Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Face a stiffer challenge in this version of the franchise. Play with friends or the AI, take on new encounters and opponents, and face up to 3 other players in the Planechase multiplayer format. Featuring 10 customizable decks, Magic 2013 offers new game items to unlock and introduces the option to choose what lands to tap when you cast your spells. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    96
    If you're looking to get into MTG for the first time, or if you want to rekindle your love for the game, 2013 is a must own. The game explains everything in detail, and the amount of content and modes are robust enough to keep players going for hours. This is the best Magic video game that is on the market today, and its all yours for 10 dollars. That is a great deal for what you get. I can not suggest Duels of the Plainswalker 2013 enough.
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    90
    An amazing game, easily one of the best I've played in any medium. Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 is its best video game translation yet, a perfectly pitched blend of hard strategy and endless tinkering with unlocks that just keep on coming.
  3. Jul 11, 2012
    90
    All in all, I'm pretty happy with what Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 has to offer.
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    This year's edition has significant improvements like multiplayer mode Planechase or improving the making of decks and uses of mana. Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 remains indispensable for the expert Magic player and for the beginner.
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 is, for the most part, a carbon copy of Duels 2012. The Encounters and Planechase mode are welcome additions, but the lack of diversity in the deck options seems like a bit of a step backwards in an otherwise static continuation of the series.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    79
    Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 is easily recommended to new and veteran Magic: The Gathering players alike.
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    40
    Too bad. This 2013 edition does indeed solve one of the two main issues of the series by giving the players the possibility of choosing what lands to tap in critical situations, but the 10 decks are considerably less interesting to play than the ones of the 2012 edition, and it's still impossible to simply craft your own decks with the provided cards. Those two shortcomings would be easy to solve, but it seems the developers don't want to, either by stupidity or laziness.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 8 out of 22
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    There is just so much to do in this game. Learning the different strategies for different decks, etcetera. It more than makes up for the lacklustre effort that was Magic The Gathering: 2012. This is such a good game. Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    This game continues to be great fun. I enjoy all of the the play modes, but I spend most of my time playing online with 2 or 3 others. I'm curious to see how we acquire these "other" cards for our decks. I good it's not something unreasonable like going to FNM. What if you can't? Not everyone has the means or money to go play people with $150+ decks & take it all too seriously. I think that'd be terribly unfair simply due to the fact that this format is supposed to give everyone a more level playing field. The only reason I don't give this a 10 is that they STILL haven't fixed the timer issue. Someone can eat up or wipe out your time by pausing on their side AND WORST OF ALL they STILL haven't adjusted the timer for blocking! If someone comes at you with tons of attackers, you ALWAYS get screwed because the damn timer runs out!!! There needs to be some type if sliding scale for the blocking timer so you can make proper decisions much less have the time to physically make all the blocks! Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    Okay so i spent a good chunk of my evening playing through and honestly its the best out of the 3. I gave it a 9 yet wanting to give it a 10. Reason for that was the lack of making your own deck and combining your own colors and what not. It would be nice if we could duplicate our physical decks so that we can get in some well worth practice. Im not too good at reviews but i hope this helped. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    I have played the last two years of magic on Xbox 360 and i have to say well done, But one thing I would like to see changed is the fact that you can not remove and add Mana ( land ) to your hand, you have the option to customize your deck but in no way if you have 40 cards in your hand should 25 of them be Mana it would be nice if you were able to customize how many mana you wanted to play with in your deck. Other then that great game and i will continue to purchase the games. Collapse
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    6
    The only MTG available on console, so, if you like MTG, it's all you can get. It's not bad, but definitely leaves hard core players unsatisfied. The big issues, for me, are the controls, which could use some refining, automatic land quantity assigned (STILL!), lack of deck customization, and it still has a few glitches. With the deck customization, they still need more card choices for better customization, as even with the starting 10 decks most players end up with almost identical decks (everyone is playing the best choice with each color). So, I am not saying I need it to be like MTG on PC, but at least give us the entire core set of 2013 to make our decks from. Either way, if you want to play MTG on your 360 it is still decent, but still falls short of being great. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    3
    Tap your wallet, cast "weak iteration". I liked the last two offerings of the MTG series, and like the game in general. This year's offering is slowly turning this series into the Tiger Woods of arcade games. It takes out the content that was enjoyable in the previous offerings, adds new features that a boring/repetitve/broken and does nothing to address the failings of the previous iteration. Gone is most mutli-colored decks and artifact decks. They even have less decks available than in the previous game. The decks they do offer are fairly vanilla mono color decks (mostly) that harp on one trick and one trick only for making them usable. Dooming them against any deck that counters that trick. Plane chase is horrible. Repeat HORRIBLE. Even if you get your deck tuned up for playing well in this broken format, it still takes way to long to play a game. Every die roll, plane effect and plane change add tons of tedium to the game. Playing one duel for an hour just to have to play it again as the AI decides to join forces against you (which they almost ALWAYS do) is not frustrating, its broken. They never add a deck editor that is value adding, and they don't import decks from previous versions. You can't even tweak how many lands you get to put in your deck. Basically, each year this series takes a great concept and dumbs it down in hopes of suckering new players into buying real cards. If they wanted to truly showcase how good this game can be, they'd stop holding you back and let you experience the creativity and ingenuity that is the hallmark of this game. And they won't if we keep giving them money for brain-dead iterations. Vote with your wallet and abstain this year. Maybe they will hear us and make a better game next year. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely terrible. Honestly not trying to talk smack but IDK how anyone who played any of the older versions gave this a good review, my buddies are of the same opinion. If you have never played any of the older versions you might be ok with this one. I was so amped about 2013 b/c of how good 2012 was I didn't bother to read any of the reviews before purchasing (BIG MISTAKE) - not to mention there are very little players left on the older versions once the new ones come out. 2012 vastly superior (and without taking into account the glitches that plagued the first one, I even prefer original magic to this years edition). There are less decks - even with the remaining decks offered, everyone really sticks to about a core 4 decks, so everyone is playing the same decks in matches. There is a real lacking of strategic value left to playing these decks - it seems more like a matter of luck, hoping the other person doesn't stumble upon the major gimmicky card in their deck before you get yours. I don't want to go all day giving examples of the horribly gimmicky cards, but stuff like "make 6 copies of a creature already on the battlefield blah blah blah" the match is basically over for the most part when one of these insanely inane cards show up. Multi-colored decks not evident anymore. All the intriguing and diverse gaming methods from 2012 completely gone, very few of the older decks/cards that were popular and likeable were brought along for the ride. It seems like the creaters became addicted to the idea of making new cards/decks at whatever cost was necessary, whether it diminished overall game play or not. You don't have to make entirely new decks just for the sake of it - really obvious in their attempt to sell new decks rather than improving game play. Really the only thing it seems they improved upon was technical issues and the flow of gameplay (not having to press Y at every phase so it holds up the game, better able to view enchantments attached to creatures, etc.), but those were issues that they had largerly solved or improved upon in 2012 already. Lack of deck customization, gameplay and match execution very predictable, lot of repetition to each deck. Personally, I am a fan of the black deck - TERRIBLE now. If this is the path for improvement their planning on taking every year from now on, I am genuinely nervous about what 2014 might look like, bc it may result in me giving up on Magic on Xbox altogether. I went back to playing magic 2012 and started friending every person I saw on there to make sure I had players to face on a consistent basis. VERY big hassle, but thats how utterly disappointed I am and unsatisfied with Magic 2013 game play altogether. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews