Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mark of the Ninja is a side-scrolling stealth action game from Klei Entertainment that combines fluid 2D animation with intense stealth gameplay.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    100
    An expertly-crafted love letter to stealth gaming, and so far one of the year's best titles. [Nov 2012, p.73]
  2. Sep 13, 2012
    95
    Its stealth-as-power mechanics perfectly articulate the mystique of the ninja without compromising on challenge.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    91
    Mark of the Ninja is an excellent 2D-platformer, which cleverly combines stealth with explosive action. The striking visual style is also worth a mention. [Dec 2012]
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    90
    A game that never rests on its laurels and offers ample replay value, Mark of the Ninja is a much-needed shot in the arm for Live Arcade's lacklustre summer offering.
  5. Sep 12, 2012
    90
    Mark of the Ninja is a superb take on what a stealth game should be in 2D, offering some lessons to the veterans of the genre. Its visuals and animations reinforce the idea of being a ninja, creating an unmatched spectacle of lights and shadows, while its gameplay offers a growing sense of freedom that rewards imaginative and experimental players. A great triumph for Klei and their best game by far.
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    90
    With its demanding gameplay, Mark of the Ninja may not be a game for everyone. Those who prefer destroying everyone with kick-assery may prefer the more visceral Ninja Gaiden 3 instead. But for those seeking a challenge or a game that really makes you feel like you're in the ninja uniform, Klei's Mark of the Ninja immensely satisfies.
  7. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Klei's Saturday morning cartoon style visuals intersect smoothly with your ninja's slinky animation and flowing moves, and the range of visual effects (position-betraying lightning strikes, a blurred fog of war-style filter on activity beyond your sight line) folds neatly back into the game's light-and-shadow based stealth systems. The result is a slick and striking game, one with presentation worthy of the potent and flexible set of powers at its core.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This game is a lot of fun !
    I must say i didnt thought it will be a good game and now i am surpised to say that!
    The game has a lot of stuff
    to do even if u beat the game there are deferent modes or try to not kill anyone and its a lot of fun!You can upgrade stuff or learn new stuff unlock items and many many other stuff!
    The only bad thing is it doesnt have coop! That is all!
    Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    One of the finest games out there on the Xbox marketplace, the cartoony art style mixed with the great story and stealth game play creates one of the coolest games i have played in quite a while. Mark of the ninja hits the ball out of the park with its graphical style, gameplay, voice acting and overall excellence. Mark of the ninja is totally worth getting at its 14.99 price tag. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Tom Clancy move over this is the new stealth! and the graphics are dope!!! and the music... best marketplace game ever! i couldn't say GOTY but maybe for DLC games... overall seriously you should get it. it's cheap and it's freaking AMAZING Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2012
    10
    An spetacular game! You really feel lika a ninja. Stealth is back, for fans of this genre this game is a must buy. The graphics are cool, the gameplay is solid and fun. Go buy now! Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    In my humble opinion this game is the best entertainment value for the money you can currently spend on X box live. It is a giant leap in game quality, compared to its predecessor Shank. It seems that Klei Entertainment have come into their own, and have earned my loyalty for what i hope are many more games to come. Collapse
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I'm so glad that there is finally a game, since Shadow Complex, that finally is worth the money on Xbox live. I always seemed disappointed to spend $15 or more on these games that get hyped up for no reason. This game is incredible in every way. Splinter Cell, ninjas, and side scrollers just had a baby... and it's damn sexy. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    5
    I think this is a pretty dull game. Mainly because I found it really hard to try beating this game, and I'm not talking about difficulty. It was fun for the first few levels, but after that it was quite repetitive. Crawl into a vent, kill some guard, repeat. This games really doesn't have much of a plot either, so nothing else could really redeem it. It isn't really something that you need to play or that you should really want to play. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.