User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 357 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 357

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2010
    0
    Bad game and bad ali and way too short you are beter getting red dead........................................................................................................................................................................................................nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnBad game and bad ali and way too short you are beter getting red dead........................................................................................................................................................................................................nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn nnnnnnnnnnnnnn n n n n n n n n n n n n n n n n n n n n nn n nn nnn nnn n n Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2010
    3
    This is quite possibly one of the games with the least amount of gameplay coming out in recent years. The bulk of the game consists of you driving from point A to point B (with cars which handle like bricks), and then watching a cutscene at the end. Oh, there are some missions in there too, in the form of wait-in-cover-until-enemies-get-out-of-cover. Rinse and repeat. The game lasts aroundThis is quite possibly one of the games with the least amount of gameplay coming out in recent years. The bulk of the game consists of you driving from point A to point B (with cars which handle like bricks), and then watching a cutscene at the end. Oh, there are some missions in there too, in the form of wait-in-cover-until-enemies-get-out-of-cover. Rinse and repeat. The game lasts around 7 hours but the bulk of that encompasses you driving, and watching cutscenes. 2K Czech was so intent on "delivering a good story", in their own words, which they forgot to include a GAME in there.There's this beautifully rendered city with great graphics -- but there are no side missions and no freeroam. Actually, there are side missions -- they can be found in the game files. Wait for the NEW! EXCITING! DLC to come at a friendly price of $15 !!! What a deal, you pay $60 for the shell of the game, then $15 for the gameplay proper after it comes out! What's not to like?

    Oh, there's plenty not to like, for example the save system. Or should I say, lack of save, since you can't save your game. So, for example, if you got some weapons and a car, the game does not allow you to save that until you finish a mission. If you die before that, tough luck. Do it all again. And speaking of dying, the shootouts can be a tad random. Random as in, the enemy can get a headshot on you killing you instantly. Not to worry, the awesome save system will get you right back waaaaay at the beginning of the mission! So you can do it all again, hoping you won't get random headshots this time!

    When playing this game one has the impression the developers were new to the whole making games thing. Not 2K, but the development studio, 2K Czech. All the bad points I mentioned above (and the ones I didn't) should have been picked up and fixed if not at the design stage, at least at the testing stage. So the mind boggles as to why they released the game in this state.

