Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Madden NFL 25 unleashes the power, precision, and creativity of the NFL running-back. Whether you’re a slashing tailback, dual-threat QB, or ball-hawking safety, unleash thirty new moves and string together devastating combos with the all-new precision modifier in Madden NFL 25.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    91
    I will be the first to admit that Madden NFL 25 is not a perfect football game, but the overall package and satisfaction you will receive from game to game is so overwhelmingly genuine and good that you will be willing to overlook its faults and realize that this is just about as good as it gets for virtual football.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    89
    Madden NFL 25 still suffers from some presentation and technical setbacks; however, a polished physics engine, the owner mode for connected careers and the most responsive running controls in the history of the franchise make it the best iteration of the series so far.
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    A good new iteration for the storied franchise, with some improvements to make it more accessible to the genre's newcomers too.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    It's clear more time was spent fixing the things that needed fixing rather than building new additions on a shaky foundation. The physics, animations, and AI are among the best this series has seen since its inception. The level of customization and flexibility offered to players is another bright spot, with users able to freely share rosters, sliders, and playbooks with the community.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Madden NFL 25 tweaks the hell out of the franchise and brings a few new things to the table to make any football gaming fan happy.
  6. Sep 13, 2013
    79
    When it comes to content, this is a complete package. The collision physics are improved, the running game is enhanced. But overall there is little progress and an AI that seems more faulty than in the last years. Let’s hope that the focus was put on the versions for PS4 and Xbox One. Otherwise this could be a very short anniversary party.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    60
    It's a shame that EA Sports decided to make such a big deal out of the Madden anniversary this year. Putting that big "25" on the box cover ramps up expectations and may well make a standard baby-steps Madden sequel seem more disappointing.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 58
  2. Negative: 18 out of 58
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    is there a point to having user reviews when people that don't like the franchise can ruin it's score by giving it a 3 or a 5, anyway this isis there a point to having user reviews when people that don't like the franchise can ruin it's score by giving it a 3 or a 5, anyway this is the best madden to date, they fine tuned the settings so i can actually have a competitive game on all madden difficulty, thanks cause i usually dominate on all madden difficulty. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    Madden 25 is one of the most in depth football games I've laid my hands on yet! With the brand new infinity engine 2.0, your going to see aMadden 25 is one of the most in depth football games I've laid my hands on yet! With the brand new infinity engine 2.0, your going to see a huge improvement with the gameplay.

    Along side with the gameplay this game has improved most of its game modes as well. For those who like realistic football, this years madden allows you to do owners mode. By doing owners mode you are given the power to do what a typical owner does, from choosing ticket prices to deciding how much you want to charge for your teams jersey and more!!!! Make trades, hire new staff sign free agents and take the field to see how your team shapes out to be against the rest of the 31 teams in the league. Tired of the location of your team? This game mode allows you to relocate your team and pick a brand new name/jersey and stadium for them.

    Overall Owners mode is going to keep you occupied for most of the time but if not, you also have the choice of playing ultimate team. More cards have been added into this mode and not to mention a brand new "head-to-head' season. In this mode you will compete with the community online to see who has the best team in madden. Almost forgot to mention, in ultimate team this year there is a brand new chemistry feature. Whether you want your team to be a long Pass to any of the other 8 team chemistry's, this feature separates your team from others and gives you more of a challenge to make sure your players will work with each other. Challenge is always good!!!

    Madden 25 has done a good job this year but there are still some room for improvement. Overall, its a must buy for all you football and sports fans out there!
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    While there are small gripes riddled throughout the game, the gameplay does feel more accessible than recent years. Run Free allows players toWhile there are small gripes riddled throughout the game, the gameplay does feel more accessible than recent years. Run Free allows players to pull off an incredible amount of moves which lead to some of the best highlights fans will have for years. The read option has been toned down significantly from NCAA Football 14, but powerful blocking from receivers still makes it an easy first down for experienced players. While the blocking is probably the best we’ve seen in this generation of consoles, there’s still tuning that needs to happen. While lineman are mostly fine, when a defender engages with a running back or receiver it’s near impossible to shake them loose despite of their ratings.

