. Ignore what others are saying; they are misinformed. Connect Careers has all of the elements wanted in franchise mode: Player Progress, NFL Draft, managing players and agents..etc. It's a mode that will satisfy all of the users who are under the impression that the franchise mode is gone. You can create a coach to begin Franchise Mode and also create a player to enter into the 'Superstar Mode'. In terms of gameplay, this is hands down the BIGGEST and BEST improvement in franchise history. The physics and subsequent animations seen by the user are astounding. Madden has finally encompassed a true physics based game with the addition of the highly touted Infinity Engine. EA has taken great strides in order to nullify cheesers online as well. It's now an even playing field, and a FUN one at that. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    Another year has passed and another moderate Madden game was released to us. Changes that EA has advertised wasn't nearly enough to gain back the trust of all hardcore football fans. For starters the physics engine got a bit of a face lift and some new animations were thrown in too but encounters glitchy game play (example: body parts bend and twist in weird ways). The problem is that you can see that it's the early signs of a working in progress idea that might or might not succeed and we are the ginnie pigs, which doesn't sit well with me as it seems to me we continue to do this dance every few years with EA. Other new ideas are, new connect career which basically took out franchise mode and allows you to play offline or online as a player or coach. Personally I liked the old franchise mode but I've accepted this new idea and rolled with it. Graphics got tweaked again but no significant changes were added. The commentary once again got changed instead of evolved. It has two new voices (Nance & Sims, CBS crew) and has really not changed the way they say the same things generally and spout off wrong words at important times during game play. Presentation now looks like the CBS Sunday football presentation. Nothing special just more flash from EA instead of quality content of depth. There are some good things from all of this. The Career mode now have tweeter (fake of course) included, with tweets by football experts in your season. Oh and yes the rosters were updated.... Folks this game is an improvement from last years game but has a long way to go if it wants to be considered a quality football game that scores higher than 7. Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    5
    1 of the richest gaming corporations in the world and still isnt even close to its potential. This rating applies to head to head and teamplay. Same outdated generic graphics, very frequent dropping of players in team player, broken announcing and repetitive announcing, very unstable EA servers, very easy to exploit online, player ratings are not realistically represented in game example- champ bailey gets burned frequently by lower end receivers and lower end db's play amazing depending on dynamic player performance which hurts game alot. Dynamic player performance applies to all players so horrible players can be amazing and amazing can be horrible. Overall you dont really have a choice if you want a football game. It is a decent arcade like football game and certainly isnt worth 60$ but if you can get for 30$ or less its worth it only because its only NFL licensed game. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    1
    There's no reason to purchase this game if you have Madden 12. They have taken out franchise mode and almost all of the great features the previous Maddens had. EA is making it rain for all of these paid reviewers who give it an 80+ score. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    No Franchise Mode! Are you kidding me? Franchise mode is what made Madden great. I looked forward to Madden every year, so I could draft players, trade, and create my own franchise. The most fun was creating a franchise along with a friend and play out the season together..... I will never buy Madden again after this disapointment Collapse

See all 112 User Reviews