    One thing's is for sure, though: this game is not worth its current retail price. If you really want it, rent it. Alternatively, if all you want to do is watch a mafia-themed movie, there are plenty you can get your hands on that are cheaper than $60. Buyer beware!
    Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    4
    Highly anticipated, massively hyped game and turns out to be another flop.
    Where is multiplayer (a must for games like this nowardays). Poor physics and just comes across as a poor mans GTA with a mafia veneer over the top of it.
    Very disappointed
  4. Oct 5, 2010
    2
    Mafia II is the gem that could have been but wasn't. The visuals are outstanding. The application of the Havok physics engine seemed like it was on the right track, but halted at some point and never completed. The storyline and environment quite clearly could have been very immersing. However this is all taken away by some very shotty gameplay mechanics, a lack of creativity in how theMafia II is the gem that could have been but wasn't. The visuals are outstanding. The application of the Havok physics engine seemed like it was on the right track, but halted at some point and never completed. The storyline and environment quite clearly could have been very immersing. However this is all taken away by some very shotty gameplay mechanics, a lack of creativity in how the game proceeds, and some very obvious features/missions missing only to be released as payable DLC. My biggest grip with Mafia II has to be the collision detection. It is the worst I've seen in any Xbox360 game I own. You can physically shoot through people without them even reacting to the sound of the gun let alone the bullet. This is most obvious when you initially shoot someone in the leg or stomach. The will stumble, you'll spray the hell out of them, only for them to pop up randomly and be perfectly shooting at your head. Now you might think the worst part about this is all those bullets that went THROUGH the AI. It's a bad part but not the worst. To me the worst part is that you can put a shotgun through someone's back, only for them to get up from the ground, aim at you, crouch, and start firing in a matter of 0.5 seconds. It just makes absolutely no sense, and forces you to hide behind objects all game even when you know you have your opponents lined up. GTA IV captured this much better. You could shoot someone twice in the leg and take your time lining them up for the head shot. Even in COD MW2 the AI is like this, and those are trained soldiers with a buttload of armour! I guess the saving grace for Mafia II's gameplay then would have to be the driving system. Heh. Reminds me of Crazy Taxi to be honest. Not to mention that you if you drive 1cm from a pole, your car will not only many times hit it magically, but also come to a complete stop. To conclude the application of the Havok physics engine is so poorly implemented that they game-play in all manners is broken and unplayable,and completely unenjoyable. Next we move on to the fighting system. This might be the biggest joke of the game. You press B or Y and do the same two moves, that's it. On occassion you get the chance to press BBB, then Y, which gives you 1 of 3 preset canned animations. That is it. Remember that Power Rangers game on Sega Saturn where all you had to do was press buttons that correspond to what is on screen? Yep, even that was more exciting than this fighting system, released a whole 15 year later. Now let's consider that some missions are 15 minutes of nothing but fighting, and you can see why this game is the laughing stock of the gaming world right now. Now don't be fooled to think by two buttons, I mean it's like GTA's fighting system. In GTA those 2 buttons give you 3 different moves each, you can kick with a 3rd button, you can attack people on the ground, and you can use an assortment of melee weapons. Not to mention all your attacks are based on the physics engine. None of this is present in Mafia II. Not even the physics engine. So while in GTA4 doing the same punch in two different locations will deem a seperate result, in Mafia II: you either punch and engage the canned animation, or miss the animation and punch through the opponent or through the air with nothing happening. It truly is pathetic . Lastly we move on to missing features. Remember how in GTA IV you could do side missions past the real missions? Like Stevie's car thefts, or the assassin missions? Well these are clearly all present in Mafia II... however sometime in the month leading to the game's release, 2K decided to take ALL (every one) of these side missions, order them in a manner that attempts to make sense but still does not, and call it it's own game as DLC. Truly the nail in the coffin for this awful experience. Overall Mafia II is without a doubt the biggest waste of money out there. I'm having more fun playing Home Alone 2 on SNES right now. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2010
    4
    When i played mafia 2 i thought... What the hell is the G-physics doing here? The game made me feel like playing GTA4 more than ever, because it felt like a watered down version of it. I went and got GTA4 after this because this was simply not passable. The car driving, the voices while driving, and the movement all felt like copy and paste action from 2k from GTA4. This is GTA4 withoutWhen i played mafia 2 i thought... What the hell is the G-physics doing here? The game made me feel like playing GTA4 more than ever, because it felt like a watered down version of it. I went and got GTA4 after this because this was simply not passable. The car driving, the voices while driving, and the movement all felt like copy and paste action from 2k from GTA4. This is GTA4 without everything good such as the Euphoria engine or the open world. Yes, this is a mission based game, not open world... Definitely not worth even yellow rating. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2010
    4
    Mafia2 is a great disaster for the all fans. Bad graphic, stupid main character, very short story. This is not what we are waiting for. Vito is the worst character ever. He is dum he is non profitable. He want only money, he doest **** girls, stupid and boring mafiosi. Remember first game. Tomy Angelo is alive, not this chipollino Vito, In this game only final is good, so if want cry playMafia2 is a great disaster for the all fans. Bad graphic, stupid main character, very short story. This is not what we are waiting for. Vito is the worst character ever. He is dum he is non profitable. He want only money, he doest **** girls, stupid and boring mafiosi. Remember first game. Tomy Angelo is alive, not this chipollino Vito, In this game only final is good, so if want cry play this game
    So 6.0 no more. Just gta clon
    Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    2
    All i can say is OUTSTANDING GAME, but when you complete it SH*T GAME.
    All there is to do is drive around and get a fine or buy a new suit WOW thanks 2k for the long wait but i would have rather have waited longer for it to be worth buying at full price. Maybe a plane/ car showroom to buy cars/ own business's/ build a family/ take down other mobs so on so forth, now im not even on the
    All i can say is OUTSTANDING GAME, but when you complete it SH*T GAME.
    All there is to do is drive around and get a fine or buy a new suit WOW thanks 2k for the long wait but i would have rather have waited longer for it to be worth buying at full price. Maybe a plane/ car showroom to buy cars/ own business's/ build a family/ take down other mobs so on so forth, now im not even on the payroll but my 1 min ideas could have trippled sales. FACT
    Expand
  8. Feb 8, 2012
    2
    Screen tearing on the xbox 360 is absolutely horrible, it ruined the whole game. Stopped after 30mins and got rid of it. The developers should take the time to at least make sure the game runs fine before releasing this junk.
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    Short, unimaginative gangster story. This covers the plot part. Bugs, severe gameplay restrictions, awkward controls, almost non-existent cover system and lack of proper sandbox mode plaque this game.
    The only good things are realistic graphics, and probably soundtrack. In every other aspect however, Mafia 2 falls short of its predecessor, as well as of The Saboteur which is set roughly
    Short, unimaginative gangster story. This covers the plot part. Bugs, severe gameplay restrictions, awkward controls, almost non-existent cover system and lack of proper sandbox mode plaque this game.
    The only good things are realistic graphics, and probably soundtrack. In every other aspect however, Mafia 2 falls short of its predecessor, as well as of The Saboteur which is set roughly in the same time frame and released 8 months prior to Mafia 2
    Expand
  10. Mar 14, 2013
    3
    How people managed to give this a high score is a mystery to me, The game is extremely short, easy and linear. It lacks any depth in comparison to GTA and as a sandbox envirnoment is also quite poor in terms of quality and quantity. 'The story line is fine, but they could have done a lot more with the game. There is no value to be had for a game costing 50e
  11. Jan 21, 2014
    0
    This game stole my boyfriend, you guys suck dick.

    It stole him. He won't talk to me. I want to break his xbox. I'm listing things I hate to make the count.

    And I made it, again, **** this game.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79
  1. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    A great story that manages to make old ground seem fresh, coupled with out-of-this world sound design, is sadly attached to a middle-of-the-road, limited third-person gaming experience.
  2. Mafia II's exciting action and uncompromising mob story make for an impressive and violent adventure.
  3. I'm a sucker for a good mob story, but Mafia II's is merely decent.