    All in all, Madden NFL 25 offers the the most impressive replay value in a long time. Ultimate Team’s addition of a seasons aspect will be a huge hit, and the ability to have multiple lineups and the introduction of chemistry will go a long way.

    The Madden series finally feels like its turning the corner, despite a few missteps, much like the FIFA series a few years back. As the franchise looks to take its next step into next-gen later this year, fans of Madden can at least feel comfortable that current-gen will go out on top.
    Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    This is one of my favorite, but least favorite Maddens of all time. Its got its ups and downs but some of the things that happen in this gameThis is one of my favorite, but least favorite Maddens of all time. Its got its ups and downs but some of the things that happen in this game are absolutely ridiculous. First off, fast RB/QB combinations are way too overpowering. For instance, Michael Vick and Lesean McCoy. Not only is Vick way too fast, but he is also way too elusive. Its like playing with the same Michael Vick that I played with in Madden 2004. Not only is Vick not as fast as he was as in 04 but he is also a much much worse football player. Madden doesn't seem to realize that though. Vick is amazing in this game and to be honest I would almost take him over any QB in the league. Lesean McCoy is way too good in this game as well. Yes I know that McCoy is usually good, but after an under performing season last year he should not be nearly as good. Greg Jennings is another player that in my mind is way too good. Not only did he have 4 TDs, but he had some amazing jumping and diving catches. Yes I know that Greg Jennings is good, but he is not this good. This Greg Jennings would have fit in the game if it was 5 years before. Another thing that is absolutely ridiculous is the kick/punt returns. They are so simple that it reminds me of playing with Devin Hester in Madden 2009 or Madden 2010 when anytime he touched the ball it was a touchdown. Man coverage is something that Madden needs to focus on because its absolute horse in this game. It's almost as if the DBs don't know what they are doing. The middle of the passing screen also needs to be fixed. As long as I pass across the middle every time I am guaranteed at least 8 yards which is ridiculous. I know its a video game but come on Madden. Its simple stuff like that that needs to be fixed. Oh and one more thing is that the LT+any button mode is way to overpowered. I once made Reggie Bush fumble 5 times in one game using LT+hit stick. On the opposite side there are some pluses. The blocking is much more realistic and blocks are starting to look like ones that you see in the NFL. Guys getting pushed down, pancakes and other blocks. The owner mode is also tons of fun and it really makes it realistic that you own a franchise with all the things you have to do to please your fans and your team. The introductions before the game are also a really nice touch and makes it really cool and jacked up to play the game. Speed should NOT be everything though because in the NFL just cause your fast doesnt mean that youre good. I really love Madden, and no matter what I will buy it every year, but some changes need to be made to make me more satisfied. Id say it should be worth $40 instead of $60 because of the flaws. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    Im disappointed in 25 looks aweful, madden 12 plays and looks sharper crisper its defs a step back. Some of the player animations just lookIm disappointed in 25 looks aweful, madden 12 plays and looks sharper crisper its defs a step back. Some of the player animations just look well not right Im wondering if they have just brushed over with the 360 and PS3 versions putting all their efforts into the new consoles Only time will tell that. But for now Madden 12 will be my choice...still Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    Honestly it is the worst madden in the past 10 years. The graphics are pretty awesome, and the fact that you can be the owner and upgradeHonestly it is the worst madden in the past 10 years. The graphics are pretty awesome, and the fact that you can be the owner and upgrade everything in a franchise is sick but the gameplay is unbelievably bad. If I made a pro and con list the cons seriously would be 3 times longer. Simple kinks in the game could be fixed and it would be amazing. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    This game has bad freezzing issues and I feel like I got ripped off. If it wasnt for the constant freezing I would love this game. They needThis game has bad freezzing issues and I feel like I got ripped off. If it wasnt for the constant freezing I would love this game. They need to fix this asap and shouldnt be selling it if it freezes. Collapse

See all 58 User Reviews