User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 136
  2. Negative: 48 out of 136
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    This is one of my favorite, but least favorite Maddens of all time. Its got its ups and downs but some of the things that happen in this game are absolutely ridiculous. First off, fast RB/QB combinations are way too overpowering. For instance, Michael Vick and Lesean McCoy. Not only is Vick way too fast, but he is also way too elusive. Its like playing with the same Michael Vick that IThis is one of my favorite, but least favorite Maddens of all time. Its got its ups and downs but some of the things that happen in this game are absolutely ridiculous. First off, fast RB/QB combinations are way too overpowering. For instance, Michael Vick and Lesean McCoy. Not only is Vick way too fast, but he is also way too elusive. Its like playing with the same Michael Vick that I played with in Madden 2004. Not only is Vick not as fast as he was as in 04 but he is also a much much worse football player. Madden doesn't seem to realize that though. Vick is amazing in this game and to be honest I would almost take him over any QB in the league. Lesean McCoy is way too good in this game as well. Yes I know that McCoy is usually good, but after an under performing season last year he should not be nearly as good. Greg Jennings is another player that in my mind is way too good. Not only did he have 4 TDs, but he had some amazing jumping and diving catches. Yes I know that Greg Jennings is good, but he is not this good. This Greg Jennings would have fit in the game if it was 5 years before. Another thing that is absolutely ridiculous is the kick/punt returns. They are so simple that it reminds me of playing with Devin Hester in Madden 2009 or Madden 2010 when anytime he touched the ball it was a touchdown. Man coverage is something that Madden needs to focus on because its absolute horse in this game. It's almost as if the DBs don't know what they are doing. The middle of the passing screen also needs to be fixed. As long as I pass across the middle every time I am guaranteed at least 8 yards which is ridiculous. I know its a video game but come on Madden. Its simple stuff like that that needs to be fixed. Oh and one more thing is that the LT+any button mode is way to overpowered. I once made Reggie Bush fumble 5 times in one game using LT+hit stick. On the opposite side there are some pluses. The blocking is much more realistic and blocks are starting to look like ones that you see in the NFL. Guys getting pushed down, pancakes and other blocks. The owner mode is also tons of fun and it really makes it realistic that you own a franchise with all the things you have to do to please your fans and your team. The introductions before the game are also a really nice touch and makes it really cool and jacked up to play the game. Speed should NOT be everything though because in the NFL just cause your fast doesnt mean that youre good. I really love Madden, and no matter what I will buy it every year, but some changes need to be made to make me more satisfied. Id say it should be worth $40 instead of $60 because of the flaws. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    Im disappointed in 25 looks aweful, madden 12 plays and looks sharper crisper its defs a step back. Some of the player animations just look well not right Im wondering if they have just brushed over with the 360 and PS3 versions putting all their efforts into the new consoles Only time will tell that. But for now Madden 12 will be my choice...still
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    If you pick choose madden, or choose your own plays, or hit random buttons while you choose a defensive play- it makes no difference. what you do on defense is irrelevant. I can't believe I'm giving this a passing grade. It's because everything else is good.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    6
    Madden 25 is one of those games that you love to hate, or hate to love, because most gamers are afraid of getting burnt by what they disliked about past installments. There is no denying that the Madden Franchise has failed at a few things, but they have also hit on others There was such a vast improvement on the offensive side of the ball this year with the all new "Run Free" emphasesMadden 25 is one of those games that you love to hate, or hate to love, because most gamers are afraid of getting burnt by what they disliked about past installments. There is no denying that the Madden Franchise has failed at a few things, but they have also hit on others There was such a vast improvement on the offensive side of the ball this year with the all new "Run Free" emphases taking center stage of the game. With that being said I also feel defenses is lacking in so many areas, and coverage being the worst can make the game at times for me very frustrating, but hopefully some of these issues can be fixed with tuner updates. I would also recommend to look into adding more defensive strategy to tell players to not just watch the outside or play inside coverage, but watch the fade, slant, or screen pass that sort of chess match that seems to be missing in online head to head.
    I do feel like EA SPORTS had the right intentions with the additions, but came up a little short to what I was anticipating for the full game when it came to both sides of the ball.

    The Good:
    1.) The Infinity Engine 2.0 physics, and new foot planting mechanics that allow Run Free in Madden this year is the best addition to Madden since the Hit Stick
    2.) The New Connected Franchise Mode is by far the best this Generation Console has seen, and sadly it was it's last, but better late than never!
    3.) Madden Ultimate Team nothing but good things about this mode, and new face lift. The Reward system that is in place that gives you coins for previous Madden NFL games played is a very nice touch.

