Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 383 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a deep mobster-driven narrative packed with both behind-the-wheel and on-foot action, Mafia 2 is the sequel fans have been clamoring for. Like the original Mafia title, Mafia 2 immerses players in the mob underworld of a fictitious late 1940's-early 1950's scenario. Players easilyFeaturing a deep mobster-driven narrative packed with both behind-the-wheel and on-foot action, Mafia 2 is the sequel fans have been clamoring for. Like the original Mafia title, Mafia 2 immerses players in the mob underworld of a fictitious late 1940's-early 1950's scenario. Players easily become engaged in the game's cinematic Hollywood movie experience with strong, believable characters in a living, breathing city. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 79
  2. Negative: 5 out of 79
  1. This might not be the best game of the year, but it is certainly the best and most immersive interactive cinematic experience this reviewer has had in 25 years of gaming.
  2. Mafia II is a great game, crafted with incredible care by its developers. If you're looking for a game with a strong story and a great shooter component, don't think twice about buying it. Just don't expect a myriad of side missions typical of other free roaming activities: this is a very story-driven and linear experience.
  3. Due to some weaknesses in terms of story (extremely disappointing ending) and gameplay (savepoints), Mafia II turned out to be a good game, but not the masterpiece we've hoped for. Most of these problems can be quite easily forgiven though, thanks to its overwhelming atmosphere and charm.
  4. 80
    A deeply flawed game, where the story is the highlight - and far more engaging than most. I certainly enjoyed my 11-12 hours with Mafia II, and those looking for an authentic-feeling mob tale should definitely check it out. This one is more than the sum of its parts.
  5. It falls a bit short in terms of features and replay when compared to other similar-style games, but it makes up for some of that with atmosphere and story.
  6. It's never nice being mean about a game with as much ambition as this, but if we're talking sheer value for money then halfway through the 14 hours it takes to complete Maria II you'll have experienced one really good shooting mission and absolutely no decent car chases, of which there are only a couple in the entire game. [Sept 2010, p.81]
  7. Unfortunately, aging gameplay mechanics and weak plot turns make the game's magic peel away faster than a bank-job getaway car.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 120
  2. Negative: 11 out of 120
  1. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    This is why I don't get most of the reviewers out there. Mafia 2 is an absolute blast to play IF you enjoy an amazing story with greatThis is why I don't get most of the reviewers out there. Mafia 2 is an absolute blast to play IF you enjoy an amazing story with great characters. The gameplay works very well in every aspect of this game. The driving was the part I enjoyed the most. Different cars have different feels and the town is gorgeous. It took me around 14 hours to complete the game. Sure, I took my time, but it was worth it. I cannot wait for Mafia III. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    what a beautiful period piece, everything looks and feels so right in this game. the only thing that bothered me was how sad the ending madewhat a beautiful period piece, everything looks and feels so right in this game. the only thing that bothered me was how sad the ending made me, almost broke my controller XD Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Just finished playing Mafia 2 for the first time and i am truely immersed into it, i am a big fan of gangster movies (casino, goodfellas, theJust finished playing Mafia 2 for the first time and i am truely immersed into it, i am a big fan of gangster movies (casino, goodfellas, the sopranos etc) and after playing the original mafia i was hoping Mafias sequel would justify the franchise. Mafia 2 is a more story line based game it draws the gamer in and gets you eagerly awaiting the next cutscene the voice acting is Supoib! and it really gets you immersed into the story. The first few missions are set in a winter wonderland and visually its beautiful, also i liked the fact that your cars handling is greatly affected by the icy roads you gotta take care driving round empire city or you may catch attention of the fuzz! i also noticed how the pedestrians adjusted there clothes depending on the weather its little details like this that you have to appreciate they all create a truly immersive setting for the story to unfold, so far i am oving the game and i cant wait till i get myself higher up the crime ladder an start whacking some spaghetti eating fools!! Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    Mafia 2 is the kind of game that you play for the story. Before picking this game up I had it in my head that it was an open world game. ThisMafia 2 is the kind of game that you play for the story. Before picking this game up I had it in my head that it was an open world game. This initial thought was wrong and instead I was presented with an experience. This experience consisted of a great story that not many games can hold today. The amount of twists and turns throughout the game is truly a breath of fresh air. Not only does it throw you from place to place but the game manages to make you care (or hate) these characters.

    From a visual standpoint this is an incredibly good effort. Each part of the world looks and feels realistic with props set out all over to make the world as believable as possible. As long as you go into this game not expecting a GTA kind of game then you are going to love the way this game plays out (very unique). However, if you are here to play a GTA game set in the 1940's with a Mafia sensibility then you should look elsewhere.
    Expand
  5. May 13, 2015
    8
    Mafia II is one of those games that delivers IF you are seeking a more story driven game than a open world sandbox type game. The voiceMafia II is one of those games that delivers IF you are seeking a more story driven game than a open world sandbox type game. The voice acting and music in the game is wonderful. In fact, the radio play lists are top notch and remind me of the music in the Bioshock series. The cars and weapons feel and sound like they are straight out of the 1940-50's so you need to be into that sort of thing for this game to work for you.

    There are some really memorable moments in this game, and the soundtrack at times plays into some of the banter back and forth between the very well developed characters. Another moment that I kept finding hilarious was Joe complaining every time I hit another car or blew through a red light while driving.

    There are collectibles so I don't really see why people think there is not...I mean PLAYBOYS and PIN UPS!!!

    If you are willing to take into account that this game is more story and mission centered then you will have a fun time playing this game. The game is engrossing enough to make you think about what you just played after you have completed the game.
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Like all the other reviews state, this is NOT a GTA clone. It is less of a sandbox game, and more of a third person shooter with an openLike all the other reviews state, this is NOT a GTA clone. It is less of a sandbox game, and more of a third person shooter with an open world. You will not want to explore the world, because there is nothing to be found. Anything of interest can be found on your minimap. That being said, Mafia 2 is a really fun game, with a great story. You will have a great time playing through the missions, although some do get repetitive. You might find yourself bored after a while if you have a short attention span, but for the most part, the missions are fun. The main complaint I have against this game is the length and replay value. This game will take you roughly 12 hours to complete, but after you beat the game, there is really no reason to restart. I would HIGHLY recommend renting Mafia 2 for its great story, and fairly fun gameplay, but I would NOT buy it, simply for the fact that is short, and has very little replay value. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2014
    0
    This game stole my boyfriend, you guys suck dick.

    It stole him. He won't talk to me. I want to break his xbox. I'm listing things I hate to
    This game stole my boyfriend, you guys suck dick.

    It stole him. He won't talk to me. I want to break his xbox. I'm listing things I hate to make the count.

    And I made it, again, **** this game.
    Expand

See all 120 User Reviews