Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 92
    Finally the game that many 2K Sports fans have been waiting for, and at the very least, the gameplay and presentation is exciting and engaging.
  2. Mar 27, 2011
    83
    The bottom line is that 2K11 is better in the ways we wanted it to be, so it's a keeper.
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    80
    2K chose to focus on the basics with Major League Baseball 2K11, without trying to innovate too much. But the result remains a simulation-oriented game that works really well, blessed with excellent production values, a great atmosphere, and an ergonomic management system for the teams. It still lacks the fresh and innovative ideas to become the definitive Baseball simulation that will shower your living-room with action-packed games.
  4. Apr 15, 2011
    80
    If you are a baseball fan, or even if you want to learn the vagaries of America's summer pastime then you could do a lot worse than to get this game. All aspects are fun to play, the batting is addictive, the pitching and fielding requires more input from the player than what has been traditional in batting and fielding games in the past.
  5. 80
    We're just sad to see that after all this time, as Xbox 360's only MLB game, it's not the superstar we wish it was. [May 2011, p.81]
  6. Mar 28, 2011
    80
    These gripes aside, however, there is still plenty of satisfaction to be gained from MLB 2K11, for both baseball devotees and curious cricket-fans alike.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Doesn't take huge strides to be the best game in the series, and could use several tweaks – namely AI and visuals – in an upcoming patch. That said, as the default baseball title for Xbox 360, it's a good one, and fans should immediately invest.
  8. Mar 30, 2011
    75
    There are still a few hiccups with AI, glitches in gameplay and presentation, and repetitive commentary that need to be checked off on the "To Do" list for next year. Overall, it's a solid, occasionally masterful, occasionally frustrating sim of the national pastime.
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    75
    A number of small changes make MLB 2K11 better on the field than its predecessor, although the majority of the new game is identical to the old game.
  10. Aug 19, 2011
    70
    Seriously decent. [Issue#75, p.83]
  11. Aug 8, 2011
    70
    For those less committed ball fans The Bigs 2 offers a substantially more user-friendly introduction to big boys' rounders. [Issue#112, p.123]
  12. May 2, 2011
    70
    If you are a hardcore baseball fan, MLB 2K11 is your only option on the Xbox 360 – so I would suggest checking out a demo or renting the game before signing up for the awkward controls. PS3 owners have the option of Sony's MLB11: The Show, which seems to be receiving a lot of attention across the Internet – I would suggest checking that out first.
  13. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    I would recommend renting Major League Baseball 2K11 if you have an Xbox 360 to get a feel for the game and see how much you are willing to put up with. If you have a PS3, you obviously need to buy MLB 11: The Show instead of this game.
  14. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    When you aren't throwing your controller in frustration over the pitching controls, you might actually enjoy MLB 2K11. The 2K series offers a quality title and is moving in the right direction with their baseball games, but haven't yet perfected the formula like competitors are starting to do.
  15. Mar 17, 2011
    70
    It's unrealistic to expect every aspect of a franchise game to change from year to year, but 2K11 borrows so many elements from its predecessor that it's genuinely difficult to tell the two apart during key aspects of the experience.
  16. Mar 17, 2011
    70
    While we're having some fun with MLB 2K11, we can envision a scenario where the "new baseball game" sheen wears off and we lose steam quickly. It takes a special game to keep our interest over the long haul, and 2K11 may not have enough to grip us tightly and never let go.
  17. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    It's not a bad baseball game, and has certainly made some improvements. Pitching and hitting are both fun, and the My Player mode has been expanded on to make it more accessible and engrossing. The glitches are fewer, but still noticeable, and the game does make some graphical improvements, though the game engine is looking tired.
  18. Mar 10, 2011
    70
    As much as I liked about Major League Baseball 2K11 (playing online and playing through My Player), I found even more that I didn't like (commentary, menus, bugs and glitches, frustrating AI). I enjoy the promise of the MLB integration, whether it's the updated scores every time I log into the game or the DRPS affecting my in-game roster and stats. But ultimately, MLB 2K11 is its own worst enemy, keeping it from being a great sports game and, once again, second fiddle to the MLB: The Show franchise.