    The Bad:
    1.) Defense, defense, defense... I see to often when you take control of a player he slows down, or seems to stiff, and unresponsive to command that it makes playing against even the cpu a crap shoot.
    2.) Zone coverage needs a lot of help.
    3.) A lot of minor stuff like Fantasy Draft takes to long, WR/DB interaction is better, but still needs help.

    Why Not?:
    1.) Why have we not gotten to the point of being able to play with a created player online like NHL, FIFA, and even NBA 2K. I get to play with Romo, Brady and whoever else all the time, it's time to allow created players for Online Team Play.

    Well with all that could be and still can be improved upon I do still believe this is the best Madden to date during this gen. There is always room for improvement, and Madden has continued to improve every year, but not as fast as we would have liked. Overall game play is fun, and enjoyable, but defense is not where it needs to be in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    7
    This game is trash. I would gladly pay for updated rosters on madden 2012 before the so call "engine". This was my same impression of madden 2013. Garbage. The players look nothing real. Madden 2012 was PERFECT. This seems to me like a way for EA sports to make money off of people by redesigning the wheel. And selling the hype. Trash. Every thing about it, Music= Trash, franchise mode=This game is trash. I would gladly pay for updated rosters on madden 2012 before the so call "engine". This was my same impression of madden 2013. Garbage. The players look nothing real. Madden 2012 was PERFECT. This seems to me like a way for EA sports to make money off of people by redesigning the wheel. And selling the hype. Trash. Every thing about it, Music= Trash, franchise mode= trash, over complicated player ratings trash. It's just, Trash. Glad I got free NFL Sunday ticket.

    EA. instead of putting out TrAsh each year. Just sell updated rosters
    Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    I wouldn't say this game is good... nor bad in any way, it's basically Madden '13 with a few improvements because of the fact that the next generation consoles are now here. At any rate, the game has most of the same features from '13 to '25. Which is good, but are also bad. Gone are the funny moments of tackling an opponent and seeing your men fall down like marinates when walking overI wouldn't say this game is good... nor bad in any way, it's basically Madden '13 with a few improvements because of the fact that the next generation consoles are now here. At any rate, the game has most of the same features from '13 to '25. Which is good, but are also bad. Gone are the funny moments of tackling an opponent and seeing your men fall down like marinates when walking over them after the play. That's good... the bad is that the defense can still create a TON of turnovers via interceptions and a lot more fumbles. Yes, you can use sliders, but by default, this shouldn't have happened as much anyway. I still feel the passing needs a lot of work. When I see my receiver is open, I tend to want to get the ball to him as fast as possible, but the CPU AI tends to react a little too aggressive at times to be able to pick the ball off, like a lot of times, knock the ball out of my player's hands. I truly believe that EA/Tiburon are not doing enough to these games to really warrant any purchase when the games launch. I love playing football against my friends and random people are just too predictable by using the same 5 plays all game and if they lose, they always turn their consoles off or try to quit instead of taking the loss. They need competition from 2K in order to up their game because EA/Tiburon aren't even trying to push themselves for greatness. Case and point, compare EA's NBA Live '14 to 2K's NBA 2K14 and you'll have your answer as to whom the better developer is in recent years. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    I am a "Gameplay" guy and Madden 25 gets a great mark for "on the field" gameplay. The addition of "hard cuts, Precision Ball Carrier moves, Read Option controls, Precision passing, etc" are all great things for the Madden Franchise. There are still issues that need to be addressed: Defense (the defense does not have as many tools as the Offense and therefore makes for an unbalanced gameI am a "Gameplay" guy and Madden 25 gets a great mark for "on the field" gameplay. The addition of "hard cuts, Precision Ball Carrier moves, Read Option controls, Precision passing, etc" are all great things for the Madden Franchise. There are still issues that need to be addressed: Defense (the defense does not have as many tools as the Offense and therefore makes for an unbalanced game experience) More immersive Player CFM experience (think NBA2K MyCareer), Halftime and Weekly Wrap Up Show would all help this game feel more "cohesive" and alive. If you think about the NFL; there's ESPN and NFL Network who are all about bringing you into all the League news and happenings. The Twitter integration is nice but in this society of Youtube, Vine, Instagram...video is KING. I feel good about the direction the game is headed going into the Next Generation of consoles but this is a grade for Madden 25 and I am judging what I currently have in hand; not it's potential. There's room for improvement and I am confident that with the disc space that we have on PS4 & Xbox360 that in the next 2 years; we may be talking about Madden finally "arriving" to be the Premiere Football title that it was destined to be; not yet though...not yet. Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has 1 major flaw. It only let's you challenge a play when you can't win the challenge and the times you watch the replay and clearly scored a td or got a first down on 4th down it wont let you challenge and will make you livid. Other than that awsome game Expand
  9. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    This is the best Madden to date but its still not that great. Its very delayed sometimes the responsiveness is off. Era had their fun but its almost time for 2k to come back and I'm afraid this could be the end of madden. Of course it will sell cause its madden but just like when NFL 2k was around eventually it will take over. Honestly its purely surviving off name and the exclusive NFL license.
  10. Aug 1, 2014
    6
    While it is fun for pickup games against your friends that aren't that good and they think they are good, there are flaws. Here are two.

