Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Madden NFL 25 unleashes the power, precision, and creativity of the NFL running-back. Whether you’re a slashing tailback, dual-threat QB, or ball-hawking safety, unleash thirty new moves and string together devastating combos with the all-new precision modifier in Madden NFL 25.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    91
    I will be the first to admit that Madden NFL 25 is not a perfect football game, but the overall package and satisfaction you will receive from game to game is so overwhelmingly genuine and good that you will be willing to overlook its faults and realize that this is just about as good as it gets for virtual football.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    89
    Madden NFL 25 still suffers from some presentation and technical setbacks; however, a polished physics engine, the owner mode for connected careers and the most responsive running controls in the history of the franchise make it the best iteration of the series so far.
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    A good new iteration for the storied franchise, with some improvements to make it more accessible to the genre's newcomers too.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    It's clear more time was spent fixing the things that needed fixing rather than building new additions on a shaky foundation. The physics, animations, and AI are among the best this series has seen since its inception. The level of customization and flexibility offered to players is another bright spot, with users able to freely share rosters, sliders, and playbooks with the community.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    80
    Madden NFL 25 tweaks the hell out of the franchise and brings a few new things to the table to make any football gaming fan happy.
  6. Sep 13, 2013
    79
    When it comes to content, this is a complete package. The collision physics are improved, the running game is enhanced. But overall there is little progress and an AI that seems more faulty than in the last years. Let’s hope that the focus was put on the versions for PS4 and Xbox One. Otherwise this could be a very short anniversary party.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    60
    It's a shame that EA Sports decided to make such a big deal out of the Madden anniversary this year. Putting that big "25" on the box cover ramps up expectations and may well make a standard baby-steps Madden sequel seem more disappointing.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 59
  2. Negative: 18 out of 59
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    is there a point to having user reviews when people that don't like the franchise can ruin it's score by giving it a 3 or a 5, anyway this isis there a point to having user reviews when people that don't like the franchise can ruin it's score by giving it a 3 or a 5, anyway this is the best madden to date, they fine tuned the settings so i can actually have a competitive game on all madden difficulty, thanks cause i usually dominate on all madden difficulty. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    Madden 25 is one of the most in depth football games I've laid my hands on yet! With the brand new infinity engine 2.0, your going to see aMadden 25 is one of the most in depth football games I've laid my hands on yet! With the brand new infinity engine 2.0, your going to see a huge improvement with the gameplay.

    Along side with the gameplay this game has improved most of its game modes as well. For those who like realistic football, this years madden allows you to do owners mode. By doing owners mode you are given the power to do what a typical owner does, from choosing ticket prices to deciding how much you want to charge for your teams jersey and more!!!! Make trades, hire new staff sign free agents and take the field to see how your team shapes out to be against the rest of the 31 teams in the league. Tired of the location of your team? This game mode allows you to relocate your team and pick a brand new name/jersey and stadium for them.

    Overall Owners mode is going to keep you occupied for most of the time but if not, you also have the choice of playing ultimate team. More cards have been added into this mode and not to mention a brand new "head-to-head' season. In this mode you will compete with the community online to see who has the best team in madden. Almost forgot to mention, in ultimate team this year there is a brand new chemistry feature. Whether you want your team to be a long Pass to any of the other 8 team chemistry's, this feature separates your team from others and gives you more of a challenge to make sure your players will work with each other. Challenge is always good!!!

    Madden 25 has done a good job this year but there are still some room for improvement. Overall, its a must buy for all you football and sports fans out there!
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    Madden NFL 25 plays a solid game of football. The biggest improvement on the field is the tuned Infinity Engine. The engine plagued Madden NFLMadden NFL 25 plays a solid game of football. The biggest improvement on the field is the tuned Infinity Engine. The engine plagued Madden NFL 13 with awkward animations after almost every play. There are still some instances of the Infinity Engine acting up in the game. However, it is not nearly as noticeable this year and makes the game experience more authentic.