  19. Apr 11, 2011
    69
    Last year's biggest problems--the graphics and glitches--still plague this year's installment, which is a letdown for a series that seemed to be on the cusp of becoming something more than just an alternative to MLB: The Show.
  20. Apr 4, 2011
    61
    If you have MLB 2K10, I don't feel there's any need to upgrade unless the new features catch your fancy so much that you need to have this game.
  21. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    Major League Baseball 2K11 has the fortunate (for 2K) distinction of being the only Xbox 360 baseball game, and one of just two on the PS3. However, it has the dubious distinction (for gamers) of being the one sports game this year that fans should absolutely avoid. If that means taking a year off of baseball, I definitely advise taking that vacation.
  22. 60
    Not very welcoming but presented well. [Sept 2011, p.101]
  23. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    It's just that missing level of polish that's more like an entire coat of paint they left off that holds this game back. 2K Sports knows how to make quality sports games, so I can't figure out why MLB 2K can't get its act together. But at this point it's going to take a concerted effort to put out a complete product before the series even approaches relevancy.
  24. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    Last year's game showed promise and a commitment to getting this series back on track. This year's installment is a disaster. There's a decent game of baseball to be played here, but you are more likely to pitch a complete game than play through nine innings without a bug or glitch.
  25. Mar 27, 2011
    55
    Unfortunately, MLB 2K11 is the worst kind of sports game - a $60 roster update and little else.
  26. MLB-standard presentation can't cover up for junior league gameplay. [Oct 2011, p.85]
  27. Mar 14, 2011
    45
    MLB 2K11 is essentially a few easy achievements/trophies with stale online play. The more I played the worse the game became.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    Definitely a big improvement over MLB 2K10- which was a huge improvement over the mistake that was MLB 2K9, so it's safe to say that the 2K series of baseball is finally coming into it's own. Right off the bat "no pun intended" you will see a big step up in the visual department from last years outing, player models look much better as well as the smoothed out textures in the stadiums and crowds. Commentary is once again the best in current sports titles with Kruk leading the way with endless baseball stats, My Player mode has seen a nice boost in several departments- as well as some much needed fine tuning on the pitching-batting-and fielding controls/interfaces. It's not yet up to the standards of Sony's MLB The Show series but 2K11 is definitely a solid game of baseball. Full Review »
  2. May 11, 2011
    4
    Glitchy, Graphics not all that great (this is a 360 game??), boring and takes too long to progress. MyPlayer for example takes painfully long to progress anywhere even if you are "killing it". Overall disapointed. The online is not bad, I had a lot of fun with that, but its hard to convince any of my friends to pick up a baseball game so its actually not all that great in perspective. I am used to The Show for the ps2 and this game is a lot more challenging but in a bad frustrating way. Overall do not get this game if you are critical of graphical errors and glitches, and make sure you have a lot of time on your hands and really really love baseball, but even then the time you put into does not reward you back as well as it should. NBA 2k11 is an A+ this is a D+ just barely getting by, but the potential is there. Full Review »
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    2
    Minor League 2K11. This game makes so many errors there's no way it would make it to the Majors! Injured players sometimes sit on the field, and never move. Rob a homer, it's an out AND the points are awarded! Freezes constantly, if I try to play a second game without restarting my system it will guarantee a freeze up. When you need to get rid of the ball quickly, such as a double play or throwing out a runner from the outfield, your guys take their sweet time like they are all Manny Ramirez. Turning doubles into triples is easy because the AI cutoff man will hold the ball if you start running from second before he gets it. Stealing bases is stupidly hard. Shadows look terrible, players look ok. I want so bad to like this game, but every game something pops up to ruin it for me. I would rather lose every single game of the season with a great game than win all of them with silly senseless bugs.

    The game is so bad I almost want to trade in my 360 and all 15 games JUST to get a PS3 with The Show 11, and if it wasn't for Gamestop giving next to nothing for a 360 I would do it.
    Full Review »