    Problem #1 I have the ball. 4th and three. I could kick a 54 yard field goal but I didn't feel confident because the Kick Power/Accuracy bar goes a lot faster on higher difficulty levels. It's right before halftime, so I figured I would try and get the
    While it is fun for pickup games against your friends that aren't that good and they think they are good, there are flaws. Here are two.

    Problem #1 I have the ball. 4th and three. I could kick a 54 yard field goal but I didn't feel confident because the Kick Power/Accuracy bar goes a lot faster on higher difficulty levels. It's right before halftime, so I figured I would try and get the D to jump offsides because I have three timeouts with like forty seconds left. And yes, my player false starts when in real life the coach would tell the players that the purpose of the play was to get the other team to jump offsides.

    Problem #2 They came out with two wide and two running backs and I wanted to send the linebacker that was farthest away from the fullback that would have been the blocker (ie. Fullback on the left, send right side Linebacker). But the ticker for a statistic comes up to show the offenses third down conversion rate so I can't see what side the Fullback is lined up on so I can't audible my Linebacker. And when the ticker goes away, they call hike.

    Also, I'm not an Xbox fanboy, I play it at The Westerville Public Library for free. I own a PS3 so it might be better on there but I have no desire to get it because I can play it for free whenever I want. I'm switching to NCAA 14 because they have that to so I will see if that game has the same problems and I will go from there.
    Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like this game alot i play it all the time but i wish it didnt have so many glitches during game play cause ill be running for a touchdown and some random defender glitches in front of me and tackles me.There should be some added features like in my player mode you should make it more interesting like the nba games in my player mode where you get your chance to debut. Like if you created a quarterback say u make it to where in one game of the season he gets injured and you get your chance to debut as a back-up qb and if you perform well the coach gives you more chances to shine like a nick foles type of scenario.Like the my player mode in madden 11 and also you should be able to meet with your gm if you dont want to play with a certain team anymore you could request a trade to another team and the gm puts you on the trading block to see if any teams want you. All im saying is that i would enjoy this game alot more if you added a mode like this. One more thing i was really disappointed in how the game actually ended up looking cause when it was advertised it looked so real and awesome and i couldnt believe how it looked and thats one of the things that made me most excited about and then i got it and it was a huge disappointment. Thanks for reading hope you can include the game mode i mentioned. Also i was really impressed with all the varities of tackles i see happen. Expand
  12. Dec 23, 2014
    7
    This game is fun but lacks certain qualities that are necessary, I think. Jim Nantz and Phil Simms are a good team but their in-game commentary is average and doesn't really live up to the occasion when big plays occur. The graphics are solid for the XBOX 360 but obviously, improvements can be made and are made in Madden 15. Overall, this is a solid game and despite a few hiccups, it isThis game is fun but lacks certain qualities that are necessary, I think. Jim Nantz and Phil Simms are a good team but their in-game commentary is average and doesn't really live up to the occasion when big plays occur. The graphics are solid for the XBOX 360 but obviously, improvements can be made and are made in Madden 15. Overall, this is a solid game and despite a few hiccups, it is serviceable and fun to play. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 6, 2013
    80
    A creaking but stellar current-gen send-off. [Dec 2013, p.91]
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    All in all, Madden 25 is a decent, if not revolutionary sign-off for the franchise for this generation of consoles, and no doubt we’ll see it continue on the Xbox One and PS4. While it would have been nice if they’d played up the nostalgia a bit more (like they did with NHL 14), it’s a fine game of football.
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Madden NFL 25 tweaks the hell out of the franchise and brings a few new things to the table to make any football gaming fan happy.