User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2012
    7
    This is a good game with a ton of flaws. I love Baseball and only have a 360 so I have no choice since it's the only one we have. The graphics could be better and there are a number of glitches but I do really like the gameplay and the stadiums are nice looking.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    I am extremely disappointed with this game has not improved at all the graphics are still poor in detail, physics between players running the bases and hit the defense is lacking, the physics of the ball is terrible and unreal, the only thing I love the MLB Today and daylight to night and some stadiums faithfully recreated
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    MLB 2k12 is a best for last kind of game, with the subject of the series in danger, Take 2 Interactive does not disappoint (in most areas). As always, the game has the best pitching mechanic in baseball games, making the "fast meter" a thing of the past. The batting however, is a little off. Most of the time, it is easier to get a base by using your power swing, as a contact swing gentlyMLB 2k12 is a best for last kind of game, with the subject of the series in danger, Take 2 Interactive does not disappoint (in most areas). As always, the game has the best pitching mechanic in baseball games, making the "fast meter" a thing of the past. The batting however, is a little off. Most of the time, it is easier to get a base by using your power swing, as a contact swing gently hits it to the 2nd Baseman. FIELDING SUCKS. There is no control over your players in time-sensitive situations. Usually you get control of your Outfielder, but once a ball is thrown and changes to someone else (In this example a catcher) the catcher, no matter how hard you push the Left stick up, he will stay at the plate and watch as the ball gently roll into his glove. (While the other team is now celebrating a two run lead). Now on to aesthetic things. The graphics are good for the series, but not what is expected of today's sports games. Soundtrack is not important to me, as I usually listen to my own playlist, but this year as I played my first franchise, the soundtrack was lacking to say the least. Only about 12 songs on the soundtrack and none of them were really that great, some might like the Skrillex song but it doesn't appeal to me in baseball game. Game modes are still smae for the most part. The perfect game challenge is back, and franchise is back as well. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    Sure I wish this entry was better then last years like everyone else. However if you want the new players and stats it's the only way to go for the 360. Everyone whines how it's lacking next to The Show. However if you don't own a PS3 but have a 360 and want to play realistic baseball on your HDTV you don't really have a choice. As for the create a player mode not being very good. I couldSure I wish this entry was better then last years like everyone else. However if you want the new players and stats it's the only way to go for the 360. Everyone whines how it's lacking next to The Show. However if you don't own a PS3 but have a 360 and want to play realistic baseball on your HDTV you don't really have a choice. As for the create a player mode not being very good. I could care less. I play to control Verlander, Fielder and Cabbera as I follow my Tigers all season, I don't play to try and live out some RPG fantasy. Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2012
    5
    Its fair to say that I'm very disappointed yet again with this years MLB 2k. The menus are slicker and the soundtrack is more enjoyable then in last years game , I'll give it that. BUT..... The graphics on the field are absolutely horrible, this is giant step backwards visually. The uniforms look like they are made of molded foam, the uniform colors are off and realistic lighting effectsIts fair to say that I'm very disappointed yet again with this years MLB 2k. The menus are slicker and the soundtrack is more enjoyable then in last years game , I'll give it that. BUT..... The graphics on the field are absolutely horrible, this is giant step backwards visually. The uniforms look like they are made of molded foam, the uniform colors are off and realistic lighting effects are nonexistent. The ballparks are these lifeless cardboard backdrops for the frustratingly blotchy gameplay. Runners routinely stop at bases when they should be rounding them and then advance once the ball is in the infield only to be thrown out. The pitching and hitting haven't really changed much. Fortunately I bought the MLB NBA bundle so I don't feel like I totally wasted 60 bucks but it is disappointing not to have a decent baseball game on the 360. Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    58
    MLB 2K12 has made some strong strides to improve the overall product. Pitching, as one would expect with the Million Dollar Challenge, is the strongest aspect of this game, and it can be fun if a player enjoys just doing that. The hitting system has taken great strides, but a lackluster My Player mode and many little glitches and graphical blunders take away from an overall product. Improvement still needs to be there in order to get to the big leagues of gaming.
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    65
    PS3 owners should rightly gravitate toward the MLB: The Show franchise, while Xbox owners may as well sit out this year entirely.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    68
    This game's better than last year's, but it's not necessarily worth going out and getting if you have the last couple outings.