    The other big addition to gameplay was the introduction of the precision modifier. I am a fan of simulation football and authentic gameplay. For the most part, this feature goes away from things you will see on the football field on Sundays. The spin move and jump move makes the experience feel like an arcade game. Not very many NFL players can execute a perfect spin move or leap over a defender.

    Here is a quick list of the other negatives I came across while playing the game:

    1) Defenders can dive too far and trip up ball carriers. This often causes an unrealistic experience as fast quarterbacks like RGIII will be caught from behind by a leaping defensive lineman.

    2) There are instances where I feel like the user has no control. I have hit the catch/interception button on numerous occasions to see the player I was controlling not react.

    3) I didn't find Skills Trainer particularly helpful. Important note: I have been playing the Madden NFL series since I was in grade school so this mode was probably not targeted towards gamers like myself.

    Even with the negatives I mentioned above, Madden NFL 25 still plays a fun game of football. There are some issues that need to get fixed, but I will be playing this game until the next gen version releases in November.
    Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    This is the best year of madden thus far there seems to have been a lot of moves in the right direction creatively. The presentation isThis is the best year of madden thus far there seems to have been a lot of moves in the right direction creatively. The presentation is phenomenal from the new physics system to pre game theatricals. Gameplay has improved from past years but there is still issues with coverage in both zone and man defenses. Precision modifiers have been a nice addition and the run game is better than its ever been which is what I enjoy most about the game. Overall a very solid game and something that I look forward to playing as my NFL football experience. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    I am a "Gameplay" guy and Madden 25 gets a great mark for "on the field" gameplay. The addition of "hard cuts, Precision Ball Carrier moves,I am a "Gameplay" guy and Madden 25 gets a great mark for "on the field" gameplay. The addition of "hard cuts, Precision Ball Carrier moves, Read Option controls, Precision passing, etc" are all great things for the Madden Franchise. There are still issues that need to be addressed: Defense (the defense does not have as many tools as the Offense and therefore makes for an unbalanced game experience) More immersive Player CFM experience (think NBA2K MyCareer), Halftime and Weekly Wrap Up Show would all help this game feel more "cohesive" and alive. If you think about the NFL; there's ESPN and NFL Network who are all about bringing you into all the League news and happenings. The Twitter integration is nice but in this society of Youtube, Vine, Instagram...video is KING. I feel good about the direction the game is headed going into the Next Generation of consoles but this is a grade for Madden 25 and I am judging what I currently have in hand; not it's potential. There's room for improvement and I am confident that with the disc space that we have on PS4 & Xbox360 that in the next 2 years; we may be talking about Madden finally "arriving" to be the Premiere Football title that it was destined to be; not yet though...not yet. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2014
    4
    This game is garbage. And this is coming from someone who has bought the last 5 maddens including this one. They took out the tight endThis game is garbage. And this is coming from someone who has bought the last 5 maddens including this one. They took out the tight end streaks.They took out h2h random games in Ultimate Team (MUT). Now you can only play an online season which forces you only to be able to practice against the computer. The MUT collections are dumb, and WAY too hard. There are next to none special edition or limited edition cards, and if there are I have never seen one. They made a legendary Ranydy Moss, but still no Brett Farve. Im disgusted at this. No MUT stat boost to players who really deserve it guys like Case Keenum, or Rashad Jennings. They made a Road to the Playoffs Whitney Mercilus. Road to what playoffs i ask you. The Texans are 2-14. They didnt make ANY super bowl cards. They Legends involved actually got worse not better than Madden 13. They made the read option almost unstoppable and then give people a QB Walter Payton. The read option should not be this effective it wasnt all year in real life. They are charging a 10% transaction fee for auctions on MUT, An infuriating way to make me want to break my disc in half. TEE RASH. I have had it this game has takin a step back, not forward. I do like the new run features but id give it back for something more realistic. FIX IT EA, or I will be passing on the next game. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    This game has bad freezzing issues and I feel like I got ripped off. If it wasnt for the constant freezing I would love this game. They needThis game has bad freezzing issues and I feel like I got ripped off. If it wasnt for the constant freezing I would love this game. They need to fix this asap and shouldnt be selling it if it freezes. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews