Major League Baseball 2K6 Xbox 360

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. D.J.L.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    The game is pretty good and the graphics are a tidbit over average. The whole baserunning/wild throw thing is a problem, but the fact that the teams have a full roster gives it a boost. There are too many made up players, but some are 2K employees, such as Umrao Mayer, Butch DeBerry, and Kelson Hootman. The fact that you can change a player's stats is a pro and con. Pro: You can makeThe game is pretty good and the graphics are a tidbit over average. The whole baserunning/wild throw thing is a problem, but the fact that the teams have a full roster gives it a boost. There are too many made up players, but some are 2K employees, such as Umrao Mayer, Butch DeBerry, and Kelson Hootman. The fact that you can change a player's stats is a pro and con. Pro: You can make players who're good now but totally sucked in the game (ie Jacoby Ellsbury, Troy Tulowitzki, Stephen Drew, Josh Bard) good. Con: You could make your team amazingly awesome and all the other teams really sucky. Then when playing, it'd be no fun. Rhetoric online feature's also pretty cool. I'd give it a 7.7 or 7.8, so I just rounded up to 8. Expand
  2. BrandonG.
    Apr 16, 2006
    0
    2K Sports how do you buy exclusive rights to MLB baseball and put out absolute garbage. The animation sets back sports gaming 3 years and the good ole' 2k sports freezing issue now moves to the 360. 2k sports this effort isn't worth $19.99! And I refuse to buy another game of yours until you guys fix what should be beta test problems
  3. MarcS.
    Apr 20, 2006
    2
    After having a decent experiance with the first of the next gen sports titles from EA and 2Ksports, I was looking forward to this baseball title. I must say it was complete gargage and I sold it 30 minutes after I bought it. Up until now, I thought buying a 2K sports title was a safe bet. I have been proven wrong.
  4. MikeM.
    Apr 24, 2006
    2
    What an ugly port.... Thank God I looked here at the reviews and rented it first. This game is only worth about $20 when it doesn't lock up. However, if you are a Yankees fan - they are for some reason even higher than all the all-star teams on this with perfect stats which doesn't make sense. The stats in the game appear to be very bias and simply pulled from a dev guys What an ugly port.... Thank God I looked here at the reviews and rented it first. This game is only worth about $20 when it doesn't lock up. However, if you are a Yankees fan - they are for some reason even higher than all the all-star teams on this with perfect stats which doesn't make sense. The stats in the game appear to be very bias and simply pulled from a dev guys backside with pinstripes :). Expand
  5. Dyrtydog
    Jul 29, 2006
    3
    #1, no Barry Bonds #2, in records, Mark McGuire still has home run record #3, in San Francisco, there is a sign in right-center field that has Aaron, Ruth, and then Mays....(where's Bonds?) #4, who the hell is this made up player, Joe Young (to compensate for missing Barry Bonds?) #5, half of my players, including Joe Young and Lance Niekro are leading the league in HRs and RBIs, but #1, no Barry Bonds #2, in records, Mark McGuire still has home run record #3, in San Francisco, there is a sign in right-center field that has Aaron, Ruth, and then Mays....(where's Bonds?) #4, who the hell is this made up player, Joe Young (to compensate for missing Barry Bonds?) #5, half of my players, including Joe Young and Lance Niekro are leading the league in HRs and RBIs, but NOT included in "League Leaders"..... why????? Too many bugs, and an obvious anti-Bonds sentiment Oh, i have to keep talking or else I can't submit? Ok let me review, Barry Bonds is missing on both Roster and Record books.McGwire is listed as holding the single season record. Bonds is missing on sign in right-center field in San Francisco stadium, now-re-named (again)...they show Aaron, Ruth, and then Mays (whom Bonds replaced a couple of years ago); Bonds is replaced by an imaginary player--Joe Young, whom I have leading the league in homers, but is not even recognized on the league leaders part of game. Another one of my players is also missing on league leaders. Over all game poses no challenge, even at highest level, and there are way too many Anti-Barry Bonds sentiments. Expand
  6. BryanMcCann
    Sep 18, 2007
    5
    the only thing i hate is the batting formate. I think it sucks. it is hard to get a home run and why is Barry bonds not in this game or 07s verson. o and bonds was in the 04 verson and more just not in 2ks versons. so that is not the reason Teej C.
  7. Ron
    Apr 11, 2006
    5
    It is an ok Baseball Game. Nothing I would have expected for the xbox 360 though. It isn't any different than playing it on the xbox. Just my opinion. Now for online.........I don't know 2K Servers won't let you connect. Just like in NBA and College Hoops!!! It Sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. [Anonymous]
    Apr 12, 2006
    0
    The graphics and animation in this game are horrendous. Frankly, it looks worse than xbox's mvp baseball game from last year. It's not even close to being next-gen. I feel completely ripped-off.
  9. JohnnyA.
    Apr 14, 2006
    0
    If I could even play a full game I might have given this game a 2. I returned the first game and the second one crashes too. You get to the third inning and sure enough the game freezes. I want to return this game but I cant which pisses me off. This game is terrible stay from this one at all costs. I cant believe this crap is called next-gen gaming
  10. Scott
    Apr 16, 2006
    2
    Having the exclusive baseball license should put more resposibility on these guys, but instead they ported the crappy xbox version to xbox 360. Jesus Christ they need a new physics engine, mvp 2003 had better ball physics. The controls are wonky and dont always respond in time. I dislike EA sports like anyone else but please give them back the MLB license. Kush game suck!
  11. SteveF.
    Apr 16, 2006
    0
    I bought my Xbox 360 to play next generation games that emphasize realistic graphics and gameplay. I liked NHL 2K6 and NBA 2K6 but did not like this game at all. It just doesn't feel like baseball. I loved MVP 2005 by EA Sports though. I wnat next generations sports on my 360 not ports of current Xbox games.
  12. KevinM.
    Apr 17, 2006
    0
    This games is pure crap. The worst sports game I have ever played. The game has frozen on my brother and myself many times during the last couple of days of playing it. We tried to take it back to the store where we bought it but they wouldn't give us our money back only a replacement copy of MLB 2K6. When we got home and tried the game again the same freezing problem was still This games is pure crap. The worst sports game I have ever played. The game has frozen on my brother and myself many times during the last couple of days of playing it. We tried to take it back to the store where we bought it but they wouldn't give us our money back only a replacement copy of MLB 2K6. When we got home and tried the game again the same freezing problem was still there! The graphics are terrible and the fielding is sluggish and very frustrating. We feel ripped off buying this awful game. We loved MVP 2005 Baseball last year. Where is that game this year? Buyer beware on this game because it is a ugly excuse for video game baseball. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Apr 23, 2006
    0
    This has to be one of the worse baseball games I have ever played. I would rather be a kid again and knowingly have to pick the worst player in the neighborhood to be on my little league team and cost us the world series, than to play another inning of this crapshoot.
    Honestly people, 2K6 Basketball has the players look EXACTLY like the namesakes and this is all you can do for a
    This has to be one of the worse baseball games I have ever played. I would rather be a kid again and knowingly have to pick the worst player in the neighborhood to be on my little league team and cost us the world series, than to play another inning of this crapshoot.
    Honestly people, 2K6 Basketball has the players look EXACTLY like the namesakes and this is all you can do for a baseball game? I never knew "BIG PAPI" looked like an oversized Oompa Loompa. I wish I never bought he game in the first place fortunately after returning two copies, the store allowed me to get a different title: alas, 2K6 has put a bad taste in my mouth for baseball. Hopefully the people at Microsoft put a patch out to be able to play the old MVP titles
    Expand
  14. BruinsFan
    May 1, 2006
    2
    The only thing more amazing than how bad this game is, is how it ever managed to get released or even got Microsoft approval. I have never, in all my 25 years of gaming been so disappointed with a game. How can you get exclusive rights to a product and then basically fail to even show up? This game has times where you fight with the fielding so much you just want to throw the controller The only thing more amazing than how bad this game is, is how it ever managed to get released or even got Microsoft approval. I have never, in all my 25 years of gaming been so disappointed with a game. How can you get exclusive rights to a product and then basically fail to even show up? This game has times where you fight with the fielding so much you just want to throw the controller out the window. I was actually surprised that they patched the freezing issue after completely ignoring it on the NHL effort for the 360. I think its safe to say my days of purchasing 2KSports titles are over. Lets al hope Microsoft make an attempt next year with High Heat. Expand
  15. MikeK
    May 11, 2006
    1
    Not even worth a rental. 2K6 Basketball is much more playable than this piece. Avoid this coaster like the plague! (Honestly, its now a coaster)
  16. ChrisTegner
    May 25, 2006
    0
    I have recently purchased 2 copies of mlb 2006, one for myself and another as a gift. Both have frozen every time they are played. I tried loading 3 games b/4, no luck, ive tried formating my system (hd) and downloading the patch twice, no luck. I really cannot believe that a company would release a game to the public without testing it to see if it was unplayable. This is unacceptable.I have recently purchased 2 copies of mlb 2006, one for myself and another as a gift. Both have frozen every time they are played. I tried loading 3 games b/4, no luck, ive tried formating my system (hd) and downloading the patch twice, no luck. I really cannot believe that a company would release a game to the public without testing it to see if it was unplayable. This is unacceptable. I bought the game under the understanding that it was playable, however there has been a clear breach in contract here. I am not the only one frustrated by this problem. If there was competition then I would exchange the game for another that worked, however 2k sports exclusive contract gives it a monopoly on the baseball game market for this year. If the patch worked I would not resort to wasting more time writing email in hopes to resolve this. I could really use some help in fixxing this problem. The patch does not work for me, nore do the temp solutions (except hard drive removal which makes the game useless except for play now). I do not plan on purchasing another 2k sports game in the future. The willfull neglect of consumers by 2k sports will come back to hurt this company. If there is any solution to the freezing problem, I am all ears. Expand
  17. NickB.
    May 27, 2006
    7
    I play minor league baseball and I have to say that MLB2k6 is pretty realistic once you adjust custom game sliders where you want them. Although I have played the game extensively and enjoy it, there are two characteristics I dont' like AT ALL. For one, the games realism is great but, when an infielder chucks a ball to first, the ball shouldn't bounce across the screen. Dude, I play minor league baseball and I have to say that MLB2k6 is pretty realistic once you adjust custom game sliders where you want them. Although I have played the game extensively and enjoy it, there are two characteristics I dont' like AT ALL. For one, the games realism is great but, when an infielder chucks a ball to first, the ball shouldn't bounce across the screen. Dude, smooth it out! The second flaw I believe MLB2k6 has is; when a pitcher is at 100 pitches or so and is throwing a shutout through 8 innings, he shouldn't be pulled! I think the AI of the computer controlled coaching should be improved. Once in season play and teams start to develop, the computer seems to think that the player with the best batting avg. should bat lead off. So.....I just got done playing a three game series against the Mets and Beltran batted leadoff and Cliff Floyd second! I mean c'mon. For all of us who play MLB2k6 for the love of the game of baseball period, this is a big let down. Even though there is that small flaw in season play, competing against the computer is bad a**. Very realistic. Oh ya, one more thing; if Rafael Furcal hits a line drive down the left field line, it should be a double right? Well, I had to turn up the base running speed to be more realistic cuz everyone in the outfield has absolute cannons for throwing arms and its almost impossible to get extra base hits. K- thats enough i guess. Sometimes i wish I could sit down with a baseball game developer and help out with some things. I have owned about 15 video games in my life and all of them are baseball games. With the exception of the new Madden, which was a complete dissapointment. I guess i'm gonna have to veer from playing baseball games unless they step it up a notch. Later. Expand
  18. PeteC.
    Jun 9, 2006
    3
    After getting over the adequate? graphics and gameplay, the most frustrating part of this game is the poor timing and lack of baseball basics. Just try and score from 2nd on a base hit... or watch as your baserunner on 2nd dives back instead of advancing to third on a high chopper to the second basemen... or as your baserunner on third stares as your opponent attempts to turn a 4-6-3 After getting over the adequate? graphics and gameplay, the most frustrating part of this game is the poor timing and lack of baseball basics. Just try and score from 2nd on a base hit... or watch as your baserunner on 2nd dives back instead of advancing to third on a high chopper to the second basemen... or as your baserunner on third stares as your opponent attempts to turn a 4-6-3 double play instead of scoring... It's as though 2k Sports is more impressed with their realistic collisions and the graphics of reaching into the stands to record a foul out than they are with producing a baseball simulator. My rating of 3 is generous. Expand
  19. Connor
    Jul 6, 2006
    7
    I dont think the game is that bad but they could aprove the swing stick even if I do use the A button to swing. also the players even dont look like the player in real life. all they do is put there number and name in there shirts ans say thats them.
  20. TeejC.
    Jan 20, 2007
    6
    Dyrty dog, you're completely misinformed. The reason Bonds isn't in the game in any capacity is BONDS' FAULT! There's no anti-Barry conspiracy. Bonds refuses to be a member of the players union because he doesn't feel he gets enough money to have his likeness used in video games and other such things, so therefore he's not in the game. Barry Bonds hasn't Dyrty dog, you're completely misinformed. The reason Bonds isn't in the game in any capacity is BONDS' FAULT! There's no anti-Barry conspiracy. Bonds refuses to be a member of the players union because he doesn't feel he gets enough money to have his likeness used in video games and other such things, so therefore he's not in the game. Barry Bonds hasn't been in a video game in years, and it has absolutely nothing to do with game developers being biased. If they were to put Bonds in the game, it would be against the law. Get a clue. That said, this game is not good. Expand
  21. AlejandroR.
    Jun 5, 2007
    3
    This game is crap. The batting style is no good and the pitching format sucks. To make it even worse, the base running is the biggest piece of crap I have seen in any baseball game, and I'm not even a big fan of baseball. I do feel bad for baseball fans though. Every time I pitch and there is someone on base, a wild throw occurs and the computer gets to run another base. This bad This game is crap. The batting style is no good and the pitching format sucks. To make it even worse, the base running is the biggest piece of crap I have seen in any baseball game, and I'm not even a big fan of baseball. I do feel bad for baseball fans though. Every time I pitch and there is someone on base, a wild throw occurs and the computer gets to run another base. This bad pitch never happens when no one is on base. This bug costs me the game every single time along with the base running. I have been running the bases before and had my player turn around back to the base that I was just at without my permission and get me out. To steal a base you have to be Tom Cruise and perform Mission Impossible. The reason I did not give this game a two is so that I could say "One, Two, Three Strikes You're Out!" Expand
  22. BrandonL.
    Jul 1, 2007
    7
    I think the game is o.k besides sides the stupid anti-bonds situation and the baserunning.
  23. RyanL.
    Apr 12, 2006
    4
    This game is a complete dissapointment. Poor next-gen graphics, the fielding and baserunning are terribly flawed, and that's not even considering the fact that the game freezes before you can even get to the 9th inning. Hitting and Pitching components are pretty fun, but not worth the 60 dollar price tag.
  24. [Anonymous]
    Apr 13, 2006
    3
    I have to say this game is a pretty big disappointmet. Last year's version for the regular Xbox plays much better and I have to agree that the fielding and baserunning are horrible. I'm not very happy that I wasted $60 bucks on this game.
  25. JeffreyB.
    Apr 15, 2006
    1
    What a huge dissapointment. Nothing new to this game other than some updated menu options. The style of play for the original xbox version was much better. I think 2K6 should be fired and give up their salaries to pay us back for what we just purchased!!
  26. Disappointed
    Jun 18, 2006
    2
    This game sucks terribly. The only good thing about this game is the Stadiums, everything else about this game is rushed and hacked. I am an absolute baseball fanatic and have always played baseball games non-stop on any system ive ever had and i cannot bring myself to play this game. The players dont look anythin like themselves, the fielding is soo slow and rocky, i wish i neverThis game sucks terribly. The only good thing about this game is the Stadiums, everything else about this game is rushed and hacked. I am an absolute baseball fanatic and have always played baseball games non-stop on any system ive ever had and i cannot bring myself to play this game. The players dont look anythin like themselves, the fielding is soo slow and rocky, i wish i never bought this game and to 2k sports....stop making baseball games and let EA do it right cause ive never been more disappointed in my life about a video game than this one, PLEASE BRING BACK MVP, FOR THE SAKE OF EVERYTHING, MVP 2005 for regular xbox blows away MLB 2k6 for 360, so get rid of these poorly made games cause nobody likes them Expand
  27. yesyes
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    This game isnt that bad! i do agree about the wild throw but other than that the game actually pretty good!
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. New pitching and hitting dynamics make this a fun romp, but its next-gen worthiness is in question.
  2. 70
    Inside Edge is the most significant addition to the game, and we hope to see scouting play a part in the genre in the future. But control problems with baserunning and fielding, along with a lack of general polish, keep 2K6 from being the great game it's trying to be.
  3. 60
    Playing against a real person, the strength of the pitcher-batter face-off carries the game; playing alone, you're more likely to send this one down to the minors before the end of the season.